View Full Version : Buying online o/s

humfmonkey
14-06-2008, 07:32 AM
Don't get me wrong I like to save money like the next man, after all no ones planted a money tree in my back yard. But saying that if we dont support are local tackle and bait shops what happens longer drives for essentials, buying crap bait from garage forecourts and we only have ourselves to blame.
Has anyone asked if the shops will discount on large purchases, I received $50 off my nitro steez combo and a reel of sun castaway 20lb braid thrown in, just a thought.
Also what happens if your overseas model runs fowl whats the comeback.

P.S I don't run a tackle shop ;D

14-06-2008, 11:16 AM
I buy most of my gear OS now as the range is much bigger and the prices are a fraction of ours. As for warranty I pay my money and take my chances. The only specialist shops I tend to go to are places like Fishead and Jones or to take advantage of a special at BCF or @m@rt.

14-06-2008, 11:29 AM
I guess most of us have thought about this at one stage or another ....... But like you , I dont have a money tree either. As I spend a fair bit on tackle & I like to use quality gear ..... It only made sence to buy OS once the Oz dollar strengthened!
Sure ..... your local might have given you a discount & a spool of braid ....... but I saved 3 times that on my Steez alone ...... which would have paid for the Nitro & spool of braid:o So you can see why importing has become more popular!

As far a warranty goes ... that is part of the risk , but you can get most things repaired from reputable international sellers or just buy the part locally.

Nagg

PS .... More & more the local tackle stores are just becoming businesses ..... & less of a source of info

14-06-2008, 11:38 AM
humfmonkey,
These facts are what I based my last o/s purchase on - I rang the same tackle shop in different locations in qld for a price on a reel and the results - Gold Coast $369, North Brisbane $269, Sunshine Coast $269, Mackay $269.
USA $166aud+postage for AUD$202. Can you tell me why the Gold Coast store charges an extra $100 for the same item? I have also enquired about discount for multiple purchases and the best they would do was knock $20 off the total price. As you know, money doesn't grow on trees, so why shouldn't you save money by buying o/s. The money saved can be spent on the rising fuel costs.
I support local stores for bait and terminal tackle.
As for Warranty if you buy reels, Shimano reel warranty is 10yrs, Diawa is 5yrs. The warranty certificate is in the box.

Wags

Magella
14-06-2008, 11:57 AM
I do own a tackle shop and I can understand people buying overseas, it all about the mighty buck. But just think about it we have to make a living,
mark up on quaility gear is jacks*#@ . when was the last time you saw an overseas tackle shop support your local fishing comps, marine rescue ,stocking group etc.
What goes around comes around so next time you wish to raise money or need a donation ten to one it is your local bloke you hit up.

Just food for thought
Cheers Foxie

squizzytaylor
14-06-2008, 12:17 PM
IMHO, when you buy overseas it is the small independant tackle shop you are hurting, the big chains will continue to operate just through sheer numbers but the small bloke on the corner feels every sale missed, he also employs local guys as a rule and generally supports local fishing clubs etc. When you have a warranty issue, he usually takes the item himself and posts and or couriers it to the wholesaler for repair and rings you when its back in.
In a few years time when all the local blokes have been sent broke by the big chains, the pricing WILL go up and the same non existent service will remain from the big chains, a stack of local guys will be unemployed because as they are over 19yo they are deemed too expesive to employ by the big chains and all the bait that is sold will be imported as the local product is deemed not as profitable as the imported crap. But hey, we saved a few bucks on that last Loomis rod?

Food for thought....or not?

Geoff

spears
14-06-2008, 12:28 PM
There are other sales products taking a hammering and having a hard time keeping there doors open .
One example is computers..

banshee
14-06-2008, 01:11 PM
As for Warranty if you buy reels, Shimano reel warranty is 10yrs, Diawa is 5yrs. The warranty certificate is in the box.

