View Full Version : Why is fresh the best?

Tropicaltrout
29-06-2008, 07:46 PM
With the weather cooling and boat mantaince done boardem has kicked in, so I was thinking about why the fresh?

ok there so much talk of the barra and bass, the dams like awoonga and monduran and sommerset but what is the thing aside the obvious that draws you to the sweetwater.

I love the bush the colours of it the smells and nature at its best. I grew up bushwalking, camping and fishing all over Tassie and loved every minute and now in QLD i have surcome to the shere magnitude of the mainland australinian bush. Arriving at a dam or lake is IMO like slipping away from reality of day to day life, it gets me ampped knowing I can chase the fish of my dreams it such wonderful surroundings. That to me is why fresh is the best :D

Your turn...

cheers Nath

29-06-2008, 09:09 PM
Whats there not to love about the Ozzy bush & the rivers / streams that run through it ! ........ such diverse waters from Alpine trout , backwater bass , granite country cod & tropical barra! .......... man we live in a great country !
Here in Sydney ..... I can fish within 2 hours of the CBD & can get lost in another world !:thumbsup:
Yep! ... Fresh is Sweet!

Nagg

Nic
29-06-2008, 09:30 PM
You're right about the surroundings, we're so lucky to have all these wonderful places to fish. You can't help but love the sweetwater. Does anyone else have pics of picturesque waterways they have fished?

Leigh77
30-06-2008, 06:54 AM
Some impoundments like Clarrie Hall...

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/clarrie1.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMGP0132.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/clarrie2.jpg

are simply breath taking and the fact that you can catch our Aussie broze Battler as well is a bonus.

The many rivers and creeks that flow through this country of ours make it what it is. Theres no better anywhere. Anything from a raging river, over 20' in flood and still catching Bass.

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0020.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0083.jpg

To a small river gently flowing through its surroundings.

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0015.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0016.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0010-1.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0022.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0029-1.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMGP0039.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMGP0702.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMGP0726.jpg

Better stop now else the guys on dialup will have a heart attack.

Leigh

Whitto
30-06-2008, 06:59 AM
I was OK with your photo's until the last one Nath, am I right and saying that is Chrome Alley.....OOooHHhhh the IBD:(....... Rustwater: Nothing to look at, Your equipment deterioating by the minute>:(.....Sweetwater: Well the photos above says it all....Ah the Tranquility......What about all the likeminded people you meet just by being there......Now thats GOLD..........and the bonus....BARRA...Cheers Whitto:D

30-06-2008, 07:34 AM
Here is a couple ...... Alpine Lake 29891 & Tropical Lake 29893

the_matrix
30-06-2008, 08:07 AM
Gosh those pics of Clarrie Hall are sensational.
Heres a pic of Tropical (cyclone)Awoonga, genuine 45 knots. You cant really see whats around the corner, but yeh...........very big waves for a dam, and a nasty, nasty tropical rain squall. Glad I wasnt in a 3.8 metre tinny!
Jas

Peter4
30-06-2008, 08:31 AM
I just love Monduran. Deep in the rainforest, out in the open water or delicately manouvering amongst the snags - all the time trying to hook up to a monster barra. Sometimes you can feel like the only people for miles around, out enjoying the wilderness..........

Nic
30-06-2008, 09:56 AM
Those are beautiful photos Leigh, such awesome country! I'll have to make the effort to chase some bass next time I'm down south.

nipsta
30-06-2008, 10:34 AM
here are some of my moments on the fresh water paridises several different ones
vision i lke to remind of place unquie to me

nipsta
30-06-2008, 10:44 AM
Some impoundments like Clarrie Hall...

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/clarrie1.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMGP0132.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/clarrie2.jpg

are simply breath taking and the fact that you can catch our Aussie broze Battler as well is a bonus.

The many rivers and creeks that flow through this country of ours make it what it is. Theres no better anywhere. Anything from a raging river, over 20' in flood and still catching Bass.

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0020.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0083.jpg

To a small river gently flowing through its surroundings.

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0015.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0016.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0010-1.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0022.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMG_0029-1.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMGP0039.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMGP0702.jpg

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i145/g_loomis/IMGP0726.jpg

Better stop now else the guys on dialup will have a heart attack.

