View Full Version : SPs the Last Two Weeks

05-07-2008, 11:57 AM
Started this period of good weather and good fishing with Norman and his partner. A 78cm Snapper, a cracker of a Grassy and a few pan size Squire started it all off.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/normansnapver.jpg

Turned into a bumma of a time the next day. Very first cast with a 3/4oz jighead a customer hit the corner of my toughened glass windscreen while it was brittle and cold. Result was 5million tiny cracks. We played a big Tuna that I am guessing was a Longtail over 15kg by the fight that took us 1.2Nm from where we started the fight before wearing through the 20lb FC leader. Running back the screen eventually shattered into 5million pieces of glass 5mmX5mmX5mm. We had to deal with that all day that put a dampener on proceedings. A few pan size Squire were the result but I was out of action most of the morning dealing with the glass. A quick trip to Lee's and I was back in action the following day. Here is the Stabi parked up next to Serial Fisher where we did the windscreen replacement.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/windscreen1.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/serialtriton3.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/serialtriton.jpg

05-07-2008, 11:58 AM
New windscreen and we were back into them. All a bit of blur after 9 days on the water in 10 with some full days and half day morning and afternoons.
This 82cm on from 18m of water was the standout. Plenty of pannies and lots 50cm+. Got another 78 and lost plenty around that size due to pulled hooks and bustups. Plenty of pics taken but like usual they never find their way back to me.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/82snaphor.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/snaphor2.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/louissnaphor1.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/JulianSnap2.jpg

05-07-2008, 11:59 AM
The Mack Tuna was on a SP. The fight was over miles quicker than this thing we were on the other morning. The Cobe was on a livey. Also snapped this Albatross that was hanging around with the huge number of Gannets that are about.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/JulianMack2.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/cobevert2.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Late%20June%2008/albatross.jpg

Been some good weather mixed in with it and then hammered by wrong forecasts. So hard to pick at the moment.

BARRAkid
05-07-2008, 12:40 PM
good fish mate looks like you are doing well
pitty about the screen tho :'(

05-07-2008, 12:43 PM
Awesome stuff Smithy
Sorry to hear about the windscreen but i guess you'd have a few mishaps to tell like that one on charters .
Looks like the snapper are playing well for your clientele as well
Great pics

trueblue
05-07-2008, 12:55 PM
good fish again Smithy.

what plastics were doing the trick?

hookinin
05-07-2008, 02:44 PM
Sounds like charters are keeping you busy, good to hear things are going well and great to read your reports. Looks a bit cool and damp in a couple of shots but the results still good.
Cheers Gaven.

catfish55
05-07-2008, 05:44 PM
hey smithy was wondering what the pro's and con are between the two boats , yours looks so low , as in free board .???? curious....pat

05-07-2008, 08:04 PM
nice fish mate

06-07-2008, 08:51 PM
The Fisher has a self draining floor, mine doesn't. That is the biggest difference. My floor is even lower than my reverse chines. The sides are still deep but it is just a different concept.

Using 6" Atomic Jerk Minnows in Lumo Silver and Wtr CL Gold at the moment.

06-07-2008, 09:25 PM
Smithy did Lee fix it for you? Some good fish in those pic's

dayoo
06-07-2008, 10:52 PM
Smithy,
Good fish and report, mate. Might see you at the ramp again Monday or Tuesday week with the crew on Alexander. Hope the bloody sharks are gone.

Barry

catfish55
07-07-2008, 01:57 PM
The Fisher has a self draining floor, mine doesn't. That is the biggest difference. My floor is even lower than my reverse chines. The sides are still deep but it is just a different concept.

Using 6" Atomic Jerk Minnows in Lumo Silver and Wtr CL Gold at the moment.
thanks smithy was more interested in ther performance , thats if you,ve been in the other one as well.
like how hard or soft do they handle the rough etc and free boardetc.
sorry to take you off the track here but when i look at these boats you'd think they would be hard on you back, to look at that is . i see nugget has one as well, but sponsership may cloud his judgment . hehehe thanks pat. ps what do you charge for a trip mateas well ?

SWANO1
09-07-2008, 07:48 PM
great report again smithy ;) you always get the punters nice fish .
should be a good sesh next week with spawning fish and the full moon.
heres a few we got on placcies last moon .
cheers swano

12-07-2008, 04:06 PM
On a good little bite again.

64cm Sweety to Jake this morning.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/jakesweety2.jpg

Yesterday. Bagged out by 7:30.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/gs2.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/bagout4.jpg

Coupla arvos ago. 3 person bagout on an arvo trip.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/bagout2-1.jpg

The afternoon before that. Roger and a 59cm fish. Part of a double hookup of fish the exact same size. Roger ran charter boats back in England and is now a Sunny Coast local.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/roger.jpg

12-07-2008, 04:23 PM
From a couple of weeks ago. Finally filtering in. Even the ladies can do it.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Firstcatchoftheday.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/Dinner.jpg

This next trip was a good trip for quality. A 55cm to Ben from Sydney to start the day off.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/bensnap1.jpg

Then a 78cm

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/bensnap4.jpg

Then Robby cracked a 55cm a new PB for him.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/robsnap.jpg

Then got a new PB Cobe out wider as a PB. Also got a good Pearly out there on a SP.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/robcobe.jpg

And a little haul from a few days before that.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/June%2008/100_1824small.jpg

backlash08
12-07-2008, 06:03 PM
nice work Smithy, thanks for the report - craig

22-07-2008, 07:03 PM
Here are a few on conventional baits from the last couple of days, the young fella with a 73cm one on cut bait and Matt with an 82cm on a live Yakka.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/PICT0047.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/PICT0053.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/July%2008/mattaylor.jpg

Liberty
22-07-2008, 11:31 PM
Great stuff Smithy - but I am stuffed if I can work out how you can get a 3/4oz jig to wrap around the front of the boat from the back with enough force to shatter a windscreen!

Some good catches and happy people there anyway.

Nigel

23-07-2008, 09:44 AM
I have my sea achor out the back so drift bow on and get them to cast forward of the drift. Either his finger stayed on the spool or the bail flipped back around and it pendulemed into the front of the windscreen. Maybe the freezing cold morning didn't help and it hit right on the edge of the glass too.

Liberty
23-07-2008, 10:02 AM
Ah. Just bad luck.

Think I'll continue to drift side on!

stinky-stabi
24-07-2008, 10:46 AM
some very nice fish there m8....

stinky