View Full Version : 40lb JEW ON SNAPPER GEAR

flickflack
30-05-2008, 10:09 AM
Hi All

Went out on Wednesday morning for a quickie before work to target some snapper. Had a mate come down from Brissie to test his new custom built Loomis. The previous day was a ripper as flat as but as we went out the bar the wet weather gear had to be taken out in double quick time. The sea had chopped up a bit and the run out was a bit of a bumpy one. We arrived at the area that has been producing some cracking snapper lately but the reefs seemed really bare and after hitting one spot with not a touch we decided to move a bit deeper. First cast at the new spot and a subtle tap told me it was time to set the hooks. The fish surged off and I called it for a BIG Knobbie but after a few minutes had my doubts. A few hectic minutes followed of fully red lining the gear to stop the fish bricking me. Out she came a beautifull Jewie and Mike stuck the net over her head and lifted the fish into the boat. After a few quick pics for the mags she was released and swam away strongly. Put a BIG smile on my face and made up for the missing Snapper.

Good Fishing to you all

Rod

flickflack
30-05-2008, 10:11 AM
THe mug shot of the Jewies gob and another one

backlash08
30-05-2008, 10:35 AM
Hi rod,
very impressive catch, can understand the smile! well done

blue_mako
30-05-2008, 10:48 AM
Shit yeah that's a cracker Rod. When are you taking me out cause Nathan can't put me onto any fish out there!

My Thready was bigger then yours ;) .

Troy

Pistol_P
30-05-2008, 10:49 AM
Very nice Jew that one.....very dark in colour.

Impressive catch....I would rather that Jew over a snapper anyway...:P

jackextracter
30-05-2008, 11:03 AM
Great fish mate and great pics to that a ripper mate cheers.

bluefin59
30-05-2008, 11:12 AM
Great fish mate they seem to be smashing the placcies out their lately ,i got one that went about 15 kg on a placcie of the goldie a couple of weeks ago we ended up with 3 all together . Good catch great to see a happy fisho especially on the placcies...matt

shorty 01
30-05-2008, 12:04 PM
nice jew mate he would of put up a good fight

LostNearBribie
30-05-2008, 12:52 PM
Geez mate, could you look any happier!
Great stuff.

flickflack
30-05-2008, 01:10 PM
Troy

Yeah mate it looks like it. Can you send me a few pics in full size if you dont mind for an article

Rod

slyman
30-05-2008, 01:19 PM
Holy smoke! Nice fish!

simon

Roo
30-05-2008, 01:29 PM
Nice work Rod. they certainly test your gear at that size.
I got one there last year that was quite a bit lighter in colour....real yellow fins too. not quite as big tho, was only about 30lb i think. now leave my spot alone:P ;)

Cheers Roo.

30-05-2008, 02:33 PM
Very nice fish there Roderick, it justifies your grin well and truly.

Did you get a few measurements of the old girl before she swam off?

seapup
30-05-2008, 03:27 PM
What a slob!

Callop
30-05-2008, 03:50 PM
Awesome fish. Great effort.

Frank OO
30-05-2008, 03:53 PM
Hi Rod,

It is really nice to finally see another post from you. Good to see you haven't lost your touch..

Great fish mate.

Frank OO

flickflack
30-05-2008, 04:25 PM
Frank

Gday mate, I lost your number when I drowned my phone. If you could send me a pm with yours that would be great. Yeah dont post much anymore cos I have to save most of the good pics for the mags, but this one was too good to go by.

Didnt measure the fish as my boat is fully carpeted and didnt want to lay the fish down as they lose a lot of slime when you do that. Rather give it a better chance of survival.

Rod

simonpp82
30-05-2008, 09:38 PM
No snapper you say roderick??? I beg to differ! hahaha;) Awesome fish!

blue_mako
30-05-2008, 09:44 PM
PM me your email Rod. The pics are pretty clear and it's 2048x1536 res. so pretty big as well. Still not sure if the quality is up to scratch for a mag shot but we shall see I guess.

Beast Jewie mate. Nice to see some offshore fish lured on something other then the overrated Nuclear Chicken ;) . How's the weather down there at the moment? Pretty bad up here in Brisbane. The weekend is looking pretty hopeless and fishless for me!

Troy

Tetsuo
30-05-2008, 09:57 PM
Nice work! So what was the outfit you got her on? Good work on the release!

Cammy
30-05-2008, 11:32 PM
WHOPPER fish there Mate ! on ya!

Cammo

flickflack
31-05-2008, 10:06 AM
Simon

Yeah Yeah Rub it in mate. Those were rippers you got mate,

Troy

The weather looks pretty dodgy here for a week or so mate, but its good because it will bring the red bream in close again!!Will Pm you my mail adress

Tetsuo

The Rod was a Loomis Pro Blue and the reel a 4000 Certate Hyper. Any less and the big Snapper just bury you.

Rod

vertico
31-05-2008, 06:03 PM
what line you run on the certate ?
im running a certate 3500 with 30lb sunline on it and it seems pretty potent
sean

jackextracter
31-05-2008, 07:32 PM
I run a pro blue also a 15-30 pound stick matched up with a 4500 saltiga u need it when jiging for the big snaps and fingermark how did it handle on the jew what pound class rod is it?

flickflack
31-05-2008, 08:33 PM
Sean

35lb HG jigger braid from sunline , top quality braid been using the 20lb on my 2500 Certate for almost a year now.

Jackextracter

Same rod mate 15-30lb Pro Blue. I was getting done just about every outing until I upgraded. It handled the Jew really well never felt undergunned at all.

Rod

snatch
31-05-2008, 11:06 PM
Great fish. Even better that it got to fight again. Top Stuff.

the gecko
02-06-2008, 11:38 AM
Great fish rod. Nice to see you back on ausfish.

mattooty
02-06-2008, 02:37 PM
You've been hiding for that long rod and resurface with that!
Top fish mate!

breamnut
03-06-2008, 08:10 AM
Shit yeah that's a cracker Rod. When are you taking me out cause Nathan can't put me onto any fish out there!

My Thready was bigger then yours ;) .

Troy
you mean when re you taking me and Nathan out... geez so inconsiderate;)
it starts to get a little hard going outside in a 3.95m tinny chsing snapper at mid-day.:P

matt fraser
03-06-2008, 02:38 PM
Awesome Jewie Roderick!!! Geez its a dark coloured one, maybe he's been trying to blend in with the Cobia out there!

I actually bream fished the Tweed last wednesday for a few hours on the way to the Clarence. I ran into a couple of your mates at the ramp that told me about your Jewie, they got a couple of cobes - one really nice one.

Looks like fatherhood hasn't slowed you down - yet!::)

sangan
03-06-2008, 03:22 PM
That's one fine jew. Great work mate.

Donny Boy
04-06-2008, 07:32 PM
Hard to work out who's got the bigger grin, you or the Jewie.

What a Beauty.

flickflack
04-06-2008, 10:12 PM
Thanks guys, its good to see such a quality fish swim away after giving the angler so much pleasure. Judging from the big scar on his flank he had already had a close shave and survived.

Rod