View Full Version : mooloolabah thurs nite

DEANO68
20-06-2008, 06:20 PM
hi all, did an arvo run out to the blinker area last nite,left the ramp at 4.30pm and on an old spot 15 mins later flat as...threw the chooks around for a while for nothin and swaped for pillie floaters just on dark.two small sweeties came aboard and pulled hooks on a good fish.steve pulles up a scorpion cod reckons there called poor mans lobster good for curries, throws it in the esky. couple good sweeties around 3 kg then hit the ice..then some good bumps on steves rod result in a 5kg snapp threw in in the box didnt fit so he moved some ice around and bam scorpion cod spike right in the knuckle,blood pain tears words,just boiled the kettle so he sat with his hand in hot water for half hour (sook):'( .
he enjoyed cuttin him up in the mornin.one more squire and a cod and pulled pin.quick trip .back at ramp by 8pm and a good feed of reefies..deano.

20-06-2008, 06:34 PM
nice fish mate

bobbyb
20-06-2008, 07:05 PM
hi dean068.
man ether thats a little esky or one big snapper?

love your work.............

wadeo
20-06-2008, 07:09 PM
Nice catch quality snaps.

regards wadeo

reel-em-in
20-06-2008, 07:09 PM
Mate. Time for a bigger esky.

DEANO68
20-06-2008, 07:13 PM
hi dean068.
man ether thats a little esky or one big snapper?

love your work.............
yea sorry that is a smallish esky fish was 5kg, just looked good sitin in there after i cleaned it ..

20-06-2008, 07:31 PM
Is there a size limit on those cod? I've had a few come into the boat, always threw them back as I wasn't sure. Always avoided the spines, knew they were bad news.

DEANO68
20-06-2008, 07:36 PM
Is there a size limit on those cod? I've had a few come into the boat, always threw them back as I wasn't sure. Always avoided the spines, knew they were bad news.

heey timmi ,not sure on a size ,it was bout 35cm, steve was in a fair bit of pain for a while from the bugger, hot water helped alot.

Outsider1
20-06-2008, 08:54 PM
Hi Timiboy,

would assume they come under the general overall cod limit!? i.e.;

All cods and groupers 38 min Combined limit of 5 in
total of all cod species

Skusto
20-06-2008, 09:18 PM
i actually like eating those cod alot. they are spiky little buggers tho.

lampuki
21-06-2008, 10:45 AM
TimiBoy........Scorpions are beautiful.......being stung by them is not a pleasent experience, Hot flask or some vinigar on the spike reduces the pain...........the fish is beautiful to eat though.....they are also known as a poor mans lobster....the meat is very very nice.......