View Full Version : cars parking in boat spots
Tassie JR
27-05-2008, 06:00 PM
Hi im just wondering everyones thoughts on cars parking in boat spots at the boat ramps, reason being we arrived at spinaker sound marina at 4.30am on sunday and there was five cars parked in boat spots. I would hate to be the people arriving at the ramp at say 7.00am with there boats and having to park on the side of bribie rd. There is a car park for cars across the rd why cant they park there. So do you think cars should be allowed to park in boat parks.
cheers tassie JR
scrubba01
27-05-2008, 06:07 PM
Thats why we all have bull bars on our tow vehicles isn't it? Ha Ha
Keechie
27-05-2008, 06:19 PM
i beleive yes only responsibly though, like as all the normal car spots were full i could undestant them parking there. when i went to jacobs well with my family and my pop and nan there was no where else to go so we both parked in 1 of the boat spots.
regards,
keechie
27-05-2008, 06:31 PM
There are always plenty of car parks but no Boat and trailer parks just because some one is lazy to walk extra 200 metres they use them then the poor boatie has to park his trailer that distance
rayken1938
27-05-2008, 06:47 PM
They will get booked if they park in the designated trailer parking places at Redland Bay. And so they should imagine the congestion on the ramp if a boatie has to spend 20 minutes walking to where his trailer is parked. After all the trailer parking and associated ramps are paid for by our boating fees.
Ray
stingau
27-05-2008, 06:57 PM
I hve on a rare occasion had to park in a boat parking bay deep water bend is oneif my memory serves me correct has limited "car" spaces also on the weekend at scarborough I noticed that it has heaps of boat spaces but only about 10 car spots. All it takes is for the tow vehicle to be a ute and they have a few deckies with them then they require 2 spaces. On the rare occasion that I have had to park in a boat space I try to park in one that is drive thru which enables another car to park behind me.
If more forthought was put into boat ramp design I'm sure this problem wouldnt occur
i beleive yes only responsibly though, like as all the normal car spots were full i could undestant them parking there. when i went to jacobs well with my family and my pop and nan there was no where else to go so we both parked in 1 of the boat spots.
regards,
keechie
gotto feel sorry for people in those situations ......... but it is just like parking in a disabled spot if no other parks are available ( not quite ... but you know what I mean:-X )
Nagg
uripper
27-05-2008, 07:06 PM
regards,
keechie
Keechie
Methinks you've (quite innocently) just shed another light on a thread that would normally generate considerable venting & anger.
Car & boat trailer units are not the easiest of things to find a park for (many are 10-15m long). It is a scenario that most trailer boat owners would spew over - - to find a dedicated vehicle /trailer carpark full & some inconsiderate pr!ck(s) parking their piece of sh!t at the boat ramp cause they couldn't give a flying f**k !!>:( >:(
On the other hand, your description of your scenario is entirely different - it made me think of other possibilities - and I thank you for that. :) :)
Anyway ... back to my ramp problem ... wish I could use a really faarking big excavator with grappling jaws to deal with the offensive vermin ;) ;) then proceed smoothly into launch mode as if that spot had been destined for me - aaaahhhhhhh 8-)
have a good day
MalM
UNCLE NUGGY
27-05-2008, 07:31 PM
No
there is no need for it
maybe if any occupants of the car cant get around so good they could be dropped off near the ramp area & the driver & more agile passengers could park the car in a CAR park & walk to were they want to be.
UN
SgBFish
27-05-2008, 07:38 PM
Tassie.
This is a case of where we used to have unwritten rules that people seem to know. We know have a situation where because of a number of reason peoples attitudes are " I was here first and bugger you".
A classic example of what you describe occurs at the Coast Guard ramp at Mooloolaba. Over summer it fills with beach goers who either have no idea or simply don’t care.
Is it legal?
SummerTrance
27-05-2008, 07:56 PM
I hve on a rare occasion had to park in a boat parking bay deep water bend is oneif my memory serves me correct has limited "car" spaces also on the weekend at scarborough I noticed that it has heaps of boat spaces but only about 10 car spots. All it takes is for the tow vehicle to be a ute and they have a few deckies with them then they require 2 spaces. On the rare occasion that I have had to park in a boat space I try to park in one that is drive thru which enables another car to park behind me.
