PDA

View Full Version : Trailer weight, Towing advice

blackjack
20-06-2008, 09:23 AM
hello all
blackjenny here doing the research for blackjack
(i tried to register as a member in my own right, but the email address being the same as jack's, it wouldn't let me)

if you caught jack's first post
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=132707&page=3

(don't know if i did that right "seafarer, freedom escape, signature" thread anyway), you'd know we are complete novices to the boating world.

after much research we have found a terrific boat - a seafarer ventura

all the advice we've received is invaluable, as is the advice to others on this site

(i'm actually packing it when we come to launching and retrieving the boat we get for the first time :-/. the ramp etiquette alone and the drive-on, winch-on thing well .... i hate p'ing people off)

anyway, some questions we need your advice with (i'm taking on the research coz jack's too busy)

how can we make sure the weight onto the towbar is at least 10% so we avoid a towing catastrophe eg if it weighs 1400kgs, the weight on the tow bar should be 140 kgs...right?
general tips for towing - only ever towed a box trailer b4. The boat weighs a LOT more obviously. jack is a deft hand at backing the boxy at least
any general test drive tips
is there a way we can tell about the compression of the motor. the current owner is a decent guy seemingly - a genuine chap with a lovely wife and family whom we met. he said he just had a mechanical and compression check 1.5 yrs ago and he's only taken it out 5 times. i believe him. risk i feel we can take.