View Full Version : Liberty Snaps Up outside Moreton!

Liberty
28-07-2008, 02:01 PM
Ooglie74 (Troy), Richard and I started out from Bribie around 7:30am and with 10 knots blowing from SW an easy decision was made to head out south behind Moreton in the island shadow.

Troy's theory was that the recent 47-51knot blow on Friday would have stirred things up and the big snaps would have come into shallow water ... an interesting theory worth a shot.

We arrived at some reef in 34m around 8am and as usual brought out the chooks. We were quiet for the first hour or so. A couple of small snaps were picked up but then as we drifted into deeper water around 39-42m, it was on! We got increasingly bigger snaps including one 6kg as part of a triple hookup.

We were finding lots of action at either end of the bait schools and tended to focus on these.

We then looked to change species and we outside Hutchies to look for some pearlies. After trying bait, livies and plastics, we only got a few smaller ones so we can back to Hutchies again around 40m. Richard got smoked three times (revenge of that GT?), but Troy and I both picked up some snodgers of Spangled Emperor, both 6kg.

Came back across the bay at a comfortable 42 knots.

8-)

Tally for the day;

15 Snaps + 7 returned (4 at 6kg)
2 Spanglies
3 Pearlies + 1 returned

Kudos to Troy for his validated theory. Woot!

lethal098
28-07-2008, 02:12 PM
well done guys sounds like and looks like a great trip, what a feed of fish, well done, cheers lethal

Benno1
28-07-2008, 02:29 PM
nice one boys...good feed...good company...good weather...i think ive got all the bases covered :D
(Mrs Benno1)

seapup
28-07-2008, 02:47 PM
Nice work boys! Some nice Spangleds there.

ooglie74
28-07-2008, 03:02 PM
Had a ball nigel as always,Ritchie is still beaming i would imagine.
Great weather great compny and great fish.You forgot to mention the 5,
Here a few more pics of the spangle and snaps.

Cheers Troy

Liberty
28-07-2008, 03:03 PM
Thanks for the comments Lethal, (Mrs) Benno1 and Seapup!

lethal098
28-07-2008, 03:16 PM
a question for you guys, did you fillet the spangles? we have gotten a few recently and found them a pain in the arse to fillet through the back bone, just keen to see any other ideas on em, cheers

Liberty
28-07-2008, 03:24 PM
a question for you guys, did you fillet the spangles? we have gotten a few recently and found them a pain in the arse to fillet through the back bone, just keen to see any other ideas on em, cheers

I filleted as usual - didn't see much different to Snapper. If anything a bit easier?

Can't say I'm an expert though.

ooglie74
28-07-2008, 04:06 PM
I filleted mine and mine was a pain in the arse to fillet snapper are heaps easier.

Cheers Troy

28-07-2008, 04:26 PM
Chapion stuff guys seems you've covered the bases with the varities there
Excellent quality and the conditions looked pretty good as well
Cheers JT

indy
28-07-2008, 04:31 PM
Nice guy's excellent quality and 42 knots make for a quick trip home got to love that

cheers pete...

marty+jojo
28-07-2008, 04:39 PM
Some nice fish there guys, well done... What kind of boat do you have Troy?
Looks sweet as, and it must be quick with 500 ponies on it.
Marty.

28-07-2008, 04:42 PM
I'm getting sick of thinking I've done OK and seeing reports like that! You bastards!!!

I aspire to be just like you,;D;D;D

reel scream
28-07-2008, 04:44 PM
Well done guys. Good to see Troy land a fish for once;D .

Cheers Scott

keenfishr
28-07-2008, 04:46 PM
Thanks for the report Liberty. Sounds like a great trip...some quality fish and some tasty dinners ahead. P.S I hate filleting spangles....that back bone annoys the b-jeeebers outta me!! cheers. trav

death_ship
28-07-2008, 04:46 PM
saw you guys out there about 12 after we surfed the cape, we must of got a couple you threw back:P . we were in the white 580 haines

Seadog 2
28-07-2008, 05:12 PM
Well done guy's. Wish I was there.

