View Full Version : Its definately official Two Strokes are obsolete!

nowornever
29-05-2008, 02:16 PM
Who said four strokes dont have enough punch.:P

<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/nl1nQ67HyJQ&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/nl1nQ67HyJQ&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>

snatch
29-05-2008, 02:20 PM
:o Laugh now...Cry when something goes wrong. With the engine that is. Massively expensive to repair.

nowornever
29-05-2008, 02:23 PM
:o Laugh now...Cry when something goes wrong.Well id rather get 5000 hours of a motor, then a 1200 hour throw away job.

After my last week, all the two strokes I have seen have broken down. The four stroke come through. As they do time and time again.

Go the four strokes ha ha.

29-05-2008, 02:29 PM
Jesus, that's some statement, "all the 2 strokes you have seen have broken down" pretty bold to sprout that I reckon, about anything!

29-05-2008, 02:36 PM
LOL, what a sh!t stirrer! But I know he's just having a poke.;D

onerabbit
29-05-2008, 03:26 PM
Nothing wrong with my 2stroke, should we all put up 30seconds of film to back our statement????

nowornever
29-05-2008, 03:35 PM
Jesus, that's some statement, "all the 2 strokes you have seen have broken down" pretty bold to sprout that I reckon, about anything!If you want to have a two stroke in your life make it a lawn mower.

cod muncher
29-05-2008, 03:48 PM
4 choke shit box8-)

29-05-2008, 04:42 PM
Yeah right.....here we go again....these pretzels are makin' me thirsty.

29-05-2008, 04:49 PM
Lot's of secondhand spare parts around now for these 4 strokes esp the Yamaha's and Honda's as they have been on the market for a little while when compared to standard 2st models, feel sorry for those that owned them, they cannot all have sunk and received an insurance payout....

29-05-2008, 05:27 PM
You had to go and start it up again...............::) ::) ::) ::) ::)

Here are some specs:-
250hp 4 stroke pushing a 685 cruisecraft.

I think you can still get holeshot punch if propped correctly.

Mtx
29-05-2008, 05:43 PM
POPCORN.. GET YOUR POPCORN HERE

castlemaine
29-05-2008, 06:36 PM
Maybe we could start an artificial reef with all those 4 strokes 8:)

Rob128
29-05-2008, 06:58 PM
Hey MTX, put me down for a bag....;D

I guess were lucky he didn't mention E-tec as well !!!!

marco
29-05-2008, 07:05 PM
can i take this opportunity to ask everyone for their honest opinion about etecs as i'm thinking of getting one .

Deepdiver
29-05-2008, 07:31 PM
2 Stroke---4 Stroke,who gives a s#*t as long as it gets me out to my favorite fishing spot.BTW noworRever did you ever stop and think some fishos simply carn`t afford to update to a 4 stroke,and just for the record i do own a four stroke and yer it`s good and i like it a lot.But it would want to be bloody good for the price.

snatch
29-05-2008, 07:36 PM
Nothing wrong with my 2stroke, should we all put up 30seconds of film to back our statement????

I'd need to run my camera on slowmo. After all I own a two stroke. Anymore than two strokes is a pull;)

Wahoo
29-05-2008, 07:51 PM
can i take this opportunity to ask everyone for their honest opinion about etecs as i'm thinking of getting one .

hit the search tab up top, type in E - Tec, there is one or two threads about them

Mister
29-05-2008, 08:30 PM

You must be due for your next 4S innoculation? The boss has to keep you 4S robots on the go somehow. How long since your batteries were changed?

Jabba_
29-05-2008, 08:33 PM

Hey, you should enter into next year's bridge to bridge and show all those obsolete 2 strokes how it's done....

You might hear the word "Tosser" throwen around, but I assure you they wont be talking about you....

29-05-2008, 09:00 PM
I think I would rather have a 2st diesel inboard with a supercharger.

Bugger the short lifespans of outboards.

Xahn1960
29-05-2008, 11:25 PM
My 2 stroke is 20yrs old and still going strong..... Obsolete or not, when your on a good thing...... Stick to it :)

Bill.

