View Full Version : "Double or Nothing" at the 2008 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo

Reefmaster
02-06-2008, 10:25 PM
Well another Fraser Island expo has passed and it certainly won’t be forgotten in a hurry as the cyclonic weather that arrived mid way through the competition had to be seen to be believed:o . We headed for Fraser on the Wednesday before the comp started (Midnight Saturday starting time) with the new boat still being worked on right up until we left. We had a crew of five this year consisting of my old man his mate Andy, Rob (maccamania) and Foxy (dfox). Foxy had only recently just purchased a new V8 turbo diesel landcruiser ute and this was given the duty of towing the new boat to our destination and didn’t it do a great job8-) . The trip up the island wasn’t that bad although we had to go up and around the first lot of rocks as the water was pushing a little to high which meant gently rock hopping our way through with no worries. Indian head was a breeze and the best I had ever seen it with very moist sand and a gentle slop up into the track making for a trouble free run for most. Like other years there’s a problem left hand corner on one of the tracks a km or so past champagne pools and this become our first problem. The corner turns left reasonably sharp and houses a 4 foot vertical bank holding shrubs, sticks and small stumps making the corner hard to pass without pulling the boat into the bank and causing major paint damage. We have a fairly lengthy draw bar on the trailer so there is a fair distance between the rear 4x4 wheels and the trailer wheels so taking the corner as wide as possible with the fourby was the plan but not an easy task with the rear wheels sliding down into the tracks. We snatched the rig up to maccas 4x4 and after some great driving by the boys they managed to pull the boat through with only a couple soft plants sliding down the side and only an inch or so off some nasty stumps that would have made the paint job look very second hand. After arriving we soon learnt that we weren’t the only ones who struggled on that corner and many had damaged their good paint jobs to that nasty corner.:o We went back the next day to help a couple of other riptide boys through the same corner and Christians 7.6mtr “Bella” found the corner that he endured 2 hours on last year to soon become a problem child again. After widening the track and several attempts later we finally got it through but not without the boat given the corner wall a good hit and causing some damage. Ah good old Fraser Island. Why do we do it again?::)

We sat on the beach for a couple of days while it blew but it was a good time to meet up with many people and thanks to all those who came and introduced themselves and gave some great feed back on the new rig.8-) After this we then managed to get out for 4 days straight before the weather gods delivered 50 knots of wind and loads of rain.:o >:( The 4 days we got out weren’t all that crash hot and it blew a good 15-20 knots the whole time and rained also but at least it was fishable even though I drove the boat all day long backing up on spots so the boys could keep the baits in strike zone for longest possible time. I think I only had about 10 drops for the whole trip but I got some nice fish on those even if the rod holder caught a nice red at one point while I netted 3 other fish the boys pulled up. After hitting many marks I had found previously it was soon apparent the fishing was slow so I knew I had to find new ground. It was a bit of a gamble travelling some pretty big distances both north and south of Waddy point but it paid off in the end with a couple of spots producing plenty of good reds, red throat, coronation trout, blue Maori cod, Maori cod, Amberjack and other assorted reef fish. At some stages we had 4 way hook ups on nice reds, which makes for good fishing and the effort well worth it:) . Andy was trying out his new Shimano electric reel which made for some good laughs and interesting viewing but in all seriousness was extremely important for Andy to fish with after having limited movement in his right arm after being ripped off and reattached in a terrible work accident. Foxy got a Red Throat that went 4.34kg on the first day of the comp and saw him on the leader board which earned him a pathetic little spinning combo that would only be good for catching bait (sorry it’s a sore point of ours) but was later knocked off by a 4.37kg fish and then some bigger ones later in the week. We caught about 25 goods reds during 3 days of the comp with the biggest a very nice fish but in poor condition and going just under 12kg. We weren’t complaining and the quantity made up for it and we threw at least one or two legal ones back a day to upset some blokes we knew (sorry Morgan it was foxys doing);D . The 4th day out we spent chasing a big Red Throat sweetlip on some rough ground but our persistence and patience didn’t help us and we couldn’t find one big enough for the board but we tried our hardest. After that the weather turned nasty and I felt sorry for all the people who were camping and got hammered with those cyclonic conditions. After all the reports of people having a terrible time getting down the beach Friday night we were pleasantly surprised to find our trip down the beach on Saturday a breeze and better then on the way up. I have some video footage but the camera died just before we started slaying the fish but I will try get some footage together soon and post it.

