PDA

View Full Version : Our Moreton Bay ? ? ? ? ? ?

JIMBO99
27-07-2008, 01:02 PM
:-/ MY NAME IS JIMBO99, I HAVE BEEN FISHING MORETON BAY FOR 67 YEARS.
MY FATHER HELD 68 YEARLY PROFESSIONAL LICENCES ALL OF WHICH WE STILL HAVE AS HE WRAPPED EACH NEW LICENCE AROUND THE LAST. THE FIRST ONE COST ONE SHILLING AND SIXPENCE FOR THE YEAR. :o OUR FAMILY IS COMING UP TO A FIFTH GENERATION OF MORETON BAY FISHERMEN BUT SORRY TO SAY THIS GENERATION WILL HAVE TO FIND OTHER OCCUPATIONS AS SO MUCH OF THE BAY WILL BE CLOSED TO ALL TYPES OF FISHING THAT IT WOULD NOT ALLOW THEM TO EARN A PROPER LIVING::)
I FIRST WENT FISHING WITH MY FATHER AT 2 YEARS OF AGE (HE WAS A CRABBER IN SUMMER AND FISHED IN WINTER )IN 1941, BOY HAVE THERE BEEN SOME CHANGES. AFTER OCTOBER THERE WONT BE VERY MANY PLACES THAT YOU CAN CATCH A FISH IN MORETON BAY:-[ FREE COUNTRY ????? WANNER BUY A BOAT ???? SEE ME AT THE END OF SEPTEMBER.:'(

GES
28-07-2008, 12:38 AM
:-/ MY NAME IS JIMBO99, I HAVE BEEN FISHING MORETON BAY FOR 67 YEARS.
MY FATHER HELD 68 YEARLY PROFESSIONAL LICENCES ALL OF WHICH WE STILL HAVE AS HE WRAPPED EACH NEW LICENCE AROUND THE LAST. THE FIRST ONE COST ONE SHILLING AND SIXPENCE FOR THE YEAR. :o OUR FAMILY IS COMING UP TO A FIFTH GENERATION OF MORETON BAY FISHERMEN BUT SORRY TO SAY THIS GENERATION WILL HAVE TO FIND OTHER OCCUPATIONS AS SO MUCH OF THE BAY WILL BE CLOSED TO ALL TYPES OF FISHING THAT IT WOULD NOT ALLOW THEM TO EARN A PROPER LIVING::)
I FIRST WENT FISHING WITH MY FATHER AT 2 YEARS OF AGE (HE WAS A CRABBER IN SUMMER AND FISHED IN WINTER )IN 1941, BOY HAVE THERE BEEN SOME CHANGES. AFTER OCTOBER THERE WONT BE VERY MANY PLACES THAT YOU CAN CATCH A FISH IN MORETON BAY:-[ FREE COUNTRY ????? WANNER BUY A BOAT ???? SEE ME AT THE END OF SEPTEMBER.:'(

Jimbo