Leigh

Liegh that photo of the bass is aswome mate i would get that blown up and frame a great lounge room picture if you sent that to photo magazine they would rate up there with some of the best shots thtas justmy opinion anyway
well done

Little grey men
30-06-2008, 01:19 PM
What a question ! Warning...this is going to be full of sentimental stuff as this is something close to my heart.
I was raised fishing in freshwater. I have so many memories of fishing trips up and down the Condamine when I was a kid.
Every Sunday morning my best mate and I would sit in church, bored out of our brains. When the pastor finished his piece it would be home, get the fancy duds off and into something more comfy, have some lunch and jump on our pushies and either head to Charlies creek or the Condamine river for the afternoon.
I reckon we must have walked a thousand miles over the years exploring those waterways, coming across the different animals living in and around them.
Honestly is there a better way for a kid to grow up ?
My old man used to take us on lots of fishing trips out there as well. A lot can be said for being so far away from everything, when the only noise is the happy sound of galahs chatting to each other, and the occasional noise of a farmers tractor in the distance.
Sitting in front of a fire watching Dad boil the billy for a nice hot cuppa as him and Grandpa spoke about all sorts of things. I'll always remember nightime out on the river. When the huge sky would change from a bright clear blue to a shade of purple and then eventually the night sky would be covered with what seemed like millions of stars and you'd lay back and look in wonder as satellites moved across the sky and shooting stars broke apart and landed far away.
I have great pleasure introducing my son to these special things. Watching him help his Pop build a fire on the banks of the river warmed my heart.
Although recently we've both been introduced to a whole other world of freshwater fishing.....tearing across a lake in a crazy fast boat chasing huge barra using top gear, in the presence of someone who really knows his stuff.
Yeah I like freshwater fishing and everything that goes along with it....except for the snakes.

Tropicaltrout
30-06-2008, 05:29 PM
I was OK with your photo's until the last one Nath, am I right and saying that is Chrome Alley.....OOooHHhhh the IBD:(....... Rustwater: Nothing to look at, Your equipment deterioating by the minute>:(.....Sweetwater: Well the photos above says it all....Ah the Tranquility......What about all the likeminded people you meet just by being there......Now thats GOLD..........and the bonus....BARRA...Cheers Whitto:D

Nope this is the Hall of chrome, and yes the tick is growing worse greg by the week;D ;D

Leigh they are superb pictures a true credit to the sweetwater in anyones book and thanks Simon for making sure we see them ;D ;D

Cheers Nath

the_matrix
30-06-2008, 05:45 PM
Michael,
Your post is the essence of why I do what I do. Although theres no picture in your post, you surely paint a clear one as clear as the night skies you speak of.
That most certainly takes me back to the banks of the 'bigee and Tumut rivers, where it all began for me, campfires, dust and damper. Excitement of what the new day would bring and the fish we would catch.

No wonder Caleb has such a great take on life gosh he's in good hands.
I look forward to my turn, with my two young fella's.
Jas

TinarooTriumph
30-06-2008, 06:22 PM
All the photo's being posted say it all. They don't need explanations.

Poseidon
30-06-2008, 06:34 PM
The fresh for me has so much more appeal for a number of reasons and they all mainly relate to having the place pretty much to yourself.
It's the whole package, great scenery driving there, on the water and wildlife in abundance makes the fishing a bonus.
Here are some pictures from our favourite sooty location taken earlier in the year.

nipsta
30-06-2008, 09:13 PM
Nope this is the Hall of chrome, and yes the tick is growing worse Greg by the week;D ;D

Leigh they are superb pictures a true credit to the sweet water in anyones book and thanks Simon for making sure we see them ;D ;D

Cheers Nath

just making sure you cockroach's can see them clearly enough i know how hard it is to see the calls the ref makes lol
i sure you will have you excuses ready for Wednesday night
lol game on ladys

Little grey men
01-07-2008, 10:24 AM
I look forward to my turn, with my two young fella's.

Best years of your life Jas, no doubt about it. Watching the look on their little face when they realise there's actually a fast moving fish connected to the other end of the line is hard to describe in words, but it's something that a Dad never forgets. I'm sure Nath knows excactly what I'm talking about, I remember the photo of his little princess with that huge barra on her lap ;D

I'm taking the next few days off to spend with Caleb during his holidays. Lots of fishing planned. ( and Kung Fu Panda ):) HIIIYAAAA !!! Can't wait.

Cammy
01-07-2008, 04:39 PM
It all Started for me when i was fishing at lake Eucembene (spelling) when i was 7 or so, our family would go down for a couple of nites and stay in the cabins or hide out in the tents. We would usually take one of my friends down with us and him and i would have competitions on who could catch the most fish. Half the time we would sit out on the rocks, have a little fire going just sitting around it talking and making rocks blow up:) waiting for the bells to ring at the waters edge, the other half we would be out trolling or flicking for trout.

But the Best dam i have ever been to, is located a bit south of Canberra (my home town), called Brogo dam. Very very nice lake, water was like a bath nice and warm when you hopped in night or day. Awsome scenery and awsome fish, the dam is pretty much just for boats, so i dont think there is any trails along the edge of the dam as it has foliage surrounduing the entire lake. Best time i ever had there was when i went to Bermagui for my birthday, and we decided to head over to Brogo, we went fishing in the rain, but the rain wasnt cold it was actually warm, it was drissling while were just flicking the banks, and there was no shortage of fish at all! there were 3 of us and we each caught like 15 fish, biggest Bass was only 43 cm.

But yer this has dragged on long enough.

Just love freshwater when the sea is being mean to you.

Has anyone been to Brogo dam??

Cammy

vinny78
02-07-2008, 01:11 PM
I love the fresh because this is the type of country I love to walk and fish-

BR65
02-07-2008, 05:11 PM
Your turn...

cheers Nath

Nath,

mirror like water with a light fog shroud in the pre-dawn gloom
camping out on a clear night under a blanket of a million stars
mysterious splashs and boofs you hear in the bay just around the corner
agressive lure eating fish, no matter whether they are big slapper barra, fiesty bass, or chunky goldens
the challenge of a shut down bite
the camradrie if you want it, or the solitude if you dont

I dont know, its just good

Whitto
02-07-2008, 07:08 PM
Brian, This is a side of you I had no idea existed;D......Very nioice piece of Piscatorial Prose:D....I have to say I caught myself wiping away a small tear from my good eye:'(....(One eyed Queenslander)....I put some of that down to IBD...well done.....Whitto::)

nipsta
02-07-2008, 10:12 PM
Brian, This is a side of you I had no idea existed;D......Very nioice piece of Piscatorial Prose:D....I have to say I caught myself wiping away a small tear from my good eye:'(....(One eyed Queenslander)....I put some of that down to IBD...well done.....Whitto::)

not only does queensland have some of the most awsomefreshwater fishing places in Australia but dam we play rugby league great go you Queenslander's "state of origin champions 2008 " ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D :D

Whitto
02-07-2008, 10:33 PM
Now that was GOLD........The Monkey is off our back in Sydney.......Bring on 2009.....QUEENSLANDER

02-07-2008, 11:03 PM
Now that was GOLD........The Monkey is off our back in Sydney.......Bring on 2009.....QUEENSLANDER

Oh no ....... Whats the name of the Victorian Fishing Web site::)

Nagg

PS ...... Yes we were out played again ....... well done Que "sniff sniff" ens "sniff , sniff " landers :'(

Whitto
03-07-2008, 06:59 AM
Oh no ....... Whats the name of the Victorian Fishing Web site::)

Nagg

PS ...... Yes we were out played again ....... well done Que "sniff sniff" ens "sniff , sniff " landers :'( No No Chris there is no need to look for another web site.....:Dthere is one thing that we Queenslander are is excepting.....:)We would much rather have your fishing knowledge bestowed upon us from time 2 time......;)it's just a shame the NSW Blues didn't bring some sort of Rugby League knowledge last night.....::)thats the way it goes.......Cheers from a very proud Queenslander;D

BR65
03-07-2008, 07:19 PM

lol whitto, I was momentarilly in touch with me inner new age guy alter ego8-)
that'll never happen again:P
I think the photos posted provide the best answer to naths post

Dick Pasfield
03-07-2008, 08:13 PM
I was thinking about why the fresh?

