View Full Version : A Couple of Fish off DI

Clyde
16-07-2008, 08:12 PM
Hi,
Finally got a chance to get to the coast with some good weather and got out for a couple of days with a few mates and the old man.

Got a few pearlies and the old man got his first amberjack and cobia. All caught on squid and strip bait, I was too busy to try and learn how to be successful with plastics.

Weather looks great for the start of the fishing comp. As usual, always good when you have to leave......

First time posting pics, hope they work.

Tight lines,
Clyde

backlash08
16-07-2008, 08:23 PM
Clyde,
some great pearlies there, well done!
l'm looking forward to the comp, head off tomorrow
cheers - Craig

Pistol_P
16-07-2008, 08:39 PM
mmmm.....Pearlies Galore..!!!!!

Great Fillets coming..!!!

16-07-2008, 08:58 PM
nice ambo fellas

16-07-2008, 09:01 PM
Clyde - nice pearlies, some absolute monsters.

I see a LBBJV shirt there - what do you do there?

PS Nice boat ;):P;D

Vindicator
16-07-2008, 09:59 PM
Some nice pearlies there Clyde, well done.

Kezza

Reel Nauti
16-07-2008, 10:01 PM
Great photo's! I've never been to DI but the more I read the more I'm determined to go.

reel scream
16-07-2008, 10:37 PM
Nice pearlies and a bloody nice boat mate. Whats her name Clyde and where do you normally fish out of??

Cheers Scott

17-07-2008, 07:58 AM
Just got back from up there as well. Customer Keith wanted to check out how the Stabi went as he was looking at one and he lives at Gympie so the waters off the bar up there will be his home waters. The bar wasn't really a test but we had to punch a bit of a short sharp easterley swell. He paid a bit more because I had to cover my towing up and back but we did pretty good with just his 21y.o. Amy and him aboard. All these from just one spot seven miles off the bar and we didn't move off it all day and they bit all day. The best four fish came on plastics. Two Snapper around 74cm, the Cobia and the Longtail that also came off the bottom. I am surprised more people don't want to fish up there. I've had a few tyre kickers but this is the first trip that has come off for me.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/dihaul2.jpg

17-07-2008, 08:28 AM
Nice fish Clyde, great pics too.
And as Scott mentioned above, what a super boat!

Az
17-07-2008, 10:30 AM
haha love the shot of that cobe your oldman is holding up! looks like it's got a beak!!

Clyde
17-07-2008, 07:55 PM
Cheers Guys,
Greg, that's my mate, he was a sparky there for a while. Yeh, nice colour too hey...:D

Reel Scream, boat is called Dabula Manzi - zulu for "cuts through the water" and it lives at Rainbow Beach. Unfortunately we live in CQ and don't get down as often as we'd like. Old man plans to reitre there in the next 12months or so.

Nice haul there Smithy, did you guys fish those colser reefs the time we saw you in that smaller aluminium cat?

Didn't notice the beak on the cobia myself, good pickup, I'll have to play that one up a bit.

Tight lines,
Clyde

Spot82
18-07-2008, 12:23 PM
Well done mate some very nice pearlies there, we saw you out there on monday i think it was, were in the white cruisecraft outsider. Finally got the fish to come on the bite properly last nite with a great session from 4.30-6.30 last nite where we got 13 nice squire/snapper up to 4kg and few pearlies thrown in. Fish aren't really biting although there is good shows on the sounder.

PS if you'd like to share your pearly mark for the comp it would be greatly appreciated :P might be able to do a trade on some other marks ;)

18-07-2008, 12:55 PM
Clyde,

nope different area to where you saw us last time. Were you that way?

wadeo
18-07-2008, 02:21 PM
thanks for the report clyde looks like you had a ball. excellent pearlies.
regards wadeo

Clyde
18-07-2008, 09:05 PM
Smithy,
No we headed wider, got to know the boat now and how far she can carry us.

Clyde

REELWORK
18-07-2008, 10:20 PM
Nice bag of fish there fellas. Good work there to Smithy.

dayoo
19-07-2008, 07:20 PM
Nice pearlies Clyde, hope you haven't stumbled across the secret comp. winning pearlie spot of "Baitrunner".

Barry

19-07-2008, 08:20 PM
Some more pics back.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/DSC00152.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/DSC00151.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/DSC00157.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/DSC00170.jpg

lethal098
21-07-2008, 02:26 PM
Nice catch there guys well done
Cheer lethal