View Full Version : fishing trip

matt__hill
01-06-2008, 03:04 PM
samurez was planned but a few hiccups stopped us getting there but weather wasn't the best for that sort of long range trip anway. we left from brissie and fished up past fraser then thru the bunker group. heaps of fish and good times had by all. some of the biggest pearlies i have seen and caught. all big fish were caught on plastics or knife jigs. out of the 9 spangles landed not one was on bait. and another thing if anyone thinks nuke chooks are the bomb than they need to get out from under the rock they are under. not one fish of legal size was landed on one and they were used but white and bonejack easily caught 80% of the fish.

cheers matt

matt__hill
01-06-2008, 03:08 PM
dont bring squid in too early as kane found out

Pistol_P
01-06-2008, 03:11 PM
Some nice ones there mate.

Great looking trout....Good size AJ too.

backlash08
01-06-2008, 03:35 PM
Matt, thanks for the report, some nice fish there, interesting with the SP observations, what boat were you on?

jimbo59
01-06-2008, 03:43 PM
Loos like ya had a top trip matt, looked a bit lumpy in some photos...jim

01-06-2008, 05:21 PM
Thanks for the report guys. It looks like a good time was had by all. Those pearlies are huge. Were they upward of 4kilo?

Wags

chief 1
01-06-2008, 05:22 PM
Great pics mate,those pearlies are massive

matt__hill
01-06-2008, 05:22 PM
as most guys know photos dont do fish or weather any justice. we have about 10mins of video footage as well of massive water spouts around the boat at one stage there was 7 of them. 2 come together to make one big one at one stage all on film about 100m from us. it got within about 70m at one stage pretty awesome sight those things.

the boat was lunar sea he runs from hervey or gladstone but mainly gladstone. great boat and great skipper.

cheers matt

matt__hill
01-06-2008, 05:23 PM
a couple of those fish went just over 4 kgs

Chookman
01-06-2008, 05:45 PM
Very nice fish :)
Gotta love the trout

Chookman

Fishbait
01-06-2008, 06:04 PM
Great shot of the squid ink on Kane's face;D Nice bag of big fish - well done - looks like you all had a great time. Cheers, Darren ;)

Leighton
01-06-2008, 06:25 PM
ya making me jealous big boy
ps. you know where I live, a few Pearlie fillets would be nice:thumbsup:

flickflack
01-06-2008, 09:30 PM

SSHHHH ABOUT THE COLOUR OF THE PLASTICS::) dint you know that if it isnt nuclear chicken then it doesnt work. That way there is more for us to buy;) .

Some great fish there mate those spanglies pull hard on the spin gear. Looks like a top trip other than the weather did you give the Chaos Jigs a run?

Rod

kitty_cat
02-06-2008, 07:40 AM
looks the goods matt well done
the charter is working some good grounds from harvey to gladestone would be keen to have ago one day on a 3-4 day charter off that area

matt__hill
02-06-2008, 11:34 AM
yeah funny you ask roderick the chaos slayed the fish i had 4 pearlies from 4 drops and on the 5th a 4kg aj. all on the pink white chaos 300gm. my mate did well with the 400gm pink/blue as well better hookup on the jigs yhan the bait i recun when they are on.
as for those spanglies they go awesome on the spin gear. got the one with the pink shine in his mouth on a stella 4000 on an egrell s4 with 20lb braid in 7 mtrs of water with bommies everywhere.
love that rod too eric. very impressed.
cheers matt

jarhead
02-06-2008, 02:08 PM
Some awsome fish there, nice.