View Full Version : Banks Trip last sunday

ooglie74
16-08-2008, 05:57 PM
Headed to the banks ofr a fish with Seadog2 last sunday.
Left kawana at 2am and we where greeted to a nice run to the banks with a following westerly.
Arrived at the banks around 3am sounded around and anchored on a lump in 35mtrs with a good show.
Started to berley and the fishing was very slow.
Got a few fish when the sun rose lost a few also.
Moved around to a few spots north and ended up at the southern hards.
We caught a nannygai,the kind southerners use for yellowfin.
Worked south again to the middle banks.
Ended up with 10 snapper biggest just over 7kg 4 trag and a few pearlies.

Cheers Troy

scoota
16-08-2008, 06:03 PM
Some nice snapper there Troy!

All caught in daylight hours?

Scoota...

ooglie74
16-08-2008, 06:20 PM
Yeah scoota the biggest on a chook at a mark thats is a favourite if mine in 80mtrs.
The show was alot better in the arvo than in the morning.
When we headed out it was barren in the early morning hours.
Your snaps have been impressive.

Cheers Troy

TCSunCoast
16-08-2008, 07:12 PM
Nice snapps, well done. Shame about the morning no show.

outsiderskip
16-08-2008, 07:18 PM
nice lot of fish there tro

pete

ooglie74
16-08-2008, 07:24 PM
Cheers pete and tony.
Was a bit slow on my usual marks.

Cheers Troy

dayoo
16-08-2008, 07:32 PM
Troy
Nice fish mate. The water temp must be cold for the Nannygai (southern red snapper) to come that far north. Last one I heard of was caught off Stradbroke about 15 years ago. Your old mate Frankie is getting withdrawal symptoms as he hasn't been offshore for 12 days.;D

ooglie74
16-08-2008, 07:38 PM
Barry I was wondering what was going on with no report on the moon???
The machine must be going insane.lol
Have to have a chat in the near future.
Pm me if you want with your number mate.
I have also lost frankies sorry would you be able to sent it to me again???

Cheer Troy

Fishing_Freddy
16-08-2008, 07:54 PM
Sounds like some hard earned fish. Well done.
Ken:beer:

17-08-2008, 07:14 AM
excellent fish mate well done

Dean1
17-08-2008, 09:52 AM
Nice snap lads, pity I didnt hear you on the radio that day I turned the vol down coz of a few annoying blokes on there. I hear you caught another nice 7kg model on wednesday as well. Good quality around at the moment. Talk soon mate, Deano.

reel scream
20-08-2008, 07:56 PM
Nice fish Troy and Derrick. I missed this moon and am not happy. Back in QLD as of 30min ago so all good. Talk soon.

Cheers scott.

ooglie74
21-08-2008, 01:05 PM
You and your derrick scott.lol.It s daryl ya knob.

Cheers Troy

Liberty
21-08-2008, 06:08 PM
Nice going!

About time you two got some fish.

;-)

Nigel

withoutatrace
21-08-2008, 06:30 PM
Hey, nice work guys.

Derrick looks like he'struggling holding those fish up.
Looks like another guy I know.

ooglie74
21-08-2008, 07:15 PM
And was caught at the secret spot he slipped to you, fish city. A bit wider of the shallow mark in 80mtr richard.

Cheers Troy

therapy
22-08-2008, 08:08 AM
Gedday Troy. Nice snaps there mate. What size jig head are you using in 80mtr's. I am still trying to work out deep plastics fishing myself.
Cheers....Terry.......

ooglie74
22-08-2008, 08:25 AM
I was using a 1oz,we had no little to no wind and a very light current.

Cheers Troy

reel scream
22-08-2008, 02:12 PM
You and your derrick scott.lol.It s daryl ya knob.

Cheers Troy

Thats a bit harsh numb nuts.

FYI did a quick sneaky to the cobes yesterday 11-2 and only picked up a rat about 10kg. Not happy jan.

Cheers Scott

Fishbait
22-08-2008, 04:45 PM
Told ya Scotty they weren't there yet mate.

reel scream
22-08-2008, 06:48 PM
Told ya Scotty they weren't there yet mate.

Yeah but it was a cracker day weather wise. Had to get out and have a breather.

ooglie74
22-08-2008, 06:49 PM
You crafty man.
Maybe soon mate.

Cheers Troy

reel scream
22-08-2008, 07:38 PM
Dont know . 3 years ago july fired but i never fished it this year. Will know in the next 3 week though. If there is a spot you up for tues/wed ??

Cheers scott.

Pistol_P
22-08-2008, 07:56 PM
Top fish Troy.8-)

Thats a great looking fish in the first pic.

Seadog 2
24-08-2008, 10:08 AM
Thanks for the post Troy, i have been at Fraser the last week, catching plenty of fish up there.
Cheers Daryl

wadeo
24-08-2008, 07:31 PM
Nice catch buddy and great report
regards wadeo

ooglie74
24-08-2008, 09:39 PM
Thanks Wadeo.

How have you been doing?

Cheers Troy

wadeo
26-08-2008, 06:47 AM
gday Troy really good mate,fishing has been good, weather has been workable.
planning the next round on the reefs.
regards wadeo

adrian johnson
26-08-2008, 01:20 PM
never though id see the day when you'd go to soft plastics? good feed there well done'cheers baldy

ooglie74
26-08-2008, 06:10 PM
Hey baldly ask langey how easy it is.
Even he was surprised.

Cheers Troy