View Full Version : BEN HUR:MONDY MUSTER 1&2) & Part 3 Sept 10-12th 2010

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

06-08-2008, 08:31 AM
Hi Fellow Ausfishers & IBD sufferers

Here it is - our very own annual gathering " The Mondy Muster" ..... and this is where it all started 8-) - lets keep it going.

Well its pretty well looking like The Mighty Whitey & I will be heading up for a week of therapy (12th-20th) ...... with the plan to split our time between the two impoundments.
This will be my first venture to chase dam barra so early in the season (humour me you lucky locals;) ) ...... We normally fish impoundments in late Oct /Nov as a side interest to our NQ estuary trips.

So what can we expect ....... Typical weather patterns / temps ( night temps) We will be tenting it ! I Froze my butt off one night - last Oct at Cania
On the fishing front (knowing weather pattens play their part) What tactics are successful ..... ie surface poppers / walkers etc ...... Shallow or deep ( Night fishing)

Anything else

We'd appreciate some help ........ Also I need to advise MW on what he needs to stock up on ! ......... Besides beer:P

Cheers & thanks

Nagg

Magella
06-08-2008, 08:40 AM
frogs and green bombers

Cheers Foxie

06-08-2008, 09:36 AM
frogs and green bombers

Cheers Foxie

I should have seen that one coming Foxie ( from a mile away) ::) ;D

I'm going to try to catch up with you this trip ......... We seem to arrive at some un-godly hour or head / come from the opposite direction!

Obi _ Wan
06-08-2008, 09:42 AM
Don't forget all your GPS marks, auto casters and Mango Tree identification sheets.

John.

black_sheep
06-08-2008, 09:48 AM
Nagg,

We will be at Monduran around the start of the full moon.

As for methods and tactics.

I'm taking the lot! Sept can be the best of both worlds as we could get some really warm days but could also get cold. As a general starting point, we will start with fairly shallow water (2-6ft) and depending on temps, go deeper.

Again, as a general rule - damn and dusk are the times we usually a bit more experimental with surface presentations and during the day, mainly stick to subsurface offerings.

We will try and fish most of the first night that we up there to see if they are active. If not, we will mostly fish 5am to 7pm.

We have opted for cabins rather than camp - could still get cold at night and we'll only get about 2.5 days fishing so don't want to waste time setting up and packing up.

Again mate, this is just a starting point. I always take up nearly all my barra lures. We won't know for sure until we hit the ramp and see what the water is doing. Everyday could be different so for this time of the year, go open minded and be prepared to try different methods depending on conditions - anything could work.

P.S. We always start with each angler using something quite different. if someone cracks the code, don't be scared to swap to what they using/doing. For us mate, it's not about pride, it's all about coversion rates and making sure you don't donut - hey Benny:o .

May catch you on the water.

06-08-2008, 10:13 AM
Don't forget all your GPS marks, auto casters and Mango Tree identification sheets.

John.

First things packed John ........ Along with the Enigma decoder set for Gladstone! ;D

plus .... a cricket bat to keep MW under control

06-08-2008, 10:22 AM
Nagg,

We will be at Monduran around the start of the full moon.

As for methods and tactics.

I'm taking the lot! Sept can be the best of both worlds as we could get some really warm days but could also get cold. As a general starting point, we will start with fairly shallow water (2-6ft) and depending on temps, go deeper.

Again, as a general rule - damn and dusk are the times we usually a bit more experimental with surface presentations and during the day, mainly stick to subsurface offerings.

We will try and fish most of the first night that we up there to see if they are active. If not, we will mostly fish 5am to 7pm.

We have opted for cabins rather than camp - could still get cold at night and we'll only get about 2.5 days fishing so don't want to waste time setting up and packing up.

Again mate, this is just a starting point. I always take up nearly all my barra lures. We won't know for sure until we hit the ramp and see what the water is doing. Everyday could be different so for this time of the year, go open minded and be prepared to try different methods depending on conditions - anything could work.

P.S. We always start with each angler using something quite different. if someone cracks the code, don't be scared to swap to what they using/doing. For us mate, it's not about pride, it's all about coversion rates and making sure you don't donut - hey Benny:o .

May catch you on the water.

Thanks Nav ........ Good info there8-)

I think a fair few are going to be around at that time ......... It could make for an interesting hungover weekend . We get in on Friday evening & move on to Awoonga around Tuesday lunchtime
Hope to catch up!

Obi _ Wan
06-08-2008, 11:39 AM
LOL Chris, Good stuff.

Mate be prepared to tackle all possible events, fishing methods and of course the weather. I froze in a heavy sleeping bag at Faust a couple of years ago at Faust, in the middle of October.

But i think the most necessary items of all that you need to pack are your animal cunning and senses, be prepared to experiment.

Good luck mate, you may even see me in that neck of the woods around that time.

John.

Steve B
06-08-2008, 11:45 AM
Hi Fellow Ausfishers & IBD sufferers

Well its pretty well looking like The Mighty Whitey & I will be heading up for a week of therapy (12th-20th) ...... with the plan to split our time between the two impoundments.
This will be my first venture to chase dam barra so early in the season (humour me you lucky locals;) ) ...... We normally fish impoundments in late Oct /Nov as a side interest to our NQ estuary trips.

So what can we expect ....... Typical weather patterns / temps ( night temps) We will be tenting it ! I Froze my butt off one night - last Oct at Cania
On the fishing front (knowing weather pattens play their part) What tactics are successful ..... ie surface poppers / walkers etc ...... Shallow or deep ( Night fishing)

Anything else

We'd appreciate some help ........ Also I need to advise MW on what he needs to stock up on ! ......... Besides beer:P

Cheers & thanks

Nagg

Decent beer for a start! may I recommend a local drop called XXXX.;D

No fish bite until summer I am told. its too cold in september.;)

Navi and John have pretty much nailed it.

06-08-2008, 12:28 PM
Decent beer for a start! may I recommend a local drop called XXXX.;D

No fish bite until summer I am told. its too cold in september.;)

Navi and John have pretty much nailed it.

XXXX a decent beer ......32336 Here is a picture of the predecessor to xxxx ...... just kidding;)

Whitto
06-08-2008, 03:09 PM
Chris.....We will be that is Tropical Trout Nipsta and Myself at Monduran on the 12/13/14/ September and I believe the 15th is the full moon...a spot of night fishing will be happening as well as an evening or two of drinking Swill and general discussions of BullS..t.......we maybe able to encourage Foxie and SteveB to grace us with their presence as well as anyone else who has a mind to come over and say G'Day.......Cheers Whitto PS You will recognise my boat it's painted green as are all my lures;D

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
06-08-2008, 03:10 PM
Nagg,
Attached below is an older/recent post that you may like to put into your decoder. If anyone new exactly what any water way would be like in a months time, we would all likely be masterminds. All we can do is guess and assume, but a lot can happen in a month. Maybe one day many will realise how bizzare fishing and nature really is and that fine tuning still comes down to the minute. Your ABT approach should be the same, you will need to fine tune and possibly adjust plans in the hour before kick off time.
Black Sheeps simple 'trial and error' approach is what is required on everyday of summer, autumn, winter and spring. All lure types offer the same stimulus in any season. The same tackle box full of lures are useful tools on any barramundi trip on any lake in any month. September usually offers improving water temperatures and therefore increasing metabolsims of barramundi. All day and all night in Sepetmber may allow you opportunity to hook fish if a typical September unfolds. (but what is typical anymore?) Cool mornings and nights are likely, warm days are possible, increasing air temperature is most likely.
I for one don't expect to be fishing the same way as we did last September when it was fishing extremely well, am or pm!
Here is that piece for the decoder!!
JM

Nagg,
A 'new look' Lake Awoonga down beneath the surface has changed my approach to fishing slightly, yet again. A few new lures, 2 new rod/reel combos and a changed mental attitude to the new lake will help keep me in touch with yet another 'chapter' in changing lake dynamics.
Weed and moss buffers on the edges and weed bed barriers out in deep water have changed water flow and wave action, so for the ' now time', in some ways, we have a lake and some barramundi that will behave differently in these circumstances. Some good lures that have done quite well in the past may not do as good and some new fandangle tackle will fill a few gaps.
Johnny
* This is as simple as I can describe it.

06-08-2008, 05:31 PM
Chris.....We will be that is Tropical Trout Nipsta and Myself at Monduran on the 12/13/14/ September and I believe the 15th is the full moon...a spot of night fishing will be happening as well as an evening or two of drinking Swill and general discussions of BullS..t.......we maybe able to encourage Foxie and SteveB to grace us with their presence as well as anyone else who has a mind to come over and say G'Day.......Cheers Whitto PS You will recognise my boat it's painted green as are all my lures;D

Hey Whitto ........ It will be great to catch up with you guys & share some lunatic soup ! We really wanted to have a night session too :P Probably stay out late rather than trying to get out of bed too early on a full tank::)

06-08-2008, 05:48 PM
Thanks JM ..... I think::)
I totally understand the time thing ..... & the seasonal / weather influences !
So i'm not looking for the silver bullet ( just thoughts)
I'll be rocking up with a range of toys to play with ......... & my game face on ( eyes & ears open ...... spend more time taking it all in! I certainly plan to do a fair bit of exploring )
But ...... As we are traveling a fair whack , some forward preparation is required!

cheers & hope to catch up

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
06-08-2008, 06:17 PM
Nagg,
I'm sure you have done more than enough preperation after the many months of prompting and questioning on this site. I like your response -"I'll be rocking up with a range of toys to play with ......... & my game face on ( eyes & ears open ...... spend more time taking it all in! I certainly plan to do a fair bit of exploring )"
That is the answer that is required.
Yell out when you arrive. I'll be out there, somewhere! I'm sure there will be more up to date information by then. Techniques catch fish; the more you have, the better your chances.
jm

BR65
06-08-2008, 08:00 PM
Said in a real annoying whiney tone -

"maaaate, have ya tried the search function, heaps of info on here if ya have a look"

lol
sorry Chris, couldnt help myself mate, reckon there will be a few up there on that week end, be good to catch up.
I think Pete4 is up end of August??
brian

06-08-2008, 08:11 PM
Said in a real annoying whiney tone -

"maaaate, have ya tried the search function, heaps of info on here if ya have a look"

lol
sorry Chris, couldnt help myself mate, reckon there will be a few up there on that week end, be good to catch up.
brian

I did I did ... I did use the search function ( in my best Tweety voice)

But all I got was ......" maaaaate have ya tried the search function , heaps of info on here if ya have a look"

Besides ..... I cant read anyhow::)

Yes .... It looks like there will be a veritable IBD fest ........... Can't wait

Peter4
06-08-2008, 08:18 PM

You would be correct. I will have 3 1/2 days on the water at Monduran from 28 - 31 August.

Currently testing and adjusting all lures/slick rigs. About to get some frogs......;)

Re-spooling a couple of reels and constructing a few twisted leaders. Watching the weather patterns closely.........only 21 sleeps to go;D

BR65
06-08-2008, 08:28 PM
Pete, what, were you lurking on here or something mate;D

Look forward to the trip report, hope you and Kyle smack a big girl

brian

06-08-2008, 08:28 PM
You would be correct. I will have 3 1/2 days on the water at Monduran from 28 - 31 August.

Currently testing and adjusting all lures/slick rigs. About to get some frogs......;)

Re-spooling a couple of reels and constructing a few twisted leaders. Watching the weather patterns closely.........only 21 sleeps to go;D

Hey Pete ........ Green Frogs ???

So you're getting the jump on everyone .......... before the fish wise up with the influx of frogs & green bombers;D

Hope you do well ........

06-08-2008, 09:21 PM
Hey Steve & Foxy ( & others)

What is the road between the Burnett Hwy & Bruce Hwy ( via Mt Perry) like ???

I'm trying to avoid travelling through Toowoomba or Brisbane

Nagg

Peter4
07-08-2008, 07:48 AM
Pete, what, were you lurking on here or something mate;D

Look forward to the trip report, hope you and Kyle smack a big girl

Brian,

Yep - you caught me having a lurk! Usually I'm on this forum in the mornings but did a quick login after dinner!

