View Full Version : Monduran Stiffys

chewy01
30-05-2008, 04:48 PM
Hey all,
looks like ill just be fine tuning the tackle this w/end, re hooking the chosen lures and such.Is the go with the stiffys that you want the neutral or just slow sinking as the couple iv got float?
cheers chewy........:'(

Roo
30-05-2008, 05:29 PM
I got 2 stiffys the other day:o :o
the silver one sank and the green one floated.
I added a #1 owner to the front of the floater and removed the #7 split ring from the tow point. now it is a very slow rising floater.
For the silver sinker, I removed the #7 split rings from the 2 trebles and the tow point and refitted the standard #2 owner trebles with #6 owner hyperwire splits, it is also now a very slow floater. they will probably suspend or slowly sink when attached to a leader but i think that will be ok. Deliberately didn't get fluorocarbon leader as it is easier to make lures sink than float.;)

Cheers Roo.

I've been harbouring a semi since this whole escapade began.::)

Jungle Jim
30-05-2008, 05:33 PM
I've been harbouring a semi since this whole escapade began.::)

LOL... everytime i see a thread with these lures mentioned i think it's only a matter of time really....:P

.....yes those lures have an unfortunate or fortunate name depending on whch way you look at it.

I guess everyones talking about their stiffy which im sure makes the distributers very happy reagrdless.

chewy01
30-05-2008, 06:04 PM
With weather like this im not sure the stiffy will get a run.Ill have a play tomorrow in a bucket.:)

nipsta
30-05-2008, 07:14 PM
With weather like this im not sure the stiffy will get a run.Ill have a play tomorrow in a bucket.:)

i wouldnt hold back on using the stiffy they worth a throw or 2 or 20 they got me a reaction last time so give it a run for sure

bazz
01-06-2008, 02:01 PM
i wouldnt hold back on using the stiffy they worth a throw or 2 or 20 they got me a reaction last time so give it a run for sure

This is bazz: i have seen this on quite a few thread's. But what is a stiffy, can you please explain. Thank you bazz.:-[

Whitto
01-06-2008, 06:19 PM
;D Oh Dear there's a loaded Question, but Im going to leave it alone (Oh Dear done it again) Bazz not having a go at u, Mate Im not going to try and explain the lure too u as I will get myself in the shite, do a search here and all will be revealed complete with photo just to prove that several anglers both Male and Female make use of their stiffy from time to time.... Im out of here cause I can't laugh and type at the same time;D.......Whitto

nipsta
01-06-2008, 07:27 PM
;D Oh Dear there's a loaded Question, but Im going to leave it alone (Oh Dear done it again) Bazz not having a go at u, Mate Im not going to try and explain the lure too u as I will get myself in the shite, do a search here and all will be revealed complete with photo just to prove that several anglers both Male and Female make use of their stiffy from time to time.... Im out of here cause I can't laugh and type at the same time;D.......Whitto

bit of a hard one hey whitto to explain if you go to this website you see alll about them http://www.bushy.com.au/

01-06-2008, 09:58 PM
I've found that if you give your stiffy too much of a go .... the finish becomes worn & dull!
I'm just wondering if the Stiffy becomes less appealing at this point of time ....... & can you protect it somehow :-/

Nagg

chewy01
01-06-2008, 10:42 PM
You lot have a lot to answer for.Apperently Steve B has a method where he rubs it regularly with something 's' factor i think.ill leave it up to ur imagination what the s stands for. ;D ;D ;D
chewy.........
Might be safer if i leave mine at home..........:o :o

01-06-2008, 10:46 PM
You lot have a lot to answer for.Apperently Steve B has a method where he rubs it regularly with something 's' factor i think.ill leave it up to ur imagination what the s stands for. ;D ;D ;D
chewy.........
Might be safer if i leave mine at home..........:o :o

I think Steve only started rubbing S Factor on it ...... after Jas showed him::)

chewy01
02-06-2008, 07:41 AM
Womder if he uses some kind of applicator.Have to ask Foxie.;) ;)

Roo
02-06-2008, 09:49 AM
I thought it was peanut butter.??

As a side note, I rechecked the stiffy that was originally a sinker and realised i had removed the #2 owner treble off the front and replaced it with a #2 3X VMC treble in order to get it to slowly rise rather than sink. I might swap this around to put the VMC on the rear as the front hook is the more likey to cop a pounding if it gets eaten.
cheers Roo.

eotbmg
02-06-2008, 10:37 AM
Roo.
Mine definately sank out of the packet-i just took it back and they replaced it no probs.

Roo
02-06-2008, 10:41 AM
Too far to go back. a few adjustments got it working ok. besides whats the chances the replacement wouldn't do the same!! In my case, very likely. Chaos is always just around the corner, making plans with Karma.:P

bazz
02-06-2008, 09:23 PM
bit of a hard one hey whitto to explain if you go to this website you see alll about them http://www.bushy.com.au/

Thanks nipsta i thought it was a lure but the way all was talking i was begining to wonder. ;) Now it looks like i have to try and find out wear to buy them in brisbane.
Thanks Bazz.

