View Full Version : Barra Museings

BR65
29-07-2008, 07:54 PM
Gday fishos,
well, with spring not far away, a young mans thoughts will often turn to his favourite girls, Im partial to the slightly plump ones myself, smooth and shiney, with a bit of mongrel in em, nah, not the All Blacks cheer squad, big Monduran barra of course.;D
Its been an educational winter, thanks to all whove added to the growing knowledge base on impoundment barra, hard earned info given freely, or cryptic clues that need to be deciphered, its all been good.
So, with a new spring within spittin distance, and an attitude this time round to not stick to the same old techniques/spots cause thats what worked last time, Im wondering what others are planning on this summer.
Me, I WILL catch a mondy girl on SP from the timber, I WILL spend more time fishing at nite with surface lures and I WILL crack the 120 mark, preferably on a slow twitched HB up the back of H, out of that real gnarly timber I just love throwin lures into.
So, what are you doin this summer, whats your goal and how are ya gunna do it??

brian

chewy01
29-07-2008, 08:05 PM
Hi Brian,
during the q/bday weekend we found some really good new country,well new for us anyhoo so we are goin to concentrate on catching a few fish from there.Also WILL catch a barra on a surface soft plastic(no not a frog)though they will get a swim.and to over take my young fellas 111 cm in the timber.Also try and limit the alcohol consumption this summer.;D
cheers chewy..

29-07-2008, 09:22 PM
Hey Brian .... this is a bit like a NY resolution:)
Mate ... with over 30 days of therapy planned during the warmer months , I just want to be consistent ....... in a positive way::) If some big girls come my way , I'll be happy....:2vrolijk_08:
I would like to minimise losses due to tackle failure though!

Obi _ Wan
29-07-2008, 10:18 PM
G'Day Brian,
That pretty much mirrows my thoughts, especially the skinny ones, bit like cuddling a garbage bag half full of empty stubbies.

Like the thought of cracking 120cm as i can't seem to get one over 117cm, got three at that size now so a 120cm would be good.

Certainly more time on the water, but i'm not sure i can wait until spring.

Been working on a new leader, looks good, just got to test it yet, if it works i'll post the details.

All the best for the comming spring rush mate.

John.

Dick Pasfield
29-07-2008, 11:48 PM
Goal: to maintain a consecutive run of at least one metre fish every month. Up to month 18 come August.

How, put in the hours.

Whitto
30-07-2008, 07:43 AM
Ditto Brian Ditto......Sorry for the long reply......Whitto:D

Peter4
30-07-2008, 07:56 AM
Ahhh Brian, the fever is already beginning as the latest bout of IBD pounds through your veins.... be careful and the winter strain is much more potent as little can be done to ease the symptoms........

My plans for the coming season:

1. Increased time on the water. I have 4 Monduran, 1 Faust, 1 Eungella and 1 Awoonga trips planned between now and 31 December. More will follow in early 2009.

2. Upgraded equipment. I have a new Egrell S10 and Certate Hyper Custom 3000 to break in.........

3. Avoid the 'hype'. Yes I will give Stiffys a go...and frogs.....and slick rigs....and hardbodies BUT I will study the environment around me more carefully and try to match and/or change my offerings depending on the situation.....

4. Listen to the advice of those in the know - especially the locals like Foxie and Steve B at Monduran, Trev and Jas at Awoonga............and think outside the square......

5. Set new goals. No donuts at Monduran this season, try for a new PB (above 114cm) and do everything possible to keep all fish unharmed.......

6. Relax and enjoy.....

I think that's about it!

Regs

BR65
30-07-2008, 06:55 PM
Hi Brian,
during the q/bday weekend we found some really good new country,well new for us anyhoo so we are goin to concentrate on catching a few fish from there.Also WILL catch a barra on a surface soft plastic(no not a frog)though they will get a swim.and to over take my young fellas 111 cm in the timber.Also try and limit the alcohol consumption this summer.;D
cheers chewy..

Chewy, its essential to maintain fluid levels dureing the warmer weather mate;)

BR65
30-07-2008, 06:56 PM
Hey Brian .... this is a bit like a NY resolution:)
Mate ... with over 30 days of therapy planned during the warmer months , I just want to be consistent ....... in a positive way::) If some big girls come my way , I'll be happy....:2vrolijk_08:
I would like to minimise losses due to tackle failure though!

