View Full Version : 406 EPIRB now Qld L A W Nov 1st

QF3 MROCP
23-05-2008, 06:32 AM
Found out from the MSQ stand at Sanctuary Cove Boat show that QLD Govt have made it LAW that a 406 is now to be onboard by Nov 1st in Qld. A few of the dealers new nothing about it and GME have some concerns about the supply of them to dealerships.

If you're going to the show Northside Marine next to the GME stand was selling the units in the high $300 range - get them while you can.

This is an extract from the MSQ web site:

EPIRBs (Emergency Position Indicating Radio Beacons)

All ships operating beyond smooth and partially smooth waters must carry an EPIRB if more than two nautical miles from land.
An EPIRB is an important distress signalling and position-indicating device. It emits a two-tone radio signal that may be picked up by aircraft and satellites.
http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/resources/image/468c279003d3d776/epirb_web.gifIf it is a requirement to carry an EPIRB as part of your safety equipment (http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/Safety/Safety_equipment), from 1 November 2008, it must be a 406 MHz digital EPIRB.
You must register your 406 MHz beacon (http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/Buying_and_registering/Registration.asp)* with the Australian Maritime Safety Authority. The Australian Maritime Safety Authority must also be advised of any change to ownership and vessel details.

datamile
23-05-2008, 06:47 AM
It'll be interesting to see how the pricing goes for the next 6 months , and whether you could get them from the states for cheaper etc. Lucky for most of Brissy bay people we never get to waters needing the new requirement or there'd be a huge rush.

Is the old system being turned off, and if so when ?

QF3 MROCP
23-05-2008, 07:14 AM
It'll be interesting to see how the pricing goes for the next 6 months , and whether you could get them from the states for cheaper etc. Lucky for most of Brissy bay people we never get to waters needing the new requirement or there'd be a huge rush.

Is the old system being turned off, and if so when ?

The old system goes on Feb 1st 2009

Datamile - the new law is for vessels 2NM or more off-shore, thats not much around the nothern bay region. Ok around the southern bay island area where you have land in sight over either shoulder

QF3 MROCP
23-05-2008, 08:41 AM
check out this MSQ web site - it has all of Queenslands "Partially Smooth and Smooth Waters" charts showing where a 406 must be used

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/Water..._water_limits/ (http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/Waterways/Smooth_and_partially_smooth_water_limits/)

23-05-2008, 08:49 AM
If the built in GPS model from GME is about $800 then its going to be cheaper than the ACR from Fishon Marine in the US - Site sponsor that a lot of people have saved money with on sounders it seems.

PS. Unless there is a cheaper place again, but I reckon we are up for about the same price here as imported

23-05-2008, 09:02 AM
Before I bought mine I remember reading somewhere that the 406s are Global region specific, bit like a dvd, so buy a US 406 and if activated the US authorities will pay full attention to it because of a portion of the code transmitted relates to them only, same with the European or African side etc.

Suspect it would get passed on to Australia due to registration and position located, although the time delay?? after all it will be the authorities who deal with it and if they can stuff something up they will do a good job of it.

Dunno if this info was a red herring and designed to back alley us into not purchasing grey??

Makes a person wonder what good is an international ship with a 406 on board, if true!

mod5
23-05-2008, 09:14 AM
Have stuck this as an important topic for all boaties.

Refer to http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/Buying_and_registering/Buyers_Beware.asp for information on buying overseas

Outsider1
23-05-2008, 09:16 AM
I think they may even be country specific Scott. I am sure SatNav has posted on this subject before somewhere.

This web page talks about it in detail;

http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/Buying_and_registering/Buyers_Beware.asp

Interesting also that the above site talks about changing over by the 1st July 2008!!?? This is the official Australian website for the EPIRB beacon system!!.

http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/

http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/TVC%20406%20-%20Jan%2007.wmv

QF3 MROCP
23-05-2008, 09:40 AM
I think they may even be country specific Scott. I am sure SatNav has posted on this subject before somewhere.

This web page talks about it in detail;

http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/Buying_and_registering/Buyers_Beware.asp

Interesting also that the above site talks about changing over by the 1st July 2008!!?? This is the official Australian website for the EPIRB beacon system!!.

http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/

http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/TVC%20406%20-%20Jan%2007.wmv

AMSA (Fed Govt) had a desire that we all be ready by July 1st to aviod the rush on registration and by Feb 1st 09 it would be a smooth transition. Now we have a Qld Govt (MSQ) forcing the situation by law to have in by Nov 1st 08.

The one concern may now be with Rescue Coordination Centre ((RCC (Fed Govt)) have is if the vessel has both old and new units onboard between Nov - Jan 09 and are both activated..... leave that to your imagination is both units go drifting in opposite directions.

Another wait and see game..

Hornet Rider
23-05-2008, 11:16 AM
Found out from the MSQ stand at Sanctuary Cove Boat show that QLD Govt have made it LAW that a 406 is now to be onboard by Nov 1st in Qld. A few of the dealers new nothing about it and GME have some concerns about the supply of them to dealerships.

If you're going to the show Northside Marine next to the GME stand was selling the units in the high $300 range - get them while you can.

Good scouting Peter, but you'd think (or is that being optomistic) MSQ would have initiated a broader PR plan to inform the public. 01 Nov is still 6mths off, but where else is it published in MSQ or other Qld Gov info of the 01 Nov date?

Picked up a GME Accusat 406 MT400 (manual activation Class 2) from Northside Marine at the Tinnie & Tackle show for $385. Was the best price around Brissy at the time.

cheers, Mark

datamile
23-05-2008, 08:14 PM
For a global system, you wonder why all the different global standards. Like different highlight rules on cars to stop the grey imports.