Whitto
02-06-2008, 10:14 PM
Thanks nipsta i thought it was a lure but the way all was talking i was begining to wonder. ;) Now it looks like i have to try and find out wear to buy them in brisbane.
Thanks Bazz. Bazz, any Tackle shop worth their salt would have them.....Call into Foxies at Gin Gin to get the good oil, he certainly will have them....Whitto

the_matrix
03-06-2008, 08:31 AM
Bazz, any Tackle shop worth their salt would have them.....Call into Foxies at Gin Gin to get the good oil, he certainly will have them....Whitto
Whitto, wish it was that simple mate. Theres a lot of poiltics in tackle stores/buying groups.
Alot of the little guys (independent tackle stores) miss out on good stuff because of surrounding tackle stores buying power.
In short, it sucks.

Foxie has a fine store down there with lots of good gear, but Im quite sure the only stiffys in there are the ones from wide eyed travellers once they see the range.
Jas

Whitto
03-06-2008, 09:02 AM
Whitto, wish it was that simple mate. Theres a lot of poiltics in tackle stores/buying groups.
Alot of the little guys (independent tackle stores) miss out on good stuff because of surrounding tackle stores buying power.
In short, it sucks.

Foxie has a fine store down there with lots of good gear, but Im quite sure the only stiffys in there are the ones from wide eyed travellers once they see the range.
Jas I guess your right Jas, The buying power of the biggies in the more populated areas make it difficult for the Independent stores plus the popular use of the Internet, In this day an age people are watching their dollar closely.....Whitto Ps: Location Location

Barraboss
03-06-2008, 09:13 AM
Chris,

As you know I flog my stiffy all day long at Tinaroo and the surface wears off around where the hooks hit the lure. I don't find that it makes any difference, although I like to see my lure flash about all nice and new, which is more so I can see it when it gets smashed by a big brute..

P.s Have fun with this one..

03-06-2008, 10:43 AM
Chris,

As you know I flog my stiffy all day long at Tinaroo and the surface wears off around where the hooks hit the lure. I don't find that it makes any difference, although I like to see my lure flash about all nice and new, which is more so I can see it when it gets smashed by a big brute..

P.s Have fun with this one..

Yes you did give it a good going over ...... I wont argue there;)

bazz
03-06-2008, 11:15 AM
Thanks to all. I will ring around the tackle shops to find out who stocks them. Bazz

Roo
03-06-2008, 11:57 AM
BCF have them Baz or if you shop online the big online tackle store from coffs harbour (M O)has them for a good $4.00 less than BCF. they are listed under "Bushy's" in the harbody section.
Cheers Roo.

bazz
03-06-2008, 05:22 PM
Thanks roo.
I will try and find the email address of the one in coffs harbour as i do not like BCF and do not like to suport them any more. I rang around most of the others and they will take a order for them but most dont stock them as i was told not enough sales. The only shop that has them was Tackle Warehouse.

Thanks Bazz

Roo
03-06-2008, 05:34 PM
Try googling it. they are an online store.

bazz
03-06-2008, 06:27 PM
Try googling it. they are an online store.

Sorry i did not realise it was Mo Tackle Thanks Bazz;D

Magella
03-06-2008, 06:36 PM
Hey Jas,
You are right the tackle industry can be very poilticial and some companies do not supply independent stores as they only want there product in a certain amount of outlets this way there is less competition. But there product is not the be all and end all an there is plenty of other good stuff that smaller specialist shops can get hold on to that bigger shops don't have.

No stiffy's here just heaps of horny toads

Cheers Foxie

Steve B
03-06-2008, 08:16 PM
Nothing wrong with a sinking stiffy Roo!!! just got to use it right!!;) Better in the deeper water come summer I reckon.....I use my finger to apply s factor to the boney bream lure!!! and other lures too....My stiffy doesnt get all the attention you know!!!!!;);D;D other lures are still in my favourites catagory. Different lures, diferent applications, different times....you know 'think outside the square' and all that;)..look at horny toads!! 1 year ago.....who honestly would have owned a pack...and used them????

steve

nipsta
03-06-2008, 08:31 PM
Nothing wrong with a sinking stiffy Roo!!! just got to use it right!!;) Better in the deeper water come summer I reckon.....I use my finger to apply s factor to the boney bream lure!!! and other lures too....My stiffy doesnt get all the attention you know!!!!!;);D;D other lures are still in my favourites catagory. Different lures, diferent applications, different times....you know 'think outside the square' and all that;)..look at horny toads!! 1 year ago.....who honestly would have owned a pack...and used them????

steve

i cant wait to get up and try one after watching jas on that video all i can think about is bow waves bloody awsome cant wait

bazz
03-06-2008, 08:43 PM
Hey Jas,
You are right the tackle industry can be very poilticial and some companies do not supply independent stores as they only want there product in a certain amount of outlets this way there is less competition. But there product is not the be all and end all an there is plenty of other good stuff that smaller specialist shops can get hold on to that bigger shops don't have.