Hey Chris, whens the big move to gods own country??

BR65
30-07-2008, 06:57 PM
Goal: to maintain a consecutive run of at least one metre fish every month. Up to month 18 come August.

How, put in the hours.

18 in a row mate, awesome, hours on the water are the key for sure

BR65
30-07-2008, 06:57 PM
Ditto Brian Ditto......Sorry for the long reply......Whitto:D

whitto, ya know I just hate long winded answers;D

BR65
30-07-2008, 06:58 PM
Ahhh Brian, the fever is already beginning as the latest bout of IBD pounds through your veins.... be careful and the winter strain is much more potent as little can be done to ease the symptoms........

1. Increased time on the water. I have 4 Monduran, 1 Faust, 1 Eungella and 1 Awoonga trips planned between now and 31 December. More will follow in early 2009.

2. Upgraded equipment. I have a new Egrell S10 and Certate Hyper Custom 3000 to break in.........

3. Avoid the 'hype'. Yes I will give Stiffys a go...and frogs.....and slick rigs....and hardbodies BUT I will study the environment around me more carefully and try to match and/or change my offerings depending on the situation.....

4. Listen to the advice of those in the know - especially the locals like Foxie and Steve B at Monduran, Trev and Jas at Awoonga............and think outside the square......

5. Set new goals. No donuts at Monduran this season, try for a new PB (above 114cm) and do everything possible to keep all fish unharmed.......

6. Relax and enjoy.....

I think that's about it!

Regs

nicely said Pete, maybe we can catch up on the water this summer and split a beer or three. after the fishins done for the day of course, dont want to lose any on water time;D

30-07-2008, 07:08 PM
Hey Chris, whens the big move to gods own country??

Around Christmas / new year

Tropicaltrout
30-07-2008, 07:15 PM
Well Brian I got a trip a month planned till Febuary so far!.....

I will keep up with the Arafuras and flick the odd slicky and toad around when the time is right but realy focus on a Idea I have been workin on, and are keen to get a few fish to test it, more to be relvealed when the time is right.;)

I will focus hard on the tight timber areas again, the thicker the better, but will realy want to fish much hared then last season. I also intend on flicking the sticks at night and look forward to kickin back with a beer or three at the end of it all with you and any other Ausfisher I come across at the camp kitchen after a long day on the wet stuff.

To all thats headin to the Barra Dams from near and far stay safe and fish hard, I hope well all have a fantastic year and hope to see you on the water!

Cheers Nath

Peter4
30-07-2008, 09:03 PM
We will catch up for a beer (hope you like Boag's Premium) sometime this season Brian......surely? As long as you tradies don't mind mixing it with us underclass office types....;)

Hey Chris haven't you been moving to Queensland for nigh on a year now? Will it really ever happen?:-X

Man I love the way you think Nath. Harder fishing in tighter timber with a beer at the end of the day.....what else is there??:D

Jeremy87
31-07-2008, 08:06 AM

6. Relax and enjoy.....

I think that's about it!

Regs

It seems only yesterday that I saw you in the shop for the first time putting photo's up on the wall of your first ever impoundment barra. I can remember looking at the tackle you were using at the time and thinking to myself how lucky you were to land the things. I think i tried to put you onto something a little better and you wouldn't have a piece of it, now your buying tackle above the quality we sell. Funny how attitudes change with experience. Good luck with all your upcoming trips.

Personally i haven't really made to many fishing plans as yet. All i have so far on the cards is another darwin trip late November hopefully before the wet comes into full swing. I'm thinking of maybe getting a 3 dayer in at maybe awoonga or mondy in my september break if i can squeeze it in between all of my university field trips. I might take another first timer up and see if i can get them onto a metre long before me to keep the trend going. Over the summer break i'll be having a go at the borumba toga as usual and i'm pretty sure dad wants to head down to the severn river to chase cod and yellows from the canoe and head up past harry's hut (a bass trip that we've been planning since i bought my canoe but keeps getting put off by bad weather). Dad and i like to get a barra trip around feb when the school holidays are over but before i start back at uni. So yeh a few cards on the table to play but definatley not all barra related.

