View Full Version : Overnighter off Mission Beach 27/28 july

28-07-2008, 05:48 PM
Well seabreeze and the Bureau finally had some good news for the NQ fishers over the weekend....with predictions of 10-15 knots maximum.
So I decided to head out for an overnighter to try and replenish the almost exhausted freezer stocks of fillets.

I decided to take along my little deckie,Sean....who is my son and at the tender age of 7 gets seasick just looking at the ocean.

Anyway, after some good reports from a friendly fellow ausfisher I decided to try him on Avomine....half a tab the night before and half again in the morning..

So off we set on the sunday morning, after dragging my deckie away from back to back episodes of Spongbob squarepants.

Off we set on an overnighter to Nor' easter reef on a lovely morning with a gentle land breeze blowing us along.

Well 30 k's into the journey as we approached the first of the reefs I felt things were not quite right from a naked eye landmark perspective ..so I consulted my trusty GPS and found that yes,I had indeed plotted the wrong first waypoint..and that this route would lead us to my marks around Gilby reef rather than the planned ones well south.

Well I consulted with my trusty deckie ,who was feeling no signs of the cursed seasickness, and we decided to go forth instead of backtrack to the south.

When we were almost there we decided to put out the lures and troll for some mackeral and some trevors for bait....we ended up with a school spanish ,a couple of sharky mackeral and a trevally for some bait.we also trolled past a huge whale which was cruising through the Geranium Passage

Anyway we tried a few marks with not a lot of luck but caught a nice mack tuna on a floater which provided some lovely flesh bait and raised a couple of trout,but the fishing was slow,and finally late in the afternoon got to the mark that I was hoping would produce...

It was in 250 foot of water and about 70 km's from the ramp and first drop I had a trout and first drop the deckie hooked a nannigai...well it was quite amazing watching the tenacity of this 7 year kid as he battled this fish ...it sure wasnt pretty but he wouldn't let me take it .Finally he had it to the boat and I lifted it in..it was the smallest we caught but he was just so proud of his first nanny but he didn't want to repeat the effort in the deep water ....so from then on I would rebait and he would let it to the bottom and then hand it to me or put it in the rodholder...he wasn't keen on 250 feet of lift and wind and after hauling up a few trevally including a couple of goldens to 10 kg neither was I....

Anyway,there were fish boated periodically through the evening...nothing spectacular and certainly not the red emperor I was chasing but a few smallmouth nannies ,a largemouth nanny,a couple of spangled emperor,a reef jack of 9 pound and the inevitable sharks,a catfish and a 4.2 kilo seabream thingy.

The night was almost perfect..no wind...no swell....clear skies it doesn't get much better but soon enough things went quiet so we turned in.

Woke up to a morning where we tried a couple of other spots with little luck and the wind started to pick up to about 15 knots and quite choppy.
Amazingly the little guy was in high spirits and we even tried some shallow water trout fishing (to make it easier for him)with no luck before deciding to
tackle the long trip home.

So the highlight of the trip was seeing that my little guy could overcome his seasickness and actually find a great deal of enjoyment at being out there...looks like we might be spending a bit of time on the water together in the future.:)

Tassie JR
28-07-2008, 06:01 PM
Awsome feed mate and nice work to young sean for a great effort with his nanygui.

top effort

cheers tassie JR

28-07-2008, 06:21 PM
Awsome feed mate and nice work to young sean for a great effort with his nanygui.

top effort

cheers tassie JR

Thanks Tassie..I have never seen the little guy so happy while fishing before.

Benno1
28-07-2008, 07:24 PM
top notch report Disorderly...damn fine pics as well...we appreciate the effort :D
Sean...keep up the good work mate :D
(Mrs Benno1)

28-07-2008, 07:40 PM
Good on ya Scott and good to hear ya stopped the young fella's seasickness and the fish are a well earned added extra sounds like ya's had a ball and the quality can't complain there.
Thank god for avamine Cheers for the top report good read

hookinin
28-07-2008, 07:42 PM
Good to see you got out and scored a feed. looks like your found the answer for sea sickness for the young fella and now that he can go out and enjoy himself you'll have a deckie on call. Great to see them enjoy their fishing and you of coarse, just one of the sacrifices we warents have to make. Sorry honey i can't do the mowing i have to take the kids fishing.;D
Cheers Gaven

28-07-2008, 08:10 PM
Top trip Scott and as mentioned above, thank god for Avomine, your sea bream - I caught one yesterday (fillets are in the freezer now) and was going to post for an ID, do you know what they are properly called, one of the Lethrinus sp I assume?

ronnien
28-07-2008, 08:59 PM
scott,

top report mate & top fishing,wouldn"t mind seeing a better pic of the jack if you got one.
dosen"t it feel great watching them pull in a nice fish, gets them keen as!

ron.