Kyle is already having trouble sleeping...I have never seen a 16 year-old so excited about fishing, not just this trip but every time we take the boat out!

Mind you, I get a little excited myself.......:D

I'm going for some grey/white frogs and Kyle has chosen a black/yellow combo. We're not real sure about these offerings but will let you know how they go....

Green is too common and we're both really red frog kids!!;)

Regs

Awoonga
07-08-2008, 09:26 AM
Mr Nagg... Fellow ABT Barra Fisher...l have my game face on as well...So you will understand this reply....Who shares wins....yea right !

DEANO68
07-08-2008, 12:58 PM
Looks like being a pretty busy weekend up there 12,13,14th september lets hope the weather is kind, will be there friday morn set the tent then go see what the arvo brings ,apart from xxxx ,hopefully a few fish and a starting point for saturday.. see you all there..deano..

07-08-2008, 04:45 PM
Mr Nagg... Fellow ABT Barra Fisher...l have my game face on as well...So you will understand this reply....Who shares wins....yea right !

I'll share a Chicken sanga with you ( with mayo) & a Coke!

BR65
07-08-2008, 07:25 PM
Brian,

Yep - you caught me having a lurk! Usually I'm on this forum in the mornings but did a quick login after dinner!

Kyle is already having trouble sleeping...I have never seen a 16 year-old so excited about fishing, not just this trip but every time we take the boat out!

Mind you, I get a little excited myself.......:D

I'm going for some grey/white frogs and Kyle has chosen a black/yellow combo. We're not real sure about these offerings but will let you know how they go....

Green is too common and we're both really red frog kids!!;)

Regs

lol mate, plus good to see the young bloke keen on fishin, gotta be happy with that.
Re the frog colours, I see Foxie is advocateing a new colour - Fredo - in BnB

11-08-2008, 07:41 AM
Looks like being a pretty busy weekend up there 12,13,14th september lets hope the weather is kind, will be there friday morn set the tent then go see what the arvo brings ,apart from xxxx ,hopefully a few fish and a starting point for saturday.. see you all there..deano..

You watch Deano ...... This will be the longest 30 days known to man......... & you can only clean your gear , check drags , count lures just so many times:P

Whitto
11-08-2008, 08:02 AM
Looks like being a pretty busy weekend up there 12,13,14th september lets hope the weather is kind, will be there friday morn set the tent then go see what the arvo brings ,apart from xxxx ,hopefully a few fish and a starting point for saturday.. see you all there..deano.. Will be looking forward to meeting u...We will be at Monduran Friday morning to set up and have a speculator in the arvo......and a few guzzles Friday night...Cheers Whitto

DEANO68
11-08-2008, 08:13 AM
You watch Deano ...... This will be the longest 30 days known to man......... & you can only clean your gear , check drags , count lures just so many times:P

Chris im hearin ya chris,ive got a little work trip to rainbow on the 22nd
this month for team bonding for a few days flicken around the streights, its really just a big piss up,20 odd,(and i mean odd) blokes and a heap of boats so that will take the mind off the ibd for a bit..and get the casting arm primed...deano..

DEANO68
11-08-2008, 08:32 AM
Will be looking forward to meeting u...We will be at Monduran Friday morning to set up and have a speculator in the arvo......and a few guzzles Friday night...Cheers Whittoyes whitto it will be good to meet you and all of the crew that frequent this site, looks like its gona be a fair turn out..rekon the mornings might be a bit fuzzy but that all part of fishin eh..;)
reckon the tent will go up pretty quick friday morn then out there...cant wait..
deano..

Magella
11-08-2008, 05:50 PM
Nagg,
If you are coming down the Burnett Highway turn right at Ban Ban
Springs through Biggenden and out onto the Bruce Highway about 30klm south of GinGin. All good Road. The Perry road has still some patches of dirt and can be a bit rough not good for painted boats.
Cheers Foxie
PS We can still get that beer up here are you saying it's old stock

11-08-2008, 08:48 PM
Nagg,
If you are coming down the Burnett Highway turn right at Ban Ban
Springs through Biggenden and out onto the Bruce Highway about 30klm south of GinGin. All good Road. The Perry road has still some patches of dirt and can be a bit rough not good for painted boats.
Cheers Foxie
PS We can still get that beer up here are you saying it's old stock

Thanks Foxie ........ My map was oldish & it looked like it was a dirt road !
i dont want to loose any socialising time going through the big towns on the way up:)

PS ..... xxxx (= skull & crossbones ...... in the pre metric days)

Roo
12-08-2008, 12:16 PM
Myself and Themissus will be making our way up on monday 15th via a brief stopover at Club Chewy. Team Chewy and ourselves snagged a house out there till Friday 19th so we can put some more hours into the IBD tank. Competition will be fierce. Hopefully catchup with any weekend stragglers on monday after the obligatory stopover at Foxies to finetune strategies and finalise armoury.

Got my Green Frogs from last trip ready to go. gave the green bombers a sidestep for now tho'. I may need to add a few classics to the box'o'goodies. I've got plenty of F18's already, any suggestions for either 10+ or 15+ barra classics? I was looking at black with redhead/silver scale pattern one that looked mighty tasty. Isn't this your goto Brian?

Cheers Roo.

12-08-2008, 12:42 PM
Myself and Themissus will be making our way up on monday 15th via a brief stopover at Club Chewy. Team Chewy and ourselves snagged a house out there till Friday 19th so we can put some more hours into the IBD tank. Competition will be fierce. Hopefully catchup with any weekend stragglers on monday after the obligatory stopover at Foxies to finetune strategies and finalise armoury.

Got my Green Frogs from last trip ready to go. gave the green bombers a sidestep for now tho'. I may need to add a few classics to the box'o'goodies. I've got plenty of F18's already, any suggestions for either 10+ or 15+ barra classics? I was looking at black with redhead/silver scale pattern one that looked mighty tasty. Isn't this your goto Brian?

Cheers Roo.

Its getting bigger all the time ........ Hope to catch up with you guys ( we are there till tuesday afternoon)

themissus
12-08-2008, 04:44 PM
I don't want to start thinking about it yet... it's still to far away!!
Cheers Kim.

chewy01
12-08-2008, 05:37 PM
No no no kim,its only 34sleeps,which makes plenty of time to get several batches of rocky road ready:) Any and i have combined out tackle boxes and i now know where a lot of my lures have dissappeared to.i shouldnt need to buy any bombers(it appears we have 20 or so)but im sure there is something missing.some storm softies perhaps,or even better foxie might have a secret fly so i can get a mondy barra on fly.If roo is nice i might even give him a crack at it......
chewy.............

Roo
12-08-2008, 05:44 PM
Ha! fly fishing is for......... Not that there's anything wrong with that!!!!

themissus
12-08-2008, 05:50 PM
The only thing Roo will be cracking with a fly will be himself....in the back of the head.

chewy01
12-08-2008, 06:10 PM
Im betting once you catch your first tarpon on fly you willl go out and kit up..

Whitto
12-08-2008, 07:10 PM
I heard soooooo much about this Rocky Road:D......Tropical Trout.....Nipsta.....Myself are destined never to sample any:'(.....we will be at Mondy 12/13/14 September:)....and when do u guys arrive 15th:'(....AAaahhhhhh Well maybe next time........Have a good trip in any case........Whitto

13-08-2008, 08:21 AM
I heard soooooo much about this Rocky Road:D......Tropical Trout.....Nipsta.....Myself are destined never to sample any:'(.....we will be at Mondy 12/13/14 September:)....and when do u guys arrive 15th:'(....AAaahhhhhh Well maybe next time........Have a good trip in any case........Whitto

I heard about this famous Rocky Road ........ but I just thought It was the route between Gin Gin & Childers ( which we took last Oct::) )

Nagg

:2vrolijk_08: 29 Days to go!

DEANO68
13-08-2008, 09:13 AM
Nagg

:2vrolijk_08: 29 Days to go![/quote]
and counting..might go shopping today to calm it down a bit...the days are all ready slowing down.....8-)

Pete62
13-08-2008, 09:16 AM
Morning all, excuse my ignorance but...............IBD.................please explain..............

You guys crack me up counting down days to a trip, never happens to me.........

Week snowboarding at Mt Hotham.................17 sleeps

Week at Monduran........................66 sleeps

Geez no wonder I can't concentrate................

Cheers, Pete.

Roo
13-08-2008, 10:21 AM
Pete, IBD = Impoundment Barra Disease.

Deano, Shopping is therapy. do what you gotta do mate.

Nagg, If you play your cards right you may be introduced to the choc/marshmallow goodies here known as the Rocky Road.

Whitto, Tropical Trout and Nipsta. We will be thinking of ya....while munching. Hope you do well, dont forget to drop into foxies to report how you went so we can get the latest from the dam.....while munching more rocky road. Nevermind, there will be other trips i'm sure.

Chewy, I'll say it again, you know what fly fishing is for!!!! and there aint no tarpon in Mondy!!

Cheers Roo.

13-08-2008, 10:32 AM
Morning all, excuse my ignorance but...............IBD.................please explain..............

You guys crack me up counting down days to a trip, never happens to me.........

Week snowboarding at Mt Hotham.................17 sleeps

Week at Monduran........................66 sleeps

Geez no wonder I can't concentrate................

Cheers, Pete.

obviously a non sufferer :alien:

IMPOUNDMENT BARRA DISEASE ........ easily diagnosed & recognisable ! Names like Monduran, Awoonga , Tinaroo , Teemburra , Faust etc ..... make the heart race .
Stiffies excite blokes. Our favorite animal is a frog. We are obsessed with upgrading our tackle .......... & looking for Homer
These are mild symptoms though!

Do you recognise these Symptoms ?

13-08-2008, 10:37 AM
Pete, IBD = Impoundment Barra Disease.

Deano, Shopping is therapy. do what you gotta do mate.

Nagg, If you play your cards right you may be introduced to the choc/marshmallow goodies here known as the Rocky Road.

Whitto, Tropical Trout and Nipsta. We will be thinking of ya....while munching. Hope you do well, dont forget to drop into foxies to report how you went so we can get the latest from the dam.....while munching more rocky road. Nevermind, there will be other trips i'm sure.

Chewy, I'll say it again, you know what fly fishing is for!!!! and there aint no tarpon in Mondy!!

Cheers Roo.

YES ..... I did hear of those delights from your last trip ...... Didn't the camp site line up at your cabin :P

13-08-2008, 10:39 AM
Nagg

:2vrolijk_08: 29 Days to go!
and counting..might go shopping today to calm it down a bit...the days are all ready slowing down.....8-)[/quote]

Tackle shopping just inflames the Symptoms ......... I've tried it already this week::)

Pete62
13-08-2008, 10:44 AM
Nagg, I am a sufferer but I just didn't have a name to put to my ailment, the somptoms should also include, compulsive list making, continual scouring of mail flyers for the B*F cattledog, ears pricking at the FTA jingle and the complete uninterest in anything not associated with above mentioned persuits.

Now, what time does the chemist(read Foxies) open.....................

13-08-2008, 10:53 AM
Nagg, I am a sufferer but I just didn't have a name to put to my ailment, the somptoms should also include, compulsive list making, continual scouring of mail flyers for the B*F cattledog, ears pricking at the FTA jingle and the complete uninterest in anything not associated with above mentioned persuits.

Now, what time does the chemist(read Foxies) open.....................

Yeh ..... That sounds like you may have it!
But you don't have to "suffer in silence"

Roo
13-08-2008, 12:15 PM
More of an Apothecary i think. plenty of IBD remedies and concoctions, not much in the way of perfume and diet pills.

Pete62
13-08-2008, 12:33 PM
Roo, man, the words u use, just spent 10mins researching the meaning of "Apothecary" They say u learn something every day, so i'm done.