Wags

Very interesting that that you have found 10 year warranty documentation in a Shimano product sourced from OS............considering it's only applicable to Australian reels sourced through Dunphy imports (they actualy put the cards in ex warehouse in Sydney).Likewise Daiwa products need to be registered in Aust (Frenches Forrest) before any warranty issues will be looked at.
By all means save yourself a few bucks if you choose to go the import but if something goes wrong don't try and screw the local bloke over a second time by trying to get him to put in the leg work to chase up a bogas warranty claim that will not go through.
Any savings will be a short term thing,this country needs a certain amount of money to keep the status quo,standard of living etc,this money comes from taxes paid through wages and purchases amongst other things and if there is a shortfall taxes go up,so what you win on the swings you'll lose on the merry go round.

GPB
14-06-2008, 01:47 PM
I agree totaly with Foxie, if you buy from overseas you have tunnel vision, and YOU are the only one in it, think of the bigger picture ;D .
Look after a local and the local will look after you.

14-06-2008, 02:14 PM
I do own a tackle shop and I can understand people buying overseas, it all about the mighty buck. But just think about it we have to make a living,
mark up on quaility gear is jacks*#@ . when was the last time you saw an overseas tackle shop support your local fishing comps, marine rescue ,stocking group etc.
What goes around comes around so next time you wish to raise money or need a donation ten to one it is your local bloke you hit up.

Just food for thought
Cheers Foxie

Foxie ...... Sadly decent tackle stores loose out when gear being privately imported . Now if the mark up is "Jack" on quality gear ....... Then the distributor is a major cause of the problem! ........ because all of this quality gear ends up with a quality price tag :( ........ I also notice that with a stronger $ ..... prices have not fallen:-X However prices have remained the same overseas.

I still know I support my local tackle store & most certainly when I'm away in a new area!

14-06-2008, 02:35 PM
I agree totaly with Foxie, if you buy from overseas you have tunnel vision, and YOU are the only one in it, think of the bigger picture ;D .
Look after a local and the local will look after you.

One of my locals shafted me to the tune of nearly $1000 dollars!>:( I basically spent over 5 thousand dollars on new gear & paid up to 20% more than if I bought elsewhere locally ....... And this guy ( well known Sydney Northern beaches tackle store) told me I would be looked after:( ..... never been back there!
Another local ...... typically sell their gear 15-20% higher than the guy that I usually go to now ........
Call me Cynical ..... but I find a majority of the Sydney tackle stores a waste of space when it comes to information/knowledge & range .......... & the ones that have the range .... will see you pay through the nose.
I dont think that it tunnel vision ..... It is just a reality of the times!

If I could import diesel ..... I would;)

Nagg

Bilopete
14-06-2008, 03:19 PM
After reading the previous posts I'm not so sure I should be entering into this *heated* discussion but I will put my two bob in any way.

I have a few friends that operate small business and I see how hard it is for them to complete against people directly purchasing from overseas. However, they too understand that with escalating living costs people do look for overseas / online / ebay purchases and can often get a better deal.

I am just as guilty buying stuff from the US but only when there is significant price savings. The compromise is I still buy all my fishing / boating consumables and baits from the local shop.

As someone else previously stated, it is not only the fishing / boating market that is suffering from this!

cam007
14-06-2008, 03:27 PM
One of my locals shafted me to the tune of nearly $1000 dollars!>:( I basically spent over 5 thousand dollars on new gear & paid up to 20% more than if I bought elsewhere locally ....... And this guy ( well known Sydney Northern beaches tackle store) told me I would be looked after:( ..... never been back there!
Another local ...... typically sell their gear 15-20% higher than the guy that I usually go to now ........
Call me Cynical ..... but I find a majority of the Sydney tackle stores a waste of space when it comes to information/knowledge & range .......... & the ones that have the range .... will see you pay through the nose.
I dont think that it tunnel vision ..... It is just a reality of the times!