If more forthought was put into boat ramp design I'm sure this problem wouldnt occur
Mate, I still dont think thats a good enough excuse. What, because there is only limited car spaces, or you have two vehicles. Park your car out on the road, and leave the trailer spaces for vehicles with trailers. I spose youd park in the rigging lane (Like many people do every weekend at Deepwater) if there was no spare spaces. Come on... park out on the road and walk the extra 200 metres. It's just inconsiderate lazyness in my opinon ::)
Tassie JR
27-05-2008, 08:06 PM
Well thanks everyone for the replies and a few different opinions happening, another reason is alot of boaties that go fishing alone have to leave there boats parked on the beach unnatended for a long period time while they walk to get there car and trailer and risk there gear getting stolen very unlikly but it can happen.
cheers tassie JR
Davey1
27-05-2008, 08:14 PM
Parking around the ramps beside the VMR on the Gold Coast Spit is hopeless on Saturday mornings when they have the dragon boat racing, cars everywhere in trailer places. I'm waiting for the day when a couple of car/trailer combos gang up & park a few of these cars in >:(
And they give you greasy looks if you dare use the ramps to launch your boat where they are racing. I mean these guys have the entire Broadwater to race on but they choose to do it right in front of the boat ramps.
Presumably dragon boat racing gets you fit, well try kicking it off by parking in the proper places & walk the short distance :)
I feel better now ;D
maztez
27-05-2008, 08:35 PM
Not so long ago Gawby couldnt get a boat trailer park at the Grand ramp because of all the deadshiiit parked there .He had to park on the road and on return had been booked ...the system stinks ...
Terry
theclick
27-05-2008, 08:36 PM
I got a bit of a story actually
On mothers day the akff crew were having a bit of a function at coochie. arrived at 5am to find most of the carpark of the lower section full with the cars of people who live on coochie. However, there were a few spots free in the centre carpark which were free, so without thinking i went and drove in with my nose up to another car.
There was kinda a blurred out line on the ground which indicated it was car separated car parking, so i thought nothing of it. Parked down there because i didnt really feel like wheeling a kayak 300m to get to a ramp, and then back again.
Anyway, went for my paddle, came back and found a parking ticket. So i looked for the sign, which was obscured by a tree. I copped it on the chin and realised i did something wrong, but if they are going to make that boat parking only, atleast completely remove the line AND book the bastards who park their car closest to the ramp who live on coochie. No need for it to be there.
Now, i had a kayak, so i needed to be parked in close distance to the ramp, and we arent "meant to use" public boat ramps, so we have to wheel it too and back again. In addition to this, a kayak is a hell of alot easier to steal than a boat, and subsequently steal off. So leaving it at a ramp while you walk 300m out of sight to put your cart back in your car is like erecting a sign that says" steal my reels and fish finders, i'm ok with it!"
Should there be a "kayak only" parking area? How bout a divers? Wind surfers?
All in all it was $50 for a mixture of my own stupidity, a lack of lighting, over grown trees, shitty carpark marking, an bad planning that assumes that only boating cars need high proximity car parking
You gotta remember there is always 2 sides to a story
reel scream
27-05-2008, 09:46 PM
gotto feel sorry for people in those situations ......... but it is just like parking in a disabled spot if no other parks are available ( not quite ... but you know what I mean:-X )
Nagg
Sorry NAGG, but there really is NO reason for parking in a disabled persons spot. It's not on. These people need them to to get their loved ones to the shop/bank/appointment- hard enough for most of them.
Not saying you do it though.
Dan- sounds like it will get worst though mate. That ramp(whole marina area) is privately owned and ? some stage soon will be duplexes like on the south side.
You guys will have to leave the mainland and launch over at Bribie.
VMR Bribie offers a lock up area for an extra one off $7 on top of the $44 a year fee for 5hrs free towing.($88 the first year)
Cheers Scott
reel scream
27-05-2008, 09:52 PM
Got me thinking- maybe a small fee to get on the island should be on the cards. The bridge is getting as bad as the Hornibrook.
Hmm. $5 to come over , stamp your passport and a small donation of1/4 of the catch to the local nursing homes;D .
Cheers Scott
Xahn1960
27-05-2008, 10:52 PM
It is simply inconsiderate.... no other way to put it. Maybe people who do it should try to seek out a park twice the length of their car and feel the frustration for themselves..
Bill.
28-05-2008, 05:26 AM
If you have no boat, you can't park in the trailer spaces. It is the height of bad manners. If you can't find a park, go do something else. Seriosly, there must be a park somewhere - if you're a deckie, drop your gear off, and go park a K away - the exercise is always good.
