View Full Version : Wide Caloundra happy days!

scoota
27-07-2008, 10:18 PM
Got a call from Andrew early sunday morning. What do you reckon for an arvo fish?
Forecast, showers with increasing westerly winds, mid moon cycle, wrong tide or mow the lawn.
Six pack in the esky lets go! Livies hard to come by on the way out but plenty of pre loved ones left over from the Bribie M&G failed trip and deep we went this time instead of shallow.
Wide Caloundra was the call with the latest mail on the snapper being around the 60m.
Few drops here and there and new soundings made and noted with just a few pearlies in the esky it was time to have a crack before anchoring up on a favourite spot for the dusk fish.Couple of more pearlies and nailed a 6kg snapper on the nuclear chook before another on a livey. A nice mauri cod and a couple of hit and misses and the pick was out ready for the dusk fish.
Burly up and a bite to eat was the call but Andrew was on with the first floater in the water and 5kg snapper boated followed closely by a 7kg model. Another couple in quick succession and the tally was six and a nice tuskie to boot.
Then all pandemonium broke loose with one floater then another going off, the livey rod went off and the paternoster just to top it off.:o
What followed was 4, very unlucky 5-6kg snapper being boated with crossed over lines, lines left unattended for periods of time and still caught them all and the bag limit over in 45 minutes.
Time for a bite and a beer and couple of returned snapper and a stray cobia for the esky and thats more than enough fillets for our families8-)

Home early.

Couple of pics! Will get some better ones off Andrew.

Happy Days....

Scoota...

Benno1
27-07-2008, 10:21 PM
now THATS fishin!!!...nice one boys :D
(Mrs Benno1)

lido76
27-07-2008, 10:23 PM
Nice bag there Scoota what were the conditions like out there tonight?? The 60m+ area has been fishing well lately hasn't it. Any size in the pearlies?
CHEERS BRENDAN

Mark-P
28-07-2008, 06:15 AM
Nice report & catch there scoota, congrats !

hookinin
28-07-2008, 06:19 AM
Good stuff, now i really wish i'd gone straight home and put the boat on after work and nice quality aswell.
Gaven

wadeo
28-07-2008, 06:47 AM
awesome catch guys and excellent quality. Well done. What sort of livies were you using slimmies or yakka?.

regards wadeo

scoota
28-07-2008, 06:57 AM
Yakka's wadeo but dead baits seemed more popular

Scoota...

reel scream
28-07-2008, 07:27 AM
Nice fish Scoota. Bit better than the shovelies from the weekend before hey

Cheers Scott

lizard bribie
28-07-2008, 09:28 AM
nice feed scoota@andrew cheers lizard bribie

Frank OO
28-07-2008, 09:35 AM
Hi Scoota,

What a great decision. I would have loved to be out there. The weather at Bribie was fantastic but the social commitments were more important--Apparently!!

Frank OO

SgBFish
28-07-2008, 12:22 PM
Scoota how good was that glass out in the afternoon. Nice feed.

You would have a great run in and out.

The run out early Sunday was Ok but got up to 15-20 during the morning before dropping out at lunch time as predicted.

lethal098
28-07-2008, 01:29 PM
scoota, well done on what sounds like a great trip, wanted an arvo fish yesterday but couldnt pull a crew, ah well next time. well done

seapup
28-07-2008, 01:51 PM
nice work mate!

Liberty
28-07-2008, 03:10 PM
Excellent fish!

indy
28-07-2008, 04:30 PM
Great snapps guy's well done, funny how when you think you have it all worked out with moon phases etc, and then you go and get a good haul like that.

cheers pete...

keenfishr
28-07-2008, 04:39 PM
No doubt it was a happy day!! a reeeeeally happy day.haha thats some quality fishing mate. well done. cheers. trav

death_ship
28-07-2008, 04:50 PM
i love it when a plan comes together

28-07-2008, 05:27 PM
excellent to be there mate great decision

wak69
28-07-2008, 06:34 PM
great effort guys.....

scoota
28-07-2008, 07:17 PM
Thanks for all the replies;)

Its a strange game this fishing, you never stop learning! After years of working out best times to fish and working tides, the moon, barometer, wind etc... you go on a day when things aren't great and it fires. I checked when I got home and it was blowing W/NW and the barometer dropping while we were out there, my two pet hates!!!!

Going to be a long time before I experience a hot bite on good fish like that so thanks again Andrew for the call up and the KC was a pleasure to fish on as usual8-)

Couple of more pics of the catch and my favourite, a snapper with a chook!!!

Scoota...

Wind Dancer
28-07-2008, 10:21 PM
Good story well done

work2fish
28-07-2008, 11:09 PM
Top report nice fish
W2f

jarhead
30-07-2008, 04:27 PM
Some very nice snaps fellas, top stuff.

Cheers Wal

Bassmaster1
30-07-2008, 06:51 PM
Freaking awesome, love your work scoota!!!