View Full Version : Townsville Drinks

06-08-2008, 11:10 PM
Right, it's been a while since we've had a collective of people for drinks. And we're not going to plan any M&G o any comp or any F'n F thing...

We're just going to do what us that live in the north do well.... Get hammered! ;D

I'm thinking:-

Venue: The Australian
Date: Saturday 16th
Time: 7pm

levinge
07-08-2008, 06:36 AM
Sounds good, although I have a comp on that weekend but the evening is a good option for a feed and a beer.

07-08-2008, 01:17 PM
I'm thinking:-

Didn't know that was possible for you Dan.....thinking, i would've thought that all the drinking you do would've cured that problem for you;D

Yeah sounds good, will wait and see what the weather's doing first though, might be another chance to head out wide, catch another sailfish and this time TAKE A PHOTO! ( geez, I make sound easy don't I?)

07-08-2008, 01:28 PM
Oh Scotty.... You forget that it's when I'm sober I have the issues... Getting drunk is just me becoming more and more myself ;D

Didn't you say your camera died in the "sinking"??? Or did you lend it to Leezor and his swedish backpacker boys?

07-08-2008, 03:57 PM
Yeah, and the radio so it seems. The camera was a freeby anyway, so I'm not fussed about that, but the radio wasn't that old! I guess its just the gods letting me know that I have to upgrade to VHF.

Rod Fishing
09-08-2008, 10:36 AM
Dan,

You talking about the aussie on Palmer st?

cheers Rod....8-)

09-08-2008, 08:03 PM
isn't that the only one?

10-08-2008, 12:10 AM
Dan,

You talking about the aussie on Palmer st?

cheers Rod....8-)

Yeah man. That's the one :)

ozbee
11-08-2008, 12:47 PM
will wait and see what the weathers doing. its the weekend it will be blowing you should now that by now

11-08-2008, 01:42 PM
I don't want to jinx it, but the weather's looking OK atm, 10-15's, but that's still nearly a week away yet and we all know a lot can change. But it will be a big run, so hopefully, that brings the mackeral on the chew, and early morning session around westpoint and burdekin rock might be on the cards.

11-08-2008, 01:46 PM
Suck it up Princess. You can have beers & still chase macks in the morning ;)

matmuller85
11-08-2008, 02:36 PM
i need to go out this weekend, need some time on the water to learn the black box and the transducer got here today yay. will be a couple of late nights this week working on boat. If anyone is keen to join the fun and party on the boat haha.

ronnien
11-08-2008, 03:01 PM
it was very calm all weekend, not the 20-25kts like the weather said.
scott going to westpoint , where are you going matt? if it holds i will go out in the bay also.

ron.

matmuller85
11-08-2008, 03:14 PM
not sure yet wouldnt mind going out and slaying a few more spanish and what ever else i can find and eat hehehe

11-08-2008, 03:32 PM
I'm happy to come with ya Matty :) Will talk to you tonight abotu it.

matmuller85
11-08-2008, 03:38 PM
Anyone else interestred let me know!!!! I will try put you on the fish i probably wont be doin alot but learning how to use the new plasma screen i installing over the next 2 nights

11-08-2008, 03:55 PM
I may have somone interested Matt... Will give you a call.

fish-n-dive
11-08-2008, 06:24 PM
Anyone else interestred let me know!!!! I will try put you on the fish i probably wont be doin alot but learning how to use the new plasma screen i installing over the next 2 nights

I am if you promise not to drown me.........lol and if you have room for a "real man"

Also, if you people want, we can have a BBQ here at my place just beside the Willows and the Kids & ladies can swim in the pool or whatever while we blokes do mens business............glug, glug, burp..............just a thought

matmuller85
12-08-2008, 01:30 PM
I pretty keen to go fishing this weekend and pretty keen to meet a few other people from ausfish. So if anyone else is keen to go out fishing get a few boats together head out have some fun catch fish drop me a line.

ronnien
12-08-2008, 02:29 PM
matt,

as long as the weather is good i am going burd rock way, westpoint all around that area.

ron.