I sympathise with the kayakers/divers/wind surfers. They muddy up the debate and make a solution difficult. Not sure what to do with them. Maybe have them all shot?;D;D;D;D
I like the Raby Bay setup. There is ample parking, and obviously that's the best solution. Unfortunately with the price of Real Estate in some places, it's just not that easy.
And for those who think, "I'm alright Jack, stuff you", well, what goes around comes around. Hope they have a tyre pump in the car if I can't use a ramp.
28-05-2008, 06:01 AM
Well I personally think they should not be allowed to park in a trailer park and if they do and the trailer park runs out of spaces then we should have the right to park them in and their car can just stay where it is until we return back from our fishing trip. ;) Perhaps all trailer parks should include designated single car park spaces for Kayak, car toppers, and even handicapped parks for those with disabilities who are going out as deckies? Perhaps a letter to the local MP is in order?
Keechie
28-05-2008, 06:34 AM
i understand as i own a boat and my dad and i have had to walk quite a distance to get to the ramp, but whenever i can i launch from a ramp where there is lots of car parks like cabbage tree creek, there is plenty of parking and fish cleaning benchs, toilets, etc. i was meaning by responsibly that they would park at the furthest park from the ramp even if there was a park right up the front.
regards,
keechie
Sorry NAGG, but there really is NO reason for parking in a disabled persons spot. It's not on. These people need them to to get their loved ones to the shop/bank/appointment- hard enough for most of them.
Not saying you do it though.
Dan- sounds like it will get worst though mate. That ramp(whole marina area) is privately owned and ? some stage soon will be duplexes like on the south side.
You guys will have to leave the mainland and launch over at Bribie.
VMR Bribie offers a lock up area for an extra one off $7 on top of the $44 a year fee for 5hrs free towing.($88 the first year)
Cheers Scott
Scott ..... I think you read me wrong :'(
I just used the disabled parking as a comparison ( wrong to park in either - unless you are allowed )
I added the "not quite" ........ because it is worst parking in a disabled spot
I hope that clears that up !
Nagg
if you don't have a trailer you have no right to be in a trailer designated parking spot at a boat ramp, end of story..>:(>:(>:(
if you have old or unwell people that need to be there, drop them in front of where you need to be & go & park your car somewhere else, pick up the same.
Canoes, windsurfers etc can be launched anywhere, they don't need to be at the boat ramps.
theclick
28-05-2008, 10:13 AM
Canoes, windsurfers etc can be launched anywhere, they don't need to be at the boat ramps.
Bollocks. At certain areas with beaches yes, at areas with rock walls (like most of the bay side), then no, we cannot "launch it anywhere". Just like boats, these things are in danger from rocks, oysters, barnacles ect so no you cannot launch anywhere.
In addition to that, the very reason we cant launch in most seaside areas is because they have been altered from their natural state to accommodate boaties. So dont get all up in arms when we need to use a ramp.
Bollocks. At certain areas with beaches yes, at areas with rock walls (like most of the bay side), then no, we cannot "launch it anywhere". Just like boats, these things are in danger from rocks, oysters, barnacles ect so no you cannot launch anywhere.
In addition to that, the very reason we cant launch in most seaside areas is because they have been altered from their natural state to accommodate boaties. So dont get all up in arms when we need to use a ramp.
maybe there should be some kind of registration fees on canoes, windsurfers etc & then they can have the same rights at boat ramps as those that do have registration..get a sticker on their vehicle that states they have paid & are contributing to the (minimal) upkeep of boat ramps.. & can use the designated parking bays.;D
28-05-2008, 11:51 AM
Sounds like the register/don't register debate on bicycles (I think they should be). Maybe it's not a bad idea to have a dated sticker on your car, purchased for whatever price is right, to show why you're parked there. seems a sensible option, and should alleviate the headache a bit.
Mr__Bean
28-05-2008, 01:23 PM
So dont get all up in arms when we need to use a ramp.
Agree......
But it still doesn't give the right to park in the larger parking spots that are provided for cars with trailers attached.
- Darren
SeaHunt
28-05-2008, 01:27 PM
Whatever the signs say, if there is no signs, help yourself.
If there is a sign there that says cars with boat trailers only, then that is what it should be, all others should be fined regularly, repeat offenders towed.