13-08-2008, 01:34 PM
Roo, man, the words u use, just spent 10mins researching the meaning of "Apothecary" They say u learn something every day, so i'm done.

Now use it in a sentance ! ... but not the same as Roo's:)

Obviously a cunninglinquist!

Pete62
13-08-2008, 01:47 PM
It was decided that an old-style herbal and homeopathic dispensary was the best way to provide an affordable service and the Apothecary was opened (apothecary traditionally meaning the chemist or pharmacist). An over-the-counter dispensary allows people who feel unwell or have health concerns to just drop in. If assistance can be provided there and then it will be. If the person needs to consult at length they will be referred to a recommended practitioner. This may be a herbalist, homeopath, masseur, osteopath, acupuncturist or doctor.

Whow, buggered now...........................

themissus
13-08-2008, 02:15 PM
Stiffies excite blokes.

It's not just the blokes;) ;)

Pete62
13-08-2008, 02:23 PM
................your terrible Muriel.....................

Roo
13-08-2008, 05:18 PM

Buckle up buttercup, I'm on my way round;) :-*

13-08-2008, 05:27 PM

Yeh Kim ........ but now you are talking normal behavior & not associated with Mardi Gras:oops:

Steve B
13-08-2008, 08:25 PM

Kim, Glad to see its your favourite......lure that is;);)

Cant wait for the rocky road again. I have the sat, sun, monday tues off that weekend everyone is coming.....should be good!!!

Went to Mondy today. Got a 89cm and dropped 2 fish (mate dropped 1 too) all in new areas! Homer is still there, that area seems to be getting a fair workout for some reason....mmm I think its going to be good this spring. Got the fish on flaps. He rocks...or is it she rocks;);D, not sure, but it loves catching barra.
Steve. I am sorry if I have inflamed anyones IBD. but I just had to get out and fish after a long week at work. Not worth of a full blown report, but still a fun day out.

13-08-2008, 09:01 PM
Kim, Glad to see its your favourite......lure that is;);)

Cant wait for the rocky road again. I have the sat, sun, monday tues off that weekend everyone is coming.....should be good!!!

Went to Mondy today. Got a 89cm and dropped 2 fish (mate dropped 1 too) all in new areas! Homer is still there, that area seems to be getting a fair workout for some reason....mmm I think its going to be good this spring. Got the fish on flaps. He rocks...or is it she rocks;);D, not sure, but it loves catching barra.
Steve. I am sorry if I have inflamed anyones IBD. but I just had to get out and fish after a long week at work. Not worth of a full blown report, but still a fun day out.

Flaps:-/ :-/ :-/ What is Flaps ? .......... is it used in conjunction with the stiffy :-[

Sounds like things are looking good alright ......... a week of warm stable weather prior to our arrival would be nice:P

Thanks for the read Steve

PS ...... I know it might be blasphemy ....... but has anyone thrown some of Kim's rocky road with a hook in it ? ....... A nice little floater with that use of marshmallow;)

14-08-2008, 08:40 AM

Ben was up there yesterday as well for one day's psychotherapy;D Mad bugger::) He'll be back with us on the 13th-15th. The only person he saw all day was Les idling past at 500 trillion mph;D Thought it was Jas at first but was definitely Mr McCod (or is that McBarra these days Les?)

Looking forward to catching up with everyone.

Steve B
14-08-2008, 08:54 AM
paul,

yeah that was Les. I didnt see him, I did see Jas though in an area I call springfield bay!!! Its where Homer lives!! I went back there late in the day for old time sakes!!! . I have been hiding around the dam lately sussing out some newish areas. I could hear sound like low flying jets in the distance....I figured it was the Les and/or Jas!!!

I totally forgot Ben was coming up. I should have called him.. I had a big week at work, and I just wanted to get on the water!! Ben, I am really sorry I didn't catch up. Look forward to your report mate.

steve

Chris. Old Flaps!! bit of a sneaky one. I will show you when you get here!!!

Roo
14-08-2008, 10:50 AM
Made from a Sow's ear and resembles a silk purse!!

themissus
14-08-2008, 11:11 AM
The special orders have already started. Roo and Steve want rock road with out nuts,princesses:-* Steve wants another ginger cake.
Any other orders ?? It will make time pass quicker... give me something else to focus on. Help keep the IBD at bay. God knows watching the fishing DVD's isn't helping.:'(
Cheers Kim.

Whitto pm sent;)

black_sheep
14-08-2008, 05:52 PM
I need a few more Rods Kim!

The Rocky Road is a given;D .

Would have been great to catch up again but looks like we'll miss each other by 1 day. We leave on the 15th - Doh:-/ .

Steve B
14-08-2008, 08:23 PM
Mmmmm gingeeeer caaaaakee!!! Aaaagh (with dribble)

thanks Kim. ;D;D

14-08-2008, 10:17 PM
paul,

yeah that was Les. I didnt see him, I did see Jas though in an area I call springfield bay!!! Its where Homer lives!! I went back there late in the day for old time sakes!!! . I have been hiding around the dam lately sussing out some newish areas. I could hear sound like low flying jets in the distance....I figured it was the Les and/or Jas!!!

I totally forgot Ben was coming up. I should have called him.. I had a big week at work, and I just wanted to get on the water!! Ben, I am really sorry I didn't catch up. Look forward to your report mate.

steve

Chris. Old Flaps!! bit of a sneaky one. I will show you when you get here!!!

I think I know what flaps are

themissus
15-08-2008, 09:58 AM
Hey Navi.
We check in the morning of the 15th, so may see you.
I have a Rod you can have but i don't want him back. Ill give you a batch of RR as a deal sweetener.;)
If we do miss you please leave a report with foxie!!
Good Luck
Cheers Kim.

Roo
15-08-2008, 11:16 AM
Me luv u Loong time!

Whitto
15-08-2008, 11:30 AM
I think I know what flaps are I can tell you Chris my minds Boggling....and Im not saying a thing;D....Whitto PS: I caught myself humming this morning and my right arm started flicking

Whitto
15-08-2008, 11:35 AM
The special orders have already started. Roo and Steve want rock road with out nuts,princesses:-* Steve wants another ginger cake.
Any other orders ?? It will make time pass quicker... give me something else to focus on. Help keep the IBD at bay. God knows watching the fishing DVD's isn't helping.:'(
Cheers Kim.

Whitto pm sent;)RR without nuts...now that borders on Blasphemy......:'(

Roo
15-08-2008, 11:37 AM
RR without nuts...now that borders on Blasphemy......:'(

Its the Female version.....with extra turkish delight!!!!
If you prefer to eat nuts.......go ahead.:-X

Whitto
15-08-2008, 12:04 PM
Its the Female version.....with extra turkish delight!!!!
If you prefer to eat nuts.......go ahead.:-XNow that u put it that way...Ill have to go with the extra Turkish Delight;D

chewy01
15-08-2008, 12:37 PM
Dont forget the spacial popcorn Kimmy!!!!

black_sheep
15-08-2008, 12:54 PM
Kim, I don't think that rod would stand up to my abuse :o . I'd rather use a handline with braid!;D

Wil;l definitely try and catch up or at minimum, give foxy all the gps marks;).

themissus
15-08-2008, 01:07 PM
I agree Whitto, without nuts is just boring.
Got a box of sweet and salty popcorn with your name on it Chewy.;)
Navi, you would be surprised just how much abuse he can take. Much of it self abuse:-X
We only have a 1 1/2 drive on monday morn so would like to get there fairly early. Will you have the walkie talkies? We will be in the house beside the managers residence. (I think they know we're trouble:P ) So drop in if we are there.
Cheers Kim.

themissus
15-08-2008, 01:08 PM
it's still 32 sleeps away.:'( :'(

Steve B
15-08-2008, 01:43 PM
This thread will reach about 3000 replies before the 30 days is up!!!;D;D

I will keep fishing and reporting when I can as research for you guys to help you get ready and excited.....the things I do for friends!!

Navi, bring some more of the yummy steak!! That was good gear!! cooked to perfection by Vinny el cheffo.

cheers steve

15-08-2008, 01:49 PM
Kim

Yep, we will have the walkie talkies with us, although if you can understand Navi's babble and drivel, you're at the very least, bilingual;)

We're (Navi, Vin, Ben, Dale, Gary and myself) actually camping out in Gin Gin and not at the lake.

I missed the last trip and heard so much about the RR, I will be locking Navi away in the rod locker so I can have his share;D

Speaking of abuse, if you look up the word Abuse in the dictionary, you'll see a big colour photo of Navi.....well I think it's colour::)

15-08-2008, 01:53 PM
Navi, bring some more of the yummy steak!! That was good gear!! cooked to perfection by Vinny el cheffo.

cheers steve

Hey Steve, Navi tells everyone that it is steak:o It's amazing just what you can do with :-X :-X

See ya up there when we are there.

Steve B
15-08-2008, 01:55 PM
Paul,

I hope its steak and not some indian goat meat or something!! Hows the new chariot going mate?? cant wait to take it for a strap!!

15-08-2008, 02:00 PM
The chariot is just about ready to take to the battle field Steve. Still running it in, but all good so far. There is a spare spot for ya.

Indian goat meat....now that's a delicacy.....more like the sweat from a Tibetan Yak's cr*ck;D

Think Navi was going to send you a PM.

Steve B
15-08-2008, 02:07 PM
Awesome mate!!

I got some good new spots where you wont get any timber scratches on it either!!!!

talk to you before then!!

cheers steve

If that Yak came with a side dish of steffanie RICE I'd be all over it!!;);D

15-08-2008, 02:15 PM
;)
Awesome mate!!

I got some good new spots where you wont get any timber scratches on it either!!!!

talk to you before then!!

cheers steve

If that Yak came with a side dish of steffanie RICE I'd be all over it!!;);D

Sounds like a plan Steve.

That RICE dish is pure gold I hear. Long white grain that floats well. Everyone wants to get their hands on it at the moment;D ;)

15-08-2008, 02:22 PM
it's still 32 sleeps away.:'( :'(

:2vrolijk_08: 28 to GO - 28 to GO!

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
15-08-2008, 02:44 PM
Go the 'flaps' and the other one!!

black_sheep
15-08-2008, 02:45 PM
Kim,

I will have the 2 way radios.

Probably use Channel 1.

I will PM you closer to the date.

Notice how I avoided the 'Rod' topic.

Whitto
15-08-2008, 03:11 PM
Kim,

Probably use Channel 1.

Notice how I avoided the 'Rod' topic.Look I have to say you are taking this friendly abuse very well Black Sheep....so what if you break fishing gear the moment you touch it.....I don't understand.... "Why are people so unkind".....now where have I heard that said before;D......Whitto PS I wonder what everyone will do when u outfish us all this trip HHmmm!

themissus
15-08-2008, 03:20 PM
I'd try and avoid it too Navi!!:-X :P ::) ;)

I see 'Flaps' has made it onto Foxies website.

black_sheep
15-08-2008, 03:41 PM
Whitto - Grew up in South Africa through the whole apartheid regime mate so developed thick skin very quickly mate.

Unfortunately, this abuse happens before every trip and somehow, I still manage to break exxy rods and provide the donuts;D .

Hopefully your last sentence in a good omen;) .

Keep the banter going mate, it’s keeps us on our toes. BTW – Vin my brother is the Kamal look a like. Apparentely, I’m more like Sammy Davis Jnr – without the semi :o (no comment Kim).

themissus
15-08-2008, 04:03 PM
that's not fair:-X :-X :-* :-*

chewy01
15-08-2008, 04:25 PM
hi all,
Maybe we should aim to have smoko(rocky road style)somewhere on monday morning?8-)
Though that means ur going to have to get roo up early kim???So we can get up there!!!!
::) ::) ::) chewy............

15-08-2008, 04:33 PM
I’m more like Sammy Davis Jnr

Or Muttiah Muraliditheran or a cut down version of Curtly Ambrose;)

chewy01
15-08-2008, 04:34 PM
Hey Navi,
you may break some expensive gear but least you dont throw them over the side........ do you?????

themissus
15-08-2008, 04:40 PM
Do you really think there will be any sleep the night before we get there?? Going over tactics etc.