29-05-2008, 11:54 PM
As I sit here thinking about my next outboard purchase (Sipping a nice whisky on the rocks, munching some crackers), the out board will be a 2 stroke, old tech one at that. Going to buyt a 5hp tohatsu @ $1250. Why, well its light, in built fuel tank + you can hook up external tank, run on the smell of an oil rag (that sweet 2 stroke smell), It might do 20hrs a year if lucky. So now tell me why you would spend $1000 more for a 4 stroke.
They are not dead, far from it but they do have there application as does the 4 stroke and high tech 2 strokes
Ps might as well add I have know brains and cant think for my self and fellow even one else like a lamb to the slaughter

UNCLE NUGGY
30-05-2008, 12:19 AM
If you want to have a two stroke in your life make it a lawn mower.
you can come and borrow mine when ya need a better hole shot or your sick of all the moving parts
UN

Mtx- 2 boxes please

30-05-2008, 05:51 AM
there must be something wrong with some of you blokes. Fishing is all about the exhaust smell of a 2 stroke and the noise...methinks some are turning into pansies.

30-05-2008, 06:00 AM
Popcorn here thanks. I'm over pretzels.

I'm glad this is a typed conversation, it would be difficult to understand everyone talking with their tongues in their cheeks...

Actually it's nice that no one seems to be taking this too seriously!

Who ever made the comment about the arti reef out of four strokes, I agree completely. If you made it from 2's it'd be rusted away in 6 months! MWAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!;D;D;D;D

Mtx
30-05-2008, 07:13 AM
If you want to have a two stroke in your life make it a lawn mower.

My Lawn mower is a 4 stroke :)

30-05-2008, 08:01 AM
Maybe we should put up a Poll / Post " POPCORN Vs PRETZELS";D

It would be about as interesting ::)

Nagg

cod muncher
30-05-2008, 08:32 AM
i think most motors , 2 or 4 stroke are really good , but i reckon it's the f*%#heads who own em that are the problem & yes i love me E TEC:D

STUIE63
30-05-2008, 08:44 AM
Maybe we should put up a Poll / Post " POPCORN Vs PRETZELS";D

It would be about as interesting ::)

Nagg

Nagg you would also have to add peanuts to the poll and we won't even get into which beer to drink with it

30-05-2008, 08:47 AM
And what about some healthy snacking alternatives, such as carrots, apples, or perhaps mandarins?

30-05-2008, 08:52 AM
And what about some healthy snacking alternatives, such as carrots, apples, or perhaps mandarins?

Let me guess a 4 stroke owner;D;D;D;D

Imagine the number of 4 st owners 2 stroke manufacturers could steal if they included a fake tan with every engine sold LOL!;D

Donny Boy
30-05-2008, 08:54 AM
if you get the e-tec DVD, and watch that, you'd think that there was no other brand of motor on the bloody market........

Donny Boy
30-05-2008, 08:55 AM
Having said that, my 2 stroke'll do for a wee while yet...........

30-05-2008, 08:59 AM
Hey Donny, if you got the ETEC video, and believed it, I've got some land in Alaska that might be just right for you! The price is spot on!!! ;D;D;D;D

30-05-2008, 09:39 AM
Nagg you would also have to add peanuts to the poll and we won't even get into which beer to drink with it

Stuie ...... With the rash::) (sorry) of peanut allergies .... it might be politically incorrect to promote peanuts!
But I'd go with the beer poll

nagg

30-05-2008, 09:42 AM
Let me guess a 4 stroke owner;D;D;D;D

Imagine the number of 4 st owners 2 stroke manufacturers could steal if they included a fake tan with every engine sold LOL!;D

I'm guessing Minn Kota or Motorguide ....... or possibly even Jarvis Walker;D

Nagg

30-05-2008, 09:44 AM
i think most motors , 2 or 4 stroke are really good , but i reckon it's the f*%#heads who own em that are the problem & yes i love me E TEC:D

The nut that holds the wheel hey! ...... Well said CM:)

Nagg

30-05-2008, 10:05 AM
Hey Donny, if you got the ETEC video, and believed it, I've got some land in Alaska that might be just right for you! The price is spot on!!! ;D;D;D;D

Ha Tim ....ya lost me.
Which part wasn't true? http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

BTW how much is that land of your's?http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/tongue.gif

30-05-2008, 11:45 AM
Ha Tim ....ya lost me.
Which part wasn't true? http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

I'm a bit funny about the way the ETEC got tuned to best height on the transom, best prop for the job, then the two other donks were set up exactly the same way. I suspect if the Yammie Guys and the Merc Guys were asked to optimise their rigs in similar fashion, the race would've been a little closer.

