PDA

View Full Version : Tilt Trailer?

Ramjam
03-06-2008, 12:43 PM
Hi, I am new with boat trailers, so be gentle. I have a 15ft glass runabout on a tilt trailer. How and when would the tilt be used? Thanks.

Reel Nauti
03-06-2008, 12:45 PM
The tilt would generally be released/used to retrieve the boat, not usually though for launching.

Cheers

Dave

Noelm
03-06-2008, 12:51 PM
not too long ago, almost all Trailers where tilt construction, the theory is that you can launch and retrieve in much shallower water than a non tilt model, and up to a point, it is true, just imagine if you had a rigid Trailer and you tried to just push the Boat off into shallow water, the Boat would stay completely horizontal until there was too much hanging over the end, it would then just drop rear first into the Water or Concrete if it is too shallow, now imagine being able to "break" the Trailer and being able to then angle the Boat and it's "cradle" towards the Water and let it slide off, get the picture? or in reverse, when retrieving, you can then break the tilt mechanism and the Trailer is now ready to accept the Boat at an ever adjustable angle, instead of winching it up and onto the rigid Trailer, sounds a tad confusing, and a bit hard to describe, but that is the way it all works, seems like a lost idea these days, with almost no Trailers being made as tilters.

garman1
03-06-2008, 01:39 PM