View Full Version : What are my 70's worth?
Dean1
25-05-2008, 07:52 PM
Hi this is no trick advertising or anything im just crunching numbers trying to work out what my changeover figure is going to be. Im upgrading my 70hp 2 stroke yammie motors to 60hp high thrusts. Im going to sell my 70's privately as trade in prices are too low. I have a pair of 1997 model 70hp yamaha 2 strokes with a very genuine 410hrs. Ive just spent $800 on a full service and they run perfectly except for the blown stator in the port motor which i am replacing this week. They present in excellent condition, the tops are a little faded but otherwise very tidy. They are XL's with alloy props. Any suggestions what they are worth would be great and appreciated very much. Thanks, Dean.
Reel Nauti
25-05-2008, 08:16 PM
Dean there are a few people on here that would probably know a lot better thank I, but to hazard at a guess I would be thinking around somewhere between 5 to 6k for the pair?
26-05-2008, 07:35 AM
the problem you are facing is that second hand Motors are not worth a lot once they reach about 6 or 7 years old, regardless of the hours, it is just a fact of life, when they are (say) 2 or 3 years old, no worries, after that they drop dramaticaly, I'm thinking more along the lines of 4 to 5 grand privately, but you never know, you might be able to get a better price one at a time (maybe) but XL in a 70HP is not all that common, even though it has a spacer setup, the driveshaft does not and is very expensive.
boatboy50
26-05-2008, 08:31 AM
Hey Dean,
I'd be working on about 3 each. As Noel said, finding a buyer for 25" 70's will be the hard part.
My neighbour got 5.5k for a set of 1995 20" 50hp Yamies only very recently, by advertising them in the trading post. He sold them seperately.
What is the best price you have got for the 60 Yammies? I take it you are looking at the high thrust model? I've had quite a few quotes lately, and 8k each is the best quote i've had.
Dean1
26-05-2008, 12:42 PM
Well i spoke to the guy was going to fit up my new yammies this morn and he reckons id easily get $7000 for the pair of them been XL's but finding the person who wants them may take a little time. He also told me to 'hang out' for the new suzzies as they are going to much lighter than what we think. Yeah kitty cat (Wayne) i know ;D He's exact figures were a 70hp suzuki 10kg heavier than the f60's thats through the old grapevine. Now im thinking :-/ Darren the price i was working on is $17 500 fitted driveaway sound ok??
battleon
26-05-2008, 12:52 PM
Recently bought 2 Yammie 70"s 2002 models with less than 300 hrs for 8k the pair. They were in perfect condition so yea I couldnt see why 6k is not possible.
Dean1
26-05-2008, 02:43 PM
Recently bought 2 Yammie 70"s 2002 models with less than 300 hrs for 8k the pair. They were in perfect condition so yea I couldnt see why 6k is not possible.
cheers Just wondering are they XL'S that you bought??? Cheers.
boatboy50
26-05-2008, 04:35 PM
Hey Dean,
I've been told by Haines the unofficial weight of the new 70/80/90 Suzuki is 155kg.
The Yam is only around 120kg from memory.
The 90's would be perfect though, and is what I would ideally want on mine.
$17500 is a pretty good price, probably around $8200 per engine plus fitting.
Marine Tune on the Gold Coast did me a better price than that over the weekend.
battleon
31-05-2008, 07:54 PM
Sorry for the delay Dean been working away. No they were not XL's. Been very happy with them though
Hornet Rider
01-06-2008, 12:23 AM
Dean, don't look at this link for 2nd hand Yammy 70's... http://www.nadaguides.com/default.aspx?LI=1-24-38-5697-0-0-0&l=1&w=24&p=38&f=5698&m=0026&d=17002601035&y=1997&ml=Y&gc=MR>c=OB
northernblue
01-06-2008, 09:18 AM
Dean, don't look at this link for 2nd hand Yammy 70's... http://www.nadaguides.com/default.aspx?LI=1-24-38-5697-0-0-0&l=1&w=24&p=38&f=5698&m=0026&d=17002601035&y=1997&ml=Y&gc=MR>c=OB
Hornet Rider, you're a nasty bloke ;D
Don't despair Deano, as you noticed it's a US site, so isn't really applicable to us, we may as well look up their new engine prices while we are here ::)
For what it's worth 2007 70hp 2 stroke:
http://www.nadaguides.com/default.aspx?LI=1-24-38-5697-0-0-0&l=1&w=24&p=38&f=5698&m=0026&d=17002600009&y=2007&ml=Y&gc=MR>c=OB
Yes, thats $4665 each :o
But a 1997 70HP 2 stroke, is $ 2030,according to the guide.