Morning tea sounds like a great idea.
Cheers Kim.

themissus
15-08-2008, 05:07 PM
Hey Navi,
you may break some expensive gear but least you dont throw them over the side........ do you?????

Them fighting words chew!!

chewy01
15-08-2008, 05:16 PM
Not really sure i want to know what you pair will be doing the night b4 you get here.GEEZ...tactics????? "s" factor?Roo must be doing some work today????::) ::) :P :P

Roo
15-08-2008, 05:44 PM
just watching.......waiting.......ready to pounce....like a tiger!!!!gggrooowwll. you'll keep chewman..you'll keep.:whip:

Your ok Navi, I dont reckon your action is suss. no chuckin' here mate.

chewy01
15-08-2008, 05:53 PM
You go tiger!!!! Though im somewhat worried by the whip cracking emoticon????:D :D

themissus
15-08-2008, 05:57 PM
Nagg,
are u camping, in a cabin or house?
29 sleeps, you lucky bugger

15-08-2008, 06:00 PM
I'd try and avoid it too Navi!!:-X :P ::) ;)

I see 'Flaps' has made it onto Foxies website.

I think "Flaps" is a GEE UP:-/ Something that Foxie & Steve dreamed up ........ to see if they could get a bite - but not from a fish:guitarist:

chewy01
15-08-2008, 06:17 PM
Nagg,
i have everything crossed that these sou'westers ease off or ur goin to need some sort of heating device.... besides rum....its a fairly steady pattern of south westers dropping out for a few days then blowing again.Nice weather when it warms up,but chilly early,had to hose the ice off the windscreen earlier this week....
chewy....

Roo
15-08-2008, 06:17 PM
no gee up mate, Foxie gave Kim flaps to play with last trip. I gave flaps a quick flick, ended up putting it back in the box due to lack of confidence.... didn't know what to do with it!! Steve has been putting in the hard yards with his flaps and now starting to see some reward for his efforts. Early attempts saw flaps getting mauled by barra only to rip out its tow point.....leaving a barra swimming around still chewing on flaps. maybe it was a one off tho' as his new flaps have landed a couple now.

15-08-2008, 06:29 PM
Nagg,
i have everything crossed that these sou'westers ease off or ur goin to need some sort of heating device.... besides rum....its a fairly steady pattern of south westers dropping out for a few days then blowing again.Nice weather when it warms up,but chilly early,had to hose the ice off the windscreen earlier this week....
chewy....

Mate ...... We are bred tough in Sydney (-3 at Richmond yesterday)
But I might just bring my Winter sleeping bag & extra strong antifreeze ....... Just in case! ( 4 weeks to go ...... Things will warm up:thumbup:

themissus
15-08-2008, 06:29 PM
no gee up mate, Foxie gave Kim flaps to play with last trip. I gave flaps a quick flick, ended up putting it back in the box due to lack of confidence.... didn't know what to do with it!! Steve has been putting in the hard yards with his flaps and now starting to see some reward for his efforts. Early attempts saw flaps getting mauled by barra only to rip out its tow point.....leaving a barra swimming around still chewing on flaps. maybe it was a one off tho' as his new flaps have landed a couple now.

:-X :-X :-X

chewy01
15-08-2008, 06:37 PM
Hope it warms up, im thinking bout having a rest day from mondy and shooting over to baffle creek 4 a quick jack fish...

15-08-2008, 06:47 PM

Roo ....... That is funny!;D
So, Steve ditched his stiffy & went for flaps instead ( a logical move) & now we have flap munchin barra in Monduran :-/
.......... Can someone tell me if flaps need to be twitched or jerked to provide the best stimulus:helpa:

DEANO68
15-08-2008, 07:15 PM
Roo ....... That is funny!;D
So, Steve ditched his stiffy & went for flaps instead ( a logical move) & now we have flap munchin barra in Monduran :-/
.......... Can someone tell me if flaps need to be twitched or jerked to provide the best stimulus:helpa:

i'd say twitched chris ,i reckon the boneys deserve the other option..
deano.

chewy01
15-08-2008, 07:49 PM
Is "s"factor still rubbed onto these new lures????or are they better without it??Steve????if so is there a technique????So many questions.... so few answers...

DEANO68
15-08-2008, 07:53 PM
Is "s"factor still rubbed onto these new lures????or are they better without it??Steve????if so is there a technique????So many questions.... so few answers...
i'm with you chewy,,,comon spill the beans boys & gals.....:-* pleaseeee...

Awoonga
16-08-2008, 08:03 AM
This thread makes my laugh...... S factor, Flaps, Stiffies...Frogs... And just to throw another one into the mix...Banana Lures Over the past Few months Scotty and myself have been trialing a new method using Bananas..Yes we did stumble onto it but l can tell you it works a treat....Yes l can here you now...What a load of ....Bananas.......Just wait untill you see the photos..

16-08-2008, 08:11 AM
This thread makes my laugh...... S factor, Flaps, Stiffies...Frogs... And just to throw another one into the mix...Banana Lures Over the past Few months Scotty and myself have been trialing a new method using Bananas..Yes we did stumble onto it but l can tell you it works a treat....Yes l can here you now...What a load of ....Bananas.......Just wait untill you see the photos..

NANNAS ! Have we missed something ??

nipsta
16-08-2008, 08:31 AM
what about the green bombers
twicth , flick , just get up there and have ago, bring on september 12th . i reckon always exciting using a new lure , patterns i m sure we all will work out one way or the other
go the bomber (lol) ok someone tell which is isane bay to me there all insane but it look very familar ::)

Awoonga
16-08-2008, 11:00 AM
Chris just a bit of background info....What happened was....Fishing with Scotty back in June l was eating a Banana and l threw the skin in he water..;D . We both watched this Barra grab the skin and eat it..:o .So l tried it with a full one.. The result was unreal... The fish where fighting over it.:shocked2: .Now before you dismiss this think about Barra in the wild. They are a tropical fish Sootys eat the fruit that drop from the trees So why cant barra eat fruit that is washed down the streams So that got us thinking...What about just rubbing our lures with the fruit....Like you do with the S factor..Thats got to work..;D .Results where mixed.. Somedays yes other days not even a touch ..:cry: .So how do you rig a Banana ?:idea: Where do you put the hooks ?.:idea: . Ever tried to throw a Banana that is attached to your rod..:wut: :wut: :wut: ..So after months of trail and error...mostly error...a method has worked ...it works so well like 100% hookup rates:laola: What method ? Sorry guys with the ABT just around the corner...So forget those flaps, frogs,Stiffies even green bombers go and get some Bananas...

chewy01
16-08-2008, 11:09 AM
So then when using bananas,what do you rub on it????? Custard perhaps????

16-08-2008, 11:23 AM
Chris just a bit of background info....What happened was....Fishing with Scotty back in June l was eating a Banana and l threw the skin in he water..;D . We both watched this Barra grab the skin and eat it..:o .So l tried it with a full one.. The result was unreal... The fish where fighting over it.:shocked2: .Now before you dismiss this think about Barra in the wild. They are a tropical fish Sootys eat the fruit that drop from the trees So why cant barra eat fruit that is washed down the streams So that got us thinking...What about just rubbing our lures with the fruit....Like you do with the S factor..Thats got to work..;D .Results where mixed.. Somedays yes other days not even a touch ..:cry: .So how do you rig a Banana ?:idea: Where do you put the hooks ?.:idea: . Ever tried to throw a Banana that is attached to your rod..:wut: :wut: :wut: ..So after months of trail and error...mostly error...a method has worked ...it works so well like 100% hookup rates:laola: What method ? Sorry guys with the ABT just around the corner...So forget those flaps, frogs,Stiffies even green bombers go and get some Bananas...Photos to follow

This will be good ........ I can see those lady fingers & the sugar ones ( red wax on the end) now ........... Fished "walk the dog" fashion
WOW!!!

PS ..... fished the rocks once for kingies ...... Not a thing! Mate throws in his empty cigarette packet ......... & it was slammed by a 30lb + kingie:o ....... so Trev , nothing surprises me!

TinarooTriumph
16-08-2008, 12:00 PM
Man this is a long thread!

Best of luck with your trips Chriso... got to admit, the Bonies are working well just about everywhere at the moment (got a nice one yesterday on one), but don't forget the Bomber's mate - god I love em'!

Theo

Steve B
16-08-2008, 12:03 PM
Fellas and Kim,

I have just been rolling old flaps slowly, no twitch, no pause...pretty basic stuff. You can twitch them, and do have a pretty good action worked that way. What Roo said is true. I lost one earlier in the winter when the towpoint pulled clean out. It had 2 hits in about 20 meters of bank. I have only got a handful on them so far, but a handful is good at the moment. Come spring, I think they will be OK....its not a marketing ploy...or destraction away from other lure. I have just been useing them a bit and they work OK...another option. I dont mind telling anyone how I catch fish...even with ABT around the corner!! I must be BANANAS to do that!!;) ;D

Trev, LOVE the banana lures! It would be awesome to see a rig or photo or are you guys just monkeying around!!!;) ;D :P .....just one tincy wincy thing. Would they be classed as bait or lure in an ABT situation???? Food for thought...pardon the pun!:D

chewy01
16-08-2008, 12:04 PM
Yea i love the bombers,salt or fresh.i still like gold,the scaled ones(most of my mondy barra have come on em)but silver and green work well.after a good fish but you have to really check out the eyelets.they have a tendancy to come looose after a good fish.i only rig em with no.4 owners to give em a bit more action

TinarooTriumph
16-08-2008, 12:16 PM
Chewy - No. 4 Owners? You still find the hook up rate alright? I only use the 4's on one of my favourite lures the Little Lucifer.

Go the Olive Bombers! If a hungry Barra isn't interested in a well placed and twitched Olive Bomber then its retarded in my mind LOL

Theo

Awoonga
16-08-2008, 12:34 PM
Steve, maybe it would be classed as bait ...But...we are working on a plan...l can just see it now as they check the boat in the ABT Barra comp...Lights check, Camera check ,Brag matt check,...Ok guys check to see if there are any Bananas on board...lol

Steve B
16-08-2008, 02:10 PM
Trev,

If you can get a plastic banana from a decorating shop!! Surely thats legal;D ;) Mabey one of the banana shaped apparatus that run on batteries....they would send some interesting vibrations thru the water..he he he;) ;D

Got to love a good plan...as strange as they sound!!

Awoonga
16-08-2008, 02:53 PM
Steve... Talking to Scotty....He thinks its legal...Whats Bait ? There is nothing in the ABT rule book that says you cant use Bananas...We may have to get a ruling from Mr Morgan...

DEANO68
16-08-2008, 05:33 PM
Chris just a bit of background info....What happened was....Fishing with Scotty back in June l was eating a Banana and l threw the skin in he water..;D . We both watched this Barra grab the skin and eat it..:o .So l tried it with a full one.. The result was unreal... The fish where fighting over it.:shocked2: .Now before you dismiss this think about Barra in the wild. They are a tropical fish Sootys eat the fruit that drop from the trees So why cant barra eat fruit that is washed down the streams So that got us thinking...What about just rubbing our lures with the fruit....Like you do with the S factor..Thats got to work..;D .Results where mixed.. Somedays yes other days not even a touch ..:cry: .So how do you rig a Banana ?:idea: Where do you put the hooks ?.:idea: . Ever tried to throw a Banana that is attached to your rod..:wut: :wut: :wut: ..So after months of trail and error...mostly error...a method has worked ...it works so well like 100% hookup rates:laola: What method ? Sorry guys with the ABT just around the corner...So forget those flaps, frogs,Stiffies even green bombers go and get some Bananas...
yea whatever....nice try...8-)

Steve B
16-08-2008, 07:32 PM
yea whatever....nice try...8-)

I agree Deano...I think this is a bit of a Gee up from the boys!!