No stiffy's here just heaps of horny toads

Cheers Foxie

Yes foxie your right the big stores seem to get want. But i try to buy most of my gear from the smaller independent stores like yours. When i came up your store after talking to you by phone, i bought most of my barra lures a rod, reel ,line, trace from your shop you gave to me the best info i could get. I used this info and caught my first barra (107cm) thanks heep's long live the independents. Bazz:)

03-06-2008, 09:10 PM

steve

I couldn't find a horny toad in Sydney ... no matter how hard I looked ::) ..... Had to get them from the US.
I reckon Steve is still floggin the stiffy though ;) \\

Nagg

chewy01
03-06-2008, 09:19 PM
your soo right jas and foxie and the most important thing is customer service.You just cant buy that.and also someone who fishes but doesnt ram it down ur throat.You do have something the chain stores dont have but.Steve bs laminated cutout.;) chewy cya all this weekend
8-)

Tim_08
03-06-2008, 09:24 PM
Hi guys just wondering if anyone other than Jas has given the horny toads or similar a go lately and with what success. Very exciting style of fishing, like many people have said those bow waves are incredible.

Steve B
03-06-2008, 10:35 PM
I couldn't find a horny toad in Sydney ... no matter how hard I looked ::) ..... Had to get them from the US.
I reckon Steve is still floggin the stiffy though ;) \\

Nagg

Chris, Foxie has a wall full of them I think...or something similar that works just as well. I have never given them a go................yet. waiting for the right oportunity!! Foxie got a couple of fish the other day on them at Monduran........spose I had better give them a go at some stage....those surface hookups are too good to miss out on:D;)

I am sure he does postal orders...check out his website... google foxies barra havoc....or you could just PM him!!!!!

steve

Magella
04-06-2008, 08:14 AM
Hey Nagg
www.###########.com.au still getting there

04-06-2008, 08:38 AM
Chris, Foxie has a wall full of them I think...or something similar that works just as well. I have never given them a go................yet. waiting for the right oportunity!! Foxie got a couple of fish the other day on them at Monduran........spose I had better give them a go at some stage....those surface hookups are too good to miss out on:D;)

I am sure he does postal orders...check out his website... google foxies barra havoc....or you could just PM him!!!!!

steve

Thanks Steve

How can you not jump onto that bandwagon ....... surface barra whooo hooo
I'll check out Foxies website - - - - better still I'll drag my sorry ass(& boat) up there in the not too distant future to have a crack at those winter fish.

PS .... I'll have to stop paying out on your stiffy;D

04-06-2008, 08:53 AM
Hey Nagg
www.###########.com.au (http://www.###########.com.au) still getting there

Thanks Foxie

Roo
04-06-2008, 09:50 AM
I just double ring'd my stiffy last night:-X it now suspends perfectly.

Had a look at your site Foxie, its a ripper. Good to see a small independent store casting its net far and wide. There are plenty of customers out there on the web. Some of your specials are pretty hot too!!

Cheers Roo.

04-06-2008, 10:36 AM
I just double ring'd my stiffy last night:-X it now suspends perfectly.

Had a look at your site Foxie, its a ripper. Good to see a small independent store casting its net far and wide. There are plenty of customers out there on the web. Some of your specials are pretty hot too!!

Cheers Roo.

Ouch! ..... thats gotta smart!

Nice to see people tuning their stiffies;)

04-06-2008, 10:42 AM
Hey Nagg
www.###########.com.au (http://www.###########.com.au) still getting there

Great site Foxie ....... How long has it been up for ?

Nice picture of Homer ..... 8-)

themissus
04-06-2008, 12:41 PM
This last week, Roo has been down in the garage playing with his stiffy's far to often.

So Foxie, who is the catch of the week, Homer or Steve:-/ ;) ::)

Cheers Kim.

Magella
04-06-2008, 12:46 PM
Kim ,
I would have to say homer Steve tends to play with his stiffy to much.
[how long can this stiffy thing last]

Chris,
Only this week

Cheers Foxie

Roo
04-06-2008, 12:54 PM
it never gets tired?

themissus
04-06-2008, 12:56 PM
Between Roo and Nagg it could be endless.

Just had a look at the site too, it's great. Every thing a tackle junky needs for a fix.
Cheers Kim.

04-06-2008, 01:19 PM
Between Roo and Nagg it could be endless.

Just had a look at the site too, it's great. Every thing a tackle junky needs for a fix.
Cheers Kim.

