View Full Version : PB Snapper

14-08-2008, 08:04 AM

Went spotter for Jez and Adam yesterday off of the goldie, they dove the scottish prince and also narrowneck.

We headed wide around 1030, and on our way we came across school after school of mack tuna, which was great fun on slugs with two double hookups. We ended up with 5.

We headed a touch further east to the 24's and thought bugger it, this'll do.

About 5 mins later, mum called me and then my baitrunner started a little squeal..... I then hung up on her.

A few minutes later again, I landed my PB snapper, it went 80cm, fell to a flight of 3 4/0 gamagatsu gangsters imbedded in a pillie, with a 40lb trace up to a ball sinker, 20lb platypus platinum on a 6500 bait runner matched to an 8' 8-10kg live fibre.

I was excited

scoota
14-08-2008, 08:28 AM
Got to be happy with that dave!!!

Epic conditions out there;)

Scoota...

14-08-2008, 08:30 AM
Epic conditions out there;)

Spectacular, a few other a/f out there as well, and a handful of 14' tinnies!

Benno1
14-08-2008, 08:35 AM
in conditions like those Dave im not suprised mate...its like a mirror...fantastic!!!
Congrats on the PB...glad you guys had a good day out :D

(Mrs Benno1)

frankgrimes
14-08-2008, 09:43 AM
Damn! Awesome conditions, great snap!!

Very Jealous!!!

For Steve
14-08-2008, 10:03 AM
Great fish Dave. Congratulations on setting a new PB.

Interesting what you mention 14' tinnies being out there. Now you've got me thinking - should I, shouldn't I. :-/

Brad

14-08-2008, 10:08 AM
Now you've got me thinking - should I, shouldn't I. :-/

I was considering it with the 12' of mine :P........................... but I don't have an epirb..............

bayfisher
14-08-2008, 10:26 AM
Quality snap and some great conditions, Looks like every one had the same idea there seemed to be plenty of small boats outside yesterday.

Cheers Chris

Pistol_P
14-08-2008, 10:30 AM
Great snapper.....Look at those conditions...;D

T1
14-08-2008, 10:58 AM
AWESOME Dave! Gee you could do worse than be out in those conditions huh! Well done on the nice fish! Did you get anything else?

Take Care T

14-08-2008, 11:29 AM
Did you get anything else?

G'day T,

Good to see you around again,

Kept 5 good sized mack tuna, Pretty good considering we wern't paying too much attention on the fishing, just enjoying the scenery and time on the water moreso.

14-08-2008, 01:33 PM
Top fish Dave. My PB is also 80cm on snapper as of last saturday. Fillets were n i c e.

Those conditions are exceptional too.

jez and suze
14-08-2008, 04:09 PM
that pic came up good, congratulations on that ripper of a fish!
you will have to spot for us more often, you seem to bring the glassy conditions.
...........jez

you didnt do the "south of mud" shot with surfers paradise in the background.

14-08-2008, 04:12 PM

Pleasure once again Jez, I'll get a shot up now;)

That pic was actually the one taken from the mobile.

The camera ones turned out really well as well.

14-08-2008, 04:14 PM

Here's another pic, we were "south of mud island"

jez and suze
14-08-2008, 04:20 PM
wouldnt get it that calm to often!

14-08-2008, 05:04 PM
as you would be excellent work mate

14-08-2008, 05:13 PM

Geez hasn't Russell Is come ahead ;D

Excellent fish Dave.

Why do you always get a hit when your not concerntrating,, whats up with that.

CreelReaper
14-08-2008, 06:10 PM
Well done Dave, awesome fish mate. You've got to be extremely happy with that PB well done again ;<)).. I hope I have the same luck on Sunday

14-08-2008, 06:57 PM

Thanks Shane, see you saturday or monday

Dave, I'm sure crestcutter will be happy with the recent redevelopment of russel island, means they may shift the "prison farm" elsewhere.

For Steve
14-08-2008, 08:24 PM

Classic Dave. Now that's funny.:)

Dean1
14-08-2008, 08:55 PM
Excellent work Dave its a great feeling isnt it!! I got my PB snapper at 83cm saturday as well. How awsome are the conditions!! Keep it up, good to see you out there. Cheers.

Aquarius
14-08-2008, 10:18 PM
Congrats on the PB snapper Blackened.
I see those conditions are still the same as Wednesday.
Doesn't get any better than that just perfect for small boats going offshore for the first time.
Cheers Brent

ddobson
20-08-2008, 12:15 PM
Good fish. You aught to see those big buggers run on braid and light leader in the shallows of the bay. We luv the feeling don't we. Well done.

20-08-2008, 02:45 PM
Good fish. You aught to see those big buggers run on braid and light leader in the shallows of the bay. We luv the feeling don't we. Well done.

I can only imagine, as thats where 99% of my fishing is done, shallow reefs in moreton bay with 8lb braid and 12 lb leader on 2-4kg gear, have been trying pretty hard to get something of massive size inside, but this bloke was just as good.

Was kind of surprised how different the fight was