SeekingBarradise
31-07-2008, 08:51 AM
Hi Brian excellent thread you have going here mate.

Hello to all the other guys & girls that have added to this thread. We got to meet a lot of you this year which was a highlight for us - even if it mean't getting more socialising done than fishing!!! I'm still in trouble from that trip ha. We hope to meet more of you this year.

This spring, summer and next year it doesn't get any better than a spot of fishing on our great impoundments while meeting geat Aussie Characters, many of them from Sweetwater & Ausfish. Many travel from interstate and are only too happy to have a chat in the camp or at the ramp.

To keep a balance between marketing and travelling angler reports so average jo can have a go and we can all learn. Hopefully one article or report will get people to take another kid fishing to enjoy our great outdoors & keep our Great Aussie Culture/way of life going.

To learn every trip and most of all enjoy every second on the water, even in the cold and rain or with a hook in your finger!!! I can't wait for it to heat up enough to get that relaxed cold beer on a hot day feeling on sunset around a campfire after a hard days fishing with friends!!!

How good is it to be an Aussie.
Cheers Lyndon & Kel

black_sheep
31-07-2008, 11:51 AM
Brian,

First trip booked for mid Sept to Mondy.

My resolution is to get the monkey off my back and try not to break a rod or 3 this season;) and get Ben off a donut;D .

Seriously though - not fish as much of the heavy timber where I so love to fish and concentrate more on areas where they are actually 'feeding' and not just 'holding'.

Also to be more experimental, spontaneous and adaptive rather than going through the motions.

Goal - crack the 120mark or better yet, 125 - I'm hungry so being greedy doesn't bother me - last few seasons, I've felt like an ethiopian! (and probably look like one although I have finally cracked the 65kg mark) :o .

Hopefully catch up this summer or better still mid Sept - anyone else going to be up there around the 12th of Sept?

31-07-2008, 12:18 PM
anyone else going to be up there around the 12th of Sept?

I might be there;) ;)

Pete62
31-07-2008, 01:52 PM
Hi Brian, good thread sure get's the juices flowing. Sounds like there are a lot of guys doing the same as me, looking up at the year planner and willing the date/s to come around. For me, my first Monduran trip is booked 25 th October and I can't wait to get a shot at my first Barra. In the interum I will continue to trawl through the guts of this awesome site and scavange any piece of info that will increase my chances and also continue the gear preperation and overall volume of same.
So over the week from the 25th if any fellow Ausfisher, I know there will b a few, see to boofheads cruising the lake in their Seajay with bright red Ausfish stickers on the bow I encourage you to come over and TRY to slap the smile off our faces.

Cheers, Pete.

By the way, I picked up a new Brag Mat the other day, it only measures to 120, best get another one......................

Whitto
31-07-2008, 03:24 PM
G'Day Color Challenged Sheep.......Tropical Trout...Nipsta.....and myself Whitto will be a Mondy 12/13/14/ September....we will be slumming it around the Camp Kitchen near the Power Station.....u know u are welcome to come over and say G'Day and a guzzle of DrGood........Cheers Whitto;D

Barraboss
31-07-2008, 04:42 PM
For me in the near future, it is to partcipate in the ABT with NAGG and am hell bent on enjoying myself and learn new tricks to entice barra when I get home to Cairns after. I am looking forward to meeting new people, who are interested in fishing, and don't mind a yarn or two, along with a beer or 24... (No I am not an alcoholic Chris!!!!!:))

I will still be doing my regular trips up to Tinaroo dam, but it will be nice to expand my horizons to the other dams, and see if any of what I know, or at least try to understand, is useful in other locations.

I do not have a certain size barra I want to get, more so quantity of fish, to more or less prove to myself that I am still learning and not becoming stale and "doing the norm (Hope I explained that one OK).

That being said, fish over the metre are always welcomed in my boat :)

Oh, and I would like to see my wife catch a metre plus so maybe she understands slightly the enjoyment and what adrenalin rush one can get from an awesome fish. I still don't think she will quite get it, but it would be a real buzz to see her accomplish that.

