View Full Version : 4.2 dory big enough for brissy river

mookyandlumpy
07-07-2008, 05:24 PM
hello,
i have never been out in to the brissy river and was wanting to give it a shot,
but i heard that the boats and tugs trow a big wake ???
i have a 420 dory with a 4ohp suzuki on he back is this big enough to (on a good day) and be safe ??

i want to go have a look and trow some lines in from the gate way to the mouth,
and where would be a good place to launch from and have a fish????

sorry im new to the river so any help would be great

thanks
mooky

Az
07-07-2008, 05:44 PM
Hi Mooky

Plenty big enough mate, just take your usual precautions with boat traffic!

Az

07-07-2008, 05:45 PM

Yep big enough for sure, just remember the big stuff need room to maneuver.

Southside, whyte island (fishermans) and colmslie

North, brekky or boggy creeks

MeePee_99
07-07-2008, 05:56 PM
Yer big enough for sure, my friend goes out in his 3.5m tinnie and 10hp!!!!

mookyandlumpy
07-07-2008, 06:07 PM
cool, thanks guys hope fully see you out there is the weather holds up

mickstar001
07-07-2008, 07:43 PM
Heaps big enough!

Keechie
07-07-2008, 07:46 PM
easily big wnough mate, i have got a 3.9m stacer and a 30hp and in the worst of conditions i have travelled from nudgee beach to the brissie river and back. in that you should have no problems.

regards,
keechie