If I could import diesel ..... I would;)

Nagg
Yeah i work on the northern beaches and around sydney and the tackle stores are full of know all car sales men that know f##k nothing My friend asked about a penn reel it was a spinfisher he wanted the smallest size my mate looked at the price and it was $270 the salesmen gauged the reaction on my mates face and said oh mate you can have it for $190 i had a good laugh at him so a new fishermen who doesnt know prices will be ripped off by these numbskulls haha yeah id love to support these genuine aussie blokes esspecially cause they work so hard sweatin it out haha they cant even be bothered to open there shop before 9 oclock lazy expletives!!!!! http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/icons/icon8.gif Overseas for mehttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/icons/icon4.gif

TheSaint
14-06-2008, 04:28 PM
I've brought 4 reels overseas now with a total savings of about $900 & I'm willing to take a risk if i have any problems but when you are buying high end gear it's rare. I buy all my other fishing gear off my local guy so i'm still supporting him but if you can save nearly 1/3 of your take home on a reel it's no brainer!!

stingau
14-06-2008, 05:48 PM
I think the local tackle shops have to look at this situation as well if what was said earlie that mark up is bugger all they should look at thier negotiation skills with the importer/distriutor. With the AUD so strong and lets face it a 30% increase over the last 5 yrs or so have imported us products decreased 30% over the same period. If he local tackle shop isnt ripping us off it has to be further up the food chain therefore their discount deals with distributors need looking at and if they arenot capable of securing a better deal for themselves should they be in business. Hypothetically speaking I would be saying to the rep tat calls in with these prices " Mate I can buy them cheaper direct from the Manufacturer in the states I suggest that you go back an redo yur sums" and if that doesnt work I would import them myself if you can save say $200 on one item im sure that if you purchased 10 you would save maybe $250 esp on the freight side. If local small blokes stood up for themselves the importers would soon take notice.

And as far as savings I purchased a humminbird GPS antenna from the states. the top of the range one cost me $102 delivered here in aust the base model was $299. Now if my local bloke say brought 5 of them and got them here for say $85 and sold them for $125 a 50% markup I would have purchased it here.

By selling them for $125 or less than half the price elsewhere if promoted right would soon sell them.

banshee
14-06-2008, 06:57 PM
I think the local tackle shops have to look at this situation as well if what was said earlie that mark up is bugger all they should look at thier negotiation skills with the importer/distriutor. With the AUD so strong and lets face it a 30% increase over the last 5 yrs or so have imported us products decreased 30% over the same period. If he local tackle shop isnt ripping us off it has to be further up the food chain therefore their discount deals with distributors need looking at and if they arenot capable of securing a better deal for themselves should they be in business. Hypothetically speaking I would be saying to the rep tat calls in with these prices " Mate I can buy them cheaper direct from the Manufacturer in the states I suggest that you go back an redo yur sums" and if that doesnt work I would import them myself if you can save say $200 on one item im sure that if you purchased 10 you would save maybe $250 esp on the freight side. If local small blokes stood up for themselves the importers would soon take notice.

And as far as savings I purchased a humminbird GPS antenna from the states. the top of the range one cost me $102 delivered here in aust the base model was $299. Now if my local bloke say brought 5 of them and got them here for say $85 and sold them for $125 a 50% markup I would have purchased it here.

By selling them for $125 or less than half the price elsewhere if promoted right would soon sell them.

Buy price is very much governed by turn over,bigger stores/franchises have a certain degree of 'pull' while the smaller players get told what their buy price is.To take on an already established importer at their own game just to market through a lone/handfull of outlets would be stupidity and would see you out the door backwards.Keep in mind that each company imports a miriad of products and you would lose access to all of the companies products,added to this I very much doubt the likes of Shimano,Daiwa (manufacturers head office) etc would issue an account to a secondry importer in Aust.

stingau
14-06-2008, 07:20 PM
Buy price is very much governed by turn over,bigger stores/franchises have a certain degree of 'pull' while the smaller players get told what their buy price is

We have a small business well my wife does and if ou reps tried that shit with me they would find themselves out the door yes the more you buy the bigger the discount but if people are accepting the first price the rep gives them they are crazy. Rep are there to make money and the higher the price they get the higher commission. A tip to those who buy from reps I have found that on average the best time to buy is the end of the month cos if you can get him/her having a bad month and needs to meet targets they are more inclined to negotiate. buy at the beginning of the month they are out to get high prices to increase profit margins relying on the fact that they have 4weeks to make target if they cant con people to pay inflated prices

