View Full Version : Hutchies North Monday Arvo

scoota
24-06-2008, 05:04 PM
Work got postponed so Andrew and I decided to head out off Cape Moreton for a crack at some bottom bouncing even with a dodgy forecast and prospect of 3 metre seas.
Left midday from Bribie with 15 knots of southerly for the trip across the bay:-/ and jigged some livies at the drop off. Hard work to find good yakkas.
Trip out to the cape was good and only 1.5m of swell so played around shallow for no joy then headed out to a spot in 80m. Current and wind heading north didn't work on this spot so north and a bit shallower was the call.
Had 2 drops on an old favourite spot on the way which we have left alone for years and picked up some quality pearlies.
An hour before sun down, no wind, swell dropping, no boat in sight and quality pearlies on the chew. Bagged out just on sundown but hadn't seen a snapper.

Picked down on a favourite big snapper spot and burlied hard. Wasn't till we lost anchor and drifted off the pinnacle that both rods bent over and two 6 plus kilo snapper hit the deck:D
We then decided to drift the livies over the structure which proved to be a winner with snapper on and happy days or ripping the heads of them to early and dusting them>:( .
With lots of fish in the esky, the bag out call on snapper was deferred leaving them on the chew and home early was the call.
Thanks Andrew for the trip out, the KC is a fish magnet.

Thanks to Ausfish members for posting updated reports on whats chewin where;) .

Happy Days..

Scoota...

24-06-2008, 05:17 PM
Great report Scoota. Some nice fish starting to show up.

Wags

tenzing
24-06-2008, 05:53 PM
Great effort Scoota, Beats the hell out of working on monday arvo!
Brendan

Mark-P
24-06-2008, 06:05 PM
Thanks for the report scoota, great catch as well !!

wadeo
24-06-2008, 06:28 PM
awesome report. Excellent quality snapper well done.

regards wadeo

24-06-2008, 06:55 PM
nice fish mate

reel scream
24-06-2008, 07:22 PM
Well done scoota. Getting fish after ya pull the pick does make you wonder if you were using the right weights hey. Happens to me. run the pick up and see the lads hanging 100m behind where my floater would have been.

Ready for the wed /thurs slay.

Cheers Scott

whatscracken
24-06-2008, 07:28 PM
Top report there Scoota, well done on the snapps!

backlash08
24-06-2008, 07:45 PM
great catch scoota!! nice going

captain rednut
24-06-2008, 07:48 PM
well done scoota! good snapps. thanks jim

work2fish
24-06-2008, 11:46 PM
Nice snaps top effort

W2F

lizard bribie
25-06-2008, 08:00 PM
well done mate hope you @andrew fire like that on the trip with ed see you soon cheers lizard bribie