PDA

View Full Version : VMR Logging in.

Ryan.S
24-07-2008, 10:52 PM
Hello all, due to recent sad events in my life, the death of my kid brother (and first mate) and my wifes sister in a car accident that i watched unfold, also an explosion that left me 45% burnt, I have decided to post this just incase it saves one life. I have come to realise accidents happen! As i have mentioned before i have been volunteering for the VMR466 Hervey Bay for about 9 months now, first in the office and now in the Radio tower. Over this period several people have come in too ask a few question and throughout the conversation realised that VMR does NOT require you to be a member to log on with them. I realise this will be common knowledge for most of you but after having so many people not know this i thought i would post it anyway. Any vessell leaving any area monitored by a coast gaurd or VMR is welcome to logon, just give your Boat Rego, when you are expected back and number of people on board. And any other info you wish to, Mobile etc. This is very cheap insuranc and gives you piece of mind. If your clinging to your esky one afternoon it would be nice to know someone will come looking soon. Just remember to log of at the end of the day or you will get a call from the water police when you are tucked into your warm bed to see where you are. Once again i apologise if this is common knowledge to you.

sleepygreg
24-07-2008, 11:03 PM