16-08-2008, 08:13 PM
Fellas and Kim,

I have just been rolling old flaps slowly, no twitch, no pause...pretty basic stuff. You can twitch them, and do have a pretty good action worked that way. What Roo said is true. I lost one earlier in the winter when the towpoint pulled clean out. It had 2 hits in about 20 meters of bank. I have only got a handful on them so far, but a handful is good at the moment. Come spring, I think they will be OK....its not a marketing ploy...or destraction away from other lure. I have just been useing them a bit and they work OK...another option. I dont mind telling anyone how I catch fish...even with ABT around the corner!! I must be BANANAS to do that!!;) ;D

Trev, LOVE the banana lures! It would be awesome to see a rig or photo or are you guys just monkeying around!!!;) ;D :P .....just one tincy wincy thing. Would they be classed as bait or lure in an ABT situation???? Food for thought...pardon the pun!:D

A bit like the old GULP debate ( bait or plastic)
I asked Trev if he used them off the bank rather than Jinxing the boat ....... Then the bell rang ....... Its not Trevs boat!

Mate ...... These Gladstone boys can spread it on pretty thick!

DEANO68
16-08-2008, 08:21 PM
I agree Deano...I think this is a bit of a Gee up from the boys!!
steve, i reckon they put a hole through the mango seed,thread the leader through and atatch an owner treble on the ass end,then the trickey part,put a hole through the red waxed end of the banana skin and thread that on over the top like a squid skirt..same as i catch mackerall and tuna on..hey presto..barra lollies...am i on the right track.??8-) this time of year best fished with a slow jerk..and a bit of a twit.;) deano..

16-08-2008, 09:16 PM
Nah ..... No flaps , mangoes or nannas for me :-/

33031.......I'm sticking to the TMNT "Awoonga Special"

DEANO68
16-08-2008, 09:26 PM
Nah ..... No flaps , mangoes or nannas for me :-/

33031.......I'm sticking to the TMNT "Awoonga Special"
got the same one chris,used it last year at awoonga,got 30 barra........... ,35 of them were 120+ the other 40 were 125+ recomend it too anyone..;) the other 0 were on bananas..8-)

16-08-2008, 09:42 PM
I think Steve is spot on ........ a 3000 post thread for sure!

By the way ....... did I tell anyone

:2vrolijk_08: 27 Days TO GO!

16-08-2008, 10:07 PM
Man this is a long thread!

Best of luck with your trips Chriso... got to admit, the Bonies are working well just about everywhere at the moment (got a nice one yesterday on one), but don't forget the Bomber's mate - god I love em'!

Theo

Thanks Theo .......... This is a bit of a bust an ass ... gotta get there trip ( not really on the cards with the ABT) ....... I just cant wait that long , plus I just have a inkling that warming weather after the cold just may turn on something special - all appendages crossed:)
Bombers are packed for sure (even a green one;) )

Steve called this for a 3000 poster ......... & with all the fellow IBDers itching for a fish ....... we might get there ;D

Hey ..... you've been a bit quiet - what's the go ?

16-08-2008, 10:44 PM
Obviously they are the Pro range of Slick Lady Fingers;D

16-08-2008, 10:51 PM
Obviously they are the Pro range of Slick Lady Fingers;D

They come with "F"(fudge) Factor ;D

Barraboss
17-08-2008, 12:58 AM
Geez, I just caught up on all the goss on this thread, and as usual, there is a lot of........;D :P

I am already feeling sorry for the barra in September down south.

I mean, those poor fish..listening to the IBD anthem, having flaps, bombers, frogs and bananas thrown at them on autocasters near the mango tree would drive anyone to the point of jumping on the end of someones line hoping they were part of the catch, fillet and release crew!!!!:P ;D haha

I am actually really envious of you guys getting to catch up, so I will give a report to stir you up a little more after the weekend, especially if the weekend continues like it has started....114...need I say more :)

Awoonga
17-08-2008, 07:54 AM
So thats the thanks l get...Tell you the gun lure.... even show you some photos ....l dont see any Flaps or stiffie or frog photos.......

TinarooTriumph
17-08-2008, 08:44 AM
Thanks Theo .......... This is a bit of a bust an ass ... gotta get there trip ( not really on the cards with the ABT) ....... I just cant wait that long , plus I just have a inkling that warming weather after the cold just may turn on something special - all appendages crossed:)
Bombers are packed for sure (even a green one;) )

Steve called this for a 3000 poster ......... & with all the fellow IBDers itching for a fish ....... we might get there ;D

Hey ..... you've been a bit quiet - what's the go ?

NAGG,

You know how it is mate... Abseiling, White Water Rafting, Rockclimbing, Sea Kayaking during the week (TAFE call it 'study' apparently?) and then on the weekends I even get to go Barra fishing? What kind of life is this?!??! ;)

Went out on the Dam last night and hit up a solid 96cm fish on Tango Dancer... full moon and glassed out water, strike was unreal. Matt is doing pretty well of late... geez I wonder where his been fishing ::) :-* The Bonies have been doing alright for me too... last weekend I got a few rats from the Bank with em'.

Talk soon fella.

Theo

Barraboss
17-08-2008, 09:01 AM
Trev,

Two of the three mentioned photos that have not appeared may be sensored by the mods if they are posted on here..So keep your photos coming, they are a safer bet

Theo,

Awww shucks, you got me all in one :) They have been coming from varied spots lately, but the bank is definitely holding a few in right conditions.

17-08-2008, 09:29 AM
Geez, I just caught up on all the goss on this thread, and as usual, there is a lot of........;D :P

I am already feeling sorry for the barra in September down south.

I mean, those poor fish..listening to the IBD anthem, having flaps, bombers, frogs and bananas thrown at them on autocasters near the mango tree would drive anyone to the point of jumping on the end of someones line hoping they were part of the catch, fillet and release crew!!!!:P ;D haha

I am actually really envious of you guys getting to catch up, so I will give a report to stir you up a little more after the weekend, especially if the weekend continues like it has started....114...need I say more :)

Geez, I just caught up on all the goss on this thread, and as usual, there is a lot of....INFORMATION....;D :P You left out a word Matt

Matt ..... I'm certainly looking forward to meeting up with the Ausfish IBDers ...... singing a few bars of the anthem , talking shite ( instead of typing it) ...... sinking a few ........... & with some luck , nailing a few ladies.

ahhh .... just a 114 hey:P ( a warm up) ......... As always look forward to your report

17-08-2008, 09:35 AM
So thats the thanks l get...Tell you the gun lure.... even show you some photos ....l dont see any Flaps or stiffie or frog photos.......

Trev ...... We were all hanging on for these pearls & we notice that you have problems with your knots ....... ( or is it the tow point ?)

17-08-2008, 09:54 AM
NAGG,

You know how it is mate... Abseiling, White Water Rafting, Rockclimbing, Sea Kayaking during the week (TAFE call it 'study' apparently?) and then on the weekends I even get to go Barra fishing? What kind of life is this?!??! ;)

Went out on the Dam last night and hit up a solid 96cm fish on Tango Dancer... full moon and glassed out water, strike was unreal. Matt is doing pretty well of late... geez I wonder where his been fishing ::) :-* The Bonies have been doing alright for me too... last weekend I got a few rats from the Bank with em'.

Talk soon fella.

Theo

So that's where our taxes go :-/

Sounds a bit of alright Theo ....... Though you'd never get me going over a cliff thesedays ( I cant believe I used to do it ..... during my rockfishing days::) )

Surface lures .... during a calm moonlit night ............. Gotta be hard to top

Awoonga
17-08-2008, 10:03 AM
Trev ...... We were all hanging on for these pearls & we notice that you have problems with your knots ....... ( or is it the tow point ?)

Chris We showed you the lure... but how you rig them....now thats another story.. many months of testing....Just think of how many cases of Fruit we went through...When those photos where taken we took care not to show how they where rigged...;D ;D ;D ;) ;) ;)

17-08-2008, 10:25 AM
Chris We showed you the lure... but how you rig them....now thats another story.. many months of testing....Just think of how many cases of Fruit we went through...When those photos where taken we took care not to show how they where rigged...;D ;D ;D ;) ;) ;)

Staged photo's hey ....... you're not working at the Olympics are you;)

Whitto
17-08-2008, 10:41 AM
Kim,

Probably use Channel 1.

Notice how I avoided the 'Rod' topic. This is proberbly getting off the subject just a tad.......B_S Im wanting to get a pair of Handhelds....I noticed your comment and was wondering can u recommend an appropriate brand.......Have had a look at the pair of Uniden handhelds @ $57 they have a range of about 3k's....Thanks Whitto

chewy01
17-08-2008, 10:51 AM
Whito,
iv had unidens in the 4x4 for years and found them ok. there are probably better ones uniden has been ok. been looking at the same handhelds and thought id stick with the brand i know. we use them at work but i cant remember how long the batteries last.
chewy

Whitto
17-08-2008, 11:08 AM
Whito,
iv had unidens in the 4x4 for years and found them ok. there are probably better ones uniden has been ok. been looking at the same handhelds and thought id stick with the brand i know. we use them at work but i cant remember how long the batteries last.
chewyThanks for that Chewy....this season Nipsta Tropical Trout and myself intend to do some over night fishing....tie up in a likely spot 200mts or so apart fish till we've had enough and then curl up in the swag for a couple of hours...Just to be able to keep in touch during the night........Thanks for your reply,looks like we miss you guys this trip....there is always next time......Cheers Whitto

chewy01
17-08-2008, 11:12 AM
:) Whitto,
you never know! the priestleys are a keeen bunch,we may end up sleepin in the boats yet on sunday night.are you guys heading thru to awoonga after that n if so for how long?
:P

Awoonga
17-08-2008, 11:17 AM
This is proberbly getting off the subject just a tad.......B_S Im wanting to get a pair of Handhelds....I noticed your comment and was wondering can u recommend an appropriate brand.......Have had a look at the pair of Uniden handhelds @ $57 they have a range of about 3k's....Thanks Whitto
off track...yea right ?? what track? what train.?.What what ?...Whitto you are more than welcome to change the track...This was getting tooo deep for me over and out

Steve B
17-08-2008, 11:35 AM

Yeah Trev, its a thankless game giving away your best secrets;) ;D I am astounded at how tough those bananas are standing up to the rigors of a barra fight!!;) The secret rigging style must be pretty slick to handle that;) ;D

Awoonga
17-08-2008, 12:20 PM
Thanklless..yes thats right They just dont understand how much time is spent in testing...Like last night Freezing cold uggboots on...Testing new products ....

Steve B
17-08-2008, 12:55 PM
Solid work boys!!!

Where's JM??.. stop sucking mangoes Johnny...I know your out there!!;)

chewy01
17-08-2008, 01:27 PM
Hi steve,
at least they are bio degradeable. do you guys up there eat seafood?

Whitto
17-08-2008, 02:31 PM
:) Whitto,
you never know! the priestleys are a keeen bunch,we may end up sleepin in the boats yet on sunday night.are you guys heading thru to awoonga after that n if so for how long?
:PNo sometime after lunch on Sunday will be heading south back to Strathpine....will be back in November though....Whitto

Whitto
17-08-2008, 02:34 PM
Thanklless..yes thats right They just dont understand how much time is spent in testing...Like last night Freezing cold uggboots on...Testing new products ....
Outstanding Lads......Outstanding

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
17-08-2008, 03:15 PM
I'm here Steve B.

It is one of those cases where we can't be in 65 places at once, but we are getting there. I have had a thorough winter and have achieved a great deal on many topics. From filming sharks, stingrays and cobia, and crayfish, and anything else that moved underwater in the ocean to jumping in mangrove creeks filming barra, mangrove jack and a host of other interesting scenes with many creek species has been eventful and rewarding. Heading slightly off shore further filming parts of the spanish mackerel DVD, as well as constructing the Lake Monduran DVD, and co-writing the learning, camping, fishing and Australian lifestyle booklet/guide that will form a good base for travelling and learning anglers has eaten into my winter. Working on the big barra book on impoundmment barra, general boat maintenance, lure tuning, lake homework, charters and so on has seen me divided between locations. A big season is ahead with expanding the world of barramundi fishing concepts and ideas for every angler who wants to learn. Coming up with ideas of how to help explain and teach anglers in the fuzz of modern world has been a challenge, but we have finally made a start. An updated website to include part of my expanded business will be on-line soon. I'm looking forward to another year of Awoonga chartering as well as yet another chapter in changing lakes and adjusted fishing. I have a selection of different lures that I believe will help considerably in this next year in Awoonga.
Johnny

17-08-2008, 06:17 PM
I'm here Steve B.