QF3 MROCP
23-05-2008, 09:06 PM
Good scouting Peter, but you'd think (or is that being optomistic) MSQ would have initiated a broader PR plan to inform the public. 01 Nov is still 6mths off, but where else is it published in MSQ or other Qld Gov info of the 01 Nov date?

Picked up a GME Accusat 406 MT400 (manual activation Class 2) from Northside Marine at the Tinnie & Tackle show for $385. Was the best price around Brissy at the time.

cheers, Mark

I got the impression that the poor folks on the lower end of the pay scale weren't given much notice before the show - apparently government powers above only just made it L A W.., hence why the web site and SC Boat Show are their first opportunities to get the message..... and with me on www.AUSFISH.com.. as a trainer for MROCP it was knocked to the floor when I saw their big wall poster promoting the date - Nov 1st ... Immediate reply - ##%$$!! what are you doing!

Northside are selling the 406 MT00 at the boat show as well for that price and they're walking out the door. AMSA will also do a free registration while you wait on their booth.

QF3 MROCP
23-05-2008, 09:20 PM
Here's the link to the government legislation;

http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/SLS/2008/08SL108.pdf

It all happened just over two weeks ago....

Gary Fooks
26-05-2008, 07:09 AM
BIAS had them for the same price at the show.

There is some concern about shortages of supply come 1 Nov, so dont bank on getting a good deal at the Bne Boat show is September.

I am going to the Melb boat show - if anyone wants me to try to find them one there.

Or i can ask Peter at BIAS to extend the boat show offer for Ausfishers? email me if you want one this week g.fooks@uq.net.au

Gary

noboatyet
26-05-2008, 09:36 AM
I was wondering if anybody who has purchased a GME epirb tell me how much it will cost to get the battery replaced after 5 years, as the people on the GME stand couldn't!!!!!!
Paines wessex have free battery replacement after 5 years and 1 other brand I enquired about said it was $300.00 to replace the battery.:o
Murray

Fish Guts
26-05-2008, 06:31 PM
thanks for the heads up peter

Hornet Rider
26-05-2008, 11:48 PM
I was wondering if anybody who has purchased a GME epirb tell me how much it will cost to get the battery replaced after 5 years, as the people on the GME stand couldn't!!!!!!
Paines wessex have free battery replacement after 5 years and 1 other brand I enquired about said it was $300.00 to replace the battery.:o
Murray

Murray, bloody good question mate. Let us all know if you find out about the GME battery replacement cost. I got one at the Tinny & Tackle show, a MT400 Manual Activated for $350. That's $77 per year or about .21 cents per day. If my MT400 is still serviceable in 5 yrs time, I'm going to give it a pat on the back & then offer it up on here to anyone who wants it for free. Then I'm going to purchase what ever is the go in 5 years time. If the 2nd Coming hasn't happened by then I'm optimistic that technological advances will probably have delivered a more effective product for SOLAS, then the MT400.

cheers, Mark

noboatyet
29-05-2008, 09:05 AM
I contacted GME yesterday to find out about battery replacement. They told me they don't have a list price yet for battery replacement on the 406 units. They said if I was to work on current charges it would be around $130.00!
I might make a few more phone calls before I decide on which brand to purchase.
Murray

fishplukka
30-05-2008, 11:00 AM
hi people just a thought iv been borrowing a mates epirb up to now until the new one 406 was law !a bit sooner than i thought ! so i wonder if its still going to be ok to do this ! as your rego and details eg call sign phone will be different if you should get into trouble ?:confused:

QF3 MROCP
31-05-2008, 09:48 PM
hi people just a thought iv been borrowing a mates epirb up to now until the new one 406 was law !a bit sooner than i thought ! so i wonder if its still going to be ok to do this ! as your rego and details eg call sign phone will be different if you should get into trouble ?:confused:

Sorry fishplukka!

the details linked to the 406 are going to those of the owner and vessel at the time of rego.. have a look at this link:

http://www.amsa.gov.au/forms/amsa6.pdf

This is a rough cut and paste from the application form:

Owner/operator details
Name
Postal address
Home telephone No.
Work telephone No.
Fax No.
Mobile/other phone No.
Email address
Supplier details
Name
Business address
Telephone No.
Fax No.
Email address
24 Hour Contact
If possible, please supply 3 names; of which, one person must be contactable at all times; these people will be contacted if the beacon
is activated.
Contact 1 Contact 2 Contact 3
Name
Home telephone No.
Work telephone No.
Mobile No.
Vessel Details (if applicable)
Name
Call sign
Registration No.
MMSI
DWT (tonnes)
Length (metres)
Home port
Type of vessel (owner’s description)
Inmarsat No.
Other satellite mobile No.
Type of radio fitted/carried
(HF/VHF/27MHz/UHF)
Persons on board
No. of liferafts

marco
07-06-2008, 07:46 AM
Sorry fishplukka!

the details linked to the 406 are going to those of the owner and vessel at the time of rego.. have a look at this link:

http://www.amsa.gov.au/forms/amsa6.pdf

This is a rough cut and paste from the application form:

Owner/operator details
Name
Postal address
Home telephone No.
Work telephone No.
Fax No.
Mobile/other phone No.
Email address
Supplier details
Name
Business address
Telephone No.
Fax No.
Email address
24 Hour Contact
If possible, please supply 3 names; of which, one person must be contactable at all times; these people will be contacted if the beacon
is activated.
Contact 1 Contact 2 Contact 3
Name
Home telephone No.
Work telephone No.
Mobile No.
Vessel Details (if applicable)
Name
Call sign
Registration No.
MMSI
DWT (tonnes)
Length (metres)
Home port
Type of vessel (owner’s description)
Inmarsat No.
Other satellite mobile No.
Type of radio fitted/carried
(HF/VHF/27MHz/UHF)
Persons on board
No. of liferafts

all that doesnt answer fishplukkas question though , is it written anywhere that it is illegal to loan someone your epirb for there use ? i understand why you shouldnt and i will be buying my own but out of curiousity i would like to know .

playing devils advocate a bit , surely if say fishplukka was faced with borrowing mates epirb or going out without one , it would be better to use his mates . true ?

and yes i know he should buy one , but to some 400 bucks is a lot of money they wont spend . thoughts ?

mark

seatime
07-06-2008, 09:10 AM
all that doesnt answer fishplukkas question though , is it written anywhere that it is illegal to loan someone your epirb for there use ? i understand why you shouldnt and i will be buying my own but out of curiousity i would like to know .

playing devils advocate a bit , surely if say fishplukka was faced with borrowing mates epirb or going out without one , it would be better to use his mates . true ?

and yes i know he should buy one , but to some 400 bucks is a lot of money they wont spend . thoughts ?

mark

I'd say no, you can't borrow a 406 Mhz beacon from another boat to use yourself.

The MSQ Marine Information Bulletin concerning EPIRB registration states the beacon must be registered by the owner or master of the ship on which the EPIRB is to be operated, and, it is mandatory to register the beacon and have confirmation of registration.

If there was a check of safety equipment, proof of rego of the beacon to that boat would need to be produced.

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/resources/file/eb84510f05b8633/Pdf_mib_ebirb.pdf

Apparently, around 80% of 406 EPIRBs purchased by recreational boaties weren't being registered.
Hard to believe, but figures were supplied by industry. Owners either forgot to register, didn't know they needed to be registered, or couldn't be bothered.

marco
07-06-2008, 06:16 PM

The MSQ Marine Information Bulletin concerning EPIRB registration states the beacon must be registered by the owner or master of the ship on which the EPIRB is to be operated, and, it is mandatory to register the beacon and have confirmation of registration.

hi gelsec ,
thanks for that , but is the msq marine information bulletin actually legislation that you can be fined for ? that then determines whether it is legal or not .

mark

seatime
11-06-2008, 05:26 PM
hi gelsec ,
thanks for that , but is the msq marine information bulletin actually legislation that you can be fined for ? that then determines whether it is legal or not .

mark

Hi Mark,

In this case the MIB is advising us that the amendment to the TO(MS)R comes into force on 01/11/08. The "Regulations" are law and it will be illegal after 01/11/08.

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/Safety/Epirbs

QF3 MROCP
11-06-2008, 10:07 PM
Hi Mark,

In this case the MIB is advising us that the amendment to the TO(MS)R comes into force on 01/11/08. The "Regulations" are law and it will be illegal after 01/11/08.

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/Safety/Epirbs

check out the quotes at the start of thread: here's the link for the L A W
http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LE...08/08SL108.pdf (http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/SLS/2008/08SL108.pdf)

marco
12-06-2008, 02:54 AM
thankyou gentlemen , section 9a and b covers it from the above link .

Bros
12-06-2008, 09:09 AM
A reply from the local MSQ officer in our area. The on line registration is where you can directly input the information into an on line form not via a word form.

Thank you again for letting me meet with the Gladstone VMR. To answer the
2 questions regarding 406 EPIRBs

I just got off the phone with AMSA in Canberra regarding the registration
of 406 EPIRBs

Yes, the rumour is true, it takes over 2 months for the paperwork to be
returned when registering a 406 EPIRB. It can take up to 5 months. To
address this they are hiring 2 persons. They are also instigating an
on-line registration so that a hard copy proof of registration is instantly
available. They hope to have the on-line facility available by 1 July

When registering by post the details are immediately put in their catalogue
so these detail are available to SAR organisations. The delay is getting
the paperwork back to the owner.

There is no system in place to collect data when a boat or EPIRB change
hands. If either the old or new owner notify AMSA then the details can be
changed on their data base.

I will follow this up with MSQ people so that when boat registrations are
processed for change of ownership then the new owner is notified regarding
his obligations.

marco
14-06-2008, 05:04 AM

found this on nuggetts new forum , sounds to me like fishplukkas mate could add fishplukkas boat details to the register of his 406 epirb and be legal .

so my question to gelsec and qf3 mrocp is , do you see this as being illegal from your point of view and does this create a way for guys like fishplukka to use a 406 epirb which is borrowed from a mate who has added say fishplukkas vessel to his 406 epirb , where they might otherwise take the risk and run without one simply because they cannot afford one ?

below is the copy from nuggetts website , i hope he doesnt mind :)

http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/forum/Themes/default/images/post/xx.gif (http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/forum/index.php/topic,12.msg13.html#msg13) EPIRB usage (http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/forum/index.php/topic,12.msg13.html#msg13)
« on: Wednesday 11 June 09:36 »

The following comment was in responce to a question from Grant Bennett of the Redland Boat Club regarding the registration of an EPIRB for use in more than one boat.

Your welcome to register your EPIRB to up to 4 platforms (Vessel, Aircraft or Vehicle).
You must identify the primary platform and provide the rest as attached details since they won't fit on the form.
From the 1st July our 406 Beacon Register will be available online so you can register and update your details personally.