Well ... I'm going to lay off the Stiffy ..... & find something else to amuse myself with. Mine have all been tuned & ready to go:P

Nagg

nipsta
04-06-2008, 04:38 PM
Kim ,
I would have to say homer Steve tends to play with his stiffy to much.
[how long can this stiffy thing last]

Chris,
Only this week

Cheers Foxie

bit hard to see how long this could go on for might need a stiff drink to think up some more lol

chewy01
04-06-2008, 07:13 PM
HEy guys whatever happened to the floppy?????????:)will it catch homer?

Dick Pasfield
04-06-2008, 07:26 PM
I was in Cairns for a couple of days (work) two weeks ago. Picked up a couple of the bony bream stiffies. Just a question, how do you work them? Tried a couple of retrieves on the weekend just to get the feel of them. Quick little jerks seemed the best (yes, left myself open on that one). If it's been talked about before just the link would be fine.

rod harrison
04-06-2008, 08:04 PM
Hey Dick

Try the old whack and wait.
Let the thing sink and when at the desired depth give it a couple of really hard rips. One, two.....pause kinda.
You need a pretty stiff rod that won't fold under the load.
Most hits happen on the pause.-
I usually toss at cover where fish could be sheltering and do the routine through the first, say, quarter of the retrieve, then burn it back. Otherwise, you're there all day.
All in all, a good lure worth using, though somewhat specialised and needing an experienced hand on the reel.
A criticism - not mean to nit-pick but you buy on the assumption that a particular model is all the same - are inconsistencies in weight and bouyancy.....not good for a lure that needs to hover in the water column.

There're better mousetraps out there - the Jap made E Drive, for one. These are a jointed type that work on the same presentation style and retrieve cadence.
Metaphorically speaking, each costs an arm, a leg and a willy.

nipsta
04-06-2008, 08:44 PM
Hey Dick

Try the old whack and wait.
Let the thing sink and when at the desired depth give it a couple of really hard rips. One, two.....pause kinda.
You need a pretty stiff rod that won't fold under the load.
Most hits happen on the pause.-
I usually toss at cover where fish could be sheltering and do the routine through the first, say, quarter of the retrieve, then burn it back. Otherwise, you're there all day.
All in all, a good lure worth using, though somewhat specialised and needing an experienced hand on the reel.
A criticism - not mean to nit-pick but you buy on the assumption that a particular model is all the same - are inconsistencies in weight and bouyancy.....not good for a lure that needs to hover in the water column.

There're better mousetraps out there - the Jap made E Drive, for one. These are a jointed type that work on the same presentation style and retrieve cadence.
Metaphorically speaking, each costs an arm, a leg and a willy.

crikey theres alot of toss, hard rips and whack & wait in this one. And they said that how much further can this stiffie post go. lol. Of course the willy to finish it off. classic post rod. top that fellows, learn at the same time as well as a few jokes included :D or is it just me enjoying the stiff pun since wherew tring for a second child and wack and wait seem to be what we do

Dick Pasfield
04-06-2008, 10:46 PM
Thanks for that Rod, that sort of retrieve makes sense after seeing their action on the wekend

Steve B
05-06-2008, 11:37 AM
Rod has pretty much explained it perfectly.

I basically use a short sharp rythmic twitch and wind. working the rod straight downwards. sometimes pause, sometimes not, depending on fish moods for the day. As he also said, I only work it for about 1/4 of the retrieve.....your arms fall off if you did the full retrieve all day!!

rod harrison
08-06-2008, 10:05 AM
The Stiffy "Bony" shape has been around for yonks.
Creek Chub, an American Lure Company specialising in
twitch/jerk lures for pike and musky, and now passed into antiquity, did that one and another called the Darter, alluded to in Barra.

Ditto rubber frogs and the high rod, skip technique.

A yard with Lindon and Kel - good people who make a wonderful contribution to this site - at the boat ramp yesterday got around to the fact that though the tackle has advanced light years, the basic lures and techniques have been around a lot longer than people claiming them as their own.

The late Bob Dunn's "History of Angling in Australia" - remaindered copies are around the book places - is a
full book - pun intended - on what's already gone down.

08-06-2008, 11:18 AM
I have no doubt that most lure designs & techniques have been around for many years be it jointed lures , frogs ,soft plastics or twisted leaders ........ The true pioneers had been there & done that!