It is one of those cases where we can't be in 65 places at once, but we are getting there. I have had a thorough winter and have achieved a great deal on many topics. From filming sharks, stingrays and cobia, and crayfish, and anything else that moved underwater in the ocean to jumping in mangrove creeks filming barra, mangrove jack and a host of other interesting scenes with many creek species has been eventful and rewarding. Heading slightly off shore further filming parts of the spanish mackerel DVD, as well as constructing the Lake Monduran DVD, and co-writing the learning, camping, fishing and Australian lifestyle booklet/guide that will form a good base for travelling and learning anglers has eaten into my winter. Working on the big barra book on impoundmment barra, general boat maintenance, lure tuning, lake homework, charters and so on has seen me divided between locations. A big season is ahead with expanding the world of barramundi fishing concepts and ideas for every angler who wants to learn. Coming up with ideas of how to help explain and teach anglers in the fuzz of modern world has been a challenge, but we have finally made a start. An updated website to include part of my expanded business will be on-line soon. I'm looking forward to another year of Awoonga chartering as well as yet another chapter in changing lakes and adjusted fishing. I have a selection of different lures that I believe will help considerably in this next year in Awoonga.
Johnny

Good to see that you have been busy Johnny ..... GREAT STUFF ( sounds excellent! )
But will there be an English version ;) ;D
when will these delights be available ?

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
17-08-2008, 08:19 PM
Nagg,
I'll keep you posted when things are much closer. As far as the English version goes, it is somewhat difficult to describe advanced topics in simple form in a short space, but I have downgraded to a simpler level that will be understood by 'most'! To be honest, I can't describe things any simpler, maybe anglers need to grow into my work at the same time that I change my words to suit all levels. It is a tough ask when many readers minds are already tuned to a different pitch. The end result that I beckon for is anglers who think, learn, expand as individuals, and be open to the extensive topic that they wish to learn more on.
JM

17-08-2008, 08:49 PM
Nagg,
I'll keep you posted when things are much closer. As far as the English version goes, it is somewhat difficult to describe advanced topics in simple form in a short space, but I have downgraded to a simpler level that will be understood by 'most'! To be honest, I can't describe things any simpler, maybe anglers need to grow into my work at the same time that I change my words to suit all levels. It is a tough ask when many readers minds are already tuned to a different pitch. The end result that I beckon for is anglers who think, learn, expand as individuals, and be open to the extensive topic that they wish to learn more on.
JM

Ahhh Johnny ...... The holy grail! - To be able to communicate at all levels without boring or overwhelming readers / viewers!
I'm sure you'll achieve the desired result:)

Steve B
17-08-2008, 09:37 PM
I'm here Steve B.

Johnny

Ahhh mate I knew you'd be reading our dribble!!! I was worried we hadn't heard from you for a while.!!! Sounds like everything is coming along well with your busy plans. Looking forward to the website too....almost as much as the book/s. It will be great to have indepth knowledge revealed in publication that appeals to more experience anglers too. Instead of the typical 'cast red headed banana at the brown forked tree' type articles/books that are aimed at the greater % being the once a year angler.

This year will be something special for all of us I reckon. The numbers of anglers hitting our 2 main dams will be phenominal. I am rubbing my hands together for the fellas and ladies on here who have been given a head start advantage with mental and tactical preparation from the sharing of info from the guys I regard as pros right down to the novices. We are going to need it to stay ahead of the crowds.

Soon all this funny dribble will be replaced in a couple of months time with 'check out my 120cm barra' stories everywhere....well I bloody hope so anyway!!

cheers steve.

Barraboss
17-08-2008, 10:58 PM
Steve,

From the looks of Trevs recent (Thanks for sharing and thanks for being the model Scotty:) )photo and my report to come, 120's have well and truly already started....

18-08-2008, 08:14 AM

Trev ..... I'll trade you - your uggies , cold & barra ......... for my child minding over the weekend:)

Steve B
18-08-2008, 12:21 PM
Steve,

From the looks of Trevs recent (Thanks for sharing and thanks for being the model Scotty:) )photo and my report to come, 120's have well and truly already started....

Your right Matt, the two blokes in a tuppaware dish from Awoonga have been leading the pace so far......although I have seen a fair bit of big fish Tinaroo style being produced by the boss latley!!!;) ;D

Love it. we need a genuine correspondant from Faust and Teemburra!!!
cheers Steve

Steve B
18-08-2008, 12:24 PM
Trev ..... I'll trade you - your uggies , cold & barra ......... for my child minding over the weekend:)

Chris, they have to fish in winter....the poly needs to be in the shade thru summer!!;) ;D Luck the Skeet will be here soon.

themissus
18-08-2008, 12:44 PM
Chris, they have to fish in winter....the poly needs to be in the shade thru summer!!;) ;D Luck the Skeet will be here soon.

Watch it...

Roo
18-08-2008, 12:52 PM
Fightin' words steve....be careful or i'll "out" you for your own dalliances with the dark side...... you know you want one. handy for keeping ice cool too! no nasty burns from standing on the "hotplate" in those silly tin things.;D ....or worse, sitting on it:-X :-X wouldn't want to be on duty for those nasty burns to the candy purse for any punters going commando.:-X :-X

oh and you've upset the cook!

18-08-2008, 01:02 PM
I'm just thinking ....... with such a big turn up next month ........ we are going to need a place to keep the drinks nice & cold ( fill it up with ice) ........ You know , like we use the bathtub at home!

Has anyone got any ideas :)
......... a big plastic tub maybe!

18-08-2008, 01:12 PM

So that's whats behind it !

Ahhh a skeet would be nice ....... trouble is Oyster covered rocks ..... Mangroves , rock-bars ..... & to a lesser extent trees .......... just dont mix too well with fibreglass:(

Roo
18-08-2008, 01:13 PM
Bring your own esky! mine will be full.

black_sheep
18-08-2008, 01:14 PM
Hey Navi,

No mate, that's just the older sibling, oh and ROO:o.

Tiaro meats Steve - best road kill south of Gin Gin.

Steve B
18-08-2008, 01:16 PM
I'm just thinking ....... with such a big turn up next month ........ we are going to need a place to keep the drinks nice & cold ( fill it up with ice) ........ You know , like we use the bathtub at home!

Chris, In fear of being repremanded by Kim......oh bugger it.....Ha Ha;D ;D
I like it.!! Should hold plenty of beer....we could just tow the poly around as a mobile refeshment station!!

Rod, I am cringing just thinking about the old wheels meltin onto the deck!! Luck us refined fishos have seats....hot vinyl ones...ouch!!;) ;D

Steve B
18-08-2008, 01:21 PM
No mate, that's just the older sibling, oh and ROO:o.

Tiaro meats Steve - best road kill south of Gin Gin.

nav,

They dont have too much road kill up this way......well they do.....it just doesnt stay on the road that long!! Folks in them there hills need to eat too you know!!

that Tiaro meat is good gear though! :D

18-08-2008, 01:25 PM
Chris, In fear of being repremanded by Kim......oh bugger it.....Ha Ha;D ;D
I like it.!! Should hold plenty of beer....we could just tow the poly around as a mobile refeshment station!!

Rod, I am cringing just thinking about the old wheels meltin onto the deck!! Luck us refined fishos have seats....hot vinyl ones...ouch!!;) ;D

Hey , Just like the drinks cart at Golf!

:bulb2: Now .... there is a business opportunity! ( drinks , snacks , sangas & cappucinos) driving around B arm .......... like a Mr Whippy van ( but with "I've got every lure" playing:D

black_sheep
18-08-2008, 01:26 PM
This is proberbly getting off the subject just a tad.......B_S Im wanting to get a pair of Handhelds....I noticed your comment and was wondering can u recommend an appropriate brand.......Have had a look at the pair of Uniden handhelds @ $57 they have a range of about 3k's....Thanks Whitto

Whitto, we've been through a few over the years. WOW/JB etc will often have them for about $40/pair. The last one I got, we spent a bit more ($120) and got a 1KW unit which is a bit stronger a clearer. Most of the ones I've owned have been uniden but they're a much of a muchness. Great for the dam when fishing within 1-2 kms but further and they break up. - better at Awoonga with the open water.

Steve, I sent you a PM about a week ago. Obviously it failed or you ingnoring me:'( .
I will send you another one - RE: Trying to catch up at the pub on Fri the 12th. I have some SP's for ya.

themissus
18-08-2008, 01:32 PM
Steve,
There is a cure for this... wear reg grundies... especially when I'm in the boat...please.

And I haven't bought ingredients for RR or ginger cake yet::) ::) be very careful.

chewy01
18-08-2008, 03:41 PM
Steve,
well be that quiet in the tupperware this summer you wont even hear us coming.......... so watch out for kkim n roo sneakin up behind you....:)

themissus
18-08-2008, 04:18 PM
Nah, we could never be stealth Chewy, you can hear me bitchin' at Roo mile away.

Whitto
18-08-2008, 04:28 PM
Whitto, we've been through a few over the years. WOW/JB etc will often have them for about $40/pair. The last one I got, we spent a bit more ($120) and got a 1KW unit which is a bit stronger a clearer. Most of the ones I've owned have been uniden but they're a much of a muchness. Great for the dam when fishing within 1-2 kms but further and they break up. - better at Awoonga with the open water.

Steve, I sent you a PM about a week ago. Obviously it failed or you ingnoring me:'( .
I will send you another one - RE: Trying to catch up at the pub on Fri the 12th. I have some SP's for ya. Thanks B_S, Have ordered a pair of Oricom handhelds complete with their own charger....they claim 7k's capability...for the princley sum of $59 from Hardley Normals...they reckon should be in stock in about 10days.......Thanks for your reply, much appreciated.....Whitto

Whitto
18-08-2008, 04:38 PM

Chris Just off the top of my head Chris.....The wheelie Bin will make an excellent mobile esky...although those of us who are height challenged struggle to get the remaining few in the ice slurry......Now thats a wheelie good idea;D

Pete62
18-08-2008, 04:47 PM
Hi all. First and foremost i would like to wish all and sundry who will be partaking in this debautous adventure good fortune and fair weather. I hope u all suffer pimples from the rocky road O/D.

On a serious note, what will the impact of the fishing competition be for me arriving the weekend after? Thoughts?

Cheers, Pete.

Roo
18-08-2008, 05:10 PM
don't worry Pete, I don't think we'll traumatise the population too much.

chewy01
18-08-2008, 06:17 PM
My singing of the anthem may put em off the bite though:):)

18-08-2008, 06:22 PM
My singing of the anthem may put em off the bite though:):)

Well dont sing it then!!!!! ........ Except if you catch a Metery or PB:) ....... & then we all have to join in!

Steve B
18-08-2008, 08:11 PM
Hi all. First and foremost i would like to wish all and sundry who will be partaking in this debautous adventure good fortune and fair weather. I hope u all suffer pimples from the rocky road O/D.

On a serious note, what will the impact of the fishing competition be for me arriving the weekend after? Thoughts?

Cheers, Pete.

Pete,

The Dam will be chockers with anglers from about Sept onwards regardless of competitions.!!

Are you talking about the MASA family fishing classic in Oct 11 12th??....If so, you should be OK. I caught good fish in the comp and in the week after last year. The fiasco of the fishing comp causes fish to hide a bit...when your there straight after should be a bit quieter...find water by yourself. dont get sucked into the mentality that the fish are where everyone else is...they tend to follow the leader during this time of year. In truth the fishing will probably be quite the opposite! Find a nice quiet area of the dam, have a nice quiet session in a nice quiet area, and you should be fine. There should be some up-to-date info slashed around here leading up to the time regarding tatics etc. We will try and help as much as possible.