Linda Berryman
AUSTRALIAN 406 MHz / MMSI DATABASE MANAGER
PLANNING AND BUSINESS SUPPORT
EMERGENCY RESPONSE DIVISION

http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/forum/index2.php

seatime
14-06-2008, 08:41 AM
found this on nuggetts new forum , sounds to me like fishplukkas mate could add fishplukkas boat details to the register of his 406 epirb and be legal .

so my question to gelsec and qf3 mrocp is , do you see this as being illegal from your point of view and does this create a way for guys like fishplukka to use a 406 epirb which is borrowed from a mate who has added say fishplukkas vessel to his 406 epirb , where they might otherwise take the risk and run without one simply because they cannot afford one ?

below is the copy from nuggetts website , i hope he doesnt mind :)

http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/forum/Themes/default/images/post/xx.gif (http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/forum/index.php/topic,12.msg13.html#msg13) EPIRB usage (http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/forum/index.php/topic,12.msg13.html#msg13)
« on: Wednesday 11 June 09:36 »

The following comment was in responce to a question from Grant Bennett of the Redland Boat Club regarding the registration of an EPIRB for use in more than one boat.

Your welcome to register your EPIRB to up to 4 platforms (Vessel, Aircraft or Vehicle).
You must identify the primary platform and provide the rest as attached details since they won't fit on the form.
From the 1st July our 406 Beacon Register will be available online so you can register and update your details personally.

Linda Berryman

http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/forum/index2.php

The question first asked was about borrowing a beacon registered to another vessel.
Maritime Safety Qld will require a beacon to be registered with AMSA, if AMSA accept registration to 4 platforms then a shared beacon should comply with the requirements.

This is a new regulation and interpretations by the authorities will need to be clarified. It has taken everyone by surprise a bit. At a recent conference MSQ and water police appeared to have a different approach to how it will be enforced. The police said they were considering allowing a period of grace after Nov 1st and issue 'friendly' infringement notices. Boating and Fisheries may well take a harder line.
Which form of confirmation of registration will be accepted by enforcement will have to be answered by them. Would they have the means of searching the AMSA database.

Roo
19-06-2008, 01:15 PM
But if you register another Vessel it is still to be in the name of the skipper or master of said vessel i would assume. This would be for all those lucky fellows with perhaps a large offshore vessel and a smaller, offshore capable craft plus, an Aircraft and a 4X4. this way the "Packers" and "Murdoch's" of this world don't have to buy 2, 3 or 4 epirbs.
I still wouldn't think you could register a mates boat on your epirb....as much as its only a phone call to the primary vessels' owner to confirm which vessel has the epirb. how would you feel if your mate went to sea and you were out of contact range....then the next person on the list tells SAR that "no the boats at home, false alarm".

Cheers Roo.

seatime
19-06-2008, 06:03 PM

I contacted AMSA about some of the questions raised here and elsewhere, also included Roo's valid point and Grant's Q and response from AMSA. Hope it will also answer fishplukkas & marcos queries.

From AMSA today:

Hi Stephen,

An EPIRB can only be registered under one owners name (account) but linked to this account can be a maximum of 4 x platforms. Between the group they would have to nominate a primary account name, address and phone numbers. Its important to update the registration as to who has the EPIRB and what platform to prevent confusion if detected.

The 406 Beacon Register will be available online from Tuesday 24th June. This will mean immediate and prompt access to updating the registration details.

Just keep in mind that part of the compulsory registration is having a registration sticker affixed to the EPIRB. The sticker will print the HEX ID, expiry date (2yrs) and either the primary vessel name, registration number or owners name if more than one platform. So if the EPIRB is used by 4 different vessels/owners the sticker will only print one name and hence when inspected may not comply.

We recommend each owner purchases their own EPIRB and registers under their personal details.

If you wish to discuss further let me know.

Linda Berryman

Didley
19-06-2008, 06:52 PM
Have you thought of buying a bulk lot from a manufacturer, wholesale, and selling them through the VMR as a fund raiser.

Didley

SatNav
22-06-2008, 05:30 PM
"Just keep in mind that part of the compulsory registration is having a registration sticker affixed to the EPIRB. The sticker will print the HEX ID, expiry date (2yrs) and either the primary vessel name, registration number or owners name if more than one platform. So if the EPIRB is used by 4 different vessels/owners the sticker will only print one name and hence when inspected may not comply."

1. Fortuneatley AMSA is ONLY the point of registration and are not the inspectors or makers of the law with regard state requirements.

2. Perhaps AMSA then might like to address time share ownership as certainly every owner will not be required to own an individual EPIRB? That would be stupidity.

3. Body corporate EPIRB ownership has merit.

4. What AMSA would like has no underlying legislation to support it. QLD law makes no mention of this requirement, nor does NSW law?

5. Perhaps AMSA might indicate where this complusory sticker business is mentioned in the legislation?

Matheson
30-06-2008, 09:16 PM
I'm wondering how many ausfish members are going to be up for the 406mhz EPIRB within the next 4 to 5 months. If members are interested in getting some numbers together I will shop the numbers to as many suppliers as possible and see if I can negotiate a discounted bulk buy price. The best internet price I have found $429 (Whitworths)which is higher then Peters price. I'm believe if we can get some decent numbers committed, a discounted price may be available.

Matho

Outsider1
30-06-2008, 09:37 PM
A Boat Dealer member did the same thing for members of a Sydney based site.

I have already updated mine, but thanks for the thought.

