View Full Version : Tinny Floor?

Gold_Coast_Chaser
29-05-2008, 03:15 PM
:) Hey,

Im just wondering, i have a tinny (3.5m approx), it has 2 metal seats and im wondering if someone knows how to insert a floor into the base in between the seats so it has a flat floor. Can you buy the frames for the floor or do they have to be made?

Any help on the topic will be appreciated!! ;D

The tinny below is similar to mine

http://i6.ebayimg.com/06/i/000/f3/9a/e6b5_1.JPG

Reel Nauti
29-05-2008, 03:28 PM
They are generally made Dylan. You could take it to someone who can weld up aluminium and have bracing frames put across your existing ribs. From there you can lay 12mm structural ply and you will have a good solid floor. If you wanted to, you could make up your own frame from treated pine and sit in the boat on top of the ribs. Then lay the ply.

Lot's of options mate. Sit down and have a think about it and use your imagination. As a fisherman, I'm sure you've got a good one! :)

maztez
29-05-2008, 03:30 PM
Hey Dylan Im in the process of making a floor for my tinny .Pm me for a phone number etc if you want to have a look .
cheers Terry

Gold_Coast_Chaser
29-05-2008, 03:50 PM
They are generally made Dylan. You could take it to someone who can weld up aluminium and have bracing frames put across your existing ribs. From there you can lay 12mm structural ply and you will have a good solid floor. If you wanted to, you could make up your own frame from treated pine and sit in the boat on top of the ribs. Then lay the ply.

Lot's of options mate. Sit down and have a think about it and use your imagination. As a fisherman, I'm sure you've got a good one! :)

Hey Dylan Im in the process of making a floor for my tinny .Pm me for a phone number etc if you want to have a look .
cheers Terry

Thanks Guys,:)

Reel Nauti, thanks, would you be able to give me some approximate prices on what you think both options would cost.

Maztez, thanks, how have you had your floor made?? How much has it cost you?

Once again Thanks! ;D

Reel Nauti
29-05-2008, 04:00 PM
Dylan I don't really know what it would cost you to get some bracing welded. Maybe a couple of hundred? And then probably around $60 for the ply.

To make it out of treated pine would be cheaper, probably around $50 + the ply. Having it all braced and welded will give you a stronger floor, and also assist with reinforcing the boat. Depends on how much you want to spend.

Another cheap way Dylan would be to buy some aluminium angle and rivet it to the bottom edge of your thwarts(seats) then sit the ply in. You would need to put some posts in under the ply though to support it.

maztez
29-05-2008, 04:02 PM
Just lost my post .All up has cost me around $120 to for deck with storage ,floor etc all carpeted .
cheers Terry

29-05-2008, 04:24 PM
Just lost my post .All up has cost me around $120 to for deck with storage ,floor etc all carpeted .
cheers Terry

Do you have any photo's mate?
I'm thinking of doing a similar thing to my tinnie but dont know where to start.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif

Mtx
29-05-2008, 04:46 PM
would this impact the weight too much and therefore the performance of the boat if you used treated pine?

Breambuster33
29-05-2008, 04:57 PM
disordly and gold coast chaser take a look at this thread. im sure this will give a few ideas

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=113652&page=8

castlemaine
29-05-2008, 05:25 PM
Dylan
Don't know for sure but a mechanic made me change my bracing for my motor on my tinny from a CCA pine to a teflon piece because he said the CCA can cause corrosion on the aluminium.
I've since sold my tinny but don't make the floor too high as I found it easy to fall out off. Also good if you can lift the floor easily to make easy cleaning and store crab floats, etc..
Good luck, all in the experience.
Cheers 8:)

29-05-2008, 05:37 PM
go to boral formwork, buy a sheet of formwork ply, ask for good one side, i think a 6ft x 4ft shet is only 32 bucks. just as good as marine ply,, just paint the underside with a sealer and it'll last for yonks

Reel Nauti
29-05-2008, 06:55 PM
I put form ply in my tinnie some years ago. Is still strong and sound. As for the weight, yep it added 40kgs but at or near waterline, but the boat rides and sits well with it.

Gold_Coast_Chaser
29-05-2008, 07:24 PM
Thanks Guys,

I think i know which type of ply to use now (and may use marine carpet if i do it) but im still unsure on which design i should use to create the floor. Im thinking the welding bracket may be the securest but also the most expensive. Im not really looking to spend all that much, cause really my tinny isnt worth a whole lot. Any more pointers will be appreciated but i will go and do some research on the internet, see what else i can find.

Thanks!

Breambuster33
29-05-2008, 08:13 PM
i have seen a boat that had no brackets. maybe around 15mm ply and was cut out to fit the sides of the boat and just rested on the sides of the boat. in no way did i see the ply flew so was pretty strong just maybe a bit heavier

TheSaint
29-05-2008, 08:16 PM
like this??