I must thank everyone involved in helping with the boat so we could get it to Fraser but the biggest thanks must go to my old man (Terry) who put in 7 days a week for 3 months8-) . With out his help and hard work would have never come close to making this years Fraser Comp. The boat went very well and I can’t wait to finish it completely and go for another fish. Thanks to the crew and the 18 blokes who shared the house for the week it made for a great time and special thanks to foxy for towing the rig and managing not to scratch the boat whilst pulling it through the tracks.;D The only damage done was some stripes on the side got torn from a Albatross.>:( He nailed a bait ready to go down to the depths and then went crazy beside the boat and tore the decals with its claws:'( .(didn’t even mark the paint) We managed to free him after some work and 10 minutes later he was back for more. Not a real bright bird that one.::)

Hopefully the other lads can add some details and pics, as there’s just too much to talk about.

A full fishing report and good pics in next months BushnBeach.;)

Reefmaster
02-06-2008, 10:32 PM
Lots of people waiting for some action at the indian head track
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008007.jpg

Some of the riptide boys trying to get there way through the tracks. The tight left hand bend caused some big issues this year and damaged lots of paint jobs
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008013.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008015.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008016.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008019.jpg

Unfortunately many peoples boats ended up with scratches down the site like this due the nasty left hand corner about 1km past champagne pools.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008168.jpg

The trailer under this AMM was a mess. It was missing the front axle assem and the rear axle was bent like a bannana. It stayed like that all week
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008171.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008170.jpg

Reefmaster
02-06-2008, 10:44 PM
fish time
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008127.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008029.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008025.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008034.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008049.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008077.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008082.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008088.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008092.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008112.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008120.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008137.jpg

This was one massive Iodine bream
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008147.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008143.jpg

Reefmaster
02-06-2008, 10:50 PM
3 of many Riptides at the comp
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008150.jpg

Pics of boat sitting on the beach. This would not have even been half of the amount that was up there.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008162.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008166.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008169.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008173.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008174.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008178.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008179.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008181.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008182.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008183.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008184.jpg

Another heap of boats parked in the Waddy Point camping area.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008175.jpg

Reefmaster
02-06-2008, 11:00 PM
The gutter to launch and retrieve from this year was a cracker and made things very easy compared to other years.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008155.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008154.jpg

A boat heading out as the weather started turning nasty
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008177.jpg

The trip home on the barge was very interesting when the decky on barge kept telling the guy beside us to keep coming. After some nice words were spoken he soon stood there and tryed to hold the 2 boats apart as the swayed our way through the passage. The boats never hit but man was it close:o

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008233.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008235.jpg

Finally back on the mainland
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008236.jpg

Not exactly clean after that trip
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008239.jpg

This is a pic of the battery set in the house we stayed in for the week. Solar panels and a generator charge these massive batterys which cost over $20,000
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/Frasercompmay2008221.jpg

02-06-2008, 11:52 PM
Thanks for the report Greg. Some nice fish there. You'd think the EPA would assist all and widen that part of the track on the corner. I don't understand the barge operators when it comes to puting vehicles on safely. The words spoken were colourful weren't they....
Anyway, top marks to your dad for his effort. And to you and your crew.

Wags

snappa
03-06-2008, 12:31 AM
hi greg

great looking rig ....

it will not be hard to spot at d/i

03-06-2008, 07:01 AM
Mate great report and your boat went well , shame the weather turned in the end . but there are some great fish there
Grates

03-06-2008, 07:28 AM
Thanks for the report and the pics.

I think we all have been hanging out for some pics to start flowing down from Fraser

Your stories and pics never dissapoint.

The new rig looks spot on

fish freak
03-06-2008, 07:31 AM
Great report Greg,

You would of had a few tense moments throughout the week considering all the time you spent your boat, good fish, good photos.

thanks fishfreak.

backlash08
03-06-2008, 07:33 AM
Greg, thanks for the report and great pics, shame the weather turned bad, as you say, what a great gutter. Good to see the Riptide up and running, looks the goods!