28-07-2008, 09:23 PM
Scott(FNQ) was your bream like this one?
This guy went 4kg neat .

29-07-2008, 07:30 AM
Thanks for the well wishes for the young fella,guys...
I was beginning to wonder if it was worth taking him out anymore as he was not enjoying it with being crook all the time..
But it looks like the problem might now be alleviated and he will be accompanying me on a few more trips...though i may have to fish the shallows a bit more as well....tough work for him to lift fish out of 250 foot.

PS.. Ron...was definitely a jack....caught too many of those bloody red bass before to mistake them....was that what you were thinking?

CamH
29-07-2008, 08:52 AM
Hi Scott,

250ft is pretty deep water for the reef. When you metioned you were close to Gilbey reef were you in the deep stuff on the outside of Gilbey? I've trolled the area for sailfish and mackerel but never bottom fished it.

29-07-2008, 08:59 AM
Hi Scott looks sort of the same, went about 2.0kg at a guess, what do you think?

Here is the pic, soon after landing lots of red around all fin perimeters, blue rays over cheeks, good fighter for size but to me most of the reef fish are.

Cheers fnq

Synful
29-07-2008, 09:22 AM
Well seabreeze and the Bureau finally had some good news for the NQ fishers over the weekend....with predictions of 10-15 knots maximum.

Amen for that; it's been a while hasn't it?

So off we set on the sunday morning, after dragging my deckie away from back to back episodes of Spongbob squarepants.

ROFL!! ;D

So the highlight of the trip was seeing that my little guy could overcome his seasickness and actually find a great deal of enjoyment at being out there...looks like we might be spending a bit of time on the water together in the future.:)

Congrats on your new deckie!!
Great work for your son getting the Nanny up as well; always good watching the little ones get a fish irrespective of the size or how they do it, it all bodes well for the future.

chop duster
29-07-2008, 10:13 AM
FNQCairns,
I would call that a collared bream, see here for clarrification
http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/dpi/hs.xsl/28_8953_ENA_HTML.htm

Disorderly,
I call them iodine bream but don't think that is their real name. Have your filletted it yet? did it have a funny smell to the flesh?

Manged to get out on Sunday round pixie reef, bloody parking lot out there, nice weather though.

Outsider1
29-07-2008, 10:53 AM
Hi Scott 1 (Disorderly),

lots of different "Sea Bream" species. My best guess is it is a Gymnocranius grandoculis

Blue-lined large-eye bream, also called Robinson's Sea Bream

http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/images/Fisheries_SpeciesIdentification/Emperor-Robinsons-500.jpg

Seems to have the right body shape (yours looks to be a particularly fat specimen) and those blue lines around the mouth;

http://www.fishbase.org/Summary/SpeciesSummary.php?id=1834

http://www.fishbase.org/Photos/PicturesSummary.cfm?StartRow=4&ID=1834&what=species

http://www.marine.csiro.au/caabsearch/caab_search.caab_report?spcode=37351005

http://www.spooled.com.au/Species:37351005

Outsider1
29-07-2008, 12:09 PM
Hi Scott looks sort of the same, went about 2.0kg at a guess, what do you think?

Here is the pic, soon after landing lots of red around all fin perimeters, blue rays over cheeks, good fighter for size but to me most of the reef fish are.

Cheers fnq

Nice looking fish Scott 2 (FNQCairns).

chop duster might be right about it being a Collared Bream but that rounded lobes tail shape had me scratching my head??