At Nudgee they all park in the rigging area and have a picnic, you have to double park to setup, I love saying "you shouldn't be parked there anyway mate", when they try to get out and you have parked them in, needless to say I don't hurry.
jacobvz
28-05-2008, 02:10 PM
how about taking your trailer off your car and putting it in a car space? is this acceptable behaviour?
I sometimes launch at a ramp that has a lot of parking spaces for the people that picknick there and though I have never really paid attention to it to see if there is signs stating it is not allowed (although on what grounds that would be a legal being that I have paid me rego on the trailer?) and never had too, I would park my trailer in a car spot and put my car next to it if that means not having to walk the steep hill leading to the ramp.
True, it requires a wheel clamp and hitch clamp to make sure it is still there upon arrival.
Mostly I launch from the boat club I joined for a very little fee a year and enjoy a nice 4 lane ramp with enough parking.
Jack
theclick
28-05-2008, 02:28 PM
I'd be happy to pay a kayak rego fee that is appropriate to the strain we put on public infrastructure. Mind you, it woud be a hell of alot less.
And then with this figure, you can offset the greenhouse gas savings me make, pay half the price because the carparks only need to be half as big, think about the reduced impact we have on the environment such as turtles and so forth.
Then you would be looking at a fee which would be appropriate.
I'm making no excuses for the fact i parked in the wrong spot, so be it, i did something wrong, i cop a fine. I'm getting more shitty at the crew who think that because they own a boat, they own the ramp. I think you'll find a majority of the funding for these ramps comes from out local councils, and the department of Main Roads and everyone's taxes, not just ya boat rego's.
Oh, and with my "rego fee" i'd expect some kayak specific infrastructure too.
One of the major underlying issues here is a planning issue on the carpark scale. Car park allotments should be specific to the demand. There should not be a million empty boat parking areas with not a normal parking zone within 500m for those who need proximity to a launching spot.
Whats with the agro that some people have these days? In reality, everyone is out to have a good day, and yes, people make mistakes by being to slow at the ramp. So if they are having trouble, instead of yelling at them and getting all upset, go over and ask if they need a hand so everyone can get going quicker.
This stuff isnt your, theirs or anyone elses because they have paid a rego, it's the publics, and that share of use should be recognised, and respected.
honda900
28-05-2008, 02:38 PM
"I'd be happy to pay a kayak rego fee that is appropriate to the strain we put on public infrastructure. Mind you, it woud be a hell of alot less"
Great then, just like us motorcyclists you can also pay 3/4 of the cost of what my 4wd costs to drive on the road, and how about the cyclists, lets get them on board as well. ;) hey thatll spruce up the ramps.
Honda
theclick
28-05-2008, 02:44 PM
"I'd be happy to pay a kayak rego fee that is appropriate to the strain we put on public infrastructure. Mind you, it woud be a hell of alot less"
Great then, just like us motorcyclists you can also pay 3/4 of the cost of what my 4wd costs to drive on the road, and how about the cyclists, lets get them on board as well. ;) hey thatll spruce up the ramps.
HondaIf you pay too much, there you have every reason to be unhappy about it. I wasnt having a go at motorcyclist, or the registration system for any other form of transport. I'm not aware of motorcycling registration systems so i can't really comment.
I assume alot of the extra registration that goes with motorcycling would be to do with the extra pressure they put on the public hospital and emergency response systems. I think i saw a figure somewhere which quoted that motorcyclists were to a power of 10 times more likely to be involved in a serious road incident causing death or injury than a car user.
As for the cyclist, i think the common users should pay if everyone is happy with the user pays system that we currently live with. Government are probably reluctant to do so as it would discourage bicycle usage, which is a clean, and healthy traveling method.
Myself, i'm not too up for user pays governmental systems, of which we are currently heading for. It disadvantages those in lower socio-economic positions, and really causes some serious social equity problems.
Not to mention, it makes things a hell of alot more complicated
if we dont pay a walking registration, can we not walk on footpaths? If we dont pay a public park user registration, can we not play in teh parks? It's a ridiculous, subjective, overcomplicated and narrow minded system.
28-05-2008, 03:00 PM
Yes I almost gave myself a hernia last time I tried to launch my canoe, and not offend boat owners (of which I am one as well, and fully rego'd)
I parked in the correct spot for a car, at Nudgee, trollied the canoe to the sand beside the ramp, scratched the paint, cursed and then told my 7 year old son to sit tight while I went and got the leccy and rods / pfds and esky.