I guess what we are seeing today ...... Is the refinement of those original lures & techniques + the introduction or should I say reintroduction into main stream barra fishing practices
If we step back a few years & looked into our barra tackle boxes ...... they would have been stuffed to the gills with barrabaits , classics , vipers , Nilsmasters , Manns stretch etc ....... Yeh a few people threw a few scum frogs in the billabongs or the occasional mister twister
Today ..... The thinking barra fishoe will still have most of those Hardbodies + many others in their tackle box ........ However you will now also see , Lots of slick rigs , top water sammys , tango dancers , poppers , fizzers & probably some lipless crankbaits ....... & now high speed frogs because of a recent video clip.
today we burn frogs , walk the dog , bloop , jig & hop , slow roll, jig troll , troll & twitch pause ...... These are now mainstream techniques that have been born , reincarnated or modified out of the impoundment barra craze ..... & the difficulties faced in these pressurised fisheries !
IMO ..... The fishoes that modify techniques or introduce new tackle into the impoundments are also true pioneers ....... specially if it then becomes mainstream!
Hail to the person ..... that starts catching barra consistently on Buzz Baits;)
Just my thoughts on the subject:)

Nagg

Whitto
08-06-2008, 11:54 AM
I have no doubt that most lure designs & techniques have been around for many years be it jointed lures , frogs ,soft plastics or twisted leaders ........ The true pioneers had been there & done that!

I guess what we are seeing today ...... Is the refinement of those original lures & techniques + the introduction or should I say reintroduction into main stream barra fishing practices
If we step back a few years & looked into our barra tackle boxes ...... they would have been stuffed to the gills with barrabaits , classics , vipers , Nilsmasters , Manns stretch etc ....... Yeh a few people threw a few scum frogs in the billabongs or the occasional mister twister
Today ..... The thinking barra fishoe will still have most of those Hardbodies + many others in their tackle box ........ However you will now also see , Lots of slick rigs , top water sammys , tango dancers , poppers , fizzers & probably some lipless crankbaits ....... & now high speed frogs because of a recent video clip.
today we burn frogs , walk the dog , bloop , jig & hop , slow roll, jig troll , troll & twitch pause ...... These are now mainstream techniques that have been born , reincarnated or modified out of the impoundment barra craze ..... & the difficulties faced in these pressurised fisheries !
IMO ..... The fishoes that modify techniques or introduce new tackle into the impoundments are also true pioneers ....... specially if it then becomes mainstream!
Hail to the person ..... that starts catching barra consistently on Buzz Baits;)
Just my thoughts on the subject:)

Nagg What Goes round Comes round, what we are seeing is the refined version that is well established from years gone by and we are now benefiting from fishoes long gone and present day......Cheers Whitto:D

the_matrix
08-06-2008, 07:42 PM
Its a funny game this great past time we call fishing.
If I had of known all the politics, agenda's, competiton (buisness and pleasure) and sniping was as rife as it is, I reckon I would have laid low on many topics that seem to be so full of conjecture.
No, I didnt invent the frog Harro, nor did I ever say I did, or did I say I invented the whole "burning" of plastics/frogs or the like.

I have a mega passion for fishing, mates, family and life. I dont go around saying "Im the man" on the given subjects, although my back feels heavy on lots of occasions.
I love going fishing, catching fish, and more importantly seeing others/helping others achieve fishing goals. I'll be continuing that through my barra guiding buisness on Awoonga and Monduran.

For those of you that have learned anything from me, whether it be from the Fishing DVD or other, that was the aim. I will continue to pass knowledge whilst I am learning myself. (the hard way, not from watching others)
For those with agenda's, and yes you most certainly know who you are, if you put the same passion into your fishing, I'd expect to see you on AFC next year, or if you hate comps that much, perhaps kicking goals eleswhere. Good luck to you.

To everyone who has PM'd regarding the frog, or a subject I have been able to help on, thanks sincerely I havent had time to reply to you all.
Cheers and happy fishing.
Jas

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
09-06-2008, 02:32 PM
....and to advance further, the public really only just get to see what is promoted through smart marketing. Those that do choose to lay low, remain reasonably quiet and have spent 20 + years in a barra game do see the big picture that unfortunatley gets missed by the sponge like public that absorb and believe all they can that is on offer. To expand any angler's world, for every lure smartly marketed I can guarantee you many more lures that can produce the same and much better results. More ways to skin a cat than just one. And to go on past scribes from inexperienced barra anglers preaching to the world through magazine articles is as bluff and as misleading as ever. Turn back a couple of years only,,,or less, for some laughable material that unfortunatley misleads the viewer and sends them way off track. I tear my hair out at the crap that gets written about barra,,,,,at your expense viewers.
For those people who read that material, I'm so sorry that it ever goes to print. Writers don't do apprenticeships nor does the content get screened for accuracy by those really in the know.
Sadly it is often for advantage of the individual or company rather than true care and wellbeing of the public. Magazines are advertising tools. I've sat and copped it for too long now and it is time that the public got a much better deal. A few truths will be exposed and new doors opened in the coming twelve months. Just wait for that one!
Anglers are being held back. Ask yourself this question...."Why is it that the country's leading impoundment barra tournaments are dominated by 2 teenage anglers of less than 3 years experience in a barra history that is dominated by adult presence? And why and how does an overseas American visitor come to a barra lake with little barra nous and win a two day round of competition on the waters of Awoonga where experienced anglers abound? Australia is being held back. Maybe it is time to question everything you read and everything you see. Do anglers also then hold themselves back by looking for the next best promoted lure or next latest and greatest magazine article instead of stopping and smelling the roses and refining basic thinking, hunting and problem solving skills.
Are readers slowly being trained to feed from print instead of advancing in the field or in their own way? Are we being programmed to tune in and read?
Is influencial bias healthy??
Food for thought for minds that open.
Johnny Mitchell