Apollo
14-06-2008, 10:04 PM
I would love to support my local tackle store, but frankly they are a bunch of pigs. Been in there twice and they are arogant, expensive and speak much manure. They don't deserve my business and my money is more important in my hands. What am I left with? Import at 50-75% of local price or use a Big W or BCF style stores. No other locals. Occasionally in my travels I go past Barra Jacks at Noosa and I find them helpful and so use them, but they aren't local.

14-06-2008, 10:22 PM
Very interesting that that you have found 10 year warranty documentation in a Shimano product sourced from OS............considering it's only applicable to Australian reels sourced through Dunphy imports (they actualy put the cards in ex warehouse in Sydney).Likewise Daiwa products need to be registered in Aust (Frenches Forrest) before any warranty issues will be looked at.
By all means save yourself a few bucks if you choose to go the import but if something goes wrong don't try and screw the local bloke over a second time by trying to get him to put in the leg work to chase up a bogas warranty claim that will not go through.
Any savings will be a short term thing,this country needs a certain amount of money to keep the status quo,standard of living etc,this money comes from taxes paid through wages and purchases amongst other things and if there is a shortfall taxes go up,so what you win on the swings you'll lose on the merry go round.

Are you telling me that I should tear up the warranty card that came with my reels?? If there was anything that would go wrong with these reels that offer 5 or 10year warranties do you think they would still offer the long warranties????

And as far as screwing the local bloke over (IN YOUR WORDS), the only one getting the raw end of the pineapple would be me not trying to save $100 by buying local. Obviously you didn't read my entire post. My first and last purchase was for a few reels in the states as our $$ was at $0.94.All of my other purchases FYI are at Fishhead which for me is a 1/2hr drive as I find the service these guys give is second to none. I buy fresh bait from the seafood house (which is also 1/2hr drive) rather then buying frozen stuff from the servo just down the road.

Maybe you can tell me why the tackle store at the GC has $100 markup on the same reel as the other (samebrand) tackle stores from here to Mackay.

In the first thread, it was asked has anyone else asked for some form of discount for buying local as opposed to buying overseas(or words to that effect), so in turn there have been replies as to why members are buying o/s. Why are you having a go at those of us that have bought items overseas?

ifishcq1
14-06-2008, 10:36 PM
Hi Apollo,

Why aren't barra Jacks local? the owner Geoff Clark lives in Noosa and he owns another store in Rocky and is part of an Australia wide buying group.. they always give to local events.. seems local to me

SL

spears
14-06-2008, 10:53 PM
The bottom line is people are going to buy from whoever they want and with 5 million people fishing in this country only a very small handfull are buying overseas..

14-06-2008, 10:57 PM
Maybe you can tell me why the tackle store at the GC has $100 markup on the same reel as the other (samebrand) tackle stores from here to Mackay.

Mike, the g/c store can charge like that because the coast is purely lifestyle, there's a lot of money down there.

shaynes_god
14-06-2008, 11:06 PM
this is a touchy subject but i also buy overseas i can't afford to pay the prices at home. if you look in the rods and reels for sale on here and see how much people are charging for second hand gear then compare it to brand new gear O/S you'll see why we buy over there. the second hand gear in australia is still more expensive than new stuff in the US. "the local tackle shop bloke isn't as helpful as he used to be".
just my two cents worth.
shayne.

banshee
15-06-2008, 12:06 AM
Are you telling me that I should tear up the warranty card that came with my reels?? If there was anything that would go wrong with these reels that offer 5 or 10year warranties do you think they would still offer the long warranties????

And as far as screwing the local bloke over (IN YOUR WORDS), the only one getting the raw end of the pineapple would be me not trying to save $100 by buying local. Obviously you didn't read my entire post. My first and last purchase was for a few reels in the states as our $$ was at $0.94.All of my other purchases FYI are at Fishhead which for me is a 1/2hr drive as I find the service these guys give is second to none. I buy fresh bait from the seafood house (which is also 1/2hr drive) rather then buying frozen stuff from the servo just down the road.

