View Full Version : boat handling

Mad-One
09-06-2008, 07:56 PM
Hi........Does anyone here know of a good book or video on boat handling skills. Particularly offshore. Just wanting to learn as much as I can

Cheers and thanks in advance

Mad

Donny Boy
09-06-2008, 08:02 PM
Are you talking purely offshore...or bar crossings as well ??????

johnny roger
09-06-2008, 08:11 PM
Gday mate,
check out the sites below. they are not videos or tutorials, but i have found them very interesting if you are starting out in boating.

http://www.boatlicence.au.com/boat_checks.htm
http://www.fishingkites.co.nz/cleaning-fish/cleaning_fish.html
http://www.fishsa.com/boatngcl.php
http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/
http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/Notices_to_mariners/
http://www.leisure-marine.com.au/UsefulInfo/marineradios.asp

Mad-One
09-06-2008, 08:33 PM
Are you talking purely offshore...or bar crossings as well ??????

Off shore mainly as I am doing Bill Cortons Bar crossing course. Just want to learn more about trimming and so on on different sea conditions

Cheers Mad

lethal098
09-06-2008, 08:36 PM
mad one, are you interested in having someone tutor you or do you just want to read a book, anyone can read a book on anyhthng but it does not mean you can do it. sometimes it just takes time on the water to learn a lot of things, there are a few guys that offer tutoring , smithy is an advertiser on ausfish and he will take you out in your boat and show you as much as you can, bill corten is another there are a few threads on here that you can get his number or check fridays courier mail fishing report and his number is on there. cheers lethal

QF3 MROCP
09-06-2008, 09:53 PM
Mad-One, some of the best off-shore knowledge is in the heads of many Coast Guard or VMR skippers or commanders. Get some time and go down and introduce yourself to one and have a good talk over a cuppa coffee - they won't bite...

Fish Guts
09-06-2008, 09:55 PM
make sure you bring dunkable biscuits thou !

Mark-P
10-06-2008, 10:43 AM
Off shore mainly as I am doing Bill Cortons Bar crossing course. Just want to learn more about trimming and so on on different sea conditions

Cheers Mad

Like lethal said, the only problem with bills coarse is he spoils you in the cruise craft !! Unless you already have one of coarse ..... Theres no doubt you'll learn heaps as i did, but having someone in your boat would be even better !!!!!
All the best

10-06-2008, 10:51 AM
I guess the best advice is to just slowly work up different types of conditions in your own Boat, start off with a couple of trips just to get the hang of your own ability and the way your Boat reacts to various situations, everyone was a "newbie" at some time or other, after a while it will all be just like driving yoyr car or anything else, you will be doing "things" and not even be thinking about it.