If your talking about the fiasco that is the Ausfish Vs Monduran in Sept...well that may be a different story....

cheers steve

18-08-2008, 09:10 PM
If your talking about the fiasco that is the Ausfish Vs Monduran in Sept...well that may be a different story....

cheers steve

Monduran may never be the same!:end:

BR65
18-08-2008, 09:20 PM
I like the word Fiasco, sorter sums up the way I like to fish;D

18-08-2008, 09:55 PM
OK - IBDers ........ We need a Mondy focal point of an evening .... A site that will have a blazing fire going & would welcome stray fisherfolk with open arms! ....... a site where the BS flows as easily as a well chilled beer!

Volunteers anyone ?

PS ...... How do you charge your leccy batteries if you are not on a powered site :-/

BR65
18-08-2008, 10:06 PM
chris, if you send an email to rob and kelly re the batteries Im pretty sure they will work something out, I know for sure there are signs at the camp kitchens saying dont plug in there. I can usually get a couple of days out of my batteries, seem to spend a bit more time these days tieing off rather than general prospecting.
Re the camp fire, good idea, I reckon it will still be a bit coldish at nite out there in early September

18-08-2008, 10:28 PM
chris, if you send an email to rob and kelly re the batteries Im pretty sure they will work something out, I know for sure there are signs at the camp kitchens saying dont plug in there. I can usually get a couple of days out of my batteries, seem to spend a bit more time these days tieing off rather than general prospecting.
Re the camp fire, good idea, I reckon it will still be a bit coldish at nite out there in early September

Hi Brian ......... We had a fire at Cania in mid Oct last year ........ Froze my butt off on the second night ( summer sleeping bag) ...... Not this year though!

Yeh ....... A roaring fire would be great of an evening!
I'm booked into a powered site ...... but I've gotta say ............That area lacks atmosphere :(
I'd get 2 days out of my leccy ..... but not 3.5 - & I'd have to park the boat somewhere because I have an on board charger!

Also ....... If you're out of the way somewhere you can kick on without upsetting the nomads that frequent the powered area

I'm all ears on this one

DEANO68
19-08-2008, 06:46 AM
OK - IBDers ........ We need a Mondy focal point of an evening .... A site that will have a blazing fire going & would welcome stray fisherfolk with open arms! ....... a site where the BS flows as easily as a well chilled beer!

Volunteers anyone ?

PS ...... How do you charge your leccy batteries if you are not on a powered site :-/
chris, i have booked a powered site, quite welcome to plug in...and we might need to borrow your blazing fire and open arms for evening warmth & BS..;)
just have to bring an ext leed..

BR65
19-08-2008, 06:48 AM
Yup, the powered sites area will be crowded that weekend for sure, much prefer setting up down the bottom near the big tree, or along the fence line, or even on the other side near the dam wall.

BR65
19-08-2008, 07:08 AM
chris, just banged off an email to rob and kelly, I'll let you know the reply

brian

Whitto
19-08-2008, 07:45 AM
G'Day Chris.....Not a problem Battery wise...see Rob and he will fix up the recharging issues..as Brian said no recharging at the camp kitchen....or plug into Deano68's power.......can have a fire in the unpowered areas....Brian has named the usual spots.....nothing is a problem with or for Rob and Kelly...they have come to know us........Where that is Myself Nipsta and Nath will be around the Camp Kitchen down near the power station end not too close to the kitchen.....Grey nomads tend to get in and have a feed and wander of to their digs relative early.....Cheers Whitto

DEANO68
19-08-2008, 08:01 AM
G'Day Chris.....Not a problem Battery wise...see Rob and he will fix up the recharging issues..as Brian said no recharging at the camp kitchen....or plug into Deano68's power.......can have a fire in the unpowered areas....Brian has named the usual spots.....nothing is a problem with or for Rob and Kelly...they have come to know us........Where that is Myself Nipsta and Nath will be around the Camp Kitchen down near the power station end not too close to the kitchen.....Grey nomads tend to get in and have a feed and wander of to their digs relative early.....Cheers Whitto
whitto,pretty sure kelly booked us the bottom cnr site across from power station so will be across the road..just a short stumble away...

Steve B
19-08-2008, 08:04 AM

Volunteers anyone ?

Chris, theres a big tree up in the back corner of the campsite (where the Sweetwater M&G was for those that were there) thats probably the best spot for a fire etc If its not already taken. As for charging batteries, if you have no luck at the dam (which you should be OK) you can charge them at my place, or even better at my workplace! I am sure Foxie would be able to help too. As whitto and Brian said, Rob and Kelly should be able to work something out.

cheere steve

Whitto
19-08-2008, 08:18 AM
whitto,pretty sure kelly booked us the bottom cnr site across from power station so will be across the road..just a short stumble away... No worries Deano68.....u will be about a stubby throw away from us........just make sure all that u have a good hammer and spikes for your tents the ground can be similiar to cement....Whitto

Peter4
19-08-2008, 08:18 AM
Geez - there's going to be so many of you there that someone should take a double adaptor or a powerboard!!

19-08-2008, 08:30 AM
chris, i have booked a powered site, quite welcome to plug in...and we might need to borrow your blazing fire and open arms for evening warmth & BS..;)
just have to bring an ext leed..

That sounds like a plan ........ much prefer a roaring fire ! But power is a necessity for the leccy

19-08-2008, 08:35 AM
Chris, theres a big tree up in the back corner of the campsite (where the Sweetwater M&G was for those that were there) thats probably the best spot for a fire etc If its not already taken. As for charging batteries, if you have no luck at the dam (which you should be OK) you can charge them at my place, or even better at my workplace! I am sure Foxie would be able to help too. As whitto and Brian said, Rob and Kelly should be able to work something out.

cheere steve

The Big tree area sounds good to me

19-08-2008, 08:44 AM
Geez - there's going to be so many of you there that someone should take a double adaptor or a powerboard!!

Good thinking 99! ....... add that to the list

19-08-2008, 04:49 PM
That sounds like a plan ........ much prefer a roaring fire ! But power is a necessity for the leccy

Any dramas getting firewood ? ........ I guess an axe would be handy to take

nipsta
19-08-2008, 06:12 PM
I like the word Fiasco, sorter sums up the way I like to fish;D
brian are you coming up that weekend of the 12th ?
if so when will ya get there

nipsta
19-08-2008, 06:25 PM
No worries Deano68.....u will be about a stubby throw away from us........just make sure all that u have a good hammer and spikes for your tents the ground can be similiar to cement....Whitto
at least i wont have to worry about banging pegs in i sleeping in the navara this tim bed will be setup in the back

DEANO68
19-08-2008, 07:00 PM
Any dramas getting firewood ? ........ I guess an axe would be handy to take

wouldnt have a clue chris, prob have some left over this weekend will bring some up just in case...better to be looking at it than looking for it...;)

Whitto
19-08-2008, 07:07 PM
Generally firewood is not supplied at Mondy.......U will have to bring it in with u......a small Chainsaw is a good idea during the trip up......just replaced my fence...plenty of firewood but unfortunatedly it was treated wood....would end up poisoning the begezes out of everyone......Whitto:( PS alot of servo's sell packaged firewood I find it abit exy

19-08-2008, 07:24 PM
Deano & Whitto

Whitey & I were talking about it today ....... we had to go looking at Cania on our last trip ( no good at night::) )

We should get some input from Steve & Foxie

DEANO68
19-08-2008, 07:42 PM
Deano & Whitto

Whitey & I were talking about it today ....... we had to go looking at Cania on our last trip ( no good at night::) )

We should get some input from Steve & Foxie

can bring some prob not enough for 2 nites,find a bit here n there throw it in the ute ..every one brings a little will be fine...bugger lookin for it at nite:thumbsdown: better things to do..:beer:

nipsta
19-08-2008, 07:55 PM
can bring some prob not enough for 2 nites,find a bit here n there throw it in the ute ..every one brings a little will be fine...bugger lookin for it at nite:thumbsdown: better things to do..:beer:
we normally bring back a bit of the old timber lying round the damm seem to be ok

19-08-2008, 08:05 PM
we normally bring back a bit of the old timber lying round the damm seem to be ok

The trouble is ...... that disrupts fishing time:(

20-08-2008, 07:20 AM
Did I tell you how many days to go :-/

:2vrolijk_08: 23 to go! ..... but who is counting::)
Actually ..... we keep pushing forward our departure time ...... currently 1am (Friday) ..... will we get to Thursday night :P ....... Stay tuned!

Desperate

Roo
22-08-2008, 11:29 AM
Ya see what happens here....you start getting serious an posting useful comments, then it goes quiet!!!

Ordered some new lollies from an obscure US manufacturer....these will be the next big thing!!!! or maybe not. we'll see. something different anyway:P

BR65
22-08-2008, 01:18 PM
at least i wont have to worry about banging pegs in i sleeping in the navara this tim bed will be setup in the back

geeeez ya getting soft Simon;D

Chris, plenty of bankside firewood when your on the water, just take 5 minutes on the run back to the ramp to pick some up, just make sure its whiteant free though, otherwise it could get messy::) .
No firewood supplied at the campground, and very little adjacent, its all been picked up by others. That stuff Whitto was talking about, 30 bucks for 3 x 15 kg bags, did me 2 nites,expensive.
I asked about chargeing the batteries if your on a un-powered site, there is a gpo on the side of the office you can use, might cost ya a couple of bucks, but more suited to removeing your battery and takeing it there, not really for your in boat set up.

brian

22-08-2008, 06:24 PM
geeeez ya getting soft Simon;D

Chris, plenty of bankside firewood when your on the water, just take 5 minutes on the run back to the ramp to pick some up, just make sure its whiteant free though, otherwise it could get messy::) .
No firewood supplied at the campground, and very little adjacent, its all been picked up by others. That stuff Whitto was talking about, 30 bucks for 3 x 15 kg bags, did me 2 nites,expensive.
I asked about chargeing the batteries if your on a un-powered site, there is a gpo on the side of the office you can use, might cost ya a couple of bucks, but more suited to removeing your battery and takeing it there, not really for your in boat set up.

brian

Thanks Brian Might need to bring some Sydney logs ( they burn slower;) )

Magella
22-08-2008, 07:57 PM
Nagg
There is timber up there everywhere if you know where to look I ll draw you a little mud map when you come through but as said there is plenty of timber up the lake.

Cheers Foxie

Re Lake Map have got a copy on the wall at the store to get feedback, hopefully will be out by early - mid Oct

22-08-2008, 08:28 PM
Nagg
There is timber up there everywhere if you know where to look I ll draw you a little mud map when you come through but as said there is plenty of timber up the lake.

Cheers Foxie

Re Lake Map have got a copy on the wall at the store to get feedback, hopefully will be out by early - mid Oct

As long as its not timber that has the black moving shadow on them:(
Are you happy with the map ?

chewy01
22-08-2008, 09:08 PM
Hope bathtub bay is marked up foxie?

Magella
23-08-2008, 06:36 AM
Yea Nagg very happy

Cheers Foxie

Steve B
23-08-2008, 08:36 AM
Hopefully by sept 13 it will be TOO HOT to have a fire!!!

Bloody cold and windy here right now!!!

Foxie, sent you new 'exclusive colour' lure up to Mondy today with spud for a run.. hope it comes home!

comin down for coffee at 10am

steve

23-08-2008, 08:48 AM
Hopefully by sept 13 it will be TOO HOT to have a fire!!!

Bloody cold and windy here right now!!!

Foxie, sent you new 'exclusive colour' lure up to Mondy today with spud for a run.. hope it comes home!

comin down for coffee at 10am

steve

Hi Steve ...... The fire is more for atmosphere ... bush telly ( & some open fire cooking) 3 weeks ..... I'd be surprised if it warmed up that much:-/
Dont worry mate ...... It is freezing & blowing a gale here too :( No breamin for me today!

