PDA

View Full Version : Sarca anchor retrieval

thelump
25-06-2008, 07:13 AM
Having just forked out a lot of cash for one of these I was curious to know if it would bo OK to use an anka yanka to retreive it. :-/

STUIE63
25-06-2008, 08:33 AM
the anchor yanka would work fine . just make SURE you wire the stainless shackle so it can't undo I lost a sarca because the shackle undid . when I get another one I will weld the sucker closed
Stuie

backlash08
25-06-2008, 09:07 AM
People have different views on the SARCA, I found that in real reefie country it doesnt matter what you do, they are hard to get back, mine is still sitting on the banks the only the reef picks for me anymore

revs57
25-06-2008, 10:11 AM
I've been using a Sarca for 2 1/2 years and successfully use a float ball retrieval system that you drive off. I've had it stuck a couple of times but have so far been able to get it back.

If it pulls up on the hard and doesn't budge, let out a heap more anchor rope so it acts like a bungee, gently motor to the outer radius, and start going around on the rope at the extremity a couple clockwise, then a couple anti clockwise, keeping the pressure on, the extra rope length enables some stretch to ping it out, it might come up looking like its pretty mangled, but you can easily straighten it up and keep using it.

Cheers

rhys

tenzing
25-06-2008, 12:07 PM
the anchor yanka would work fine . just make SURE you wire the stainless shackle so it can't undo I lost a sarca because the shackle undid . when I get another one I will weld the sucker closed
Stuie
Wouldnt you rather just use a gal shackle. (can still wire to be sure)
Brendan

tenzing
25-06-2008, 12:09 PM
People have different views on the SARCA, I found that in real reefie country it doesnt matter what you do, they are hard to get back, mine is still sitting on the banks the only the reef picks for me anymore