PDA

View Full Version : Prop Advice

Kiwijohn
10-06-2008, 11:08 PM
Just some advice please - I have recently repowered my 4.8m Nesscraft (Cuddy) with a Tohatsu 70hp and now I am trying to get the prop right.

Present figures with two adults and fishing gear –

6000RPM (May be able to push it slightly higher but as I was over RPM range didn’t want to push it)
30 Knots
Standard Tohatsu prop – pitch 15, Dia 13.8

I am presently using the boat for fishing in the bay but am looking at some diving in the future – so will be carrying a fair bit of weight.

My options so far are

Tohatsu prop – pitch 17, Dia 13.3
Mercury Black Max – pitch 17, Dia 13.25

I am new to all this and so look forward to your advice.

Thanks

John

kizza1
12-06-2008, 05:04 PM
whats the max rpm of the engine. is the engine hieght right? does it cavitate on turns when trimed in, does it spray heaps when trimed out?

17 will probably drop the revs by about 200-300 rpm.

nutgunaspu
12-06-2008, 05:25 PM
Hin John, I've just been through the same drama as you and my experiences may be able to help a bit.

I recently fitted a 140 johnson to my 5m half cab, and with a 15 x 17 prop it revved out to 6800 at wot!:o I fitted a permatrim foil and the revs dropped to 6100 at 36 knots. :-/ Fitted a 14.5 x19 inch prop and it dropped the revs at wot to 5600 at 36 knots. :)

It might be worth checking if the overrevving is just due to the prop or if there may be any other contributing factors, as my motor must have been sucking in air to over rev to 6800 rpm.

Seahorse
12-06-2008, 07:55 PM
hey nutgunaspu,
what was original speed at 6800. 36kn?
this is very interesting. so u r now doing same speed and hopfully using less fuel.
I see on here quite often about guys trying different props.
Hey these props arnt cheap. is there anywhere where u can try these props without the cost of buying.
seems to me to be bit expensive experiment.
one always wonders if u could get any better performance out of ur motor.