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=123420

Breambuster33
29-05-2008, 08:21 PM
not the one i had in mind but nice rig anyway saint;D

Kevaclone
29-05-2008, 10:35 PM
Thanks Guys,

I think i know which type of ply to use now (and may use marine carpet if i do it) but im still unsure on which design i should use to create the floor. Im thinking the welding bracket may be the securest but also the most expensive. Im not really looking to spend all that much, cause really my tinny isnt worth a whole lot. Any more pointers will be appreciated but i will go and do some research on the internet, see what else i can find.

Thanks!

does it have just the one rib between the seats or two?

from the look of that boat
all you need is (as stated previously) is a couple of lengths of ally angle pop rivited to the inner parts of the seats(this is just to stop the ply sagging when you walk on the centre of it) make them as low as possible so that when the form ply is fitted it sits right on the weld where the bottom and sides meet.
You will have to cut out some notches where the cross ribs are to get it to sit flat.

My old tinny had the angle sections sitting on top of the ply and screws to hold it in place but it also had 4 cross braces welded in so I only needed 12mm ply
this angle section also has the other benifit of stopping sinkers and other rolling objects rolling off and under the floor... crabs too

just be very careful when drilling holes for screws, just before I fitted one screw I noticed there was daylight shining through the hole......OOOPPS :-[ :-[ :-[

pedrodepacus
30-05-2008, 10:39 AM
hey dylan great to see a young guy fiddling about with a boat if you want to pm me il sort out the bits if ally you need out of the scrap bin for you

castlemaine
30-05-2008, 11:03 AM
Thanks Guys,

Thanks!

GCC
Years ago (before you were born) I saw in a magazine photos of a project tinny, a person building a floor and built the timber bracing holding up the floor similiar to the ribs in the boat. No metal screwing into the boat. Maybe a carpenter may give you some ideas. Any carpenters listening? Cheers 8-)

Gold_Coast_Chaser
30-05-2008, 03:09 PM
does it have just the one rib between the seats or two?

from the look of that boat
all you need is (as stated previously) is a couple of lengths of ally angle pop rivited to the inner parts of the seats(this is just to stop the ply sagging when you walk on the centre of it) make them as low as possible so that when the form ply is fitted it sits right on the weld where the bottom and sides meet.
You will have to cut out some notches where the cross ribs are to get it to sit flat.

My old tinny had the angle sections sitting on top of the ply and screws to hold it in place but it also had 4 cross braces welded in so I only needed 12mm ply
this angle section also has the other benifit of stopping sinkers and other rolling objects rolling off and under the floor... crabs too

just be very careful when drilling holes for screws, just before I fitted one screw I noticed there was daylight shining through the hole......OOOPPS :-[ :-[ :-[

hey dylan great to see a young guy fiddling about with a boat if you want to pm me il sort out the bits if ally you need out of the scrap bin for you

GCC
Years ago (before you were born) I saw in a magazine photos of a project tinny, a person building a floor and built the timber bracing holding up the floor similiar to the ribs in the boat. No metal screwing into the boat. Maybe a carpenter may give you some ideas. Any carpenters listening? Cheers 8-)

Hey Guys,:)

Im gonna have a talk to my dad about it tonight and ill show him your solutions and see what we come up with. Ive just had a look at my tinny (the picture before wasnt mine) and my tinny has 4 ribs between the 2 seats (As belows photo shows)

Thanks!;D

Coontakinta
30-05-2008, 03:36 PM
GCC & Disordely, I have just been through this with my 3.8

Hope the two links below are of help to u

http://www.breammaster.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20340

http://www.fishnet.com.au/forums/viewtopic.php?t=65880&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0&f=0

Mine is the top one. If you need any help just ask! ;) My fees are VERY reasonable;D

dreemon
30-05-2008, 05:01 PM
I've done the frount and rear floors on mine ( came with main floor) . like above, I;d go with the angle and prob square tube alloy at 3 lengths which should be enough span for you to use 12-16 mm ply and fix the alloy with screws or pop rivits, the hardest part would be scribing for the curve of the hull, ( a few cuts along with planing an angle to fit tight, ) then just paint waterproof on ply b4 carpet. I'm a chippy and multi skilled and have all the tools if you want a hand Im at Miami and have free time too, I can give you a few hrs for a box o beer, cheers

Gold_Coast_Chaser
30-05-2008, 05:23 PM
I've done the frount and rear floors on mine ( came with main floor) . like above, I;d go with the angle and prob square tube alloy at 3 lengths which should be enough span for you to use 12-16 mm ply and fix the alloy with screws or pop rivits, the hardest part would be scribing for the curve of the hull, ( a few cuts along with planing an angle to fit tight, ) then just paint waterproof on ply b4 carpet. I'm a chippy and multi skilled and have all the tools if you want a hand Im at Miami and have free time too, I can give you a few hrs for a box o beer, cheers

Thanks,

PM sent!