Anne-T-Dote
03-06-2008, 08:21 AM
G'day Greggo,

Awesome report mate. I just like to say a massive thanks to you and your dad (Terry) for such a fantastic trip once again and also for the oppotunity to be the one to land the first fish in the new boat - what a bewdy of a fish too ::)

Thanks also to Andy and Foxy for a great trip as well - I had a blast.

Greg, I can't believe you admitted that the rod holder caught that red. Ah well - I guess you must've realised that the heckling you'd get from me if you didn't admit it would be worse than admitting it - :D he he he ... (Greg had nailed me for the same thing in a BNB article a while back).

Foxy, Throwing back 58cm reds was certainly a highlight - especially as you called out "THAT'S FOR YOU MORGAN" as they went back over the side. There must have been at least 5. I reckon you're right though in that the red gods smile upon you for doing that.

I can't view the pics from my work computer the way they've been inserted above (some sort of block they've put on) so will have another look from home tonight.

Cheers and thanks again to all,

Macca.

PS Greg - The new boat is unreal. VERY comfortable even in 15-20kn. Congrats on such a great build. Let me know if you need someone for polishing the rails ;D

PPS Foxy - Go the mowie

ballsie
03-06-2008, 09:30 AM
G'day Greg,

That report just about covered the weather all right, crap at best. The boat is an absolute weapon, set out with your fishing in mind a real credit to all that worked on it.

We travelled home in pooring rain all the way, having to stop in Gympie to replace a break pad that was spat out on the beach on Roger's trailer. He dropped his boat into Col on the way home. "I'll call you once its fixed", i think were his words.

Congrats on a trouble free trip away. Its great when you have a great crew that help things go to plan. Macca the IT expert for the marks, Foxy sending back just legals reds, andys electric reel winching fish up and your old man catching the biggest horse of an idione ever.

See you guys over for a BBQ at Olives and Cheese

whynott
03-06-2008, 09:32 AM
Great report Greg,
Not much more can be said about the comp then what already has been said.
Great to share the house with you guys, even though you lot woke to some strange alarm clocks!!!!
Here are some more pics that you may appreciate:

Team Double or Nothing
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/Fraser%20comp%202008/100_1669Medium.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/Fraser%20comp%202008/100_1585Medium.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/Fraser%20comp%202008/100_1598Medium.jpg

Graham.

Fixation
03-06-2008, 09:58 AM
Hey Greg,

Loved reading your report mate. Glad the weather was kind for the first part of the trip and you could get out so many times. Great photos too.
The rig of yours is an absolute weapon.

Craig.

gogetter
03-06-2008, 10:43 AM
greg,

great report, looked like a lot of fun both fishing and 4wdriving. great boat too

shane

seapup
03-06-2008, 11:06 AM
Hi Greg,
Top report mate! Look forward to seeing you in your new boat off DI this winter!
Benny.

Mtx
03-06-2008, 11:17 AM
Great report. Pity about the weather :(

scrubba01
03-06-2008, 11:56 AM
Hi Greg
Great report, shame about the weather. Good to hear the new boat went well must have been a bit nerve racking putting something you've worked so hard on through such a huge test straight up. Then when you think the worst is over some one tries to park a boat on top of it.

What sort of klm to the ltr did you get out of the Suzi and were you happy with the performance?

Pistol_P
03-06-2008, 12:14 PM
Great Read Greg...8-)

Looked like a big mission getting up there but some nice fish resulted.

03-06-2008, 12:24 PM
Fantasics account of your time Greg, looks like I picked the right year to stay away

shame Foxy never performed like that with us! must've been the skipper::)

Catch ya soon

rhys

lido76
03-06-2008, 02:08 PM
Great report and pics greg sounds like you had a ball despite the weather. Looking forward to next months BNB.CHEERS BRENDAN

chris_s
03-06-2008, 02:23 PM
thanks for a good read Greg, and congrats on the boat mate it's definitly a looker. That one with the sun on it in the gutter is a great shot. Chris.