BR65
31-07-2008, 04:54 PM
Some good replies fellas, with a fairly common theme running, "step out of the comfort zone"

I reckon the warmer it gets, the worse the IBD is gunna bite

By the way, any one recognize the "Monduran Legend" in Bush n Beach this month;D

31-07-2008, 05:24 PM
For me in the near future, it is to partcipate in the ABT with NAGG and am hell bent on enjoying myself and learn new tricks to entice barra when I get home to Cairns after. I am looking forward to meeting new people, who are interested in fishing, and don't mind a yarn or two, along with a beer or 24... (No I am not an alcoholic Chris!!!!!:))

WE KNOW :drunk: :beer: Besides you don't look like one ;)

Matt with your keenness & ability , you will do well regardless!

nipsta
31-07-2008, 06:15 PM
G'Day Color Challenged Sheep.......Tropical Trout...Nipsta.....and myself Whitto will be a Mondy 12/13/14/ September....we will be slumming it around the Camp Kitchen near the Power Station.....u know u are welcome to come over and say G'Day and a guzzle of DrGood........Cheers Whitto;D

yeah its looking good for september whiitto i keen to go and the back seem to be settling a little and i hope i have had another injection so i can return the favor and film nath this time and you :D and you too brian and who is the mondy legend in the bush and beach i havent got it yet been flat out

31-07-2008, 06:46 PM
[quote=Peter4;871858]

Hey Chris haven't you been moving to Queensland for nigh on a year now? Will it really ever happen?:-X

quote]

Pete ....... It seems that way ( a long time)

The timing was always at the end of this year though ( give or take a month) :P
I'm actually looking at locations to live + they now want me to start travelling up on a regular basis ........ I'll be up in a couple of weeks time

31-07-2008, 06:53 PM
IBD has got the better of me ......... Spoke to Mighty Whitey today & we are going to try to get up to Mondy 12-15th Sept & Awoonga 16-20th .......... :P :2vrolijk_08: I'll know for sure in 2 weeks

BR65
31-07-2008, 07:22 PM
ahhhhh, how is the Mighty Whitey mate??
Started in a blaze, then went quiet, such potential too

brian

Steve B
31-07-2008, 07:26 PM
Brian,

What a great thead. It makes me realise how lucky I am so close to arguably 2 of the best fishing locations in Aust, Awoonga and Monduran.

What do I want this summer??

1. Get my wife to catch her first Barra.
2. Get as many of the local Gin Gin folk that tell me they have never caught a barra...to catch a barra.'
3. Whilst doing 1 and 2 practice and learn for ABT
4. Write more books;)
5. Fish as much as I can, but not too much to get into trouble at home.
6. Meet the Ausfishos who I haven't met yet. And fish more with the ones I have met.
6. Fish AWOONGA MORE....I miss the place, it holds great barra memories for me.
7. invent a lure
8. make a Monduran DVD - thats serious!
9. work less
10. Take more photos and keep loving the challenge of barra chasin!!!

cheers Steve

31-07-2008, 07:29 PM
ahhhhh, how is the Mighty Whitey mate??
Started in a blaze, then went quiet, such potential too

brian

Still learning to read & write

Did you know ...... That "The Stig" from Top Gear is really MW :) TRUE!

31-07-2008, 07:35 PM
Brian,

What a great thead. It makes me realise how lucky I am so close to arguably 2 of the best fishing locations in Aust, Awoonga and Monduran.

2. Get as many of the local Gin Gin folk that tell me they have never caught a barra...to catch a barra.'
4. Write more books;)
6. Meet the Ausfishos who I haven't met yet. And fish more with the ones I have met.
7. invent a lure
9. work less

cheers Steve

HOW GOODS THAT!!!! ....... & from someone that drinks the water from his own fishery :LMAO: sorry I just wanted to use this emicon;)

BR65
31-07-2008, 08:29 PM
Brian,

4. Write more books;)
7. invent a lure
9. work less

cheers Steve

Ive got my wife Debs on my SIP as the co-fisher, one day I'll get her up there, look out then you blokes, she is a machine once I fire her up, as long as we look past the infamous "I'll throw your rod over the side " incident lol::)

BR65
31-07-2008, 08:30 PM
Still learning to read & write

Did you know ...... That "The Stig" from Top Gear is really MW :) TRUE!

