PDA

View Full Version : How Many Lady Members Here?

BREEZE470
23-06-2008, 08:10 PM
Hi

As I've mentioned in other threads I'm brand new to boating & fishing. My gear is that of a novice as I didn't want to spend big bucks just in case I didn't like it.

Just wondering how many other ladies are members here and at what level of expertise there is??

Would love to hear/meet/perhaps get together with other ladies for a day of fishing (once I get some practice)

Cheers
Sharen ;D

Bear001
23-06-2008, 08:23 PM
Hi Sharen,

If you do a search - you'll find there is plenty of us girls here.

Most of us are absolutely addicted to fishing & quite a few of us have our own boats etc too.

Dont be afraid or embarrased about not having top end gear. You will read a fair bit of debate on here about how much to spend - but I personally think it all comes down to common sense. I try not to get into all that debate, as in any sport/hobby - what you have will be fine to start you off until you decide to upgrade for what ever reason.

Anyhow, Im not sure what area you are in - but Im personally not much help to you - Im inland North West NSW, but good luck- you will find many friendly people (guys & girls) here willing to help 'show you the ropes'.

BREEZE470
23-06-2008, 09:02 PM
Thanks Bear001

We're around the Ipswich area (SEQ). Was looking to fish around Redland Bay / Wynnum etc once I get brave enough to venture out of the Brisbane river ... :o

My hubby just bought me an old 14ft runabout so learn/practice in ... then perhaps we'll look at upgrading to a bigger boat (ie: HIS boat .. :D :D )

Have been reading through many of the threads on here and it's alittle intimidating but I"m sure I'll get there....

Lucky_Phill
24-06-2008, 05:52 AM
Sharen,

There are many many girls registered here on Ausfish. Some have obvious nicnames, others do not. Some are like you and feel " intimidated " by a male dominated recreation, ie fishing and moreso the forum here.