13-08-2008, 12:21 PM
I'll probably see you out there Ron, that's where I'm heading. What time you launching? (from Palleranda I assume)

13-08-2008, 01:04 PM
Ok, so we have a few boats potentially going out.... Do we have anyone drinking? ;D

matmuller85
13-08-2008, 01:10 PM
drinking can come later, fishing first ok

13-08-2008, 01:27 PM
You're all sooks! HA HA HA HA HA

Bring it all on Matt. Let's get it sorted.

matmuller85
13-08-2008, 01:52 PM
Dan i dont think you will beable to handle everything i can bring on mate(drinkinig wise & fishing wise hahaha) maybe we should take scott the fish gods dont like him when he is out with us hahaha

13-08-2008, 02:25 PM
HA HA HA HA... Oh really Matt... So when you scott & I went Grunter fishing that time... And I was catching them... And Scott caught remoras.... And you caught what again? HA HA HA HA

matmuller85
13-08-2008, 02:55 PM
If my memory serves me correct i think i got 1 grunter the biggest one of the day.

13-08-2008, 04:50 PM
yeah, who cares, I caught a nannygai that day!....and lets not forget the batfish.

I will need a deckie for saturday Morn, anyone interested can PM me, I need to road test the new esky. about $20 should cover bait and fuel for the day, just bring your own gear, or I could arrange something.

fish-n-dive
13-08-2008, 05:57 PM
I'm open to either.......fishing or booze (I'll even put on a BBQ if enough are interested).

Oh, and for the record, I probably can't out fish anyone but I bet I can out drink all of you.................

13-08-2008, 07:36 PM
deckie spot has been filled

ronnien
13-08-2008, 07:56 PM
yeah scott, will be going from palleranda as long as the weather is kind.
will see you out there if everything is fine.

ron.

levinge
14-08-2008, 08:06 AM
Whats been happening while I've been away from the M&G section. Looks like everyone is heading out this weekend. I will be heading out also, fishing our Club Comp but might see me poking around the northern side of Maggie, going to have a good look at charts etc today and make up my mind where to fish....

Took the big girl out yesterday in the 22kts shitty 2.2m (easily) swell. went to Cordelia, Rattle and westpoint, was ugly swell but good test for the boat and I had no problems whatsoever. Got nothing but learned a little more about handling of the boat in roughers. I now know that if it turns ugly out there, I can and will be able to return home safe and sound.

14-08-2008, 10:23 AM
Good to hear you'll be safe Brett :) Although I don't know if I believe you how good a ride it is... You'd better take me out in it to show me ;)

matmuller85
14-08-2008, 10:58 AM
What boat did you end up getting brett?

levinge
14-08-2008, 12:57 PM
Dan - no wories mate, will be plenty of opportunities now...

Matt - I have a 5.8m (2008 model is actually 5.95m) Formosa Centre Cab Plate Boat 4mm hull 3 mm side 135HP Honda 4 Stroke, with bell and whistles etc
Running an Eagle Intellipmap 642C chartplotter and an Eagle 640C Dual Freq Sounder. Goes like the clappers and rides really well, top speed so far in smooth waters was a touch over 38kts...

16-08-2008, 03:54 PM
So no-one has said they're actually going to the Australian tonight... Guess we'll make it a different time.

16-08-2008, 06:04 PM
well, I'm rooted, that remora really took it out of me today, and I'm heading to the cape tomorrow with my brother, so I'll just be having a shit, shower and bed tonight

levinge
17-08-2008, 10:56 PM
Didn't make it, long day on the water for a nil taker, guess thats fishing. next trip I might try using some fresh wolfies and get rid of the ones that seem to be bouncing from boat to freezer. Still was nice day on the water...Too shagged by the time we got home, cleaned up and put the boat to bed

18-08-2008, 02:38 PM
It looks like a very poor weekend for everyone. Everyone I know that went brought home nothing, I'm currently standing at 2 for zippo, surely all can't be doing te things wrong, maybe the fish are just being pricks.

levinge
18-08-2008, 10:05 PM
Either that or someones screwing with my bait and rubbing it down with banana peels. HANG ON!!!!

Guys time to do a check of our boats and see if the Banana Conspiracy has left a strange yellow fruity object in our boats....Thats got to be it!!!!

18-08-2008, 10:09 PM
check of our boats and see if the Banana Conspiracy has left a strange yellow fruity object in our boats....Thats got to be it!!!!

Scott's fake tan has left him more orangey than yellow ;D