PDA

View Full Version : Advice for offshore reel and rod

Braddles
05-07-2008, 10:14 PM
I am pretty new to the offshore fishing scene, mainly going out on charters every 8 weeks or so.

Style of fishing is predominatley bottom bashing for big snapper and pearlies during winter, and in warmer months mainly trolling for big pelagics such as wahoo, small marlin, macs and the like.

I would also like to be able to jig with it if I want to - but this would not be common use and only for periods of 20 mins or so.

I would like to spend around the $500.00 mark.

As far as rods go - I have no idea.

Is it true rods are specifically designed for overhead reels in that a rod designed for an under reel (egg beater etc) could be damaged by flexion in reverse arch?

As far as reels go; I have looked at these and would be interested in what the off shore guys here would recommend and why.

1. Daiwa Saltist 40

2. Shimano Tyrnos 30 2speed

3. Shimano Torium 30 or 50

4. Shimano TLD 30 or 50

5. ??? Shimano Tiagra - but perhaps out of price range unless can buy online fromUSA and import.

6. Shimano Trinidad 30 or 40

7. Any thing else someone may suggest.

So many reels from one manufacturer - no wonder I am confused. I would like objective reasons as well as people's personal preference if possible.

Many thanks for taking the time to answer

Kind Regards,

Brad.

Skusto
06-07-2008, 10:41 AM
wilson live fibre overhead rod 15-24kg rod bought one a few months back and my fishing has seriously improved from it great little rod u can feel the tiniest bites in it in over 70m of water and can hold some big fish last trip the sharks hit us and it had no problems holding the shark got some strenth in them. i picked up mine for $200