Deelirious
03-06-2008, 02:41 PM
Greg,
Great report, great boat and by all accounts I have heard so far a great trip despite the bad weather. I was straight onto Macca when he got back as to how the boat went and I new with him being a dedicated fibreglass man I'd get an honest opinion. Well combined with your own report it sounds like a "very nice" boat. I did say to Macca though that you should be careful with a boat so large and comfortable because you might start to romance about the "cruising" aspects of our sport rather than the "fishing" elements. To hear stories about "driving instead of fishing" and "letting the rod holder catch the fish" it seems some of my fears could be coming true! ::) ::)

You are far to young to be retiring from the sport of fishing yet and we all have much more to learn from you before you do. So...... If you ever want to go fishing again (instead of cruising), and yearn to feel the freezing sting of saltwater spray on your face (and inside your jacket) in the wee hours give me a call, I'd be glad to take you out. LOL

Enjoy the new boat mate, I actually couldn't believe that you got it together in time and my hat definitely goes off to Terry - what can you say but thanks for a HUGE effort, good on you Terry.

Ed

DALEPRICE
03-06-2008, 05:48 PM
Congrats on the boat Greg, she looks a fine bit of gear.
What was the first fish over the side??

Looks like youse made the best out of the weather and nailed some top fish.
top stuff men

cheers dale

sambos
03-06-2008, 06:30 PM
hey greg
sounds like ya had fun testing the boat out in average conditions.At least it wasnt calm,you now know what your boats like in all conditons,or maybe jelously cause I wasnt up there.
I,m probably gonna get bagged here as ive only been a fibreglass boat owner.But after studying the last photo in your report where you say not very clean or something along those lines I notice 4 sets of blocks along the lower stern .Just wondering what they are?Sacrafical anodes ,or some mounting plate for trimtabs maybe.

nice rig

03-06-2008, 07:12 PM
Unbeleivable effort guys, you did well to last the time.

Greg, how did those tabs go??

Anne-T-Dote
03-06-2008, 07:56 PM
Just had a look at the pics on the home PC. Very nice Greggo.

Graham they are top pics too mate. I bet Greg appreciates those coz he can't get ones like that when he's driving the boat.

Forgot to mention before - was good to catch up with everyone up there (Olives and cheese (aka Fish a Bit'n), Harden Up crew, Team Cruise Craft, The Riptide crews, Murf and anyone else as well. Was also great to meet some people I'd not met before (Graham, Ballsy, Stevo, Peter, Mick etc). Good bunch of blokes and hopefully will catch up with you all somewhere along the way soon.

Also thanks again Shane for organising the house and cooking us breakfast and providing the entertainment - especially with the warden. What a laugh.

Anne-T-Dote
03-06-2008, 07:57 PM
Rhys - Foxy was on fire. Couldn't miss.

Ed, I hear ya man. Greg's already turning soft::)

Awesome
03-06-2008, 08:12 PM
Fantastic report Greg & a fantastic effort just getting her up there.
Great to here you all had a top time.

Fishnwell
03-06-2008, 08:31 PM
Great report and a great looking boat. Very interesting reading for one that has never been to the comp. Great pics and it seems a helluva challenge putting large boats over those tracks....

BeastMaster
03-06-2008, 08:50 PM
Great Report Mr ReefMaster,
I like the look of Double or Nothing - great looking rig - love those rear cleats and great looking trailer.
Looks like the poor AMM found the pothole from hell??What happened?
Is there any chance of seeing a couple of photos of your rigs fit out or is she secret mens business!
My boats at the paint shop now, after under going a major rebuild/ refit - same wheel house configuration as yours but a little smaller. I'll show you mine( when she's done) if you show me yours??
BeastMaster

TCSunCoast
03-06-2008, 09:17 PM
Thanks for the report, nice redthroat. Shame about the weather and thanks for the photos. We go for 2 weeks in July so it was good to see the gutter pics. Been to more comps than I can remember but not to the last 4 or 5, I don't miss the crowds but the catch up was always good along with meeting new faces.
How do the guys go down at Waddy with no generators these days or do they allow it for the comp?

Spot82
03-06-2008, 09:45 PM
Thanks for the report, some nice reds there, and seems you got quite a few. I went to the comp many years back, the weather the week before the comp was perfect week of the comp blew 50knots, was the year the helicopter crashed at orchid beach. Definitely some awesome fishing over there.

kingtin
04-06-2008, 09:31 AM
Graham, Hope you don't mind mate, but I've took the liberty of working on one of your pics as the lighting made it a perfect subject. My idea is to make a photograph look more like a painting. This gives you an idea of what can be achieved even with a low resolution pic. If you or Greg would like me to work on any of your originals, just pm me. They look great blown up to about 16x12 or even 20x16 and framed.

Two different interpretations:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/boat%20rally/frasermap.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/boat%20rally/100_1585Mediummapped.jpg

Az
04-06-2008, 09:45 AM
nice work kev, they look great! the second one especially

JB
04-06-2008, 09:47 AM
Gday Greg, Good to hear you got the boat home without any other damage. Nice to meet you all up there and get a look at the new boat in the flesh. Some quality fish, but as always you put in the yards and got the results. Pity about the weather but thats the risk you take with trips away i guess, its an adventure and i think that in itself is always fun.

Well done getting on the board with the red throat Foxy, those rod and reels are sure a laugh .. i think maybe a few of those better random prizes should be for the wining fish.

Hopefully i'll see you all next year.

Jas

murf
04-06-2008, 10:07 AM
JB where are you?

we are still waiting for the carton of beer mate haha;)

cheers Murf

kingtin
04-06-2008, 10:09 AM
Another one............this time of the riptides:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/boat%20rally/Frasercompmaymapped.jpg

Reefmaster
04-06-2008, 10:14 AM
Thanks for the comments guys

Ballsie it was a pleasure spending the week you blokes and I can't wait for the feast at Olives and Cheese's place.

Graham thanks heaps for those pics mate as it's not often you get pics like that when all are involved in launching the boat. Cheers

Scrubba01
The Suzuki performed fantasticly and I'm glad this was my motor of choice. I have not interfaced the suzuki to my gps yet so I'm not sure on fuel figures and it would be to hard assume as we just keeping putting fuel into it everyday just to on the safe side. Like most the fuel gauge is not a good indication but hopefully soon I can get some accurate figures.

Foxy earned his keep this year and lived up to his reputation of pulling a fine Morwong;D I even captured the great catch on camera and it made for some funny footage I can tell you. ;D Like you say Rhys it must have been the skipper last year that let you down or maybe it could have been the fact you blokes were throwing fake plastic baits to the depths to often.:) 8-)

Ed Ed Ed
Righto there may have been a little aspect of "soft" in this trip but when you have 5 blokes in the one boat and crappy conditions someone has to drive to get the boys onto the fish.;D 8-) I must admit it was nice and comfortable sitting in the cab driving with a few tunes playing while the boys battled the wind, rain and rough seas. 8-) If a few 15kg Reds started coming over the side then I may have changed my tune and barged them out of my way.:) If I feel that i need to Harden up in the future then I will keep you in mind but I think I will stay dry for the mean time;) I must thank you and Trento for giving us the push as Macca told me you blokes thought we had no chance of getting the boat ready in time. We made it easy and still had a few hours of time free before we left.::) :o 8-)

Dale
The first fish to the boat was a small trevally that macca had hooked in the bum:P We classed this as bait and not a fish so the next fish which was a Red will be classed as the first fish;D

Sambos
Mate the blocks you can see on the lower transom are indeed anodes and the black ones above that are the electric Volvo penta ql trim tabs which work remarkably well.

The QL tabs are just the best piece of simple engineering around. They are so easy to use and respond so fast making driving a pleasure. Dave from Riptide has used the bennets and lencos most of time and couldn't believe how well the QL tabs worked and how it barely slows the speed down apposed to the bennets/lencos.

Steveo
Now that the boat has more size to it are you going to come for a wide trip one day?. I still can't promise we will see land but;)

Beastmaster
Not sure what happened to the trailer under that AMM but man it was a mess. Mate the full build and finished pics are in the boating section. Here's the link to the page of the finished product.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=124086&page=11

Waddy is packed and booked out well in advanced for the comp but yes not having generators allowed there has turned alot of people away from this spot.

