View Full Version : Maggie Shoals & Cape

03-08-2008, 11:34 AM
Well what a day, Got to the ramp and launched at about 4.30 with out a hitch......so I thought. Coming back from parking the car, I noticed the boat was a little ass heavy at first thinking it could be the extra fuel I was carrying for my forst offshore journey. But NO....it was sinking further.....oh not again...THE BUNGS!! In my excitement of the good weather and first trip to the shoals, I'd forgotten them. Ronnie was quick to bring the boat back to the ramp and beach her on some rocks while I waited in line to back the trailer down. Well after 1/2 hour of draining, it was finally my turn to relaunch the boat, making sure the bungs were firmly in this time. Thinking to myself, well, last time this happened (about 8-9 months ago), I got a few nice fish on middle reef inside Maggie, so hoping I was in for a repeat performance by spirits were back up again and off to the shoals we went.

We pulled up near our first mark just as the sun was peeking over the horizon so we chucked a couple of lures over the side to troll and no sooner did we reach trolling speed was I smashed, I hooked in and put the engine in neutral and after a short fight came my first ever, and more importantly WHOLE spanish mackeral which unfortunately went just short of legal so he went back. Continued the troll and Ronnie was the next hit only a couple of minutes later, yep another spaniard, this one under as well.

We kept trolling around a couple of marks and picked up another 2 doggies of about 70-75cm and then the mackeral were no longer interested in our lures. During the troll I had marked a spot where there was a good show, we headed back there and anchored for a spot of bottom fishing. Ronnie was the first with a fish and pulled up a little red emperor all of about 35cm, so it went back to the briny. I was using 2 rods, one with a drifted pilly on gangs (Shimano 5000F Sargosa and 6-10kg Berkley pro tournament rinning 30lb braid, tied into a bimini then to 80lb mono leader) for any marauding mackweral and another on the bottom. Not much was interested in my bottom offerings of squid and pilly but soon enough the floated pilly was slammed and another quick fight I pulled another spanish, also just under, looks like they're weren't any bigger ones about today. So out goes a newly ganged pilly and my bottom baits are hooked up, this one on a little fusilier, so he went on the 100lb handline with a 10/0 owner live bait hook, straight back to the bottom while I rebaited and sent more squid an pilly to the depths. the live bait was soon molested by I suspect a big cod, as the hook had turned back into the bait and therefore no hook up was had with the fish just letting go of the bait about 10m from the bottom, upon inspection of the bait I could see the trademark grazes left by big cod (the bait wasn't small either, coming in at around 25cm).

Ronnie was next to hook up an a just legal smallmouth, which we sent back, because as you all know, shrinkage occurs in icy water. I get slammed again on the drifted pilly by this time a good mackeral, a lot more fight and much heavier weight on the end of the line but the middle hooks straightens, letting the fish go free with a new peircing before we sighted it. I got another 2 doggies, also between 70-75cm for the esky.

Things slowed down so we headed to another couple of marks for zilch before deciding on another troll before heading for the cape. nothing came of that, so I headed to another mark the blokes at one of the local tackle stores gave me, and with much bumpier looking bottom, hopes were high for a few redfish to come aboard.

Well we got our redfish alright, but the wrong variety, more fusiliers that weren't fussy on eating there own either. I was again drifting the pilly out the back and after no big fish activity, Ronnie spots a decent reef shark of about 10ft long, and then my pilly goes off....well you know what I was expecting, that bloody shark had taken my pilly, but I was corrected when I seen a great silver flash near the surface and I called it for a big mackeral, so I started to really put some hurt on him, in hopes of getting it to the boat before the shark got a free meal. Well then it stuck it head out of the water......wait for it this is great......

A friggin billfish, I immediately began shaking with adrenalin as it went deep. holy shit Ronnie its a friggin marlin check this out, came the cry, but as i bouht the fish closer to the boat, it was apparent it was no Marlin indeed, but a sailfish, about 4-5 feet long and est 30kg on my little rod for the day on a set on 3 mustad 7/0 gangs, as it was so close to the boat, the camera was forgotten as ronnie was preparing to grab the bill and boat the fish, I got it right to the boat on the surface (with 3 wraps of leader on the reel), when it moved from the boat a bit and with a big head shake the hooks had pulled. Well was I dissappointed, I didn't even get a photo, but who cares I caught a friggin Sailfish (I read somewhere the when game fishing leader on the reel counts as a capture?)

Well after that, it was a quick visit into the cape for nothing and a troll, also for nothing so we headed home just as the wind started to kick up a bit around 4pm. It was a big day and we covered 85mile on I don't know how much fuel, my guage is busted, but working it out on previous fuel economy, taking into account the 3-4hrs of trolling we did, i would guess about 45L.

A great trip out, 2 firsts, one of which I never I would ever get to do. i know it was more arse than class, but who cares, I've got one up on the old man, and will make sure he knows about it.

03-08-2008, 11:36 AM
Oh yeah, I don't have any photo's, when I nearly sank the boat, my gar bag got wet, and along with it, my camera so it rooted now.....

But who cares, I still caught a sailfish!

Dr_Dan
03-08-2008, 11:46 AM
gotta be happy with that mate! I've been away for the last week while the good weather has been here, so missed getting out for a fish dammit! pitty no piccies of the billie

ronnien
03-08-2008, 11:59 AM
here are a couple of pics for the day, i did not have a chance to get a pic of the sailfish:( which was awsome!:o there was also a few big whales out & about. the only thing that was over at the cape was 2 turtles putting on a porno show around the boat;D. the weather stayed great which made for a great day out.now scott is alot keener so is talking up going to the reef & with good weather he will be able to do it with ease! & i shit myself when he told me that the boat was sinking::).

ron.

