View Full Version : Yalta 555 Owners, what size OB?

26-05-2008, 10:31 PM
Just a quick quiz as to what size outboard you have. Seems the standard size shipped from marine tune is 115hp, is this enough or would you go bigger?

kaypee
26-05-2008, 10:41 PM
hey mate, one of my good mates has a very late model 555 that he put a Yammy 150 4 stroke on... he was happy when they test drove the hull with a 115 4 st on but he said what the 115 was fairly screaming at is now his cruise speed with the 150. I have been in the boat and it does go very well and is still great on fuel...

Mtx
27-05-2008, 07:49 AM
I would not go with the packaged outboard.
I just bought the 615 Yalta, they package them with a 130 2st. I ended up getting the 200 but Steve at Marine Tune, told me the packages are only created for a price point but for the boat to really perform you need to upgrade from what is offered.

SgBFish
27-05-2008, 11:09 AM
Real Andy.

I don’t know how fast you want to go but my 115 4S will do at least 30 knots WOT which is fast enough for me. The motor is also very fuel efficient and the boat has a great range with the 115 motor. I can do at least 3 trips from Scraby to Tangas return on a tank and still have heaps in reserve.

The 555 has a max transom weight of 200kg and having been in one with the 2S as well as my own with the 4S they do perform better with lighter transom weight as all boats with pods do.

If had my time over I still don’t know if I would change the setup I have, but the DI 2S would come into the equation now.

Mtx
27-05-2008, 11:26 AM
Good to hear Scott about yours. That is quite good.

The reason for my comments above is I was also speaking with George from Yalta about the 615 and he strongly advised a 175 on them. - I only have discussions from George and Steve from marine Tune, not real world experience in 555.

At 4000, I sit on 29 knots with a WOT of about 48 knots.

thelump
27-05-2008, 01:00 PM
I have a 115 v4 2 stroke on mine(jonno) and it goes well. Pulls out of the hole with ease but only gets around 30ish knots full noise.Very thirsty though. If I were to replace with a 4 stroke I would consider bigger than 115 just for hole shot. If I were to go a DI2stroke then a 115 would suffice but I would probably opt for a 135-150.
Cheers Jason

27-05-2008, 07:15 PM
Cheers guys, I nearly have the cash up now, another month or 2 and I shall be the owner of a yalta craft!

Scott, interesting to hear about your top speed, most boats I have been on in moreton bay can only do that sort of speed on a real flat day. I reckon around the 20knt mark is usually a comfortable cruising speed on the bay when it gets lumpy. The yalta can obviously do better :) Nice to hear.

I have my eye on a 18month old boat at the moment that is fitted with a 130yam 2stroke. I was intending on purchasing a new boat but a used boat would certainly save me a few bucks.

kaypee
27-05-2008, 10:57 PM
hey buddy, speaking to that mate of mine tonight and he has actually put his yalta on the market due to his new house getting built... i know this means very little to you probably but i can personally garantee that this boat is in as new cond and very well set up...i think he wants around 45K i'm not sure what they are worth brand new but it sounds reasonable to me especially with the 150 yammy and it has a s/s targa canopy set up esky boat seats etc i'm guessing about 20hrs... if interested ill give u his number up to you, either way good luck with finding the rig u want..
cheers Mick

reel scream
27-05-2008, 11:54 PM
TRA- ive got the Yalta Odessa 2000 with a 150 saltwater series and it's a rippa. Great in the rough and a great fishing platform.

Brother in law just bought the 555 at the tinny show with a 130 2stroke Yam salt. We have had a couple of runs and all seems pretty good. Last trip 15knots se plus at hutchies made me think:

1) More fish in the box for arse end weight

2) A 150.

I'm getting a litre a nm out of mine and i'm happy with that. ie 25knots 25ltr/hr.

Great sea boats though, seem to allways head straight.(ish)

Cheers Scott

28-05-2008, 08:15 PM
Kaypee is it a 4 or a 2 stroke yam. I got quoted 42k for the 555 fitted with 130 4 stroke (i think) about 12 months ago. The 115 2 stroke is about 37k now. I am about to make another visit to marine tune in the next couple of weeks (when I find time) so I will get a rough price on the 150.

Cheers real scream, I am definately looking at the bigger motor now. Will give the 115 a miss. The 115 would probably do me fine, but you spend 12 months using it and you always wish it had a tad more!

Mtx
28-05-2008, 08:35 PM
Go the Yalta. You will not regret it :)

28-05-2008, 09:29 PM
MTX, the descision is made! Just toughing out the finishing touches now :) IF the second hand one I know is still for sale in a month or 2 I will go for that, otherwise I will be placing an order with marine tune in about 2 months time!

kaypee
28-05-2008, 10:14 PM
hey mate its a yammy 150 4 stroke if they want 42k for one with a 130 2 banger and probably standard bimini canopy, sounder, seats etc then i would definently recomend a squizz at this one.

29-05-2008, 06:41 AM
42k was for the 4 stroke 130

stevea
29-05-2008, 07:40 AM
..., I. Will give the 115 a miss. The 115 would probably do me fine, but you spend 12 months using it and you always wish it had a tad more!

I have heard that the 140suz 4stroke is actually a few kgs lighter than the 115suz 4stroke (go figure?) Not sure how that equates to fuel enconomy (I would have thought better if you were driving at lower revs), best to ask an expert though.

kaypee
29-05-2008, 09:05 AM
42k was for the 4 stroke 130

Just check on that mate as i don't think there is any manufacturer that puts out a 130 4 stroke... could be wrong tho....

Pete62
29-05-2008, 03:34 PM
My old man has been running 555 for a number of years and he has a Yammy 150 Saltwater series pushing it. As u know they r a pretty solid hull and take a bit of getting out of the hole. This configuration gives him good fuel economy and the squirt when he needs it. Cheers, Pete.

Seahorse
29-05-2008, 05:53 PM
hey mtx,
did u say that marine tune had a 6.15 in stock?
I wonder if they trade.

greg

Mtx
29-05-2008, 05:54 PM
they did when I picked mine up a couple of weeks back. Not sure if they still do.

Mtx
29-05-2008, 05:55 PM
oh and they do trade... seem to be quite ok value wise on trade as well

29-05-2008, 06:08 PM
Just check on that mate as i don't think there is any manufacturer that puts out a 130 4 stroke... could be wrong tho....

Might have been the 4stroke 115, although I thought it was bigger. I have the brochure around here somewhere, will try track it down.

megafish71
29-05-2008, 07:49 PM

Honda do a 130hp 4 stroke.

Cheers Ron

SgBFish
29-05-2008, 09:39 PM
Go the Yalta. You will not regret it :)

Those boys at Marine must be selling a few because everytime i go to tangas there are always always a few yaltas there.

I've had mine nearly 2 years and I'm still rapt in it.

I drilled a hole in the transome the other day. Man are they solid!!!!!

When i bought the boat it was predominately for fishing with the boys but the family have loved it and now its a family transporter to the island. I can live with that.:)

Can't miss us we are the ones with the beach unbrellas and the tribe.