View Full Version : Fascinating footage highlights benefits of Release Weight

TerryF
10-07-2008, 12:25 PM
Fascinating footage highlights benefits of Release Weight

Media release http://www.recfishwest.org.au/MediaStateReleaseWeightDVD.htm

Recfishwest today launched the Release Weight DVD and information brochure to promote best practice for releasing demersal scalefish.

"The DVD includes some fascinating above and underwater footage of the Release Weight in action, showing fish clearly suffering the effects of barotrauma swimming off strongly with the aid of the release weight." Acting Executive Director of Recfishwest, Kane Moyle said today.

Recent changes to managing the recreational catch of demersal scalefish in the West Coast bioregion coupled with a changing ethos to catch and release fishing is seeing recreational fishers releasing more and more fish.

"It is extremely important that every fish released is correctly handled and it has been proven that the use of a Release Weight will significantly increase a fish's chance of surviving the capture." Mr Moyle said.

The importance of the Release Weight as an effective means for releasing demersal reef species has been shown through the Fisheries Research and Development Corporation, Murdoch University, Department of Fisheries and ANSA project, Maximising the survival of released undersize West Coast Reef Fish.

The tag recapture data from this study found the Release Weight to be by far and away the superior method of releasing dhufish. Recaptures were 10.1% for fish release using a Release Weight whereas simple release recaptures were 6.3%.

"Recreational fishers are valuing more and more every fish they catch, a fish released in a healthy condition is one that can spawn and have the opportunity to be caught again later." Mr Moyle said.

Copies of the DVD and brochure will be distributed to tackle stores around Western Australia. A copy of the DVD will be provided free with every Release Weight purchased while stocks are available.

Recfishwest urges all recreational fishers to view this interesting and highly informative DVD. The DVD can be downloaded from http://www.recfishwest.org.au/ReleaseWeightDVD.htm

This project was made possible thanks to funding received through the Australian Government's Recreational Fishing Community Grants Programme.

ENDS

Media Contact
Kane Moyle - Acting Executive Director Recfishwest
ph. (08) 9246 3366 Mob. 0419 949 118
=======

The DVD is "Using the Release Weight to improve the survival of released fish - Proven best practice for releasing demersal reef fish."

This DVD will be provided to Tackle Shops to be given away FREE with purchases of a Release Weight.

By arrangement with the Fisheries Research and Development Corporation, (FRDC) the DVD also contains several video segments from "Gently does it" covering releasing several popular species of fish and general information about deep hooking and barotrauma.

Recfishwest wants to make the information and videos on the DVD widely available via their website. The video from the DVD can be downloaded from http://www.recfishwest.org.au/ReleaseWeightDVD.htm

http://www.recfishwest.org.au/ReleaseWeightDVD.jpg http://www.recfishwest.org.au/ReleaseWeightDVDMainMenu.jpg

http://www.recfishwest.org.au/ReleaseWeightDVDFrontCover.jpg http://www.recfishwest.org.au/ReleaseWeightDVDBackCover.jpg

TerryF
=====
Beavering away in the background.......http://www.recfishwest.org.au/LogosRecfishwestLogo.gif

10-07-2008, 05:59 PM
Thanks Terry,

I have a mate that has been using this method ( snapper lead ) for many years and swears he gets a great result. He fishes Central Queensland waters... salty stuff, that is.

sparkyice
11-07-2008, 10:51 PM
one of the most facinating products i have seen in years!!
the fingerlakes here in n.y., usa are upwards of 200m deep.
although the laketrout we catch don't live on the bottom, we bring them up from 50m or more, and their bladder distends.
conventional wisdom holds that these fish are doomed, but some guys will vent the bladder in hopes of their survival.
i'm going to forward the link to the video to my local tackle shop, who knows, i think this product would sell here!
thanks for the info,
tight lines,
joe :D

caliban
02-09-2008, 09:04 PM
Does anyone know if you can purchase these release weights in Sydney or are they only available in WA?

Dick Pasfield
02-09-2008, 09:35 PM
Posted this a while ago but it got lost because I mislabeled the post. G'day Terry:)

TerryF
03-09-2008, 11:18 AM
Does anyone know if you can purchase these release weights in Sydney...The Release Weights are made by Sunset Sinker Supplies

Contact details:-

Jason Gaske

Sunset Sinker Supplies

Address: Unit 17, 37 Warman Street, Neerabup WA 6031

Phone: ( 08 ) 9306 8889

Email: sunsetsinkersupplies@westnet.com.au

You can contact them and ask if they supply the Release Weights to anywhere near you.

Otherwise you could buy one online from a WA tackle shop, eg http://www.bluewater.net.au/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=release+weight&osCsid=3229e438f138c9d364f834b58dcd9fb8&x=0&y=0 (yep I know release weights are heavy.... but you could ask how much the freight would be)

TerryF
=====
Beavering away in the background.......http://www.recfishwest.org.au/LogosRecfishwestLogo.gif

frogfuzz
03-09-2008, 12:49 PM
I reckon you could make one if you had the wire - wouldn't you just have to put the wire down your snapper lead mould, heat up the lead and pour?

Failing that - where can I buy one in SE QLD. I hate having to "stab" the bladder - this looks heaps better