09-06-2008, 10:32 PM
Jonny , Jas , Trev , Rod ... & others that fall into the guru category ...... you guys are legends & we all feed off what you guys have to say ....... I'm sadden to read some of the responses of late which seemed to be based on protecting a bit of turf .... be it for commercial reasons or competitiveness::)
Get over it ....... help others , make a living ....... or whatever ......... Just dont make digs at one another as a means of point scoring.
For Christ sakes you guys are better than that !

sorry

Nagg

rod harrison
10-06-2008, 06:21 AM
I certainly hope those Taylor boys are being paid
by Shimano and Steve Morgan.

Anything else is exploitation.

Morgan should pay them just to turn up to ABT events.
Yep, appearance money - and not have them sleeping on the ground, eating two minute noodles.

I would hope that a mega-buck, in your face company like Shimano would be putting more then gear. The money they
spend of Steve Starling's boxing lessons would be a start. I'll talk to John Dunphy about it next time we catch up.

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
10-06-2008, 07:14 AM
It's about the general public Nagg. That's the bottom line. I'm happy to stick my nose out now so poor old Joe Bloe gets a fair chop. The full story. No harm in truths, more positives than anything. The only thing I'm keen to protect is the absorbent minds of learners. It doesn't bother me, I know the full yarn, I'm sure others would like to advance beyond their time too.
Johnny

Roo
10-06-2008, 09:32 AM
It's about the general public Nagg. That's the bottom line. I'm happy to stick my nose out now so poor old Joe Bloe gets a fair chop. The full story. No harm in truths, more positives than anything. The only thing I'm keen to protect is the absorbent minds of learners. It doesn't bother me, I know the full yarn, I'm sure others would like to advance beyond their time too.
Johnny

the proof is in the pudding.
To be honest, Johnny I have found the articles you've written to be thought provoking, slightly cryptic and lacking in the detail that the "sponge like public" like myself, who is lucky to get 2 cracks at impoundment barra a year, really need. I don't have the time or the opportunity to work it out for myself. What WE need is the How, Where and Why kind of information if we are going to get maximum benefit from our rare opportunities to fish for these creatures. So far, I have found the Fishing DVD, The major magazines and Harro's book to be about all there is on offer. the DVD's are exciting and give valuable lessons on techniques that just don't explain that well in print or still photos. The text from various fishing writers in the Major magazines gives another perspective on "Their" experiences. Harro's book gave us some of the Basics to base ourselves upon, kind of like a baseline starting point.
My point is They all have a place, a purpose and a value to the sponges like me.

Here I am, Fill me up.

Thanks, Rod.

10-06-2008, 11:08 AM
Jonny , Jas , Trev , Rod ... & others that fall into the guru category ...... you guys are legends & we all feed off what you guys have to say ....... I'm sadden to read some of the responses of late which seemed to be based on protecting a bit of turf .... be it for commercial reasons or competitiveness::)
Get over it ....... help others , make a living ....... or whatever ......... Just dont make digs at one another as a means of point scoring.
For Christ sakes you guys are better than that !

sorry

Nagg

Sorry Everyone ..... It was the :devil: that made me write it! .......

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
10-06-2008, 05:13 PM
Roo,
You are so right. Impoundment barra fishing is extremely cryptic and much deeper than can be portrayed in a short piece. The detail you wish for cannot be printed in small pages. It goes way and beyond the simplicity described. I'm working on the big picture for you and anyone interested.
Simple answers or responses that go unquestioned become set in stone over time. It's hard to break old habits and I'm prepared to start now to re-align certain elements of bias before Joe public gets sold more brain wash material.
My sweetwater articles are in place to keep doors wide open for anglers so they don't become lost in the closed door world. Much of what I say contrasts a lot of popular belief but it is there to keep anglers awake and thinking. If no thought went into our fishing we would all become lame fishers. As a guide in business it was hard to give all clues away in writing hence why pieces that contribute to the mental side of angling need close attention. It is my profession, but if I can help anglers think in a different perspective it might keep the dream alive for some. If I jumped on everything written that was incorrect I'd be labelled as a nasty cowboy, but instead it is worth copping a few slaps in the face so anglers get a broader spectrum on the whole barra fishing industry. It does not affect me what gets said but it's what material that people believe that hurts. The how, where and why that you mentioned is often the material that is suprisingly off track. That is my point. If I don't stick my noggin out now only god knows where marketing will take the minds of anglers. I'm only doing it for people Roo. I have nothing to prove. I know my lake and salt barra to extremes and I stand to make sure that anglers get a fair go. I am working on several big projects that will come soon, so please be patient. You are right, there is not a lot out there so all you can work with is what is available.
HARRO'S Book is golden and if anyone hasn't read it word for word I suggest strongly that they do. Hidden among the skillfull writing style are keys and double meaning material that is spot on. You can't afford to skip a page. As mentioned in the previous post, we need a big boost in Australian Barra Fishing Standards if we wish to keep up with the world. I'll be doing my bit as an Aussie to fill some gaps with raw material.
Cheers Roo. I hope this expands my thoughts a bit more. I'm nearly happy to pull my head in and not say anything, but the genuine Aussie battler needs to see it all.
Johnny