May be? a;

Gymnocranius euanus
Japanese large-eye bream

http://www.fishbase.org/Summary/SpeciesSummary.php?id=1837

http://www.scuba-equipment-usa.com/marine/MAR05/Japanese_Seabream(Gymnocranius_euanus).html (http://www.scuba-equipment-usa.com/marine/MAR05/Japanese_Seabream%28Gymnocranius_euanus%29.html)

http://members.jcom.home.ne.jp/0512438801/sirodai11.jpg

29-07-2008, 01:01 PM
:)Camh......yes It was out in the paddock east of Gilby...some nice little outcrops there in the paddock in the deep water...thought we may have come across a few Red Emperor but alas.
I was going to call it my secret spot X...but then right on dark a Bertram came and anchored 100 yards away on my previously secret spot Y....so maybe my spots aren't really so secret after all http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.

Chopduster...did you do any good out at Pixie??

Outsider...that's the fish alright.thanks.

Fnq...my photo's are really lousy but your guy is definitely different ....both very tasty though I believe.

Andrew....It's easy to forget how nice it is out there when we have had these long periods of crappy weather.You will have to pester Scott to get his rig out to the reef a bit more often.
I have taken the little bloke and my daughter out maybe 6-8 times to the reef before and the little guy has always been sick and then starts cringeing whenever the word.. reef trip... comes up.
But now he cant stop talking about it...so happy days ahead I think.:)

ronnien
29-07-2008, 03:03 PM
scott,

no not at all, just wanted to see another pic of the reef reddie.
something about big jacks i like, they are a top fish!

ron.

29-07-2008, 07:02 PM
scott,

no not at all, just wanted to see another pic of the reef reddie.
something about big jacks i like, they are a top fish!

ron.

Here you are Ron...I love the jacks too.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif
Took a pic this afternoon whilst finishing off the filleting.
My little deckie was not particularly happy about modelling though..he is going through a shy phase at the moment.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif

29-07-2008, 07:16 PM
Great feed scott, and well done to the young bloke for over coming his sea sickness and getting into his first nanny.

Out of curiosity, how big is your boat and what type? What engine do you hang off the back and what sort of fuel economy do you get out of it. I'm trying to work out how I'd go heading out in mine ('92 4.85 quinnie runabout, with a 60hp 4str yam, I get about 3.5km to the ltr on a rough trip with plenty of trolling amongst it), what amount of fuel, and if it would stand up to the task if things turned nasty.

29-07-2008, 07:46 PM
Thanks for the help on the ID fella's but I suspect no banana yet?
I have already exhausted my reference books, the tail tips are strongly ovate, perfectly so not through damage and all fin radius's have a very bold cm deep red that didn't last till the photo:(. Probably one of the Breams as mentioned above although does anyone think it could be a Lethrinus sp?

29-07-2008, 08:05 PM
Great feed scott, and well done to the young bloke for over coming his sea sickness and getting into his first nanny.

Out of curiosity, how big is your boat and what type? What engine do you hang off the back and what sort of fuel economy do you get out of it. I'm trying to work out how I'd go heading out in mine ('92 4.85 quinnie runabout, with a 60hp 4str yam, I get about 3.5km to the ltr on a rough trip with plenty of trolling amongst it), what amount of fuel, and if it would stand up to the task if things turned nasty.

Thanks Scott...I had pretty much given up on the idea of him becoming my fishing buddy..but the future does now look sweet indeed :) .
I will have to try and gear my future trips to give him a bit more of a go...ie. bit of shallow water trout fishing and trolling in the daytime and maybe anchor up in the deep water at night when he is asleep anyway.

Mate my boat is a dodgy old 1980 model 5.25 stacer with an E-Tec 90 on it...get between 2 and 2.5 km per litre...depending on conditions and how it's driven..

Your fuel figures are quite amazing,great economy there...The only worry I would have with your boat is that it really is a long way home if things turn nastier than expected..and that does happen...even with my boat I have had 3-4 plus hour trips home when a front has hit earlier than I expected or I just simply ignored forecasts predicting encroaching bad weather and I have also been overconfident in the past and been caught out badly......broken front tooth,teeth right through the skin below the lip from being thrown against the screen in really bad weather...almost broaching..had water come over the bow and through the front hatch...25-30 knot rain squalls during the wet season all night in the pitch black, totally alone and wondering just how bad it's going to get.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif

That said though its well worth the trip though if you take a deckie with some decent reef experience initially till you get the hang of it ....and most importantly look for a couple or a several day period of low swell and low winds.

But then again I have only been out 75 km's off here..which is the edge of the shelf...the reef off Townsville is even further ,isn't it.