In the first thread, it was asked has anyone else asked for some form of discount for buying local as opposed to buying overseas(or words to that effect), so in turn there have been replies as to why members are buying o/s. Why are you having a go at those of us that have bought items overseas?

It is everyones right to spend their money where they want,I'm simply pointing out that you will not get warranty in this country on overseas purchased reels.
The Gold Coast tackle shop charges the way he does because he can,it's as simple as that.
Lastly I don't believe I am having a go at people who purchase OS I'm simply pointing out the pitfalls.

15-06-2008, 12:51 AM
Apart from considerable $$$ to be saved from buying overseas ....... It's also quite clear that many of us are unhappy with our local tackle stores anyway!

I know .... I have 7 tackle stores within 15 mins drive ........ Of these
1 has a decent range ..... but very expensive & will charge you every cent of the ticket price! ....... Not very friendly & work office hours
The guy I use most ...... Is always helpful , charges a fair & reasonable local price .... has a very good range of quality gear ....... but the place is a dingy little hole that you can hardly move in ( so crammed) ..... works long hours ( quite knowledgeable on his gear ........ a little Chinese businessman)
The rest are a mixture of poor range , high prices , arrogant bait & tackle shops that more cater for bloke on the way to the ramp & wants to buy some bait & hooks.
On the flip side ....... I always call in to the Alpine Angler ( Cooma NSW) or Steve Williamsons shop (Jindabyne) when I'm heading up the snowies ...... & get the latest goss & buy most of my fly gear & trout lures
Or call in to Proserpine bait & tackle when I'm up at Faust or going further!
These 3 places always are friendly , offer great advice , fair prices etc etc
I haven't had the chance to meet Foxie yet ..... but from what I'm hearing , he is more of the same ....... That is isolated , specialist shops that actually care & are in touch with what is happening:thumbsup:

Nagg

spears
15-06-2008, 12:54 AM
BANSHEE WROTE:
I'm simply pointing out that you will not get warranty in this country on overseas purchased reels

That is correct for people thinking about buying overseas no warranty here you have to send it back or order parts and get it repaired

humfmonkey
15-06-2008, 08:47 AM
Wow have I started something, I agree both sides, but like to see and feel the equipment first. The general opinion is the reel companies will still work on the reels but were they may charge $40.00 for a service under warranty it would cost $140.00 for lack of Aus warranty.

GPB
15-06-2008, 09:39 AM
Hi Apollo,

Why aren't barra Jacks local? the owner Geoff Clark lives in Noosa and he owns another store in Rocky and is part of an Australia wide buying group.. they always give to local events.. seems local to me

SL

And besides that, they are staffed by local 'fishermen' [some are Ausfish members], as are most of the tackle shops I frequent in SEQ [yes I am a TACKLEHOLIC :wreck: ], I too have had bad vibes from Sydney tackle shops and some in Brissie who are only after a sale.

Wantok
15-06-2008, 09:52 AM
Gentlemen,

I have owned and run a Tackle Shop in Brisbane for seven years and would like to make a few comments on this thread.

1. If a retailer tried to import quantities of stock from overseas as suggested in the thread two things would happen. Firstly he would incur significant charges in the form of import duty and customs handling charges. Secondly most importers and distributors have have an agreement for sole rights on the importation of that particular brand, if it is discovered that someone else is importing that product through the back door and retailing them in Australia the retailer is liable to face legal action. This has happened in the past on several occasions and all of the stock illegally imported has been seized by the authorities.

2. Importers and distributors have all spent large sums of money in developing brands and amrkets in Australia, they hold large volumes of stock, promote products by sponsoring events and anglers, and employ sales teams and all of the other people necessary to run a large business. Without these distributors the market in Australia would not be where it is today.