BR65
10-06-2008, 06:13 PM
A couple of comments, if you dont mind, re the previous posts:

Jas, it was the fishing dvd with you and starlo up at Awoonga chucking gaddens classics that really hit my go button with impoundment barra fishing, I knew nothing, still know nothing, but that piece inspired me to have a go. A visual demonstration of a successfull on the day technique was worth its weight in gold to a newby sweetwater fisho.
Was there marketing attatched to that, in my opinion yes, the first half a dozen lures I brought were gaddens classics, it took me a little while to work out that other HB's catch barra as just well.

JM, dont shut up shop and not say anything, sometimes I struggle to read between the lines in your articles, but each and every one is read, re-read and then re-read again.
As a travelling barra fisho, and Im luckier than some cause its only 41/2 hours travel each way for me, time on the water is like gold, and anything I can glean from others experience is assessed, kept if deemed usefull, discarded if considered bullshit, and generally slotted into the knowledge bank, to maybe make an apperance sometime if the situation seems applicable. Probably the most important thing I can take away from your articles is dont lock in on whats allways worked before, I think haveing the confidence to step outside the comfort zone of famillularity comes with runs on the board, or in this case fish on the mat.

OK, so thats said, and moveing on, again I'll speak from the view point of an average joe blow dangler, works as a wage slave, fishs when he can, dreams about catching big, slab sided silver barra
How do I become a better impoundment barra angler? By that I mean being able to successfully fish what ever conditions/weather/crowds/gun shy fish Im faced with on any particular day. I dont have the job to be on the water 300 days a year, I dont have a barra impoundment at the end of my street, I dont have the resources to trial and test new, or refine existing techniques, so what do I do.
Of course, I fish at the drop of a hat, but other times I read, I watch dvds, I attend seminars, I participate on forums, I absorb others experiences, yeah, the big companies marketing plays a part, but in the end what really works in the field and what doesnt soon becomes obvious, hopefully we can pick the fools gold from the real thing. Its about loading your gun with the right bullets, then fireing them at the right spot. Problem is, ya gota get the bullets from somewhere??

chewy01
10-06-2008, 08:29 PM
Or Roo u can just lob on my secret spot lol
chewy..

Roo
11-06-2008, 09:07 AM
That pretty much sums it up Brian. Well said.

Chewy, Spots X, Y & Z are all marked in the GPS for next time. Hopefully I wont have to walk to them tho' :)

Cheers Roo.

Dick Pasfield
15-06-2008, 10:59 PM
Used a bony bream a couple of times now, all I can claim is a longtom and a sootie. No big deal no other lure has worked of late.

Interesting action, unlike about all other lures I've used it doesn't stop when you stop, rather it glides on for a while and drops a bit deeper before stopping in its tracks.

Looks just as good suspended under the water as it does when it flashes a bit. Pity I've not being able to convince any fish about this:(

BR65
16-06-2008, 08:06 PM
Dick, I gave a silver boney a cast or two last run, no fish but was impressed with the broad side flash, and the suspending properties after a bit of tweaking, maybe will be a bit more effective when the water warms up, hoiked deep into a gnarly snag, rip, pause, rip pause.........
They certainly have a differant action on a slow roll retrieve, very wide
brian

16-06-2008, 08:17 PM
Looks like the Stiffy is back ...... someone must have taken a little PILL

Nagg

PS ... picked up a green/gold one the other day ( couldn't keep it up ...... So unlike Roo , I had to de- ring it::) )

BR65
16-06-2008, 08:37 PM
Lets not let this thread die a natural death chris, way to much fun to be had here8-)

16-06-2008, 09:20 PM
Lets not let this thread die a natural death chris, way to much fun to be had here8-)

Very true ....... Keep it up;D

Roo
17-06-2008, 09:56 AM
well in the interests of furthering our knowledge base on the do's and don'ts......and the how and why's of how to best rig your stiffy.....my observations from using my modded up stiffy where thus:
1. mean green floating machine that i modded up with a heavier front treble to make it slowly rise.....promtly sank when tied on to a leader.....not sure what the leader was made of as it was on steve's reel, just know it was 80lb.

I removed the #1 front treble and refitted a #2 and hey presto it was a floater again.