Outsider1
29-07-2008, 08:17 PM
I have already exhausted my reference books, the tail tips are strongly ovate, perfectly so not through damage and all fin radius's have a very bold cm deep red that didn't last till the photo:(. Probably one of the Breams as mentioned above although does anyone think it could be a Lethrinus sp?

Hi Scott,

the body shape maybe, but I can't get that mouth to match any of the Emperors.

Here is the link to Fishbase's listings for the Lethrinus sp;

http://www.fishbase.org/NomenClature/ScientificNameSearchList.php?crit1_fieldname=SYNON YMS.SynGenus&crit1_fieldtype=CHAR&crit1_operator=EQUAL&crit1_value=Lethrinus&crit2_fieldname=SYNONYMS.SynSpecies&crit2_fieldtype=CHAR&crit2_operator=contains&crit2_value=&group=summary&backstep=-2

29-07-2008, 08:17 PM

I have caught that same fish before Scott...but have no clue to it's real identity other than a type of sea bream..it's also different to another that I call a japanese sea bream that has a more googly eye and without the red tinge to the fins...both great eating as is the one I caught( ID'ed by Outsider..Dave) which was a first for me ,but a fillet of him was cooked and eaten tonight...man....it was just so delicious..http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

reel scream
29-07-2008, 08:44 PM
Great read Scott and good to hear you have a fishing partner for life.

Cheers Scott

29-07-2008, 08:49 PM
yeah mate its about 70km just to get to the reef, I was thinking just around the shoals and a few wrecks only about 30-50km out. I won't be going out on days where the weather is expected to go through any drastic changes, I'll be picking and choosing very carefully. Though inshore work, I don't mind heading out with a bit of wind (25knts is the max and I'll head in, still bearable, but pretty damn uncomfortable in th short, sharp chop that we get), keeps the other boaties on dry land and more fish for me.

29-07-2008, 09:23 PM
Scott ,it's actually quite an interesting point you have raised here about your boat size....one that really has no set answer...so I started a new thread to see what other ausfishers might think...might give you some idea's hopefully.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

Synful
29-07-2008, 09:44 PM
My little deckie was not particularly happy about modelling though..he is going through a shy phase at the moment.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif

Not to worry Scott, just get him to catch a few more Nanny's mate.
If you can do that then he'll be begging you to take photos just for bragging rights alone !! ;D

29-07-2008, 09:56 PM
Not to worry Scott, just get him to catch a few more Nanny's mate.
If you can do that then he'll be begging you to take photos just for bragging rights alone !! ;D

Yes I hope so Andrew...but you know what they are like....they just change so quick dont they??.Glad to hear your young fella is OK.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif
My little guy is becoming quite a young man already...forever curious and aware of his body,masculinity and the difference between female and male genitalia...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif..bloody hell I dont even want to think about my little girl who is just about to become a teenager.....Interesting times ahead for us parents indeed.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/shocked.gif

Thank god for fishing,eh...something to take our minds off the more serious aspects of life.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif.

30-07-2008, 08:07 AM
Hi Scott,

the body shape maybe, but I can't get that mouth to match any of the Emperors.

Here is the link to Fishbase's listings for the Lethrinus sp;

http://www.fishbase.org/NomenClature/ScientificNameSearchList.php?crit1_fieldname=SYNON YMS.SynGenus&crit1_fieldtype=CHAR&crit1_operator=EQUAL&crit1_value=Lethrinus&crit2_fieldname=SYNONYMS.SynSpecies&crit2_fieldtype=CHAR&crit2_operator=contains&crit2_value=&group=summary&backstep=-2

Thanks Dave for doing the work to get that link, I went through the entire list and didn't find it, will later pull up all of the Gymnocranium's and do the same, LOT'S of fish up here I cannot identify to species level sometimes to genus even, will post up when (if) I get this ones sorted.

30-07-2008, 08:14 AM
I have caught that same fish before Scott...but have no clue to it's real identity other than a type of sea bream..it's also different to another that I call a japanese sea bream that has a more googly eye and without the red tinge to the fins...both great eating as is the one I caught( ID'ed by Outsider..Dave) which was a first for me ,but a fillet of him was cooked and eaten tonight...man....it was just so delicious..http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

Ahh so not a rare catch!, I should find it somewhere then, did notice the different flesh texture when filleting - more like a temperate species to my tropically unexperienced past, look forward to trying it, I have instructions to leave the good fish until we are all together again for a proper sit down feed, looks like more bludger tonight.