I was buggered by the time I got set up, even before I wet a paddle I was feeling like a lie down. Its a 30+KG fibreglass canoe so once you have a battery in there and all the accessories, it is flamin heavy.
On the flip side, last time I launched at Cabbage tree creek, I had to ask someone to hold the tinny for me while I parked my car / trailer about 200mtrs away where there was a space, and jog back !!
moater
28-05-2008, 03:14 PM
maybe there should be some kind of registration fees on canoes, windsurfers etc & then they can have the same rights at boat ramps as those that do have registration..get a sticker on their vehicle that states they have paid & are contributing to the (minimal) upkeep of boat ramps.. & can use the designated parking bays.;D
Too right!!...only people with a watercraft that's too heavy to carry/wheel should be using designated boat & trailer parking areas and of course they should pay the same fees.
As for the larrddy-dahh mob that want to park there because you can see the water -- they should be prosecuted severely..or maybe a bit of boat trailer sticking out could give 'em a bit of a 'scrape'..would be a good deterrent!;)
baitwaster
28-05-2008, 03:25 PM
Well I personally think they should not be allowed to park in a trailer park and if they do and the trailer park runs out of spaces then we should have the right to park them in and their car can just stay where it is until we return back from our fishing trip. ;) Perhaps all trailer parks should include designated single car park spaces for Kayak, car toppers, and even handicapped parks for those with disabilities who are going out as deckies? Perhaps a letter to the local MP is in order?
I think this is the most sensible suggestion to come from this thread. Clearly marking whose spaces are whose, and policing it is the best option. A 250 x 350mm sign with trees growing over it is not exactly clear, and easy for Joe public to ignore. A 900 x 600mm reflective bugger is more appropriate, along with clear linemarking, and would eliminate a lot of "confusion". I doubt that most councils are aware of the needs of yakkers etc, and a few well placed letters may actually be helpful to everyone who uses the ramps.
BTW - Once at deepwater bend, I was getting ready to throw the boat in, and some clown came and parked in the rigging zone, locked his car and started walking away. When I confronted him, his excuse was "I'll only be half an hour". When my criticism got much louder, and more expletives started coming out of me at the top of my voice in earshot of a few more boaties, the gent in question decided the rigging area was not a good place to leave his car all of a sudden. In fact, he hopped in and left altogether. I did not threaten him at all, but another member of the boating fraternity suggested he may need a snorkel to get back to his car if he left it alone for half an hour LOL.
stingau
28-05-2008, 03:42 PM
Mate, I still dont think thats a good enough excuse. What, because there is only limited car spaces, or you have two vehicles. Park your car out on the road, and leave the trailer spaces for vehicles with trailers. I spose youd park in the rigging lane (Like many people do every weekend at Deepwater) if there was no spare spaces. Come on... park out on the road and walk the extra 200 metres. It's just inconsiderate lazyness in my opinon ::)
Mate it isnt laziness I did once park out on the road and came back after a day fishing to find the side of my car sideswiped and the electric mirror ripped off and because the person didnt leave a note to say who it was my rating one was put in jepoardy. A point that was also raised by my insurance co was that was I legally parked by parking out on that road aparantly something to do about road widths I cant remember what the tech point was but I wont risk parking out there again. And no I DONT PARK IN THE RIGGING ZONE. I have now taken to pleading with the minister for Finance to drop me off approx a 45min round trip. But to others who are not familiar with the area could become stuck.
I dont advocate parking in trailer bays but realise that due to poor design this can occur.
Polly
28-05-2008, 03:49 PM
It appears this problem is State wide. All boaties get a raw deal on infrastructure. Come up to Sunny Townsville and see what our local authorities laughingly call boat ramps.
The previous council had a unique way of showing what they thought of boaties. There is a ferry terminal alongside the lagest boat ramp in Townsville and day trippers almost completely fill the trailer parks at times. A complaint to the council resulted in one of my all time favourite bureaucratic answers of all times "Hardly anyone uses the boat ramp during the week" Tell that to all the boaties on annual leave, FIFO rosters, retired or even on school hoildays.
Believe it or not the council WILL book boaties who park their trailers on the grassed areas when the trailer park is full of cars.
We will just have to wait to see what the new council's attitude will be. Of course we were promised the earth during the election but now the same tired old excuses "We don't have any money because the previous council (or any government) cooked the books.
The 2nd biggest ramp in Townsville doesn't even have a public toilet which is a real problem for the ladies. It does have a very nice collection of growing pot holes though.