Thats 2 posts from 2 differant ausfishos this week that have cracked me up

keep em comein

TinarooTriumph
01-08-2008, 09:51 AM
Aims for next few months till end of the year would be...

A) Nail a few 120's
B) Nail a few 120's from land (come very close, but not close enough!)
C) Try and put Navi and his bro Vinnie onto 125's or 130's... heck make it 135's LOL. Owe Navi a few fish.
D) This is a goal I've wanted for sometime (havn't we all), but Im really geared up for it... reckon I know where and how, but Im going to get myself a Barra in triple figures weight-wise. Love a challenge, and breaking new barriers.
E) Slow down my drinking on those Summer nights (reason I probably lose so many fish!)

Love this thread!

Theo

Magella
02-08-2008, 08:09 AM
1 Get my two daughters there first metre barra
2 Have a drink with Whitto, Nath, Chewy, and Nipsta
3 Do a lot more night fishing
4 Have a drink with Navie, Vinnie, Ben, and Crew
5 Fish Awoonga more [don't know why?]
6 Have a drink with Nagg, BR65, Peter4
7 Live a healthier life and try and get up earlier to go Fishing
8 Have a drink with Johnnym ,Lydon & Kel
9 Fish with more frogs,write a book ,wear less G's while fishing
10 Have a drink with Steveb, Jas and anyone else who wants a drink

Cheers Foxie8-)

BR65
02-08-2008, 08:37 AM
2 Have adrink with Whitto, Nath, Chewy, and Nipsta

Cheers Foxie

Foxie, I think Im seeing a common theme in there mate;D

eotbmg
02-08-2008, 10:09 AM
Brian,
Great thread mate!
I always love catching barra bigger than Navi and will continue to. I really want to catch a bigger fish than the bloody Melbournians who always seem to out fish me!!! Sounds like i need to have a few more beers with Foxie. One thing i want to do is more night fishing in the new areas i have found and slay a few after dark! I know you are keen. I want to see Pauls Ranger with some silver slime on it as well. Generally i just want to fish and catch barra!!!!

Whitto
02-08-2008, 11:51 AM
2 Have a drink with Whitto, Nath, Chewy, and Nipsta

Cheers Foxie8-) Im extremely dissapointed Foxie.....Not once or at anytime did u mention u wanted to have a beer with the Lads and Ladies.....Not once.....whats the story...whats going on....How about trying something different and have a beer with us all this year.......Gee's it gets bloody hot a Mondy in Summer;D

Tropicaltrout
03-08-2008, 07:50 AM
Called into the BIG M yesturday not many boats out the dam. look's almost the same as it did back in Febuary which is fantastic means there will be 3 ramps to use for the summer on-slaught, also the camp ground was fairly quiet but you get a feeling theres a storm coming once September arrives?????;D

Also good to see Foxie sorry mate I couldn't stay for a chat was flat out, did call in on the way home but you had retired for the day, did you see those trucks bit of a wide load!:o as I said the old man will be up sometime through the week he will grab the rods. ;)

Cheers Nath

BR65
03-08-2008, 11:45 AM
Called into the BIG M yesturday not many boats out the dam. look's almost the same as it did back in Febuary which is fantastic means there will be 3 ramps to use for the summer on-slaught, also the camp ground was fairly quiet but you get a feeling theres a storm coming once September arrives?????;D

Also good to see Foxie sorry mate I couldn't stay for a chat was flat out, did call in on the way home but you had retired for the day, did you see those trucks bit of a wide load!:o as I said the old man will be up sometime through the week he will grab the rods. ;)

Cheers Nath

Nath, no on the spot water temp check performed by dipping the big toe in at the ramp?????

New rods, whats going on here????

The IBD is kickin, spent yesterday arvo playing with SP's and stingers

Tropicaltrout
03-08-2008, 01:37 PM
The gravetational pull towards the water was hard to fight as it stood without putting a toe in the drink Brian. I say it would be around the high teens at this time but these warm days will bring it to the twenties pretty quick mate. Yep new rods coming for this year new reel and a restock of the arafuras and a couple of shirts to boot now to get up there with a boat come ON SEPTEMBER!!!!!!