30-07-2008, 07:23 PM
Ahh so not a rare catch!, I should find it somewhere then, did notice the different flesh texture when filleting - more like a temperate species to my tropically unexperienced past, look forward to trying it, I have instructions to leave the good fish until we are all together again for a proper sit down feed, looks like more bludger tonight.

I would still say rare,Scott it would seem out of all the sea bream and emperors that we only regularly catch a handful of species....The red tinged fins looked familiar to one I caught previously and the other sea bream I caught and ate last night and tonight was also a first...I have caught sea bream/emperor type fish in the past I could not ID but still ate them anyway.They all taste pretty good,I think.

That link from outsider was interesting though....about 100 different types of identifiable emperors ....http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/shocked.gif.

So how did the bludger go down 2 nights in a row..http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif.....Did you force it upon the little one also? ;D.

At least it was home caught and fresh and as you mentioned earlier it's got to be better than supermarket bought fish of dubious origins.....though I still think you are pretty keen. http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif

fivefishes
30-07-2008, 08:16 PM
FNQ and Scott,

What is this rubbish talk about eating bludgers. What sane person finds themselves so hungry as to need to eat a bludger. I've seen homeless people eat out of a bin rather than feed on the Bludger Trevally (latin name Nocanus eatus). Seriously fellas you can smoke them and they are passable but any other cooking method and you've lost me. They make Mac Tuna flesh look good!!

Scott,
The Sea Bream species you caught is top tucker, you won't find a whiter flesh and the texture reminds me a little of Whiting, very sweet and fine grained. Eat up!!

30-07-2008, 09:29 PM
FNQ and Scott,

What is this rubbish talk about eating bludgers. What sane person finds themselves so hungry as to need to eat a bludger. I've seen homeless people eat out of a bin rather than feed on the Bludger Trevally (latin name Nocanus eatus).

lol..Matt...;D;D;D;D.

Guess I know your answer if Scott(fnq) invites you over for a BBQ and fish is on the menu.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif

30-07-2008, 10:14 PM
I would still say rare,Scott it would seem out of all the sea bream and emperors that we only regularly catch a handful of species....The red tinged fins looked familiar to one I caught previously and the other sea bream I caught and ate last night and tonight was also a first...I have caught sea bream/emperor type fish in the past I could not ID but still ate them anyway.They all taste pretty good,I think.

That link from outsider was interesting though....about 100 different types of identifiable emperors ....http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/shocked.gif.

So how did the bludger go down 2 nights in a row..:-/.....Did you force it upon the little one also? ;D.

At least it was home caught and fresh and as you mentioned earlier it's got to be better than supermarket bought fish of dubious origins.....though I still think you are pretty keen. http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif

Only the good bit's, she did eat all of her vegies without complaint which is unusual!:-/

30-07-2008, 10:28 PM
FNQ and Scott,

What is this rubbish talk about eating bludgers. What sane person finds themselves so hungry as to need to eat a bludger. I've seen homeless people eat out of a bin rather than feed on the Bludger Trevally (latin name Nocanus eatus). Seriously fellas you can smoke them and they are passable but any other cooking method and you've lost me. They make Mac Tuna flesh look good!!

Scott,
The Sea Bream species you caught is top tucker, you won't find a whiter flesh and the texture reminds me a little of Whiting, very sweet and fine grained. Eat up!!

Thanks Matt look forward to trying the bream this weekend. Funny the Nocanus ;D I have just finished 2 fillets, I had better post a pic just incase I have the id wrong:-[ don't think I do, better than mac tuna but it's been a while, still trying fairly hard not to admit I quite like it:-[:o:P:).

Yeah Scott - thanks!, my fish BBQs are best attended as BYO:D;)

mangomick
04-08-2008, 04:18 AM
nice haul scott. Was there any more trout that arent in the photo;D

04-08-2008, 09:13 PM
nice haul scott. Was there any more trout that arent in the photo;D

HAHA ..nice one Mick...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif
You do realize I only posted THAT photo to see if you central QLD types could actually count to ten. http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif

mangomick
05-08-2008, 06:02 PM
What a terrible thing to say Scott. You know I've driven through El Arish and I've still got those Banjos ringing in my ears;)
It was still a nice haul of fish anyway mate, I cant take that off ya

fivefishes
07-08-2008, 07:06 PM
Mangomick,

I haven't laughed that much in ages, your comments about the banjo's was hilarious.;D I'm surprised Scott didn't jump up and down in defence of the area, oh well maybe he couldn't hear over all the "music". Well done!!