30-05-2008, 05:47 PM
GCC & Disordely, I have just been through this with my 3.8

Hope the two links below are of help to u

http://www.breammaster.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20340

http://www.fishnet.com.au/forums/viewtopic.php?t=65880&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0&f=0

Mine is the top one. If you need any help just ask! ;) My fees are VERY reasonable;D

Cheers mate....your boat come up a treat....and how about that fishnet thread....pretty keen....
I'm thinking about putting a single height floor right through at the height of the seats and add a couple of pedestals for seating...purely a creek boat and its very stable ....any reason you can think of why it would not be a good idea.

Coontakinta
31-05-2008, 09:07 AM
Scott apart from the stability issue, I'm at a loss to see why u couldnt. But it really depends on how stable your craft is. Might be now, but raising the floor level especially the height I think your talkling about can be very detrimental.

You sould proceed with lots of caution and be confident in its ability to remain stable with a floor of that height.

Oh and thanks for the thumbs up on the tinnie. Not totaly happy with the end result. Its a bit rough!, but reckon for a bloke who isnt much of a DIY'r it aint too bad

Gold_Coast_Chaser
07-06-2008, 08:30 PM
Hey Guys,

Over the last few weeks since i started this thread, dreemon (Johhny) offered to give me a hand in creating a liftout floor for my tinny. He used 15mm Ply (I think) and cut slightly into the ply to allow it to sit on the ribs. There was no need for any support between the floor and the tinny but there was some support under the floor so that it didnt flex. I have primed it and done 1 coat of waterproof paint so far and will do the second coat tomorrow before I buy the marine carpet and then Johnny will be able to fit it using a staple gun. Ill add the photos of the final product so that people in the future may see an example. Once again i would like to thank dreemon (Johhny) for all your help!!

;D PHOTOS COMING!;D

levinge
08-06-2008, 08:35 AM
Gold Coat Chaser another way you can secure the carpet without using staples is by way of securing the ends of the carpet using thread guards for stairs secured with stainless screws and washers, this way it is dead easy to replace and you don't have to spend the day removing heaps of staples. Mine is attached to a plate floor but the same would apply to marine ply..

Gold_Coast_Chaser
09-06-2008, 03:25 PM
Gold Coat Chaser another way you can secure the carpet without using staples is by way of securing the ends of the carpet using thread guards for stairs secured with stainless screws and washers, this way it is dead easy to replace and you don't have to spend the day removing heaps of staples. Mine is attached to a plate floor but the same would apply to marine ply..

Thanks for that, levinge, I think it should be alright the way weve planned it, that would of definetly been an option if we thought about it a few weeks ago, its starting to come together now so i will post the photos most likely tonight or tomorrow.

Gold_Coast_Chaser
09-06-2008, 04:34 PM
Hey Guys,

Me and my dad have just finished creating the floor for our tinny, we glued the carpet down first then used galv. screws to support it even more. Im very happy with the end result and would like to thank "dreemon", (Johhny), once more for all the help he put it in!!

The photos attached are of the floor while it is not in the boat because it is a lift out floor which is more convenient for us. I will also add photos of it while it is in the tinny tomorrow (because the tinny is down on the canal and the weather was stopping me today). The pink paint is waterproof and Johnny already had it in that colour so it was worth using without buying new stuff.

Breambuster33
09-06-2008, 04:44 PM
has came up a treat dylan.
i bet your happy with the job that you have done

dreemon
10-06-2008, 07:06 AM
IT"S done ! looks good, how does it sit/fit with the carpet? or is it to wet to try,
( the colour is terrocota ) we'll have to go for a burn up the canal and ya can show me where the bull sharks hang out when I come back for the pergolla repair, I'll ring your dad, too wet for work today, see ya , and ;D cheers for the beers

Gold_Coast_Chaser
10-06-2008, 07:48 PM
IT"S done ! looks good, how does it sit/fit with the carpet? or is it to wet to try,
( the colour is terrocota ) we'll have to go for a burn up the canal and ya can show me where the bull sharks hang out when I come back for the pergolla repair, I'll ring your dad, too wet for work today, see ya , and ;D cheers for the beers

Hey Johnny,:)

Yeh it looks great, Me and Dad are going out fishing tomorrow in the morning because i have a day off school so ill tell ya how it sits in the boat after that. Havent been able to put it in yet cause of dodgy weather. Just kidding about the paint:P ,it doesnt matter what colour it is, it is underneath anyway. Dont really know were to catch the bullys, only ever caught 1 and we cant remember which canal mouth it was :-/ . Anyways, Hopefully me and my dad get into some bream tomorrow morning ;D . Ill let you know how the floor sits!

Cya!

Gold_Coast_Chaser
11-06-2008, 08:43 AM
We put the floor in the tinny this morning and it fitted perfectly. There was no movement and it was great. We were all ready to go, too bad the motor wasnt, it didnt start, GRRRRR, :-X . Now i have to stay home and study instead :'( , Dad has taken it down to the boat mechanics (is that what there called) to see if they can fix it today so we can hopefully get out for a few hours the sarvo.

Anywayz i took a few photos of the floor while it is in the boat: