View Full Version : Is a 4 st Honda 90 enough for this Yalta?

Hornet Rider
27-06-2008, 05:32 PM
Is a 4 st Honda 90 enough to get the best performance out of this Yalta Odessa 5.3m? Have read reasonably good reports about Yalta's but would have thought a bit more than a 4st Honda 90hp would be needed to get the best performance, ie sufficient speed verse economy, ride, safety out is 5.3m Odessa, particularly in a big chop off shore. It's a 1997 hull & motor with about 404 hrs on the Honda. Giving it some thought as a replacement for my 15ft tinny. Would appreciate anyone's thoughts. I'm not fragile so a no prisoners answer would be welcome.

27-06-2008, 06:07 PM
Mate that's an 11 year old 4 stroke, think the 90 is the 130hp block?? if so it probably will not be a racer but might get you there and back with a 45kph fast cruise??

For Steve
27-06-2008, 07:11 PM
I've been looking at a Yalta 535 Allrounder so I'm guessing it's a similar weight (550kg hull) and deadrise (21 degrees). I'd be going for a 100hp 4 stroke Yamaha (176kg). It's only 10hp more than the Honda you're looking at but that extra 10% power would make a differance. For offshore trips, I'd likely only have 2 POB so a passenger weight of about 160kg. If I was carrying more load I'd prefer to pay the extra and upsize to a 115hp 4 stroke.

So my ideas are to find out the hull weight, deadrise, and outboard weight, think about your passenger load and take it for a spin.

Brad

How

27-06-2008, 07:17 PM
FNQ The 90 is not the 130 block, totally seperate engine.. the 90 is a 1590CC engine where as the 130 is a 2254cc engine.

The 90 would do the job but it would never win any races :)

Imfiik
27-06-2008, 07:32 PM
Hi Hornett,
I have a 5.33 Carribean crestcutter with a 97 Honda 90 4st. The motor is fitted with a permatrim and propped to rev to 5800 rpm. I have rebuilt the hull . New pacific maple transom and alloy hard top. 120 stainless cruisetank at rear. It will do 28-30 knots though I don't flog it. I regularly fished the ridge at the top of the hards for 70-76 litres cruising around 22-25 knots. the only weak point I found with the whole rig was the water pump impeller which I changed every twelve mos. I had one fail at the twelve mile.Imfiik.

27-06-2008, 07:48 PM
Hi Hornett,
I have a 5.33 Carribean crestcutter with a 97 Honda 90 4st. The motor is fitted with a permatrim and propped to rev to 5800 rpm. I have rebuilt the hull . New pacific maple transom and alloy hard top. 120 stainless cruisetank at rear. It will do 28-30 knots though I don't flog it. I regularly fished the ridge at the top of the hards for 70-76 litres cruising around 22-25 knots. the only weak point I found with the whole rig was the water pump impeller which I changed every twelve mos. I had one fail at the twelve mile.Imfiik.

Imfiik,

Honda had some issues with Impellors up untill 2002-3 when they changed the bonding proceedure for the impellor bush to the rubber impellor. After this they have not had anymore failures other than normal wear and tear:) . But it is a good idea to change the impellor every 12 months if you have a boat that is used offshore

SgBFish
27-06-2008, 08:14 PM
"But it is a good idea to change the impellor every 12 months if you have a boat that is used offshore"

Is this for safety Gary as I would have thought messing around in shallow water would be more harmful to impellors?

27-06-2008, 08:32 PM
Mate - I reckon it would be fine. I have a 115 Yammy 2 stroke on my Seafarer Vagabond...I looked at it and thought it might be underpowered with its 21 degree deadrise and about 20 foot hull length (and heavy hull)....alas the V4 boxes above its weight because fully laden with 2 big fellas in and all the gear she absolutely scoots out of the hole and tops out at 63kph and cruises all day at 45-50kph.

27-06-2008, 08:33 PM
Scott,

What situation do you think requires the greater reliability.. ie inshore or offshore?? There lies the reasoning for ensuring you have a good water pump.

SgBFish
27-06-2008, 08:45 PM
Depends on the size of the snapping handbags...

27-06-2008, 08:52 PM
I think you should take it for a test with a mate and the owner. Three up should show you how it performs with 2 and a fat esky.

Hornet Rider
27-06-2008, 11:15 PM
I think you should take it for a test with a mate and the owner. Three up should show you how it performs with 2 and a fat esky.

Chris, thanks I'll get to the test stage probably next week sometime. Just thought I would get some initial feedback, & as you can see that's been very forthcoming, which is much appreciated. The test will tell a lot. I'm not that swayed on it's age, but I haven't had it inspected by an outboard mech yet, so I'll keep an open mind. The hull however is about what I'm looking for. Budget has the final say of course.

Brad, I'll phone Yalta on monday to get the exact specs but I think the hull is about 520kg, 18-21 degrees deadrise, motor about 170kg

MyEscape
28-06-2008, 06:56 AM
Is that right for the weight of the Yalta 5.3m? I used to have a 5m Cruisecraft Explorer which was 670kilos for the hull only

Hornet Rider
04-07-2008, 08:51 PM
Is that right for the weight of the Yalta 5.3m? I used to have a 5m Cruisecraft Explorer which was 670kilos for the hull only

Steve, spoke to Yalta (Liz) & she told me hull dry weight is 550kg with a 20 degree set (non-variable) deadrise

05-07-2008, 02:28 PM
The straight - non variable - deadrise works well; at least noone ever told my Seafarer with 21 degrees from stem to stern that it wasnt a good rough water boat.