View Full Version : Trout and Reds off Bundy - Sat 26th July

GregM
01-08-2008, 01:57 PM
Fellow fishermen,

Bit of a late post but thought I would put one in from last Saturday out of Bundy. After much waiting and anticipation I finally got the chance to head out on a trip out wide. We saddled up and were on the water by 3pm on Saturday. Conditions on the way out were not spectacular to say the least, punching into a solid little swell with a light breeze.
First port of call was to gather some live yakka in order to entice a trout or two. After enough bait was aboard it was off to the first spot. Straight away we were in business with the first drops resulting in a solid trout and a rather large cod. Trout went straight to the ice box while the cod was released for another day. Another two trout came aboard in quick succession and we could tell we were in for a good days fishing.

The day only improved from then on with several more good trout and a couple of nice red emperor hitting the deck. Late afternoon as the sun was going down the floater out the back started to produce some goods with a couple of nice pan sized squire and a few nice sweeties which put up a pretty good scrap on the lighter gear. Some interesting catches for the day were a very healthy chinaman of around 8kg which tested the skippers arms out and a nice blue maori cod in the night time. The weather glassed out as the sun when down which made for a very enjoyable and dry road home. Final tally for the day were several trout, grassy and yellow sweetlip, parrot, snapper and even a blue spot maori cod….plenty of fillets for a nice feed or two.

Benno1
01-08-2008, 03:39 PM
bloody marvellous!!!...were you drifting or did you throw the pick in after those first few trout made your esky home???...those blue cods are a nice feed...oh yeah...so are the trout and R/E :P
quality pics and report thanks GregM :D
(Mrs Benno1)

lethal098
01-08-2008, 05:11 PM
nice box full that one, that chinamen shore would have put up a great fight, well done on a great trip, cheers lethal

01-08-2008, 07:35 PM
Mate some great fish and the trout you've got some great feeds there coming your way
Champion stuff guys

TANK
02-08-2008, 05:16 AM
Nice catch /feed in that lot,good effort.How many miles did you have to do?

GregM
02-08-2008, 06:41 PM
From memory the trout were all caught while we were anchored up. We did do a bit of drift fishing as well for some ok results.
We were fishing around 15-17mile out.