View Full Version : Mackay & Sarina Fishing

chillers
30-06-2008, 04:53 PM
Gday all just wondering if there is any members near the Mackay area. I live in Moranbah and try to get to Mackay and mainly sarina for a fish when ever possible. Would be good to get some local knowledge.

Chillers

kamiza
01-07-2008, 12:44 PM
Gday Chillers

I live in Mackay, been getting some Mackeral (on poppers) at Shoal Point, A few whiting about on the Pioneers River, Snapper off the Breakwall at Mackay Harbour,
dont get around Sarina much but would bet on Pelagics being around the terminal.

Hope this helps

Noiseworks
01-07-2008, 04:47 PM
Hey Kamiza, you get Mackeral from Shoal Point, is that land based or out the front? Family and I fish Shoal Point/ Top End of Bucasia, as our local, we have caught Golden Trevally, Flatties, Whiting, and others to small to name. Casting at Shoal point for whiting can conjur up some good sized Sea Mullet. Good bait and easy enough to chew.

Noiseworks

chillers
01-07-2008, 08:30 PM
Gday Kamiza
Thanks heaps for the advice, i will try the sarina mouth and surrounding waters on the mackeral comp this month are you yourself going it's on the 11, 12, 13, 14. I might be in Mackay on the weekend for some land based fishing until i get my boat.

Cheers Scott

kamiza
01-07-2008, 08:55 PM
Hi Noiseworks

Yep landbased I live at the Shoals so i just go down the front and fish Bucasia side as I said have caught Mackeral with poppers and sharks around full moon on bait. I am favouring Blacks beach lately as i enjoy fishing for flatties and have had no joy close to home. If this wind will die down will pull the covers off the tinnie and have a fish offshore.

kamiza
01-07-2008, 09:00 PM
Hi Scott

Not one for comps just enjoy doin my own thing, but good luck; the few times I have been down there I have always come home with a feed.

I GOT CRABS
01-07-2008, 09:16 PM
Hey Chillers where do you work in Moranbah? You can join a club called Red Hooker Club in Mbah they normally sell tickets in seafood trays at the workers club every thursday. They have get togethers and go fishing pretty often around the mackay area.

MyEscape
02-07-2008, 03:57 AM
Scott,

I've been investigating the Sarina area myself lately. Mainly trying the plane creek area in an attempt to gain some local knowledge.

There's lots to know, especially the difference in the area between high and low water.

Keep in touch.

chillers
02-07-2008, 09:35 PM
Gday I Got Crabs

I work for one of the local plumbers in town, been here for only one and a half years what about yourself.

Mate there is some nice fish down there, I have caught trevally, flathead, grunter, bream, bubba lip bream, mangrove jack, cod, muddy's, and some little whiting, also a big barra that i can't really include as i didn't get him into the boat but he was big, still upset to this day.

johnathon joe
03-07-2008, 02:00 PM
30129 Rocky dam creek

chillers
04-07-2008, 01:24 PM
Gday Jonathan Joe

The Rocky Dam Creek you posted where is that and have you fished it before.

Cheers Scott

johnathon joe
04-07-2008, 03:34 PM
30192 It is south of sarina,boat ramp turn off between tramline and shops at KOUMALA. Yeah we fish there when in the area, Camp at ramp.Have a read

blueringin
05-07-2008, 01:07 AM
we used to get some huge mtr long flathead under the bridge there years back,so a good spot to start,also you can spot shools of whiting off the bridge and sight fish um.The marina was good to,used to catch garries by hand stick a hook in and hang on.Big things down there,cod, barra,crocs,heaps of big red eyes,breackwall was good for flatts,spotties,trevs,brim,jew,cuda,dunno these days days though that was 20 yrs ago, loved the fishing there,good luck mate hope it fires for ya