No sand flies coming out of the mangroves to rip you to bits;D

Awoonga
03-07-2008, 08:15 PM
It all Started for me when i was fishing at lake Eucembene (spelling) when i was 7 or so, our family would go down for a couple of nites and stay in the cabins or hide out in the tents. We would usually take one of my friends down with us and him and i would have competitions on who could catch the most fish. Half the time we would sit out on the rocks, have a little fire going just sitting around it talking and making rocks blow up:) waiting for the bells to ring at the waters edge, the other half we would be out trolling or flicking for trout.

But the Best dam i have ever been to, is located a bit south of Canberra (my home town), called Brogo dam. Very very nice lake, water was like a bath nice and warm when you hopped in night or day. Awsome scenery and awsome fish, the dam is pretty much just for boats, so i dont think there is any trails along the edge of the dam as it has foliage surrounduing the entire lake. Best time i ever had there was when i went to Bermagui for my birthday, and we decided to head over to Brogo, we went fishing in the rain, but the rain wasnt cold it was actually warm, it was drissling while were just flicking the banks, and there was no shortage of fish at all! there were 3 of us and we each caught like 15 fish, biggest Bass was only 43 cm.

But yer this has dragged on long enough.

Just love freshwater when the sea is being mean to you.

Has anyone been to Brogo dam??

Cammy Cammy, Brogo that brings back childhood memories..and Bermagui.....

nipsta
03-07-2008, 08:17 PM
no flushing of ya motor when you get home

Whitto
03-07-2008, 09:46 PM
no flushing of ya motor when you get home

A little bird has told me you have been flushing your motor lately Simon.......:DCongratulations to you both.....Your back must be killing ya.....;DGood Job and give the wife a kiss for me:-*.........Cheers Whitto

nipsta
04-07-2008, 01:47 AM
A little bird has told me you have been flushing your motor lately Simon.......:DCongratulations to you both.....Your back must be killing ya.....;DGood Job and give the wife a kiss for me:-*.........Cheers Whitto

yes;D but its early days yet so no probs8-) and my back is but that isnt the resason ok i lie could be part of it but yeah :D not long now and the i see the surgeon a nd it all shold be fix and right for november i hope and october as well ok cheers whitto:2vrolijk_08: :2vrolijk_08:

Tropicaltrout
04-07-2008, 05:45 PM
tweet tweet.:D

I tell ya one thing the new edition wont need to buy ant lures ;D ;D

Well done simon and mel.

Nath

nipsta
04-07-2008, 06:10 PM
tweet tweet.:D

I tell ya one thing the new edition wont need to buy ant lures ;D ;D

Well done simon and mel.

Nath

Yes cheers nath we where keeping it on the down low but im tooexcited for that and ya right about enough lures but i still got to get those ones we talked about
i wont get blue ones they dont work lol

nipsta
05-07-2008, 08:19 PM
hey nath it must have been the horney toads that did it for us so everyone understand my wife mel is pregant with our secound and we stoked early days yet but looks like the new edtion might slow the feb trip up due in march so have to see how things are going ok brian your turn next you need your own little fishing partner nothing like it . cheers
:grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin:

Whitto
06-07-2008, 07:20 AM
hey nath it must have been the horney toads that did it for us so everyone understand my wife mel is pregant with our secound and we stoked early days yet but looks like the new edtion might slow the feb trip up due in march so have to see how things are going ok brian your turn next you need your own little fishing partner nothing like it . cheers
:grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: I know the Horny Toads are good but I didn't know they were that good Nipsta::)........Don't worry about the wife giving birth around February Simon we've got SteveB up the road and I've been known to deliver the odd Deckie in my time;).....it's all good.......You should be OK for November......Whitto;D;D;D;D

nipsta
06-07-2008, 08:47 AM
I know the Horny Toads are good but I didn't know they were that good Nipsta::)........Don't worry about the wife giving birth around February Simon we've got SteveB up the road and I've been known to deliver the odd Deckie in my time;).....it's all good.......You should be OK for November......Whitto;D;D;D;D

yes not wrong 2 ambulance offices close bye safe as hell at least it might stop steve catching homer for a minute or 2 or hours or 10 and yap we are set for novemebr and hopefully a splash and dash in october if i recover fron surgery in time :P

sounds like poor old nath has the flu again he just attracts bug unlucky fellow im hoping to catch up with them next weekend once his flu goes . whitto i suppose cockaroachs carry germs hey lol ;D

Steve B
06-07-2008, 09:43 AM
Congratulations Simon!!:D:D:D
Due in March hey!!! better get the fishing in this year!!! If you need anything baby wise like clothes etc give me a yell. I have thoooousands of baby bits and pieces waiting for a new home!!

