View Full Version : Yamaha service cost - is this dear ??

rumy1
29-07-2008, 09:17 PM
My neighbour has had his brand new tinnie for 12 months now and decided for warranty reasons he should get his 40hp 2 stroke electric start Yamaha serviced. He has only about 20hrs up on the motor since new but the 12 month mark has arrived. It cost him $403 ...... does this sound right to you all, it didn't with me ???

tin can marlin
29-07-2008, 09:23 PM
It all comes down to what was carried out but i would say that is correct as the costs of paying a good marine mec and also the overheads marine dealers seem to be faceing is out of control. I know wayne real well from stones and he was tell me he has to pay $75k a year for a good mec.

lethal098
30-07-2008, 04:54 PM
sounds a bit rich to me, have a 115 di 2 stroke service at 12 months and cost $240 including parts, but if it had an impellor replaced it might be about right.
cheers lethal

rumy1
30-07-2008, 05:21 PM
The impeller was replaced

SeaHunt
30-07-2008, 05:28 PM
Pay about $450 for a 4 stoke EFI Merc with impellor change,
Which I think is a rip.
Would have though a 2 stroke would be cheaper, no Oil or Oil filter to change.

Mate just had a VW Golf car serviced $700, only thing out of the ordinary was a wiper blade change.

breamnut
30-07-2008, 06:09 PM
they usually charge more if it was a yammie dealer for warentee reasons

troy
30-07-2008, 07:14 PM
It all comes down to what was carried out but i would say that is correct as the costs of paying a good marine mec and also the overheads marine dealers seem to be faceing is out of control. I know wayne real well from stones and he was tell me he has to pay $75k a year for a good mec.
$75k a year for a good mechanic.
He would have to be good or have i lost touch with wages for Tradies.
Troy

Troy

BR65
30-07-2008, 07:39 PM
Troy, not to many tradies on 75k now days mate

price on the yammy service sounds typical for a dealers works, doesnt mean I think its right though

brian

pubgolf
30-07-2008, 07:46 PM
Man!
Im a sparky i wish i was on 75K

:thumbsup:

Rod

tin can marlin
30-07-2008, 08:08 PM
I must say i was suprised when wayne told me i would think that 50 k would be plenty but he was saying they are so hard to find so you have to pay a fair bit more to get a good one.

30-07-2008, 08:15 PM
I have just been quoted $500 + parts fr a first service on a 150 2 stroke merc..will be looking elsewhere.

75k for a mechanic..crap.

Mindi
30-07-2008, 08:15 PM
well I reckon its a rip off....come on guys what the hell would be wrong with a 12 month old 25hp yammy with 20 hours on the clock which would justify that charge ...if it was 20 hours of churning sand then maybe the impeller...why do I suspect it was not though. ...
I know lots of people will leap in to defend the dealer and criticise people for looking for value...but the odds are that this is a rip off. No wonder a lot of people buy etecs and avoid this bullshit.
My 1993 Yammy 25 has done heaps and heaps of hours, has been serviced about 3 times in 15 years, starts first pull and is indestructible. I put new plugs in every year or so...and get gear oil over the driveway changing it every couple of years. Two new impellers I think in the 15 years and hundreds of hours. These are really reliable motors.

rumy1
30-07-2008, 08:20 PM
People - you should all move to Gladstone, CQ. $75000 is nothing. Lucky to get an unskilled worker for that !

Go Gecko
30-07-2008, 08:30 PM
Just had my new yammie 30 2 stroke 10hour service - $131 quoted when I booked it in. There where no surprises when I went to pick it up - billed for the quoted price. Going by the way he quoted, they have set prices for the different hourly services eg 10hrs - 50hrs etc. Certainly makes things easier when you are on a budget;D

tigermullet
30-07-2008, 08:39 PM
People - you should all move to Gladstone, CQ. $75000 is nothing. Lucky to get an unskilled worker for that !

Central Queensland? How come you are still there?? I thought we had dug it up, put it on an ore carrier and flogged it off to China years ago.;D

tigermullet
30-07-2008, 08:42 PM
Seriously..$403 for a 20 hour service seems way over the top. After all, what would have needed doing?

Moonlighter
30-07-2008, 09:00 PM
Rumy

The fact that it had few hours doesn't mean the impellor wasn't cactus - in fact, they last better with regular use. They do dry out and become useless if not used regularly. One bloke I know has not used his boat at all for 4 years, every time he tries to go out he has to get the impellor replaced because its gone hard and doesn't pump any water! :o :o

I think you'll find the water pump kit including impellor costs a fair bit - up around $150 I seem to recall, then labour plus gearbox oil etc and its not hard to get somewhere up over $300, so $400 not out of the question I would have thought depending what else they did.

I reckon your lessons from the experience might be:

1. Use your boat much more often and IMO you can easily get away with a water pump kit every 2 years instead of 1, provided you don't do any "dredging" that is - that's what I do.

I know that using your boat and fishing more regularly is a bitter pill to swallow, but give it a try!!;)

2. Shop around and get quotes before putting your boat in for a service - you'll be surprised the difference even between factory dealers.

3. Make sure to ask for an "all up cost, including parts and workshop supplies" and make sure they understand that you must give approval IN ADVANCE for anything that will result in that qoute being exceeded.

4. Consider a mobile mechanic - most are better priced than dealers due to less overheads and they save you the grief of taking the boat in and collecting it again. There are many threads on Ausfish where people have offered recommendations on mobile mechs for various brands and locations.

We are all still learning - only stop when we're not breathing any more:D

Good luck!

Grant

rumy1
31-07-2008, 04:59 PM
Was a neighbours boat, not mine.

barra_cuda81
31-07-2008, 05:07 PM
It's even better when you're mates with the local Yamaha dealer mechanic and he offers to do your 100 hour service for next to nothing....in your front yard and warranty book stamped!!!

BR65
31-07-2008, 05:16 PM
Man!
Im a sparky i wish i was on 75K

:thumbsup:

Rod

mate, try commercial construction, pleeeenty of money to be made if you do the OT

The Phantom
31-07-2008, 05:28 PM
Had my 2 St 40HP Yamaha serviced Oct 2007:

Technical Services(Labour): $231.00
Parts (Impeller/Spark Plugs/WP Housing)$84.00
Lube:$20.00
Total: $335.00

I don't think things have gone up that much in 9 months.