Sorry about the rants but I am getting sick of paying regos etc for absolutely nothing.
Polly
Mindi
28-05-2008, 06:44 PM
If you park a car without a trailer in a boat trailer spot in Tewantin or Noosaville you will get booked... be certain of it...and rightly so....probably partly because the main parking area is just outside the council offices..?
Peter4
29-05-2008, 10:33 AM
Launched at Wello Point a few Sundays ago then drove around looking for a car/boat trailer park. Saw a heap of cars only in these spots.
Followed a Holden Commodore that found the last car/boat trailer spot. When they parked I stopped behind them, beeped my horn and politely indicated to them to move so I could park there. They very reluctantly backed out and then gave me the finger as I parked.
Gotta love the d*ckheads!
Regs
Kevaclone
29-05-2008, 10:14 PM
Tassie.
This is a case of where we used to have unwritten rules that people seem to know. We know have a situation where because of a number of reason peoples attitudes are " I was here first and bugger you".
A classic example of what you describe occurs at the Coast Guard ramp at Mooloolaba. Over summer it fills with beach goers who either have no idea or simply don’t care.
Is it legal?
This is a problem not only for boaties at the ramps, but a simmilar situation for trucks at shopping centres and loading zones
the easy fix at shopping centres though is to just park behind the lazy fat slob's cars and make them wait the 1/2 hour while you do your duties, gives them a good lesson about why loading zones are put there
Problem with boatramps is that you'd probably end up with a parking ticket, or worse some retard who has the shits because they have to wait 6 hours for you to return, starts damaging your vehicle, sometimes it would ALMOST be worth it
what annoyed me the last time I took the mates boat up to Mooloolaba CG ramp were the clowns with the F250s and trailers parking across 3 parking spaces, I counted at least 5 of them, and I had to park 200 metres further along the rd with the other boaties and cars.
Now what's wrong with these photo's ???
sum
Nagg
Jabba_
31-05-2008, 06:11 AM
Nags, None off those un-trailered cars have flat tyres.....
Un-trailered cars that park in space's reserved for boaties really pisses me off...
Last weekend, I came into my usual boat ramp with only one parking space vacant... I drop the boat in the water, and then went to park my car and trailer in the only vacant spot, but only to find some arsehole without a trailer had taken the spot... I had to park 500m down the road.... Not happy Jan
But I am a revengeful person and on the way back to my boat I took the liberty to take his valve stems from his wheels...
31-05-2008, 08:21 AM
I think we all need to be talking to our regulators (Councils) about this issue, and making a lot of noise.
While letting people's tyres down is quite satisfying, it's not a long term fix. God knows what is, because they just dismiss us as cranks anyway, but it is the legal avenue...
Keechie
31-05-2008, 08:38 AM
sum
Nagg
ooh ooh i know tis not raining;D ;D ;D .
regards,
keechie
ooh ooh i know tis not raining;D ;D ;D .
regards,
keechie
Very good Keechie ..... go to the head of the class! ( It was a magnificent evening actually)
The True answer is .....drum roll
"Someone actually had the audacity to park their car & trailer in the correct bay :o ":o
jackextracter
31-05-2008, 03:27 PM
It is annoying when single cars park in the parks made for people with boat trailers, its the same as if your driving your car at a local shoping centre and u cant find a park and some nob with a mini bus or long truck or a car with a trailer is taking up 3-4 parks, that annoys me also.
31-05-2008, 05:01 PM
It is annoying when single cars park in the parks made for people with boat trailers, its the same as if your driving your car at a local shoping centre and u cant find a park and some nob with a mini bus or long truck or a car with a trailer is taking up 3-4 parks, that annoys me also.
Or worse still. One of my pet hates is motorbikes taking up a whole carpark. You drive around in a busy shopping centre carpark trying to find the elusive park when finally you spot what appears to be a vacant spot and go to pull in only to find a damn motorbike or sccoter is occupying it. :angryfire: I know they can pick smaller spaces than they do. ::)
31-05-2008, 05:05 PM
sum
Nagg
One inconsiderate moron parked his trailer in one of those carparks? ::)
dec0guy
31-05-2008, 07:51 PM
I was at Wellington Point a while ago, hundreds of people, all car parks were taken, but most trailer parking spots were empty of trailers (windy and crap boating weather) and everyone who parked their car in the trailer parking spots was being booked. Saw a lot of unhappy people abusing the parking inspectors.