David
Dean1
01-06-2008, 01:29 PM
Guys the reason mine are worth more than you normal 70 is the 'XL' I spoke to grand marlin (pete) and he reckons he could get me 8k for the pair no word of a lie where are you pete???? He reckons at 7k theyd get snabbled up quickly as what are the buyers other options if chasing XL's. New 2 strokes or 60 high thrusts. These XL's are very rare as well in a matching set. The guy that was fitting the high thrusts reckons id easily get 7k as well and he knows his motors extremely well (gavin at victory parts) Just saying what ive been told. Thanks for the replies, Deano.
fly_1
01-06-2008, 01:49 PM
Gday Dean,
When I sold my 70's, as well as when the brother sold his, we both found the exact opposite..No one really wants XL in a 70hp motor. Other than small cats, theres not really many other boats which uses such small horsepower that requires XL legs. ( The exception is some houseboats/partypontoon boats). My brother got $3500 for both his motors, and I rebuilt one of mine and sold it to a mate for $2000, and scrapped the other one. ( mind you we had 1500hrs on them when they went), and I had to convert it back to a regular shaft length.
If they were 115hp plus, the XL can be a huge plus when selling them, as many more boats require the longer leg lengths etc...
Just my 2 cents worth !!!!!
Good luck with the repower....
Trent
Interesting,when I did my transom conversion,I actually opted for the longer leg,to keep the motor out of the water to a greater degree.
Would not go back to the shorter leg ever again,even in a smaller motor.
David
Reel Nauti
01-06-2008, 04:36 PM
Dean, I stuck my neck out a bit to give you what I thought, thinking that you may not really know. As it turns out, you have quotes from very reliable and knowledgable sources.
So why ask??
All the best with the sale.
Dean1
01-06-2008, 06:15 PM
Dean, I stuck my neck out a bit to give you what I thought, thinking that you may not really know. As it turns out, you have quotes from very reliable and knowledgable sources.
So why ask??
All the best with the sale.
Dave Hi Dave, well i was origanally going to trade the motors in but have changed my mind since. I have spoken to these reliable sources since i put this thread up, just remember opinions are like ar#####es everybody has one ;)
Hornet Rider
01-06-2008, 09:27 PM
[quote=northernblue;832725]Hornet Rider, you're a nasty bloke ;D
NB, how could you say such a thing :'( everything's relative, & the 2nd hand market is a self adjusting mechanism. The price today for a motor is different to it's price last month & will probably be different again next month. I want any seller to get a fair shake, but how long you wait for the best you can get is often a function of how long you can wait, & if the wait is worth it. Having said that, & here's a gold plated generalisation, most people expect a little too much for 2nd hand boats & motors. New usually means brand new with warranty, but 2nd hand no matter how well maintained comes with risk & the compensator has to be a lower than expected price, otherwise shop around.
HB
02-06-2008, 08:07 AM
geees this turned sour? I guess the true answer is, like all things for sale, they are worth what someone will pay for them! fairly simple really, does not matter what you are selling and how much you may think or hear it is worth, unless someone wants it at your price, then your stuck with it.
JOHNBULL
02-06-2008, 08:54 AM
What would it cost to send to Whyalla SA for the pair of them?
I currently have twin 40's on the back of my 19' half cab but want a bit more speed. I am looking at going up in HP a bit so twin 70,s are around the mark.
Mindi
02-06-2008, 01:21 PM
Well i spoke to the guy was going to fit up my new yammies this morn and he reckons id easily get $7000 for the pair of them been XL's but finding the person who wants them may take a little time. He also told me to 'hang out' for the new suzzies as they are going to much lighter than what we think. Yeah kitty cat (Wayne) i know ;D He's exact figures were a 70hp suzuki 10kg heavier than the f60's thats through the old grapevine. Now im thinking :-/ Darren the price i was working on is $17 500 fitted driveaway sound ok??
The new 70/80/90 Suzukis are claimed at 341lbs probably dry plus prop and that is 155kg see this link and choose second news item http://www.bearemg.com/cgi-scripts/releases.cgi?CLIENT_ID=C5
Dean1
03-06-2008, 08:47 PM
Maccas does your setup look somethin like this??