03-08-2008, 12:48 PM
Oh yeah, we almost got run over by a great friggin sailing cat. Bloody skipper wan't at the helm, it wasn't until I started flashing him with the mirror did he decide he might take another route....

But who cares, I caught a sailfish!

RFARREN
03-08-2008, 03:15 PM
well done guys
there have been a few billies caugt wide of sally and magie
i caught a marlin at sally one day on a carl grist bigeye lure chasing macs
caugt a few sails and marlin at bowling green,but we were chasing them then
sound like you had a better time than me lol
we got sfa fri nite and sat

03-08-2008, 03:52 PM
Good stuff Scott you played the game and hey LEAST YOU CAUGHT A SAILFISH
And a feed of spotties too add good stuff
COnditions lok pretty good to

03-08-2008, 04:46 PM
Nice one Scott!!!

Now tell us the real story... You hooked a big remora, and it sucked onto the side of the Sailfish to try and get away... ;)

HA HA HA

Top effort though! Conditions look awesome out there.

Taipan
03-08-2008, 04:50 PM
mmm, no pics ey....mm, so how much did it cost to get Ron to go along with this tall story...hahahaha

Sounds like ya had fun out there, great stuff. I missed a trip to the reef cause I have previously made plans to take the missus away :( oh well. The blokes I was meant to go out with got 5 nice trount and a few nice cray (biggest went half a metre)

03-08-2008, 04:51 PM
I missed a trip to the reef cause I have previously made plans to take the missus away :( oh well. The blokes I was meant to go out with got 5 nice trount and a few nice cray (biggest went half a metre)

Those trount are the best eating...

Alchemy
03-08-2008, 06:46 PM
Congratulations on the sail Scott. That is one fish very high on my catch wish list.

03-08-2008, 07:00 PM
Yep, I would definitely class it as a capture..

Actually better really, because you didn't have to traumatize him further by trying to haul him aboard to remove hooks and photograph him.
A photo is just a bit of paper,mate...the experience will live on....well done.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

I would also love to get one boatside.They are a magnificent fish.8-)

levinge
03-08-2008, 08:32 PM
Good effort Scott, but you might want to buy yourself a rabbits foot, you need a little more luck with the boat big fella.

04-08-2008, 10:16 AM
Good effort Scott, but you might want to buy yourself a rabbits foot, you need a little more luck with the boat big fella.

Why would I want to do that? Going by past experiences, both times I half sink the boat, I have a cracker day on the water, I don't want to jeopardise that now do I? I might make it part of my mornings ritual before heading out::) ;D

04-08-2008, 01:56 PM
Maybe just tip some water in the boat rather than sinking it... ;)

Fisher4life
04-08-2008, 04:44 PM
Maybe just tip some water in the boat rather than sinking it... ;)

Why would I want to do that? Going by past experiences, both times I half sink the boat, I have a cracker day on the water, I don't want to jeopardise that now do I? I might make it part of my mornings ritual before heading out::) ;D

You guys are a worry!

Getout
04-08-2008, 05:25 PM
Couldn't you just put the bungs in and switch on the bilge pump?

04-08-2008, 05:43 PM
could've but it would've taken longer with a few hundred litres slushing around the boat. Not real keen on getting in the water too far either up here, plenty of handbag cross circular saws about. Just because you don't see them doesn't mean they're not there.

Dan, if I don't commit to half sinking the boat 100% it just won't work, I'm sorry, but its a long held tradition and I intend to keep it that way.

Mozza
04-08-2008, 07:39 PM
Scott, Scott, Scott,

Well, what can I say? Except of course that I'm sure that either way, you don't care because as we all know, 'you caught a BEEPING sailfish'.

Great read as always and ya bloody lucky that you had such a fine, upstanding and trustworthy member of the community in Ron as a companion else we'd be forced to veto the record...

Goodonya
Mozza

05-08-2008, 01:19 PM
Ha, thats about the long and the short of it Mozza. Nothing can bring me down from my pedestal::) ;D

I don't mind if noone believes me, it is a pretty unbelievable tale, coupled by the fact that there's no photographic evidence, all that matters is that I saw it and someone else was there to see it too, just to make sure I wasn't hallucinating.

levinge
06-08-2008, 07:33 AM
I don't think I am about to take up your option of filling the boat with 100's of litres of saltwater before going fishing. But that is some effort Scott, well done and as Mozza said, lucky you had Ron in the boat or we'd have to take the "he's been smokin something line"

You'll have to PM that mark off Cape Cleveland that Pat gave you, might be worth a fish, got my older brother coming up from Bris Vegas next Wednesday and need to show him how spoilt we are up here for fishing....either that or I take him out to where I got those Trevs and have a little fun there. Weather is look shitty though. May have to play around West Point or Rattlesnake

06-08-2008, 12:46 PM
Brett that's where I caugh tthe sail. We didn't pull any nannies from it though, but I think thats because we were sitting off it a little, shuld've re anchored, we got nothing but fusiiers and small rosy jobfish. A sand anchor is fine to use over it, thats all I was using all day.

levinge
06-08-2008, 03:35 PM
don't be frightened to give me the mark

06-08-2008, 11:01 PM
Don't be frightened to let me help you test it Brett ;)

levinge
07-08-2008, 06:33 AM
Don't be frightened to let me know your movements (work!!!! not bodily). Unfortunately the weather doesn't look to good for a fish so looks like its Ausfish for the weekend!!!