P.S I know that's got nothing to do with fish or Scotts trip but your joke was worthy of a compliment.

07-08-2008, 07:35 PM
Mangomick,

I haven't laughed that much in ages, your comments about the banjo's was hilarious.;D I'm surprised Scott didn't jump up and down in defence of the area, oh well maybe he couldn't hear over all the "music". Well done!!

P.S I know that's got nothing to do with fish or Scotts trip but your joke was worthy of a compliment.

Who said it was a joke ,Matt.???
If I'm not out fishin' then we are generally drinkin' moonshine and kickin' up our heels to some banjo music up here in the backwoods.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif

fivefishes
07-08-2008, 07:52 PM
Scott,

Now i know you are joking, banjo's are one thing but moonshine as well? Funny you mention that, i got given some "Grappa" years ago, homemade by some old italian dude on the tablelands and WOW! is that some serious gear, make you want to break out the banjo!! Nothing wrong with the area you live in Scott, i'm sure all six of you love the place!! Wasn't that area declared a new electorate of Tasmania a while ago!!:)

mangomick
07-08-2008, 08:21 PM
Ok , i've had my fun. Lets get back to fishin.
If that bream was a collared sea bream then its best to run a thumbnail down its back and have a whiff. If you can get just a hint of iodine chuck him in the bait bucket. At times they can be good eating and beaut white flesh but and as Ern Grant reckons if they are iodinie they can clear the kitchen when cooking.
Did he happen to go from silver to a grassie sweetlip type colour after you boated him,
I got a few the other day and they darkened up on me. Havent really noticed that before with them. This one wasnt thrown straight in the esky so I thought that may have been the reason.

10-08-2008, 07:01 PM
Ok , i've had my fun. Lets get back to fishin.
If that bream was a collared sea bream then its best to run a thumbnail down its back and have a whiff. If you can get just a hint of iodine chuck him in the bait bucket. At times they can be good eating and beaut white flesh but and as Ern Grant reckons if they are iodinie they can clear the kitchen when cooking.
Did he happen to go from silver to a grassie sweetlip type colour after you boated him,
I got a few the other day and they darkened up on me. Havent really noticed that before with them. This one wasnt thrown straight in the esky so I thought that may have been the reason.

Mick ..are you talking about the fish I caught?

Mate, we ate half of him and he was really delicious.No iodine flavor at all....just sweet succulent white flesh.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif
Or the one that FNQ caught ...which looked to me like the Big eyed bream or japanese sea bream we catch from time to time (that outsider referenced)...but appears not to be.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif

Anyone else got a guess on Scott(FNQ's) fish????????

Outsider1
21-09-2008, 10:51 AM
Hi Scott,

just as a follow up to your original post, we just got back from a week out at the Swains and we managed to catch a few Sea Bream identical (I think) to the one you caught. I grabbed a couple of photos, see below.

The Deckies called them Japanese Sea Bream and said they did not see a lot of them out in the Swains but they are plentiful out wider at Saumarez etc.They eat alright they reckon, although they can be a bit of "iodiney" sometimes.

kitty_cat
21-09-2008, 04:10 PM
mate cant wait untill my young fella is able to deckie for me it will be a great day the first time he can come offshore good report and great to here he was ok with the offshore fishing only 5 yrs to go for me
ps good fish
wayne

22-09-2008, 12:30 PM
Hi Scott,

just as a follow up to your original post, we just got back from a week out at the Swains and we managed to catch a few Sea Bream identical (I think) to the one you caught. I grabbed a couple of photos, see below.

The Deckies called them Japanese Sea Bream and said they did not see a lot of them out in the Swains but they are plentiful out wider at Saumarez etc.They eat alright they reckon, although they can be a bit of "iodiney" sometimes.

Those do look like the one's I caught, quite red around the fringes also mine where one of the nicest fish I have ever eaten, would swap a trout for a couple of these anytime and quicksmart.