01-07-2008, 06:58 AM
g'day matho, i'll be up for one. i'm going to get maximum hours out of the one i've got, so i'll be keen to buy in late october i reckon. post something up on here if you get a scheme going to bulk buy and i'm in.

stickbender
02-07-2008, 08:07 AM
Matho
I am also up for one maybe a bulk order is the go

marco
07-07-2008, 07:26 PM
i have a question for the gurus on the 406 eprib , as per the below specs for a model of the pains wessex 406 eprib which has a 121 mhz output to aid pin pointing the search , would it be a advantage to retain our old 121 eprib to use in conjunction with the new 406 base model which has no 121 mhz feature ?
i know the aircraft have the 121mhz reciever so it would make sense to retain the old beacon as well as buy the new one , does this make sense ?

mark

The SOS 406 EPIRB is a third generation satellite distress beacon designed to operate in conjunction with the COSPAS-SARSAT international satellite search and rescue system. This system locates beacons transmitting on the 406MHz frequency to within 5km (3nm). Once Search and Rescue (SAR) units are at the distress scene the beacon's 121.5MHz homing transmitter and its high intensity xenon strobe light aid final location even in poor visibility.

Outsider1
07-07-2008, 07:42 PM
This page probably answers at least part of your question;

http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/digital_vs_analogue.asp

marco
08-07-2008, 07:39 PM
thanks for that dave , from what i read it would be a good idea to keep the old one on board as well . better than just throwing it out .

QF3 MROCP
09-07-2008, 09:14 PM
thanks for that dave , from what i read it would be a good idea to keep the old one on board as well . better than just throwing it out .

Hi Marco,

Just one concern about having the two beacons is to make sure that when or should I say if you have to activate them, make sure the 406 is in easy reach and is the first one activated, especially after Feb 1st.. Keep the 121 in your grab back and activate it later. Better still - dump it and keep the 406 in your possession.

My concern in activating the two is that you could have the units floating away in different directions and then have the rescue teams looking for two beacons, possibly thinking it is two separate incidents..

trueblue
09-07-2008, 09:48 PM
it might be viewed the same as out of date flares... I was told by the authorities that I could be fined for having a set of just out of date flares on the boat, even if in date ones were on board as well. I said they were for spare, 'just in case' and was told to buy a new set if i thought I needed 2 sets of flares.

marco
11-07-2008, 07:28 PM
Hi Marco,

Just one concern about having the two beacons is to make sure that when or should I say if you have to activate them, make sure the 406 is in easy reach and is the first one activated, especially after Feb 1st.. Keep the 121 in your grab back and activate it later. Better still - dump it and keep the 406 in your possession.

My concern in activating the two is that you could have the units floating away in different directions and then have the rescue teams looking for two beacons, possibly thinking it is two separate incidents..

THANKS QF3 ,
they were my thoughts as well in regards to keeping the 121 in the grab bag and having the 406 as first activation . clearly there is a advantage in having both on board as long as they are kept together in the event that they are activated .

and trueblue , what some so called authorities dont do is actually tell you what the legislation is and they rather give there opinion and thankfully they cannot fine you based on their opinion .

QF3 MROCP
12-07-2008, 02:09 PM
A new one for me is an article on page 7 in the Courier Mail on Friday 11th July claims there will be a $150 fine for using the 121.5.. Anyone heard or see any doco stating that? The other confusing thing is after Feb 1st the beacon won't be picked up by satellite so how would "they" know it has been activated apart from an aircraft picking up the signal?

Signed.. Confused Trainer!!

marco
13-07-2008, 07:20 AM
A new one for me is an article on page 7 in the Courier Mail on Friday 11th July claims there will be a $150 fine for using the 121.5.. Anyone heard or see any doco stating that? The other confusing thing is after Feb 1st the beacon won't be picked up by satellite so how would "they" know it has been activated apart from an aircraft picking up the signal?

Signed.. Confused Trainer!!

dear confused trainer ;D

my understanding of the 121 is just that , after feb 1 the sat will not pick them up and only recieve 406 signals . so the basis of my question earlier was that there is a pain wessex model epirb that has 406 and 121 combined , the 406 to make the alert via satelite and to get rescue to within 5km area and the 121 signal is for rescue to assist in pin pointing more accurately .

from the pw site

Description
The Pains Wessex SOS 406 is a third generation satellite distress beacon designed to operate in conjunction with the Cospas-Sarsat international satellite search and rescue system. This system locates beacons transmitting on the 406MHz frequency to within 5km (3nm). Once Search and Rescue (SAR) units are at the distress scene the beacons 121.5MHz homing transmitter and its high intensity xenon strobe light aid final location even in poor visibility.

http://www.painswessex.com.au/Marine/Epirb_Frame.htm

but you are right in that how would they know and if the fine is in fact correct , can you be fined for setting of the above model pw sos epirb that contains a 121 signal .

i have another question , i know they are going to 406 epribs to cut the false alarm rate , but have they chosen a signal that is not as accurate as the 121 given that the above pw model has 121 to aid final location ?

(http://www.painswessex.com.au/Marine/Epirb_Frame.htm)

SatNav
13-07-2008, 09:06 AM
::::::::::::::::::

marco
14-07-2008, 07:02 PM
"so the basis of my question earlier was that there is a pain wessex model epirb that has 406 and 121 combined'

1. ALL 406 Epirb's made by every manufacturer has a 121.5 tracking signal. This is nothing specific to PW

2. Standard 406 Epirbs are at least 4 times more accurate than straight old 121.5 anolgue. The signal as chosen is far better than 121.5

3. It is inappropriate for anybody to even be suggesting retaining anologue 121.5 models with the intention of using them in conjunction with 406.

4. After the date any Epirb must meet the specific standard and anolgue 121.5 do not meet this standard so Yes anolgue 121.5 will be illegal

1: not according to pw specs , please show proof of this .

2: so why as you say all 406 epirbs have 121.5 tracking signal incorparated if 406 is so good ?

3: why is this so , back it up with facts please or is this just simply your opinion

4: you seem to quote something that i have not read in the legislation , please back this up as well .

dont shoot me down just for the sake of it , i am wanting to find what the facts are and i am not being a clown about this . if you want to make statements please provide the facts not personal opinions

SatNav
14-07-2008, 07:37 PM
::::::::::

SatNav
14-07-2008, 08:09 PM

marco
15-07-2008, 02:56 AM
so satnav , now you resort to insults to make your case . i asked for facts and not your opinion , others have sumed you up perfectly as a trouble maker .

again show proof not opinion to push whatever agenda

SatNav
15-07-2008, 06:00 AM

SatNav
15-07-2008, 06:13 AM

marco
15-07-2008, 07:25 PM
you are such a tool satnav , if all the above is fact where is the legislation and manufacturer specs to prove it ? as i said you have been quoted by others as being a trouble maker and your approach to me only comfirms it .

the legislation states that a 406 eprib needs to be on the boat and some eprib models and not all state they also have 121.5 incorporated so if the base models do not have 121.5 then i was asking someone knowlegable if it is of benifit to have a 121.5 to simulate the more exspensive models .

and yes i see that you stated all 406 epirbs have 121.5 within them , so why the hell would you pay double the price of the base model for that feature when according to you it already has it !

well it comes down to your word as everything you have stated has not come with any information to support it and quite frankly you are such a arrogant fool that i wouldnt believe a word you have to say .

and just for the record , when i say please supply facts , that is not the dribble you wish to type out but cut and paste legislation and manufacturer specs from the relivant web sites .

this whole debacle has been full of poeples opinion including amsa and the only thing that matters is what the legislation is .

and to finish satnav , please take your insults and shove them where they fit . as i said dont shoot me down for the sake of it as i am just trying to get the facts , but you just couldnt help your self hey . wacker .

SatNav
15-07-2008, 08:24 PM
Deleted.

This is a waste of time.

marco
16-07-2008, 02:53 AM
Deleted.

This is a waste of time.
at last , a bit of common sense from you .

thankyou

pueter66
20-07-2008, 03:13 PM
it might be viewed the same as out of date flares... I was told by the authorities that I could be fined for having a set of just out of date flares on the boat, even if in date ones were on board as well. I said they were for spare, 'just in case' and was told to buy a new set if i thought I needed 2 sets of flares.

Mick,
You are spot on I was fined 150 smackers a couple of weeks ago for having an epirb that was still current.
The epirb expired in april 2009 .
but because I had the epirb close at hand the sun faded the 2009 part and the officer said it could have been 2008.
I was also told not to carry it in the boat when i had the new 406.
I dont know how much the fine will be for that. cheers Pete

QF3 MROCP
24-07-2008, 08:35 PM
Mick,
You are spot on I was fined 150 smackers a couple of weeks ago for having an epirb that was still current.
but because I had the epirb close at hand the sun faded the 2009 part and the officer said it could have been 2008.

Pete...

Was the officer from Police or Qld Transport? and did he quote you any part of the law that gives him the right to say not to have the old 121 in the boat?

QF3 MROCP
24-07-2008, 08:48 PM
Pete...

Was the officer from Police or Qld Transport? and did he quote you any part of the law that gives him the right to say not to have the old 121 in the boat?

just another question: when they fined you, were you more than 2n miles offshore with the EPIRB?

trueblue
24-07-2008, 09:48 PM
I don't think it was the issue of the 121... it would have just been that the officer (whoever he was and it doesn't matter) couldn't read the date of expiry.

I have it on good authority from a bloke in the water police that if they can not conclusively read the expiry date, they are required to classify it as out of date.

The fine is then for an out of date epirb, regardless of all other matters. A lesson for all to learn. Shade your epirb date stamp to keep it legible!!!!!

QF3 MROCP
24-07-2008, 10:00 PM
Mick,

I was looking from the point of view that the EPIRB is only required onboard when over 2nm, hence the epirb would then be covered in the legislation and require a fine. on the other hand if the vessel was in smooth or partial waters, an EPIRB is not required, therefore on what grounds can the fine be applied?

antics
30-07-2008, 06:23 PM
Peter,

The way I understand it is that if you are carrying the equipment, then it must comply with the legislation. It is the same with nav. lights if you have them fitted then they must comply, regardless of the time of day or conditions (fog). I don't agree with this interpretation, but it is the way it is being enforced. The bottom line is if you have the gear onboard it must be in a "serviceable" state. Therefore if you don't need it onboard, don't take it with you, and you won't get fined, unless you are somewhere where you need it. In which case you should have the correct equip anyway.

Hope this helps.
Antics.

Ready Jet Go
07-08-2008, 03:51 PM
I phoned AMSA this morning and asked if i could use my 406epirb on my mates boat this weekend they said no problem just log back into your online epirb account and give the particulars of the trip and boat in the notes section.

07-08-2008, 04:06 PM
I phoned AMSA this morning and asked if i could use my 406epirb on my mates boat this weekend they said no problem just log back into your online epirb account and give the particulars of the trip and boat in the notes section.

I assume you will be accompanying the unit?? You see i wouldn't do that, I would just use the unit on the spur of the moment if needed, I will try hard to give the impost of registration not another thought until I need to, they have my particulars and my units code/hex/whatever and if they are smart enough to look it up they will find those that know where I am and what I am doing in real time.

If there is the legislated requirement to do that it smacks somewhat (these days anything is possible), of coarse they could pay for the unit or my time in effort and i might cut them some slack.

Of coarse loaning out the unit would be different.

Zodiac fisho
10-08-2008, 03:10 PM
If you purchased the EPIRB for land use you would have no vessel name or description so it makes no difference as long as they have your correct contact details.

The EPIRB's are not designed just for marine use although for land use you would be more likely to purchase a PLB (personnel location beacon) as they are smaller and cheaper.

You could take it to go bush walking or 4wd out west as long as you know they will get someone on your contact numbers who has your trip details.

Obviously it would help to have a vessel description to look for if they are unable to contact anyone and you are on the water in trouble.

When you activate the EPIRB it sends the UIN (Unit identification number) which will be matched with your information on the database.

Hope this is of some help.
:)

10-08-2008, 11:15 PM
Mick,

Speak with the manufacturer as they can confirm the serial number and dates. Tell the manfacturer the product was not fit for service as the date couldn't be read by a inspecting officer. Ask the manufacturer to replace the date or epirb , pay the fine and write to the fining body and have you name cleared.

Not too hard - well maybe but worth a try - I hate being screwed by authority

marco
11-08-2008, 02:48 AM
Speak with the manufacturer as they can confirm the serial number and dates. Tell the manfacturer the product was not fit for service as the date couln't be read by a inspecting officer. Ask them to replce the date or epirb , pay the fine and write to the fining body and have you name cleared.

Not too hard - well maybe but worth a try - I hate being screwed by authority
paying the fine is a admission of guilt , write to the fining body as cormorant suggests with evidence from the eprib manufacturer that the eprib was in date before paying the fine . you never know you may get out of it .

Zodiac fisho
12-08-2008, 09:25 PM
i have a question for the gurus on the 406 eprib , as per the below specs for a model of the pains wessex 406 eprib which has a 121 mhz output to aid pin pointing the search , would it be a advantage to retain our old 121 eprib to use in conjunction with the new 406 base model which has no 121 mhz feature ?
i know the aircraft have the 121mhz reciever so it would make sense to retain the old beacon as well as buy the new one , does this make sense ?

mark

The SOS 406 EPIRB is a third generation satellite distress beacon designed to operate in conjunction with the COSPAS-SARSAT international satellite search and rescue system. This system locates beacons transmitting on the 406MHz frequency to within 5km (3nm). Once Search and Rescue (SAR) units are at the distress scene the beacon's 121.5MHz homing transmitter and its high intensity xenon strobe light aid final location even in poor visibility.

Marco,

Pains Wessex had not included the fact that the RB6 has 121.5 freq because in their error they did not want to confuse the old system with the new 406 system.

The more expensive EPIRBS you mention are built to a lot higher standard in that they have to pass more stringent tests (temp, strobe, etc) for commercial use.

They are also much more expensive to have the battery service carried out as they have to be retested to these standards. I think the last SOS we had serviced cost $460.00

This information concerning the 121.5 freq was direct from Pains Wessex and they have no reason to give out false information about their product as we have been a wholesale customer of theirs for many years.

The main problem at the moment is both manufactures being able to supply enough of their product because of demand and this will only get worse.

We sell EPIRBS from both GME and Pains Wessex.

Hope this was of some help.

QF3 MROCP
29-08-2008, 10:05 PM
I'm really pleased to see over 4500 views on this thread. With only 2 months to go before L A W is enforced, I just hope you are all ready to go with the new 406 EPIRB.

From a search and rescue point of view.. thank you all for your comments and remember the 5 P's: Proper Planning Prevents Poor Performance..

QF3 MROCP

suzygs1000
03-09-2008, 10:33 PM
Hi,

I was at a ramp recently when fisheries guys were speaking to a boat owner who had just purchased a 406mhz epirb over the internet. It was a top of the line model, and had actually come from a marine dealership. The fisheries guy had a look at it, and said that it wouldn't satisfy the marine legislation, as it didn't comply with the relevant legislation I think he said 4280/1.

He stated that it was a PLB, and only complied with 4280/2??

He said it was something to do with how it floated, and how long it signalled for. I have seen the same unit advertised on EBAY , and it is implied that it is ok for marine use as it floats??
What is going on here?

Aren't all the 406 EPIRB/PLB's suitable for the legislation???

QF3 MROCP
04-09-2008, 10:59 PM
Hi,

I was at a ramp recently when fisheries guys were speaking to a boat owner who had just purchased a 406mhz epirb over the internet. It was a top of the line model, and had actually come from a marine dealership. The fisheries guy had a look at it, and said that it wouldn't satisfy the marine legislation, as it didn't comply with the relevant legislation I think he said 4280/1.

He stated that it was a PLB, and only complied with 4280/2??

He said it was something to do with how it floated, and how long it signalled for. I have seen the same unit advertised on EBAY , and it is implied that it is ok for marine use as it floats??
What is going on here?

Aren't all the 406 EPIRB/PLB's suitable for the legislation???

Dave.. here is the link to the legislation: http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/SLS/2008/08SL108.pdf

The fisheries guy is right. The legislation only states AS/NZ 4280.1:2003.

Ship to be equipped with EPIRB
‘(1) The ship must be equipped with an EPIRB that—

(a) has an operational frequency of 406MHz; and
(b) complies with AS/NZS 4280.1:2003; and
I have a GME brochure in front of me and yep.. the new MT410G PLB is AS/NZ 4280.2, which means the boys from GME are going to have some fun with the Qld Gov. I expect..

I got the local GME reps name and number from the boat so I'll make a call to him.

QF3 MROCP
05-09-2008, 06:02 PM
Got the word today that the inspector is correct, a PLB is not an EPIRB, hence why the GME brochure differentiates the two types. The retail stores are being told to promote them as different units and that a PLB is not an alternative under the eyes of the law....

05-09-2008, 08:36 PM
Must self deploy aerial
Must float with aerial clear of the water
Must have battery life as stated

myusernam
07-09-2008, 09:45 AM
In response to the 121 query

121.5 is the aviation distress frequency so I'm guessing that the reason the new epirbs also transmit 121.5 is not for the sattelite (406) but for any search planes or planes that may be in the area when the epirb is set off.

BladeRunner
08-09-2008, 03:30 PM
Are you positive that you can swap your EPIRB with a freind ?????
BladeRunner

08-09-2008, 08:07 PM
all info here:-

http://beacons.amsa.gov.au/distress_beacons.asp

08-09-2008, 11:57 PM
In response to the 121 query

121.5 is the aviation distress frequency so I'm guessing that the reason the new epirbs also transmit 121.5 is not for the sattelite (406) but for any search planes or planes that may be in the area when the epirb is set off.

121 is still used as the homing frequency as unless you have a GPS enabled 406 there is still a bloody large area to search. Boats , planes and helo with diection finding gear can home in as these things so often happen in low vis or at night.

Hence the strobe

Hence the value in buying the GPS version so search area is smaller.

QF3 MROCP
21-10-2008, 11:01 PM
Not long now.. are we all ready??

29-10-2008, 08:45 PM
no...still tossing up what to get!

iceknight
29-10-2008, 08:50 PM
I cant justify the price, surely its the government having a go at us, Im not getting one, at that price. ill have a few fines thanks. mabee for boats that go offshore in weather they should have one, but if your going out with other boats and stuff whats the point. as long as you have a radio, i cant remember going outside and not seeing another boat, its not like where in the 70s anymore, every man and his dog is out there,

Ive tallied 3 fines this year on the water,

one for a stern light thats not 360 deg veiwable. which is factory. so its not my problem,

another for rego numbers only being 190mill, not the required 200,

and one for out of date flares... ( my fault)

QF3 MROCP
31-10-2008, 09:31 PM
THE BIG DAY HAS ARRIVED IN QUEENSLAND....

THERE COULD BE A LOT OF INSPECTION ACTIVITY ON THE WATER THIS WEEKEND - BE WARNED!!!

Zodiac fisho
07-11-2008, 08:48 PM
For all those boaties waiting for a price drop, both manufactures have just raised their prices and the shortage has arrived. We sell both Pains Wessex and GME and have waited two weeks for supply.

suzygs1000
08-11-2008, 01:37 PM
Hi to all the pessimists out there.

I purchased a GME MT400 on 29 October from Transceiver Services in Adelaide for $406 including express post to Ingham in North Qld. I received it on 31 October.

There was no issue with supply, and the price is coming down.

The salesman told me that there are 32,000 to be replaced Australia wide, with the bulk of sales going to GME and Pains Wessex, with both brands being manufactured in Oz

Be a nice little earn in that for those manufacturers. That would be around $15 million in retail sales.

People who foresee calamaties suffer them twice.

seabug
04-12-2008, 02:19 PM
Hi to all the pessimists out there.

I purchased a GME MT400 on 29 October from Transceiver Services in Adelaide for $406 including express post to Ingham in North Qld. I received it on 31 October.

There was no issue with supply, and the price is coming down.

The salesman told me that there are 32,000 to be replaced Australia wide, with the bulk of sales going to GME and Pains Wessex, with both brands being manufactured in Oz

Be a nice little earn in that for those manufacturers. That would be around $15 million in retail sales.

People who foresee calamaties suffer them twice.

Hi,
Orderered GME MT400 today from supplier above.

They ordered in September ,still on back-order and cost $426 delivered

If they order today cost will be $496.00

Looks like GME and other EPIRB makers have a captive market

seabug

Wahoo
04-12-2008, 02:23 PM
Hi,
Orderered GME MT400 today from supplier above.

They ordered in September ,still on back-order and cost $426 delivered

If they order today cost will be $496.00

Looks like GME and other EPIRB makers have a captive market

seabug

$496 seabug, thats shocking for a GME, Innisfail has the RB6 $470 landed to my door

pueter66
06-12-2008, 03:28 PM
:-[ Peter,
Sorry it took so long to reply I have been out of action.
Yes I was over 2 nm out to sea and it was a Queensland transport boat.
It is the skippers duty to maintain all onboard equipment and I failed to comply.
So yes regardless of expiry date if they cant read it you will be fined.
I will not dispute it as it is a good lesson learned. I keep my equipment in good condition but neglected the information sticker.My bad cheers Pete

SatNav
06-12-2008, 06:58 PM
1. Current indications are that prices of ALL Epirbs made in Australia will increase due to current $$ rates as the the base electronics are imported. This will apply to both GME and PW.

Bowser
07-12-2008, 12:28 PM
Well I bought one today from BLF, they had 2 in the store and these weren't on display. Supply is an issue!

BARRACAT
11-12-2008, 11:00 AM
I have just started stocking the new SALCOM MRB406 in my shop due to the lack of stock for the GME and Pains wessex 406 units,I was told that there would be no GME or Pains available till the new year.........

16-12-2008, 09:58 AM
How much are the Salcom ones and do they still have the user changable batteries or is there a newer version?

BARRACAT
20-12-2008, 05:36 AM
The new 406MRB will cost around $600.00. and the replacement cost of the battery is around $(90.00).