28-07-2008, 05:25 PM
great effort nice assortment of fish

ooglie74
28-07-2008, 05:38 PM
Now now scott,thats not very nice mate.We got them all on plastics mate.No bait.
Good to see you where work ing hard lol.

Cheers Troy

ooglie74
28-07-2008, 05:42 PM
Hey deathship Was that you heading south after talking to the hooker console??
Marty its not my boats its nigels,Its a 26 ft southport centre console twin 250hp yammies.

Cheers Troy

ooglie74
28-07-2008, 05:46 PM
Some Pictures of liberty.Nigel may post some more.

Liberty
28-07-2008, 05:57 PM
Hey deathship Was that you heading south after talking to the hooker console??
Marty its not my boats its nigels,Its a 26 ft southport centre console twin 250hp yammies.

Cheers Troy

Ah, twin 250s ... now twin 500s there's a thought ...

;D

Its a Southport Boatworks 2005 26CC 8m and she'll be for sale (hopefully) from next week.

Movin' up!

8-)

28-07-2008, 05:57 PM
Looks like a sweet ride. Well done on a great haul too fellas.

rubba
28-07-2008, 05:58 PM
tim put the hard yards in and you will, did you listnen to bill corten when you done youre offshore fishing course8-)

Liberty
28-07-2008, 06:10 PM
Keenfishr, JTPython, Indy, Marty, Scott, Skipalong, Wags,

Thanks for your comments!

TimiBoy,

I'd like to say it was always like this .... but ...

Deathship,

Think I remember your boat. What depth were you in? Small change seemed to make a big difference to us.

Sea Dog 2,

Maaaaaate, we've got the menus already worked out for your next trip ... popcorn, nachos, hot dogs !!!

Nigel

hookinin
28-07-2008, 07:04 PM
Nice catch and agree spangles can be a pain to fillet but great chewin and put up a great fight.
Gaven

scoota
28-07-2008, 07:44 PM
Those Spanglies must have been awsome fun on SP's!

Top quality catch for a day fish off the cape.

That is some fishin machine Liberty! I bet she was a bit for young & old coming across the bay doing 42 knots hey???:o

Scoota....

28-07-2008, 07:44 PM
Nice feed of fish!

Makes my single bay snap I caught look very lonely. Those emporer are a classy fish. Well done!

Fishbait
28-07-2008, 08:03 PM
You guys really cleaned up - nice going - beautiful fish! Was looking forward to another picture of that great looking boat too - maybe some photos next time of the big rig hey. Cheers , Darren.

Fishbait
28-07-2008, 08:04 PM
Ah - woops, photos on Page 2 - my broadband a bit slow tonight. Sorry??

captain rednut
28-07-2008, 08:35 PM
hey nigel, good to see liberty gettin into them again! and troy looks a happi fella with his catch. nice work boys.
cheers jim

Dean1
28-07-2008, 08:54 PM
Great trip boys! Very suprised to see Richo on board! He was WAY overdue for a trip. He always seems to get smoked by the big fellas. Last time i took him out the poor fella turned green :o Picked my boat up today with some spanking 4's troy so im back on board ;)

ooglie74
28-07-2008, 09:19 PM
Good going deano have to get out for a fish mate.Plenty of them around.
Scoota wasnt to bad mate a nice thick jacket.Had a ball though.
The spangles go heaps ahrd than a similar sized snaps on a plastic.

Cheers Troy

death_ship
28-07-2008, 09:54 PM
yeah guys that was me but i wasnt talkin to the guys in the console, i drifted up to them as they were anchored. the place was full of bait, i was on the 40m line.
one of the flattest runs across the bay ever!

Steven78
28-07-2008, 09:55 PM
Thats a grate report. It makes me want to go right now. How many KMs did you do and where abouts did you launched from 42kts now thats YIIIPPPP YAAA Speed

Wind Dancer
28-07-2008, 10:06 PM
Nice Catch

Frank OO
29-07-2008, 08:13 AM
Hi Nigel,

Liberty must be getting a bit old at only 42knots. It used to be 45knots. Maybe it was the extra weight of the fish.

