View Full Version : Butt ugly Snapper

Tim_N
15-08-2008, 07:31 PM
Hi All,
Went out again on Wed arvo for another go at the Knobbies on SP's and managed 3. They went 9 lb, 11 lb and 15.5 lb, however the heaviest one was the ugliest Snapper I've ever caught. Check out the nose in particular.
For not such a large fish, it had a really good bump and a bad snout. Having said that, it chewed very nicely, thank you very much.
All fish were caught on the same 7" nuclear chook Gulp on a 1 oz 7/0 Nitro jighead. So for 1 $2.50 SP, it was a good afternoon.
My reliable Egrell Bear S4 and 2500R Custom Certate was the weapon of choice. Leader was once again 16 lb Triumph flurocarbon.
A head only a mother could love in a couple of different angles.

DEANO68
15-08-2008, 07:49 PM
15.5 lb, however the heaviest one was the ugliest Snapper I've ever caught. Check out the nose in particular.
For not such a large fish, it had a really good bump and a bad snout. Having said that, it chewed very nicely, thank you very much.

yes, very ugly fish tim..but very welcome on the placcie and the table..face only a mother could love...his moms probably glad she left him at birth..:-X
well done ....deano...

jez and suze
15-08-2008, 07:51 PM
its gorgious......apart from the hairlip.
nice catch, great feed there.......apart from the hairlip.

what area did he come from?

Tim_N
15-08-2008, 08:07 PM
It was caught off Caloundra in about 36 m of water.

15-08-2008, 08:10 PM
excellent mate it sure looks the part like that

16-08-2008, 12:20 AM
Excellent table fish Tim. That's reel good economy on the chooks too. You have to be pleased with those stats.

What did the others do while you were catching all the good fish?

backlash08
16-08-2008, 06:05 AM
Nice catch on the SP's well done,
yep, it is one ugly fish
cheers - Craig

fleety77
16-08-2008, 06:08 AM
is that the fish or your buddy?? jokes mate nice fish

lizard bribie
16-08-2008, 06:38 AM
:o nice fish tim looks like he might have run into afew brick walls cheers lizard bribie>:(

Tim_N
16-08-2008, 07:19 AM
There was 3 onboard and one of the guys, who was a non believer in SP's, used bait. This other guy caught 1 x 26 cm Moses Perch and about 10 various underized fish for the outing. Barry, the other ugly specimen in the pic, caught a real nice Grassy and I got the rest.
The non believer has now gone shopping. The non believer didn't want a photo with his big Moses when the other pics were taken. Funny that. The non believer could not believe his eyes. He said the first one was a fluke, but by the time the third one came over the side, he was convinced.

JEWIENEWIE
16-08-2008, 09:28 AM
Butt ugly yea mate, it must of been a brother of the one i got a few months ago. Check the ugly bugger out in my avtar!
Jewie

For Steve
16-08-2008, 09:56 AM
Not the prettiest fish but I still wouldn't kick it out of the esky. Congratulations on a successful trip.

Brad

Bassmaster1
16-08-2008, 07:14 PM
Good work, I guess taking that big boy would not have had any ill effects on the snapper spawning run as no female ones would go near him with a snoz like that anyways!!

Chookman
23-08-2008, 07:47 AM
Well done Tim..........don't know who's the ugliest........ the fish or the deckie;D ;D :-X

Chookman

It's alright I know him ;)

reel scream
24-08-2008, 12:38 PM
Well done Timmy. Butt ugly for sure. Are you still working mate??

Cheers Scott.

Tim_N
24-08-2008, 06:01 PM
Yeah Scotty,
Still working, but when the weather is good, I'm gone, bugger it, life's too short. I reckon I'll be MIA this week too because I will be, umm ahh, in a meeting up the coast???

reel scream
25-08-2008, 10:25 AM
Half your luck. Where are you going?

Cheers Scott

Tim_N
25-08-2008, 11:12 AM
Probably just out the front of Bribie.

dazza
26-08-2008, 08:10 PM
hey scotty