View Full Version : My first boat.

sctj88
01-06-2008, 08:17 PM
Well i picked her up yesterday. It's a 2004 Polycraft 4.10 challenger open boat with a 25 mercury 4 stroke on the back, only had about 70 to 90 hours of run time since new, was brought off a mates farther. features include live well in the front storage area, casting deck, safety gear and basic fish finder. I brought the boat to take up north in a few months, i'm going to be making a new trailer for it thats a heavy duty off road design and also have a frame attached so i can put my roof top tent on it. The boat will basically only need a little bit of cosmetic work to be exactly what i want. All for the price of only $4000. with 11 months of rego on the trailer and 12 on the boat. All i need now is a big pair of ausfish stickers for it lol.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg192/jlumley88/DSC00348.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg192/jlumley88/DSC00351.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg192/jlumley88/DSC00353.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg192/jlumley88/DSC00354.jpg

01-06-2008, 08:27 PM
Sounds like a great little buy there mate..Nice little motor as well.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif
Just wouldn't leave it parked too close to the sidewalk there,mate,...it might end up full of rubbish http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.

Dan5
01-06-2008, 08:41 PM
Sounds like a great little buy there mate..Nice little motor as well.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif
Just wouldn't leave it parked too close to the sidewalk there,mate,...it might end up full of rubbish http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.

yeah but it'll get emptyed once a week!

That does sound like a good buy thou,it'll be cheap to run thats for sure,

Noiseworks
01-06-2008, 08:43 PM
Congratulations, hope you have years of fun with that rig. Fishon

Noiseworks

Kleyny
01-06-2008, 08:44 PM
congrats on the score you done well there for sure.

neil

BrenMac
01-06-2008, 08:57 PM
Nice work, that's a great buy.

Looks like a great rig for estuary / river work or sneeking out the front on a nice day!:)

BMac

01-06-2008, 08:58 PM
Not bad buying - congrats !

Better fix that bilge wiring though :o

whiting-wizard
01-06-2008, 09:02 PM
nice set up mate a great buy i hope you get years of enjoyment out of it;)
Goodluck fishing mate;D

WW

01-06-2008, 09:07 PM
A perfect selection for your 1st boat, a mate has a poly and I would be confident taking a boat like yours out into Morton Bay or similar.; They ride nicely and chop is not as much as issue as with most boats of same size.

Happy days ahead!

sctj88
02-06-2008, 06:38 AM
Thanks fellas. The photos of it near the road are where i brought it from, i live out of town a bit on 5 acres so it will have one of those pop up gazebo things to live under soon enough.
Yeah the wiring in the boat is abit dodgy, but im an apprentice sparky so all that should be no worries. I also want to relocate the battery that currently sits in the motor well into one of the back under floor storage areas and move the fuse board to the same location. I will be doing a bit of impoundment fishing til i get used to it, I only live 30 minutes from BP dam, but once im used to it i will take it out to inskip point, woodgate, and of course still take it to some impoundments. I have a weekend at Awoonga planned with a few mates in about 4 weeks, so that will probably be the devirginising trip.

Mindi
02-06-2008, 08:21 AM
I wish my first boat had been that good. Congratulations.

Donny Boy
02-06-2008, 08:26 AM
Good work matey. Nice pick up Enjoy.

sctj88
02-06-2008, 11:36 AM
Thanks fellas, it is my first boat but i am 20 so i did wait a while before buying.

Roo
02-06-2008, 12:13 PM
Checkout The PBO (http://www.polyboatowners.com/pboforum/) site for ideas on Pimping your Poly. Lots of ideas and tips to be found there. It is a good deal you got. Unfortunatly, most polys love a bit more horsepower and you might find it a bit under powered once you put a few mates in it. Should be fine for solo trips tho. the Bigfoot is a good motor anyway and is you do find it a bit sluggish with the your usual load of gear and passengers, a bit of experimenting with different prop diameters and pitch can be very beneficial. see how it goes.
Cheers Roo.

Breambuster33
02-06-2008, 06:56 PM
nice rig you got there.
hope you get alot of enjoyment out of it
and heaps of fish

kingtin
02-06-2008, 07:29 PM
Bloody steal at that price mate. Enjoy.

sctj88
04-06-2008, 06:31 PM
Just started the motor up, first pull and started no worries at all. When i checked the oil was still that golden colour and full, fuel filter was clean and fuel container was free from junk.

Mindi
04-06-2008, 06:42 PM
forgot to mention stcj that the first boat is the start of a long slide to financial ruin which inevitably comes with the addiction... you only ever upgrade and it always gets better...you could be buying boats for the next 50 years..!

sctj88
04-06-2008, 06:45 PM
forgot to mention stcj that the first boat is the start of a long slide to financial ruin which inevitably comes with the addiction... you only ever upgrade and it always gets better...you could be buying boats for the next 50 years..!
Whats wrong with that mate.