3. Warranties are another issue, the Shimano ten year offer applies only to product imported and distributed by Dunphy Sports. Proof that the item was purchased in Australia is required for them to warrant the product. This applies to most products that I sell. I have been asked on several occasions to fudge a warranty to cover a product bought over the internet.

4. Reputable Tackle Shops offer services that will never be available from overseas e.g. rod/reel repairs, local knowledge, advice on tackle, lay by, gift vouchers and many more.

Recently we have seen a number of independent Tackle Shops close in Brisbane for a variety of reasons, these closures represent a loss of many years of exeprience in the industry which will difficult to replace. Just remember that if the day should ever come when the traditional Tackle outlet diasappears we will all be at the mercy of the corporate giants whether they be Australian or from overseas.

Food for thought

Tight lines,

Gordon

Apollo
15-06-2008, 11:08 AM
Hi Apollo,

SL

SL

I meant 'local' to me. I live away from them. If I lived near Noosa, I would used them a lot more as I have found them good to use, very helpful and do so whenever my work takes me in their direction. I even recently ordered some bucktail jigs through them to have ready for the next time I was heading that way.

If you reread my post, I was using them as an example of a good local compared to the not so good one near me. Just a misunderstanding!

Steve B
15-06-2008, 11:16 AM
[quote=Wantok;841454]Gentlemen,

I have owned and run a Tackle Shop in Brisbane for seven years and would like to make a few comments on this thread.

1. If a retailer tried to import quantities of stock from overseas as suggested in the thread two things would happen. Firstly he would incur significant charges in the form of import duty and customs handling charges. Secondly most importers and distributors have have an agreement for sole rights on the importation of that particular brand, if it is discovered that someone else is importing that product through the back door and retailing them in Australia the retailer is liable to face legal action. This has happened in the past on several occasions and all of the stock illegally imported has been seized by the authorities.

Gordon,

Number 1. is the EXACT reason why we are getting shafted here in OZ. I used to work in a tackle shop for several years. The fact that importers have the sole right to import a product ie daiwa or shimano, gives them the right to set the price. That is wrong, wrong wrong. Imagine what the fuel prices would be if there was only one importer for fuel in Aust!!!!

I understand that your markup is relatively small at shop level. I certainly dont disagree with that. you need to earn a living and pay the multiple expenses occured in running a business.

Why cant we get multiple importers for the same products???...the shop owners and public should fight for that........they need to compete with each other....prices come down for you....thus does the local shop price for us..........we start shopping locally again....win win win for everyone. At the moment the only ones winning is the sole right importers.

Tackle shops Vs the public arguements shouldn't happen....but we have all been backed into an expensive corner by the importers. We are being left with no choice to shop OS. I dont think there would be a fisherman on here that wouldn't start shopping back locally if the prices got back to somewhere close to the O/S cost. 40% + discount is too good to refuse. I feel guilty every time for doing it though.

As for local knowedge and service. I am still waiting for a quote for about $2000 bucks worth of boat accessories from 2 years back from a boating/tackle shop....mmmm I think I can stop holding my breath now!!

I went to a brisbane tackle shop the other day and asked how to catch a barra at Monduran and what gear I needed.......It was an embarassment to listen to the dribble that this bloke claimed was 'the good gear and good oil'. And there prices were way dearer than my 'local' shop here 400km north and he is not involved in a 'big buying group'.

15-06-2008, 11:40 AM
After a good nights sleep I've read all the replies, even my own, and conceded that I may have stepped over the mark. The reels that I have bought from o/s did indeed have warranty cards in the box.This is why (I assumed) the warranty was covered. Thanks to all concerned for steering me on the straight and narrow. The reason for me buying the name brand reels is I'm hoping they will last longer (5+yrs) than buying several cheaper copies.

Wags

Wantok
15-06-2008, 12:50 PM
Steve,

The decision to have sole importrers is made by the manufacturer in whichever country the product is made - they control the market.

If you have waited 2 years for a quotation I would respecrfully suggest that you go to a different tackle shop - I wouldn't wait two months!!

Gordon

Steve B
15-06-2008, 01:55 PM
Steve,

The decision to have sole importrers is made by the manufacturer in whichever country the product is made - they control the market.