UNCLE NUGGY
31-05-2008, 08:02 PM
sum
Nagg
i dont live in one of the houses opposite the car park-
UN
Davey1
31-05-2008, 08:18 PM
Nice work Jabba, finally I have found a use for that valve tool floating around in the back of the glovebox ;D
One inconsiderate moron parked his trailer in one of those carparks? ::)
You got it !;D
Pridey
02-06-2008, 07:34 PM
Just a severe lack of parking at ramps is a problem full stop where Im from.
Its become a political issue with mayors battling for who will put the most in !
Luckily more ramps are out of the way so generally most vehicles are there for
putting boats in the water.
sctj88
03-06-2008, 05:44 AM
I think cars should be allowed to maybe drop stuff of at the boat site if it is closer the shore line, but then move to the car area. The boat area is for boat trailer parking only IMO. Could always just park your car and trailer next to their's with your trailer angled to box them in.
Donny Boy
03-06-2008, 10:37 AM
It's a no brainer.....
Car Parks for Cars.........Car & Boat Trailer Parking spots for Cars & Boat Trailers
I would have thought it was easy..................................but that's me.
Damned67
03-06-2008, 11:42 AM
I think the whole issue is as clear as mud. My son and I launch our canoe from the ramp at Tingalpa Creek. Never once have I parked in a trailer space there (I'd hate for my car to be on the receiving end of a ticked off boatie with a big 4WD), but can't count the number of times I've been parked in by lazy sods with trailers who couldn't be bothered going back around to the trailer parking spots.
I will, however, admit to parking in trailer spaces at the public ramp next to the yacht club at the Manly Marina. This is not launching the canoe, but when I have the rare opportunity to head out with my brother on his boat. In my defense, I ALWAYS park in the back corner, and have never seen that car park even close to 25% full. Oh, and there are no 'car' parking spaces there. Or at least I've never found them.
catfishkid
03-06-2008, 12:41 PM
Tin can Bay boat ramp is a classic for this,they have the wild dolphins come in most mornings at barnicles right next to the boat ramp.The tourists start showing up early to see and take all the available parking.Then they start to spread out across the boat ramp so they can see the dolphins and get very upset if you make them move as you push your trailer past down the ramp.I had numerous confrontations with people being ignorant in this manner.They have signs up stating car and trailer only parking and they just park right along side.
I have never seen council do anything about it.
I dont have a problem with the dolphins just the idiots that come to see them.
Cheers craig
stingau
03-06-2008, 04:08 PM
Tin can Bay boat ramp is a classic for this,they have the wild dolphins come in most mornings at barnicles right next to the boat ramp.The tourists start showing up early to see and take all the available parking.Then they start to spread out across the boat ramp so they can see the dolphins and get very upset if you make them move as you push your trailer past down the ramp.I had numerous confrontations with people being ignorant in this manner.They have signs up stating car and trailer only parking and they just park right along side.
I have never seen council do anything about it.
I dont have a problem with the dolphins just the idiots that come to see them.
Cheers craig
I had heard that .
1/ the government stopped them from feeding the dolphins
2/ that the dolphin had died
Took my kids up their about 6 or 7 years ago
catfishkid
03-06-2008, 06:18 PM
I had heard that .
1/ the government stopped them from feeding the dolphins
2/ that the dolphin had died
Took my kids up their about 6 or 7 years ago
Gday mate,they are allowed to feed the dolphins that come in,there is two of them and they dont turn up every day,(the tourists do).
Cheers craig
05-06-2008, 06:15 AM
What about people with kayaks and car toppers? They are still launching a boat. Don't they have the samme rights as someone with a tinny on a trailer?
Outsider1
05-06-2008, 08:46 AM
What about people with kayaks and car toppers? They are still launching a boat. Don't they have the samme rights as someone with a tinny on a trailer?
If they have a trailer no diff to others. If not then also no different to those that have no trailer (deckies etc).
The trailer parks are reserved for those with trailers (boat or otherwise), otherwise you park in the non trailer parks. Pretty simple I would have thought.
21-06-2008, 09:28 AM
I was at Wellington Point a while ago, hundreds of people, all car parks were taken, but most trailer parking spots were empty of trailers (windy and crap boating weather) and everyone who parked their car in the trailer parking spots was being booked. Saw a lot of unhappy people abusing the parking inspectors.
"Rules is rules Macca"