I bet Troy was claiming all the fish because he put you onto the best spots.

I have to admit that it is great to finally see some fantastic fish coming onboard in good numbers.

Well done to all.

Frank OO

ooglie74
29-07-2008, 08:23 AM
Well frankoo I will let nigel claim them we where close to a few of my mark just a little wider.
Great fun though,had a thought you may have been out sunday.
Had great weather and they deicided to play the game.
Im sure you will get a bite from nigel with the speed comment.lol

Cheers Troy

dww13
29-07-2008, 10:04 AM
Liberty

There are a few good shots of your boat on Mike Kenyon's website from the Mooloolaba Game fish tournement a few months ago. Mike was up in the chopper.

Google mike kenyon sports photos and you will see the website then follow the folders through to "gamefishing" and there are 3 albums from the comp. Youl see the boat in one of them. Not sure if you have seen them allready or not.

Daniel

ooglie74
29-07-2008, 10:16 AM
Hey daniel are you on the deck for the heavy tackle season on the boat??

Cheers Troy

Liberty
29-07-2008, 10:23 AM
Hookinin, Scalem, Fishbait, Rednut, Dean1, Wind Dancer

Thanks for the comments!

Liberty
29-07-2008, 10:25 AM
Those Spanglies must have been awsome fun on SP's!

Top quality catch for a day fish off the cape.

That is some fishin machine Liberty! I bet she was a bit for young & old coming across the bay doing 42 knots hey???:o

Scoota....

Actually Scoota, it was all rather uneventful. In those conditions, its feet up on the dash and off you go.

She just shrinks your perception of the size of the bay.

Liberty
29-07-2008, 10:31 AM
Thats a grate report. It makes me want to go right now. How many KMs did you do and where abouts did you launched from 42kts now thats YIIIPPPP YAAA Speed

We left from Bribie and did 140kms for the day. The 42 knots was only the last part of crossing the bay.

We rarely do anything over 40 knots outside ...

;D

Liberty
29-07-2008, 10:36 AM
Hi Nigel,

Liberty must be getting a bit old at only 42knots. It used to be 45knots. Maybe it was the extra weight of the fish.

I bet Troy was claiming all the fish because he put you onto the best spots.

I have to admit that it is great to finally see some fantastic fish coming onboard in good numbers.

Well done to all.

Frank OO

Nah mate, its still over 45 knots.

We could have gone quicker, it's just that Troy had his mouth open ...

dww13
29-07-2008, 11:07 AM
Troy

Not as much as i would like mate.

Too busy in the office mate. The boat has ian and rene then two deckies for 11 weeks. Smithy is on board for 11 weeks.

Ill be up there for Lizard and hopfully a couple of stints here and there.

business class
29-07-2008, 11:20 AM
You got some nice fish there mate. Don't those big spangled go awesome on the plastics.

Matty

ooglie74
29-07-2008, 11:53 AM
I sort of figured when I heard smithy was on a 51ft riv that it was your.Half his luck would be an awesome experience.
Have to catch up mate.You going to bfas buck nite??

Cheers Troy

Liberty
29-07-2008, 04:58 PM
You got some nice fish there mate. Don't those big spangled go awesome on the plastics.

Matty

Yeah thanks Matty, in the first few seconds, I initially called it for an AJ.

They're my new favourite reefie!

Getout
29-07-2008, 05:17 PM
Nigel, how about a photo of the new rig?

29-07-2008, 05:29 PM
Good fishing boys!

Thanks for the link Dan. That killed an arvo. Lol! Is a video coming?

Liberty
29-07-2008, 05:42 PM
Nigel, how about a photo of the new rig?

Well, seeing as you asked ...

;D

scoota
29-07-2008, 06:43 PM
Thats it Nigel, got to get me one of them!!!

It even has two stubbie holders for the captain;D ;D ;D

Going to be hard to miss you and if true to form, pretty hard to keep up!!!8-)

Scoota...

ooglie74
29-07-2008, 10:07 PM
Thats the go nachos,hotdogs and popcorn while you fish bring it on.

Cheers Troy

Getout
30-07-2008, 07:51 AM
Noice! Wot pushes it along?

Liberty
30-07-2008, 09:12 AM
Good fishing boys!

Thanks for the link Dan. That killed an arvo. Lol! Is a video coming?

Hey Smithy

It was about time that we matched one of your efforts!

And yeah there's a DVD featuring Troy and his G-String ...

;-)

Nigel

Liberty
30-07-2008, 09:14 AM
Noice! Wot pushes it along?

Twin 250 Yammies.

I gave a lot of consideration to the 350s, but there's no use for the HP and you have the extra weight of the motors and four more cylinders to feed.

43 knots offshore will just have to do...

;D ;D ;D

Liberty
30-07-2008, 09:16 AM
Thats it Nigel, got to get me one of them!!!

It even has two stubbie holders for the captain;D ;D ;D

Going to be hard to miss you and if true to form, pretty hard to keep up!!!8-)

Scoota...

Ah hem ... those would be the "Gin and Tonic Sunset Receptacles" ...

8-)

Getout
30-07-2008, 11:13 AM
Put a tuna tower on it and you have a mini (but faster) "Filthy"

Liberty
30-07-2008, 11:16 AM
Put a tuna tower on it and you have a mini (but faster) "Filthy"

Yeah, I've been quietly thinking about doing just that. No steering, throttles or electronics, just observation.

Some of my Engineers at work are very keen to have go!!!

Frank OO
30-07-2008, 11:16 AM
Nigel,

You are such a poser!!!

Please let me know when I can pose with you!!

Frank OO

Getout
30-07-2008, 11:22 AM
They look good but probably not worth the expense, parasitic drag and extra weight. You'd need the 350s to get your 45kts!
Its pretty uncomfortable high up in any seaway.

Liberty
30-07-2008, 11:42 AM
Nigel,

You are such a poser!!!

Please let me know when I can pose with you!!

Frank OO

Patience Master, Patience ...

;D ;D ;D

ooglie74
30-07-2008, 12:08 PM
Would look the awesome with a mini tower nigel.Is there an esky being built??Is so I bag being up there on an easy rider with some nice cold tasty beverages.

Cheers Troy

lethal098
30-07-2008, 04:37 PM
that is a sweet ride, how long is the course to know what all the switches are for, didnt count em but holy crap i dont think the first space shuttle had that many switches. cheers lethal

Liberty
31-07-2008, 08:02 AM
that is a sweet ride, how long is the course to know what all the switches are for, didnt count em but holy crap i dont think the first space shuttle had that many switches. cheers lethal

But wait, there's more ...

I told my wife "its just like the last one but with a roof" ... *cough* *cough*

;D ;D ;D

lethal098
01-08-2008, 08:30 AM
i wish i could use that line, she asks too many questions when i start talking about boats. i am sure she will enjoy it once it is in the water. cheers lethal

Dean1
02-08-2008, 09:38 AM
Hey Nigel your'e new beast looks nice but have you sacrificed deck space?? It looks like mostly cab. Your old boat is a walkaround with heaps of fishing room doesnt look like the new one is a walkaround? Guess I just love a big deck on a fishing boat. Youll be worried about gettin blood on the new rig :D

Liberty
02-08-2008, 05:00 PM
Hey Nigel your'e new beast looks nice but have you sacrificed deck space?? It looks like mostly cab. Your old boat is a walkaround with heaps of fishing room doesnt look like the new one is a walkaround? Guess I just love a big deck on a fishing boat. Youll be worried about gettin blood on the new rig :D

Yeah Hi Dean

You're right it is a compromise, but the family are keen to sleep out on the water, so fair enough.

The boat is bigger than it looks and the fishing cockpit has plenty of room to move around (although of course, its not a centre console and not even walkaround).

We can still comfortably fish 3x, 2x back, 1x front.

She sea-trialled on Thursday and is finally, finally en route ...

:D :D :D