Reefmaster
04-06-2008, 10:26 AM
Kev
That looks great mate. I can only imagine what it would look like in full resolution. I will have to send the originals through and see what you can do. Top stuff

JB
Was good to meet again and glad you blokes made the trip up there. I think you left at the right time Jas.

Murf
Good to see you up there again and really enjoying yourself. Sorry I didn't get more a chance to speak to you more as it's blokes like yourself that make Fraser all that more enjoyable.

Cheers Greg

kingtin
04-06-2008, 11:12 AM
Kev
That looks great mate. I can only imagine what it would look like in full resolution. I will have to send the originals through and see what you can do. Top stuff

Cheers Greg

No worries Greg,

When you are ready just pm me and I'll send you my email. Any number of pics or locations, as I'm only practicing yet, and the more I do, the better I get (hopefully) ;D

kingtin
04-06-2008, 11:28 AM
Makes for nice portraits too Greg. Hope yer dad likes this. I'm wondering how he's in a vertical position compared to the angle of the horizon..........musta been a bit lumpy! ;D

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/boat%20rally/dadmapped.jpg

dfox
04-06-2008, 05:08 PM
Foxy earned his keep this year and lived up to his reputation of pulling a fine Morwong;D I even captured the great catch on camera and it made for some funny footage I can tell you. ;D

Im glad you mentioned that greg, its always nice to challange yourself and vary the catch, especially so when a video camera is shoved in your face. Truly a moment to remember.;D ...foxy

uripper
04-06-2008, 06:04 PM
The trailer under this AMM was a mess. It was missing the front axle assem and the rear axle was bent like a bannana.

mmmm ...... what brand of trailer was that ?????

Karma ... what goes round, comes round ;)

Mal

Glen Morgan
07-06-2008, 09:10 AM
Boys,

There is a big RED man with a couple of BIG spikey pineapples waiting for you blokes to arrive down in Hell. Your first foxy, Limber up and bend over mate but listen carefully as he stuffs it in, you will hear him say "This ones for you Morgan".... Broo.Ha.Ha (Evil laugh). Greg he's got a couple of big ones for you to, If you're lucky he may give you a shot at Double or Nothing, Hope you win....Macka you can line up as well.

Cheers boys, was good to catch up for some laughs.

Morga..

08-06-2008, 07:57 AM
nice report greg the boat looks and performs great by the looks

dfox
08-06-2008, 09:34 AM
Boys,

There is a big RED man with a couple of BIG spikey pineapples waiting for you blokes to arrive down in Hell. Your first foxy, Limber up and bend over mate but listen carefully as he stuffs it in, you will hear him say "This ones for you Morgan".... Broo.Ha.Ha (Evil laugh). Greg he's got a couple of big ones for you to, If you're lucky he may give you a shot at Double or Nothing, Hope you win....Macka you can line up as well.

Cheers boys, was good to catch up for some laughs.

Morga..

As ive already said morgan, i'll see you down there ;) your an evil man!
p.s. catch any beach worms yet ? ;D ... foxy

wadeo
10-06-2008, 01:47 PM
great report greg. Good to finally mt you and ya dad. can't wait till nxt year. If the weather is good di is the target for this weeknd.

regards wadeo;D

aerordauto
10-06-2008, 07:29 PM
Hello Greg, Thanks For The Great Report And Good To See Some Great Fish Caught.
It Pays To Take Turns Holding The Spot At Least U Get A Fish In.
The Boat And Trailer Look Terrific And I Too Would Be Watching The Bends Going Through The Waddy Track.
Hopefully They Widen Some Of The Difficult Areas.
Cheers Mark.

Deelirious
23-02-2010, 08:17 PM
Greg,
I have to ressurect this old post where I gave you some lip about being soft.

Maaaate, it didn't take me long after reading this post to cave in and opt for some comfort. I'm pretty sure without a full cab the new girls not going to be any double or nothing but fingers crossed once I get her into some rough stuff she brings me home nice and comfortably.

Looking forward to this year mate should be a good trip.
Ed