2. no matter what i did to the silver sinker.....it was a sinker. endedup with #2 owner on #6 split ring up the front and a #2 VMC 3X down the back.

Cheers Roo.

17-06-2008, 04:41 PM
Don't you just love consistently balanced lures ::) My 4 are all rigged differently :-/
Nagg

chewy01
17-06-2008, 07:38 PM
hey all,
hey roo i like ur modded r2s triho with the lightweight hooks,i reckon its bouyancy made the barra think his dinner was gettin away n couldnt resist.nice work on thinking outside the box.lol any more tips u can pass on?
chewy..:D :D

eotbmg
17-06-2008, 08:35 PM
The ol stiffys. Every one has one, and those who dont, want one!!!!
We spent an hour or so twitching and tweaking the bloody things, found out that in the end the front ring was too much for them to float and it was discarded on most lures. I know they are made overseas, but what has happened to quality control??? Great lures but very frustrating as they are all different in sinking,floating rates.

Roo
18-06-2008, 11:04 AM
hey all,
hey roo i like ur modded r2s triho with the lightweight hooks,i reckon its bouyancy made the barra think his dinner was gettin away n couldnt resist.nice work on thinking outside the box.lol any more tips u can pass on?
chewy..:D :D

Actually, that was a tight arse move from a previous trip. I already had some #2 3X VMC's and thought bugger buying owners, these will do!!! I figured if they bend, I'll just replace them.....after feeling that hook pull near the end of the battle, I'm glad I changed my ways and had some owners to change them over to. after changing to a #1 on the front and a #2 rear with no centre hook it still floated much the same way as before....just a bit nose down. I changed the front hook to a #2 and it slow rises dead level now. Didn't get a chance to test it on a fish....

Cheers Roo.

BLOOEY
19-06-2008, 06:47 PM
Well all very interesting guys. I'm heading to monduran tomorrow night, and yes do have a stiffy, also have a couple of the lures to piff around. Very keen to score another after a big doughnut last trip. Will be giving the toads a go this time too. How can i not after seeing that footage. Ben

BR65
19-06-2008, 07:04 PM
lookin forward to a report there mate, make sure you pack the uggies

Whitto
19-06-2008, 07:44 PM
Go hard Mate...Give it your best shot......look forward to your report and hopefully for you some Photos....Have a good trip....Whitto PS G'day Brian

19-06-2008, 08:04 PM
Speaking of Stiffys ........ Does anyone know if they are available in the "EVIL MINNOW" colour ??

Nagg

PaulMark
19-06-2008, 08:13 PM
Looking forward to your report,maybe have a trip up there shortly
Paulo

nipsta
19-06-2008, 08:50 PM
Yes im also looking forward to your report good luck and hope you catch a barra or 3 ;D

BR65
19-06-2008, 09:49 PM
evnin whitto, not long till spring break now mate
to help pass the time theres allways the ritual SMASHIN of the cockies in the third stae of origin, just to keep us amused mate

Whitto
20-06-2008, 07:28 AM
to help pass the time theres allways the ritual SMASHIN of the cockies in the third stae of origin, just to keep us amused mate I have a mild case of the shakes Brian.....I don't know if its IBD or the pending Battle before us.......I don't know why cause were going to flog em anyway......Roll on warmer days, everything is maintained, polished and ready to go......Whitto;D

20-06-2008, 08:40 AM
to help pass the time theres allways the ritual SMASHIN of the cockies in the third stae of origin, just to keep us amused mate

Don't you know how hard it is to kill a cocky ...... hell if a atomic blast wont ..... do you really think a little drubbing at Lang Pk will !
The cocky will rise out of the ashes & the humiliation!!!!!

& besides ..... you guys cant play at Homebush;D

Steve B
20-06-2008, 08:51 AM
Don't you know how hard it is to kill a cocky ...... hell if a atomic blast wont ..... do you really think a little drubbing at Lang Pk will !

Chris,
We QLDers can play in any bush...and love it!;) ;D :-X

20-06-2008, 11:18 AM
Chris,
We QLDers can play in any bush...and love it!;) ;D :-X

I've seen some of that Qld bush ....... pretty scary:lost: :uhoh: with all sorts of critters in there!
But there is nothing like the familiar Homebush;D

BR65
20-06-2008, 09:54 PM

chris, Im particularly happy with the use of the word humiliation in that post, very apt after that pitifull display

nipsta
21-06-2008, 05:39 AM
chris, Im particularly happy with the use of the word humiliation in that post, very apt after that pitifull display

yeah where they even on the field thats okk the first comment i got from a cockie was how much was the ref paid wont metion his name as he will prob start on about it agian

21-06-2008, 09:21 AM
yeah where they even on the field thats okk the first comment i got from a cockie was how much was the ref paid wont metion his name as he will prob start on about it agian

As I've already mentioned ...... The team bus got lost & the selectors just picked people out of the crowd who were wearing a blues shirt;)