View Full Version : cast netting off a boat

Bully_basher
10-07-2008, 04:51 PM
Hello fellow ausfishers i was wondering if there is any point in taking a cast net out in the boat ?? and where to cast it (up against walls)or deep water??? and what fish species should i look out for??????;D

bully basher

Breambuster33
10-07-2008, 04:59 PM
i reckon if you go down a river/creek in around 2m water you will get alot of mullet.
i have tried before and i resulted in a freezer full of bait.
other then that if you try rock walls you will get alot of small bream and wreck your net

ronnien
10-07-2008, 05:18 PM
if you are going up a creek/river you should always take your castnet!

ron.

sandbankmagnet
10-07-2008, 08:11 PM
I've only used my net off a boat. take braed based burley and you'll get herring and gar as well.

tailorboi99
11-07-2008, 01:15 PM
Yeah as Breambuster has said, small creeks with around 2m of depth you will get alot of mullet. Also jettys and well lit bridges have alot of bait hanging near them and you'll get all the bait you need there for around a week ;D. For cast netting out of a boat. I have already mentioned this "just look for small creeks and bridges (well lit)". You will have an awesome time throwing the net in.

nufin_flash
11-07-2008, 02:30 PM
if your throwing into deep water used a draw string cast net instead, that way when you pull up it closes the bottom of the net so nothing can swim down

Skusto
11-07-2008, 04:18 PM
were do u go fishing or intending on throwing the cast net from the boat some fellow ausfishes mite be able to let u know of some good spots to throw and catch bait?

MeePee_99
11-07-2008, 04:23 PM
Look for small creeks (as mentioned) and also structure jettys, bridges, pontoons all hold bait!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just_chips
11-07-2008, 04:40 PM
Make sure there is no obvious structure where you intend to throw your net. Submergered snags makeshort work of cast nets. If you are unfortunate to snag your net try motoring around your net in circles whilst keeping steady tension on the line and you may be able to work it off the snag with minimal damage.

Shallow sandy/muddy backwaters with minimal current will often hold schools of mullet but make sure that you are quiet or you will spook the fish in shallow water.

Good luck.

Kev

Bully_basher
12-07-2008, 03:54 PM
skusto i will be fishing in the river and in the bay

jareyjareyjareyjarey
12-07-2008, 05:48 PM
nice thread mate, it gives me lots of handy info aswell

Blaster Bretty
13-07-2008, 05:46 AM
when casting from the boat, if you dont have a bottom draw string, just let the net sink down till its fully closed up then slowly pull it up, all the bait get's tangled up and you will still get a good haul, just remember to try and drain as much water off the net before you bring em on board.

Bretty

lukesparky
13-07-2008, 01:01 PM
are throw nets still legan in NSW??

bushbeachboy
13-07-2008, 02:03 PM
are throw nets still legan in NSW??

NO.............