It's just marketing, and I doubt whether there's any manufacturer out there who would've done it differently, had they thought of it first.

BTW how much is that land of your's?http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/tongue.gif

LOL, I said it was the right price for Donny. I reckon you'd think it was too cheap, and smell a rat. Don't tell Donny I said that!8-)

30-05-2008, 01:27 PM
I'm a bit funny about the way the ETEC got tuned to best height on the transom, best prop for the job, then the two other donks were set up exactly the same way. I suspect if the Yammie Guys and the Merc Guys were asked to optimise their rigs in similar fashion, the race would've been a little closer.

It's just marketing, and I doubt whether there's any manufacturer out there who would've done it differently, had they thought of it first.

LOL, I said it was the right price for Donny. I reckon you'd think it was too cheap, and smell a rat. Don't tell Donny I said that!8-)

No way,Timi....

You really reckon that BRP would use such skulduggery just to sell a few engines......shame on you!!!http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif...I suppose next you will be telling me that McDonalds don't make healthy burgers...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.

BTW if your piece of land in Alaska has a bridge on it I'd certainly be interested.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif

marco
30-05-2008, 06:07 PM
hit the search tab up top, type in E - Tec, there is one or two threads about them

thanks wahoo , but that was slightly tongue in cheek

Blaster Bretty
30-05-2008, 06:19 PM
there must be something wrong with some of you blokes. Fishing is all about the exhaust smell of a 2 stroke and the noise...methinks some are turning into pansies.

Yeah pin... love the smell of the 2 bangers. I had an old TZR 250 road bike made by yamaha, man when you rode it you have to hang on for dear life, it was superceeded by the mother of all 2 banger 250's the great RGV by suzuki which revolutionised the sports bike industry into what it is today and yes i'll say it again.... gotta love the 2 stroke smell!!!

Bretty

bastard
30-05-2008, 08:29 PM
I dont get the video,no rpms or gps speed,just some blokes laughing and the wash from a boat,am i missing something.::)

Jabba_
30-05-2008, 09:10 PM
Yeah, 2 stokes are dead in the water and cant compete with them grunty 4 stokes......

The picture is a 300 E-tec pushing a 680 Patriot @ 54mph according to the GPS....
Yep, there's no place for the 2 strokes anymore....
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/27042008.jpg

Reel Nauti
30-05-2008, 09:33 PM
The last time I saw this much shit was when my dog ate ratsack. There is enough on this thread to choke even those who live on sh!t.

dreemon
31-05-2008, 07:44 AM
I 'm an Ausfish member because of theads like this:D classic !
2 strokes use more fuel because they make more power

Mister
31-05-2008, 09:25 AM
The last time I saw this much shit was when my dog ate ratsack. There is enough on this thread to choke even those who live on sh!t.

Halleluiah bother those are my kinder words

Outsider1
02-06-2008, 04:17 PM
I go away for a few days and Mtx shoulders in on my popcorn concession, bugga;D;D

I have been away on camping and shooting trip. A mate took along his old Bultaco Montessa 250. Shit they were peaky, but didn't it go like the clappers when you hit the power band! Brought back heaps of memories>;)

02-06-2008, 06:55 PM
Shit they were peaky, but didn't it go like the clappers when you hit the power band! Brought back heaps of memories>;)

Peaky power bands and memories,huh.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

I still vividly remember my first race meet on a YZ 80 E when I was not much older than 10 or so..
Home track...plenty of people(and my family) lined up beside the start line...the lovely aroma of racing fuel....the revving of motors....the big elastic band was released...As I released the clutch the front wheel came up...yeeha..cool as sh!t...then the powerband hit and ....of course next thing I remember I was laying on my back and the bike was nowhere to be seen.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/lipsrsealed.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/embarassed.gif

Gotta love that powerband.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif