View Full Version : Mackay Meet and Greet?

madman1
17-08-2008, 08:46 AM

Just a thought, as surfing through Ausfish there now appears to be quite a few Ausfishos from the Mackay and surrounding areas.::)

Anyone keen for a catch up on one of the beautiful Whitsunday Islands / Seaforth / Sarina etc...

As I said, just a thought as it would be great to put faces to names.

Let me know and I will organise it!:o

supertinny
19-08-2008, 07:04 AM
Sounds good Mark , but my tinny will only go as far as round top.!

madman1
19-08-2008, 11:02 AM
I was thinking (depending on how many people are land based) of heading to Newry Island or Rabbit Island off Seaforth.

There is an old resort there which has since been demolished but there still remains the old bar. You are right on the beach under cover and the kids can do what they feel as all they can do is run around and wear themselves out.

You are close to onshore reefs where the mackeral should be coming out in force when the northerlies eventuate.

Throw out some ideas and we can go from there.

The bonus of Seaforth is that you are reletively protected with heaps of options.

Keep the ideas coming.

Richard
19-08-2008, 12:44 PM
Yeah Newry Island sounds good Mark,

I camped there for my birthday this year and had a ball. Great location, toliets for the fairer sex and kids and as you said, generally it's fairly protected. Not too rough for those of us in the little tinnies.

I'd be keen,

Richard

Jumee
20-08-2008, 11:42 AM

count me in, always keen for a catch up with fellow fishos to compare notes.

Jamie

aqua rat
21-08-2008, 02:27 PM
sounds like a plan when oyu guys pick a date put up on this thread as i only get every second weekend off so i will try and make it.

madman1
21-08-2008, 07:11 PM
Hows Sunday14th September sound?;D

1030 High tide (4.83m) a day before the full moon with a low tide @1630 (0.73m).

Lets meet at the Victor Creek Boat ramp around 0800 which gives us a chance for a fish through the high tide then venture over to Newry Island for a BBQ.:D

I'll bring the plate and the gas bottle and make it a BYO grog and food.8-)

Bring the kids and your best Mackay fishing tale. (I'm yet to get one!!!):helpa:

If you have any other ideas put them into the ring.

BobbyJ123
22-08-2008, 05:22 AM
Hows Sunday14th September sound?;D

1030 High tide (4.83m) a day before the full moon with a low tide @1630 (0.73m).

Lets meet at the Victor Creek Boat ramp around 0800 which gives us a chance for a fish through the high tide then venture over to Newry Island for a BBQ.:D

I'll bring the plate and the gas bottle and make it a BYO grog and food.8-)

Bring the kids and your best Mackay fishing tale. (I'm yet to get one!!!):helpa:

If you have any other ideas put them into the ring.

Would be interested in the M&G but I will be at Awoonga for the week, 10th-17th Sept.....Any other time, yes.

krazyfisher
22-08-2008, 03:00 PM
seaforth is good and if the weather is good its not far out to the smith group.... count me in. I have not been toseaforth for a while.

aqua rat
24-08-2008, 09:48 AM
Sounds like a great idea but that weekend i have to work !

madman1
24-08-2008, 12:53 PM
Any objections to puting it back a week so all can enjoy?

krazyfisher
24-08-2008, 02:57 PM
sounds good

aqua rat
25-08-2008, 09:02 AM
A week later should work for me but just a word of warning when i have a weekend off it is always 25nts !!!

madman1
30-08-2008, 08:14 AM
Ok.

Lets try for Sunday September 21st.

Only problen is its a 0906 low tide @1.51m which isn't really low for Mackay. High tide is @1527 and 4.29m in depth.

Lets keep to the 0800 - 0830 kick off time and meet @ Newry Island for a BBQ lunch @ circa 1200 - 1230 after catching a few to hang off the street signs!!!lol

As mentioned before I will supply the plate and gas bottle, just bring along your own snags or whatever you want for lunch.

Looking forward to meeting a few Ausfishers.

supertinny
30-08-2008, 09:30 AM
Sounds good. Im in.

fisho_83
06-09-2008, 07:47 AM
Sound like a great weekend guys- but I have the inlaws up that weekend. Unfortunately wont be able to make it. :(

madman1
06-09-2008, 08:14 AM
Fisho, bring the inlaws along, The more the merrier.

Here are some pice to wet everyones appetite.

aqua rat
16-09-2008, 10:21 AM
I now have to work this weekend due to a change in roster bugger ! but with me at work you should have good weather!
Have fun and let this thread know of your day.

madman1
17-09-2008, 02:22 PM
Forgot to mention meet @ the Victor Creek Ramp.

Richard
18-09-2008, 08:17 PM
Better get those Ausfish stickers onto my boat. It's only been on my to-do list since i got them 2 months ago :)

Colo77
18-09-2008, 08:42 PM
Sounds great. But with 3 kids under 4 it's hard to get away anywhere these days. Pretty limited to night fishes atm. Will have to try & catch up next time. Someone let us know how it went, & how the fishing went.

Looks like the weathers shaping up for a good one. Good luck!

Cheers, Colo

BobbyJ123
20-09-2008, 05:26 AM
Ok.

Lets try for Sunday September 21st.

Only problen is its a 0906 low tide @1.51m which isn't really low for Mackay. High tide is @1527 and 4.29m in depth.

Lets keep to the 0800 - 0830 kick off time and meet @ Newry Island for a BBQ lunch @ circa 1200 - 1230 after catching a few to hang off the street signs!!!lol

Looking forward to meeting a few Ausfishers.

The tide is 8.36 am, Mark.

The spotties are making a show;D;D;D;D
Hopefully, I will be out there at 07.30, whipping the water to a froth...

madman1
20-09-2008, 09:56 AM
Save some for us. Who has a VHF or 27 Meg.

I only have VHF.

How will we keep in touch. Mobile maybe.

Lets work it out at the ramp perhaps.

Cant wait as the weather is going to be a treat.

Richard
21-09-2008, 04:30 PM

Haven't got time for a full post but here's the photo of SuperTinny's queenie - nice fish mate !

Richard

madman1
21-09-2008, 06:32 PM
Good one.

I'm having steak tonight.

Andrew was the lucky one.

Good to catch up

Lets do it again soon

krazyfisher
22-09-2008, 04:40 PM
hope all went well sorry I missed it but had other things come up. hope to catch upnext time

BobbyJ123
23-09-2008, 04:43 AM
G'day Mark, sorry for the short m&g. Jo was definitely put off by the seas and now I have to find another deckie....And buy a new anchor and 10 ft of chain.
Anyway, it was good meeting up, mate.
Went off the rocks next morning for this bloke at 61cm.

madman1
23-09-2008, 06:47 AM
Top job Bob,

I'm definitely keen to see how you do off the rocks.

Talk soon

ColJacDak
19-10-2008, 09:32 AM
Hi, What about Knight island, beautiful protected bay..Col