BR65
23-08-2008, 09:00 AM
windy and cold here to

RDO weekend on the 13,14,15th, just booked my site, see yas up there

23-08-2008, 09:15 AM
windy and cold here to

Very good ...... look forward to catching up

Steve B
23-08-2008, 09:18 AM
Aahh Brian,

Your actually going to tell us your sneaking up this time!!;D

BR65
23-08-2008, 10:15 AM
Aahh Brian,

Your actually going to tell us your sneaking up this time!!;D

some say sneaky, some say gettin in before the on-slaught;D .
I reckon those fish are going to see a few lures this summer, be interesting to see if catch rates decline as the season extends and the fish get smarter. Thats ok, I allways say anyone can catch em when its clear skies, no wind and water at 28+, have a yarn with some of the punters at the camp kitchen when conditions are like that, I wonder if it wont be long before we see a class of better educated fish, inevitable I spose, thats going to take a little more effort to coax into the net.

Besides, Im still trying to figure out if that trip was the final one for last season or the first one for this season::)

nipsta
23-08-2008, 02:12 PM
windy and cold here to

good stuff brian did you book a powered or unpowered ok we will see ya there for sure

23-08-2008, 11:01 PM
some say sneaky, some say gettin in before the on-slaught;D .
I reckon those fish are going to see a few lures this summer, be interesting to see if catch rates decline as the season extends and the fish get smarter. Thats ok, I allways say anyone can catch em when its clear skies, no wind and water at 28+, have a yarn with some of the punters at the camp kitchen when conditions are like that, I wonder if it wont be long before we see a class of better educated fish, inevitable I spose, thats going to take a little more effort to coax into the net.

Besides, Im still trying to figure out if that trip was the final one for last season or the first one for this season::)

Well it certainly looks like seasons are now ill defined ........ & come next winter I reckon you'll see more IBDers out having a session or two
So ....... We should call it the Summer & Winter leagues!:)

BR65
24-08-2008, 06:32 AM
good stuff brian did you book a powered or unpowered ok we will see ya there for sure

un-powered Simon, will try for my usual spot along the fence somewhere, Nath knows my ute, you blokes are up on Friday??? I'll be Sat morning.

By the way, how did the hand held radio thing work out Whitto?

brian

nipsta
24-08-2008, 08:39 AM
un-powered Simon, will try for my usual spot along the fence somewhere, Nath knows my ute, you blokes are up on Friday??? I'll be Sat morning.

By the way, how did the hand held radio thing work out Whitto?

brian

good mate they worked a treat they have a callfeture on themso if ya want to get the other fellow hit that and they know ya after them whitto is got a couple now and i have 2 so we are are to go ;D i gather we will be near the kitchen again i think ,so im sure well catch up and finally get to meet naggs lol it will be good to put a face to the name hey when ya get a chance ask nath about his potentional new boat ( i think its a explorer lol copy cat ) . i was going to go for a fish today but im not to keen to risk a trip with my back when i should save it for the september barra trip but i might go for one tomorrow see how the day pans out might go to bourumba mabe

BR65
24-08-2008, 08:45 AM
save the back mate, dont want to chance it when youve got some big girls to get down and dirty with soon.
Im just flicking around the net now looking for a handheld, what output did you get 1 watt or more, higher output = higher cost, plus I like the ones with replaceable batteries for when Im not on a powered site

brian

BR65
24-08-2008, 08:47 AM
what, did Nath find a wallet, new rods from Foxy, new reel, now a new boat???;D

nipsta
24-08-2008, 08:57 AM

nahhes been working extra ill let him explain he prob shoot me for tella ya but i excited for him he finally gunner have some more room maybe like i said its not a done deal but i sure hell fill ya in

nipsta
24-08-2008, 09:02 AM
save the back mate, dont want to chance it when youve got some big girls to get down and dirty with soon.
Im just flicking around the net now looking for a handheld, what output did you get 1 watt or more, higher output = higher cost, plus I like the ones with replaceable batteries for when Im not on a powered site

brian
i cant remeber what watt the other nes i borrowed of the old man where but im looking at a .5w on ebay at the moment so if i can get a set for 40 bucks i will be laughing they all go around the same distance

Whitto
24-08-2008, 09:55 AM
Brian, Pickup a pair of Oricom UHF Radios@ 1w output apparantly with a 7k talk distance (line of sight of course)...got then from Hardly Normal for the princely sum of $59...comes with rechargeable batterys and the hand helds sit in a charger cradle.....can be recharged by cigarette socket in car or 240v......Iam impressed with them.....just so we can keep in touch.......Whitto

Steve B
24-08-2008, 11:25 AM
Hey Guys I checked out the new map of Monduran a Foxies and it is perfect!! best detailed map I have seen of the dam. It has a few contour lines showing the dam at different levels (what would and wouldnt be exposed etc). It has a few of the major landmarks written on it (ie white rock, bass strait, bird bay etc) and all our favourite letters!!! BIG thing different it has Lat and Long grids!!! So if you find a fishy location that you want to share, you can GPS it, and compare the mark to the map to help locate the spot or general area....great idea.

cheers steve

24-08-2008, 12:00 PM
Hey Guys I checked out the new map of Monduran a Foxies and it is perfect!! best detailed map I have seen of the dam. It has a few contour lines showing the dam at different levels (what would and wouldnt be exposed etc). It has a few of the major landmarks written on it (ie white rock, bass strait, bird bay etc) and all our favourite letters!!! BIG thing different it has Lat and Long grids!!! So if you find a fishy location that you want to share, you can GPS it, and compare the mark to the map to help locate the spot or general area....great idea.

cheers steve

Sounds exactly like what I need ...... :)

Hey Steve ... when I pinch the pre publication version from Foxies when we call through ... could you please personalise it for me > > > <
You know ...... just mark an X at your favorite spots::) ;)

BR65
24-08-2008, 01:57 PM
use the force luke, use the force.
I once asked a question about locations, and the answer was the fish are in all the bays, and ya know what, its true, I fished 5 differant spots last week, saw fish in every one of them, and I had never set foot in those spots before, ever.
You'll be right mate, just let ya fishy senses take over, doesnt take long to pick a suspect looking area, then its just a matter of the other ingrediants being present

Steve B
24-08-2008, 02:46 PM
Brian 'teflon' ;)

You are spot on.. People catch them all over the dam. they ARE everywhere. last year when we had the unfortunate death of several fish, they were scattered pretty evenly across the entire dam, mostly in the top half, that stands to reason as its the shallow end being prone to colder snaps.

I am going out now for a fish...nice day, finished work soon!!

chris, I will give you an X to try...you will love it.........XXXX :D ;) ;D (beer that is, not kisses!;D ;D )

Obi _ Wan
24-08-2008, 04:43 PM
[quote=Steve B;885314]

Now come on Steve, :( That's no fair! :(

I reckon you are just tormenting us :o

Oh to live at Gin Gin, Gladstone, Mackay, Proserpine, Arhhhhhhhh It would be heaven ;)

John.

24-08-2008, 04:45 PM
Brian 'teflon' ;)

You are spot on.. People catch them all over the dam. they ARE everywhere. last year when we had the unfortunate death of several fish, they were scattered pretty evenly across the entire dam, mostly in the top half, that stands to reason as its the shallow end being prone to colder snaps.

chris, I will give you an X to try...you will love it.........XXXX :D ;) ;D (beer that is, not kisses!;D ;D )

Pass on the XXXX's mate ....... in any form;D ........ Worried about the hugs too:-/

Whitto
24-08-2008, 05:53 PM
use the force luke, use the force.
I once asked a question about locations, and the answer was the fish are in all the bays, and ya know what, its true, I fished 5 differant spots last week, saw fish in every one of them, and I had never set foot in those spots before, ever.
You'll be right mate, just let ya fishy senses take over, doesnt take long to pick a suspect looking area, then its just a matter of the other ingrediants being present The strange thing about fishing Monduran is U take off from the ramp and all u are doing is travelling over Barra:-/.......I try to qualify that by going up to H and beyond and work my way back....I tend to feel better about that;D...we all have our silly little ideas that seem to work,and thats all that matters......Whitto::)

24-08-2008, 07:09 PM
The strange thing about fishing Monduran is U take off from the ramp and all u are doing is travelling over Barra:-/.......I try to qualify that by going up to H and beyond and work my way back....I tend to feel better about that;D...we all have our silly little ideas that seem to work,and thats all that matters......Whitto::)

Hi Whitto ........ Because I've only spent a handful of days at Mondy . I find that we dont get too far in because we see a bay & think it looks good!
This trip ...... I'd like to do as you suggested ! ..... Go in deep & work back ( certainly over the busier weekend) ...... This will enable us to see more of the dam:)

chewy01
24-08-2008, 07:11 PM
Is this the longest thread ever????::) ::)

24-08-2008, 07:19 PM
Is this the longest thread ever????::) ::)

With 19 days to go ....... we can only try;)
& then there is the wash up ..... afterwards:P

lots of IBDers itching for a cast ........ things to discuss - shite too

Tropicaltrout
24-08-2008, 07:22 PM

Hey Brian nope no wallet, no lotto either ;D as Simon said heaps of work got a second job going and doing well, just to tired to fish but that time is coming. The new boat well yeah thats on the way very soon, asap:D . So the whole family will be able to come for a fish finally.... the little tub will be up for sale soon, its been a great little boat but need to upgrade:'(

Anyhow mate a few weeks to go before the first cast and getting very excited.

and the a quick one in October and 2 weeks in November yahoooooo

Cheers Nath

chewy01
24-08-2008, 07:40 PM
Andy just informs me 20 sleeps till we see roo n kim(geez) and 21 till we start fishing.:)

BR65
24-08-2008, 08:02 PM
Hey Brian nope no wallet, no lotto either ;D as Simon said heaps of work got a second job going and doing well, just to tired to fish but that time is coming. The new boat well yeah thats on the way very soon, asap:D . So the whole family will be able to come for a fish finally.... the little tub will be up for sale soon, its been a great little boat but need to upgrade:'(

Anyhow mate a few weeks to go before the first cast and getting very excited.

and the a quick one in October and 2 weeks in November yahoooooo

Cheers Nath

good stuff mate, looking forward to your new tub, well earned by the sounds of it.
Better let us know the dates for October and November, might be up that way sometime around then
brian

nipsta
25-08-2008, 09:10 AM
Brian 'teflon' ;)

hey steve is the meat at the butchers at gin gin as good as kilcoys meat hope so they have good beef at kilcoy

themissus
25-08-2008, 10:03 AM
Chewy soon you'll be counting the hours until U see us:-* ;)
Will have to catch up this time Brian, we get there on the morning of the 15th.
Cheers Kim.

25-08-2008, 10:17 AM
We need a quick roll call to confirm who will be there !

Whitto
25-08-2008, 10:29 AM
OK Ill START.....12/13/14 September........Tropical Trout (Nath)...Nipsta (Simon)....Myself (Whitto)....and my young fella...We will be there with Bells on....C Ya Whitto:D

themissus
25-08-2008, 10:39 AM
Roo, themissus and the chew clan from monday 15th to Friday 19th.
Just look for the poly brigade!!
Cheers Kim.

DEANO68
25-08-2008, 10:55 AM
We need a quick roll call to confirm who will be there !

hi chris..12-13-14...deano and josh....and mabe 2 more if they get a leave pass..
cheers deano....

25-08-2008, 11:31 AM
Mighty Whitey & Myself ...... Arriving Fri evening 12th & moving on to Awoonga Tues 16th (PM)

Black 480 Hornet & Silver Prado (NAG150)

Callop
25-08-2008, 11:59 AM
All this talk of campfires, drinking, talking buulshite, not to mention trying to catch a barra as irritated my IBD so bad that I have used up all of my brownie points and some that I haven't earned yet to get a leave pass.
The young fella and I will arrive late on 11th and leave 14th.