If you have waited 2 years for a quotation I would respecrfully suggest that you go to a different tackle shop - I wouldn't wait two months!!

Gordon
Thanks for adding that important info.

Its a shame about the market control by manufacturers, I still think the importers add an 'excessive' mark up.

I mean example: TD Zillion I can get OS about $210 US plus about $25 postage directly from a retailer. Now the sole importer to Australia would have to get that reel way way less than that with their bulk buying power from the manufacturer. How much??? I would guess about $120 US tops??? reel is on the shelf here for $450 AUD (about $420US at the moment) which is a difference of$300 US on one reel. there is a BIG difference there. Who is getting the difference?? I bet the tackle shops aren't.

I am on the side of the local tackle shops. I hate seeing them (or any local business) struggle. But they certainly are not getting any help from the ones supplying them, be it the importer and/or the manufacturer. Ultimately its the consumer who gets shafted.

About the quote, I just gave up after a couple of days, I even faxed it to them so they got the exact info required...not even a phone call.

steve

Wantok
15-06-2008, 02:40 PM
Steve,

You are quite correct the Australian tackle shops are not getting the differnce that you suggested. There is one very big factor though in the base price that you are assuming. The total Australian market is miniscule when compared to the US and we are at the very end of the supply chain. I do not know for certain but I wouldn't be suprised if the major wholesalers in the US were buying at laest 50% better than those in Australia.

If you ever require another quote send me PM.

Gordon

15-06-2008, 03:13 PM
Steve,

Gordon

Or is it the smart businessmen that set up an arrangement ( including a sole distributor clause) ........ I've seen this happen in my own industry ..... & the more successful the distributor - the tighter the arrangement !

With the creation of the global economy & the greater use of the net ...... It will be a matter of time before it goes BANG! in the faces of the distributors!

Nagg

PS ..... With a reference to Steve B mentioning Buying groups ....... TW have 2 of the 3 most expensive stores in Sydney :( .

Champilly
15-06-2008, 03:26 PM
Get ready guys. I hear from someone involved in big business that the big retailers Gerry Harvey and co have been lobbying Wayne Swan's henchmen to control goods being brought in under the $1000 mark through international mail and courier companies.

So advanced is this project that a team has gone to the USA to see how they control it with the US/Canadian border. Guess they are sick of losing their import tax and GST.....

15-06-2008, 04:14 PM
So who is making the money ????

In case anyone has any doubts ........ This is the new Dunphy Sports head office in Southern Sydney 28887 ....28888... Impresive , large & expensive! ....... No wonder the mark up is so high & the tackle shops make so little

Well they had to get away from this site 28889

Nagg

Champilly
15-06-2008, 04:26 PM
Don't forget Shimano have a 49% stake in Dunphy.......

Lancair
15-06-2008, 04:46 PM
I have heard the same.

A few years ago I imported some model aircraft parts and spares from the US. I was saving over $200AUD buying from them. I calculated my order at about $970USD. The retailer wrote $970 USD on the customs declaration, BUT customs in Australia valued it at $1007 AUD (they told me they use a weekly averaged cash exchange rate), I got stung with $107 GST plus a $45 or 50 handling fee. Pretty much wrote off any savings. Apart from not saving a lot I did my local guy out of some revenue. I wont do it again, I value his advice and knowledge too much to have him close down due to lack of sales. Same goes with my fishing hobby, I buy local, even if I know I could get it slightly cheaper if I waited to get to a major retailer.
The local guys knowledge and advice is priceless IMO.

Steve B
16-06-2008, 10:46 AM
Steve,

You are quite correct the Australian tackle shops are not getting the differnce that you suggested. There is one very big factor though in the base price that you are assuming. The total Australian market is miniscule when compared to the US and we are at the very end of the supply chain. I do not know for certain but I wouldn't be suprised if the major wholesalers in the US were buying at laest 50% better than those in Australia.

If you ever require another quote send me PM.

Gordon

Will do that Gordon, Thanks mate.

cheers steve