View Full Version : Noosa Plastic mission 06-08-08

Pistol_P
06-08-2008, 07:38 PM
Headed to North Reef today with a mate of mine (Adrian) who is normally a bait fisherman and has been a big sceptic about the plastics.
The S/W was blowing a good 15-20knots early morning but dropped right out by the afternoon.:)
We anchored up and got a good burley trail going as we were fishing the middle of the day and had thought the going might be tough....We were wrong......
We managed some very nice snapper (13 in total) and I think Adrian is now just about a 100% convert to the plastics.;D ;D

Great when you get good fishing in close.

Leighton
06-08-2008, 07:47 PM
nice pics Pete, nothing better than serving up Humble pie

Wayne_Red
06-08-2008, 07:51 PM
Nice fish there Pete, what time of day did you get them, you said middle of the day? Did you get onto them straight up? How deep?
Regards wayne

Pistol_P
06-08-2008, 08:08 PM
Nice fish there Pete, what time of day did you get them, you said middle of the day? Did you get onto them straight up? How deep?
Regards wayne

Hey Wayne...

We left at Gentlemans hours at 11.00am....:P .....Got to our mark probably around 11.30am.

Yes we got snapper on plastics pretty much straight away....In 40 metres.

Wayne_Red
06-08-2008, 08:17 PM
Great stuff thanks, gotta love gentlemans hours, probably only happen on plastics that time of day.
Wayne

SummerTrance
06-08-2008, 08:20 PM
Well done guys. Looks like you've converted another one Pete.

06-08-2008, 08:39 PM
well done mate was there much bait on the bommie

Pistol_P
06-08-2008, 08:53 PM
well done mate was there much bait on the bommie

Yakkas were around....Adrian got a couple on bait and we threw one out live for a cobe...but no action on that front.

indy
07-08-2008, 07:05 PM
G'day pete

Got my first snapper on the weekend on a 7 " nuc chook, didn't it hit hard wasn't expecting it at all near pulled the rod out of my hands alot of fun very different to the bait, do they always hit like that or does it very? It went around 4.5kg mark still dont have a clue what i am doing but it is certainly something different.

Pistol_P
07-08-2008, 07:39 PM
G'day pete

Got my first snapper on the weekend on a 7 " nuc chook, didn't it hit hard wasn't expecting it at all near pulled the rod out of my hands alot of fun very different to the bait, do they always hit like that or does it very? It went around 4.5kg mark still dont have a clue what i am doing but it is certainly something different.

Hey indy,

keep going with the plastics...they are dynamite on the snapper.

I float my down and some of the hits are very aggressive....they really whack the plastics.

Congrats on the first one.....You will get a heap now.8-)

death_ship
07-08-2008, 07:42 PM
nice fishin pete, love those late starts

ffejsmada
07-08-2008, 08:03 PM
Good work Pete, the only pink things I can catch are jewies, got another 2 this arvo. I'd love a Snap.

Jeff.

Pistol_P
07-08-2008, 09:39 PM
Good work Pete, the only pink things I can catch are jewies, got another 2 this arvo. I'd love a Snap.

Jeff.

mmmm the jewies have come out to play in that dirty water eh..?

any size..?......The bar didnt even have a ripple on it yesterday mate....Get out to Jew shoal.

Wind Dancer
08-08-2008, 04:59 PM
Nice fish well done Cheers

ddobson
09-08-2008, 08:54 AM
Well done boyz. Its times like this i wish i had a bigger boat to play around in the depths of the snapper haunts you guys have found. Good day by the looks of it as the morning weather didn't sound good.

Nic
09-08-2008, 02:13 PM
Well done! Good to see you've turned a plastics skeptic into an SP fan, too. Some folks seem to think this whole plastics craze is a giant swindle, and that bait will always outfish SPs. If only they knew! :)

abbot_86
09-08-2008, 05:57 PM
nice work peter thats a good effort at that time of day!!

Fishing_Freddy
10-08-2008, 07:35 AM
Great snaps, hopefully I will get a couple next weekend. I'm going to try SP's again as I still haven't had much luck with, but I'm still learning.
Ken :beer: