PDA

View Full Version : hello fisho's Hinze Dam bass

dean main
15-06-2008, 09:20 PM
i have just started fishing the hinze dam for bass and im finding it abit of a struggle is there a preference to the eastern or western side and is it better to fis
h day or night.
thanks for any advice.

cobiaman
15-06-2008, 09:27 PM
mate, i dont think you are allowed to fish after the sun goes down but try around the points with live shrimp for bait, cant go wrong

Dunks
15-06-2008, 10:17 PM
Most people are struggling at Hinze at the moment. Winter is not the best time for bass there. Hit the shallow bays early where the water will be warmer, surface lures or spinenrbaits would work best. After the sun gets up troll water between 4-7 metres deep. Thats what worked for me last winter but I have not fished it this winter.

I have never used bait in freshwater before but live shrimp seems to be the go. I have also only fished the eastern arm and heading either way from the ramp has seen fish get caught.

Pumba
16-06-2008, 09:09 AM
Hinze is fishing pretty tough at the moment- dont be too discouraged though, they will have to start chewing shortly.

Cobiaman is right, You are only supposed to fish Hinze during daylight hours.

Their usual winter pattern is to school off points in 4-8m of water. When they are like this they can be easily caught fishing mask vibs, soft plastics, deep fly or live shrimp. Last winter we were getting come really nice fish to 53cm. As yet they havent really started to school and there is still decaying weed down to 7m in places which is making fishing the bottom with the abovementioned lures difficult.

I usually throw a spinnerbait or lipless crank on some shallow banks on the way to the main points and pick up a couple that way. Bait fishing off the points usually will get a few- if you are catching barred grunter try moving a little deeper or fish without a sinker.

Cheers,
Matt

darylive
16-06-2008, 06:58 PM