All the best with it all for you and Mel.

Now I know how you REALLY hurt your back!!!;);)

Magella
06-07-2008, 09:47 AM
Hey Nipsta,

I saw them deliver a baby on Country Practice once didn't seem that hard
You'll be fine

Cheers Foxie

BR65
06-07-2008, 11:39 AM
gday simon, thought that was whats happening, congrats mate, have you advised the missus a new deckie requires a bigger boat, maybe a skeeter or such like??
no additional crew on the horizon for me mate

Tropicaltrout
06-07-2008, 03:00 PM
I reckon between us we would make good mid wife's:idea: , Lip grippers to get it out Whitto's got a great new eviro net to catch him or her:gender: we all got brag mats to measure and and some braid scissors for the cord, so where ever it happens we will be sweet:laola:

The best thing of all is that its getting a great pair of parents like you Simon and Mel and it will get to experiance the joys of fishing the sweetwater. So dont worry about Febuary Whitto and me will be there and will tell you all about it :vrolijk_26:

You be right mate.... we got plenty of trips before then.

Nath

Whitto
06-07-2008, 03:17 PM
I reckon between us we would make good mid wife's:idea: , Lip grippers to get it out Whitto's got a great new eviro net to catch him or her:gender: we all got brag mats to measure and and some braid scissors for the cord, so where ever it happens we will be sweet:laola:

The best thing of all is that its getting a great pair of parents like you Simon and Mel and it will get to experiance the joys of fishing the sweetwater. So dont worry about Febuary Whitto and me will be there and will tell you all about it :vrolijk_26:

Nath Nath, You forgot to Boil the water....thats what they do in all the cowboy movies.....In all my clinical training and SteveB will back me in this...I've never worked out why water has to be boiled....I can only come up with you get the person who is panicing the most to go and do it just to get rid of them or to make cups of tea allround...who knows.......Whitto Ps: If it's a boy Simon don't call him Barra or Lure u got enough of them;D

nipsta
06-07-2008, 05:59 PM
Congratulations Simon!!:D:D:D
Due in March hey!!! better get the fishing in this year!!! If you need anything baby wise like clothes etc give me a yell. I have thousands of baby bits and pieces waiting for a new home!!

All the best with it all for you and Mel.

Now I know how you REALLY hurt your back!!!;);)

yeah for sure Steve once we find out what where having ill let ya know but we still got a fair bit of stuff the from when we had our daughter so i will confirm once we find out if its a boy or girl
Foxie i think remember that show i checked with the chief and i dont think she keen for the country practice style of delivery and Nath certainly not the lip grippers and the into the environet one criekey that was a cracker
Brian i also checked on the bigger vessel and she said ummmmmmmm nup
I have confirm if everything is looking OK its really only a 3 hour drive back so i have been given clearance at this stage for Feb
Whitto i rang my mother inlaw the other day and told her we had come up with name for a boy and it was jack for the middle and magrove for the first part of course you know what she said i said at least its not flathead she laughed
thanks again for all ya wishers it will be as sweet as fishing the sweet waters so good as golds ::)

Steve B
06-07-2008, 07:49 PM

Nath

Hey Nath, I reckon we had better not throw this one back though!!! He/She will definatley be a keeper!!

Whitto, Yeah I never understood what the boiled water was for in movies etc. I know an old para told me once to put a blanket/towels on the hot bonnet of an ambulance to get them nice and warm for deliveries on the side of the road etc. I have done a couple, but at the house before transporting.....their mess to clean up ....not mine!!!!

Tropicaltrout
06-07-2008, 08:08 PM
I forgot to add thats why fresh is the best we are so inovative, hey steve I diddn't have enought material but will send you some pics