View Full Version : best 60hp - final purchase results added

pilchardjones
20-05-2008, 01:36 PM
hi all,
i am in the market for a new motor for my 445 haines glass side console. it had a 90 2 stroke yamaha (about 95 i think) but water somehow got inside the cylinders causing lots of corrosion issues:'( . Subsequently it now lives at the motor wreckers as i was not keen on spending lots of money on a rebuild for an older motor.
I don't want to end up with any more weight on the transom than the 120kg 90hp i had. This definately narrows down the choices.

I have done a fair bit of research already and think it will come down to either the yamaha 60 4 stroke, or the new mercury 60 4 stroke. Horsepower wise 90 is over the top, but dropping back to 60 is a bit of an unknown. I am fairly confident the 60 will be fine for 3 up 25mph cruise and say low 30's top. Both are similar weights at around 110kg.
I would love a 70 suzi, but its just too heavy at around 170kg. same for etec 75 and 90. and optimax 75 and 90. etec 60 is a possibility?

The standard 75 merc 2 stroke (130kg) is also a possibility, but just a bit loud and thirsty old technology now. but very reliable and grunty. my mates 445 / formula 15 does 52mph + with one of these.

So i would love to hear anyones thoughts on the best powerplant choice. I have heard nothing but glowing reports on the 60 yam, but have not heard too much about the new merc 60. what should i expect to pay for these?
Thanks for anyones thoughts.
steve

STUIE63
20-05-2008, 01:49 PM
I used to have a 60 4stroke yammie on a 4.5 bluefin warrior it was a lot of boat to push around and the yammie did it with ease , cheap to run and quiet it will be fine . you might even be lucky and the bolt pattern is the same going from yammie to yammie

boatboy50
20-05-2008, 02:34 PM
Steve,

Welcome to my world. I've got the same dilemma with repowering my Kevlacat 5.2.

I believe the Mercury 60 is a Yamaha re-badged. So there is no difference.

The Yammie is a great motor. Reliable, Frugal, quiet, smooth, light and powerful.

I've found the Merc is more expensive than the Yam new.

I wouldn't go back to the standard two stroke, as in 5 years you will regret it and it will be worth nothing when you trad up again.

Hope the Haines is keeping you well.

Outsider1
20-05-2008, 02:48 PM
Suzuki Is releasing their new 100hp 4 stroke at the Sanctuary Cove Boat show, along with their 70hp, 80hp and 90hp versions (all 4 strokes)

http://www.sanctuarycoveboatshow.com.au/newproducts/view.php?id=212

Not sure what they weigh though?, have not been able to find that out yet, only that they are described as light weight!.

Murks
20-05-2008, 02:59 PM
Steve,
I have a 60E-TEC pushing a 480 FORMOSA Runabout. Fully fueled and loaded with 4 adults sits on 23-25knots at 5000RPM.....Have nothing bad to say about the E-TEC except for it uses very little fuel, next too no oil, its very quiet, starts first go everytime and can sit on 5000rpm all day long and not miss abeat....hang on...did I say they were bad things.....seriously Steve, you can't go wrong with an E-TEC 60 in my humble opinion

snelly1971
20-05-2008, 03:31 PM
The Yammie 60 4 S only weighs in at 115 kg, How could you go past that, great, bullet proof and proven motor

20-05-2008, 03:41 PM
Just something to keep in mind if the 60 does struggle a bit(i have no good idea). Fuel economy is about distance traveled per hour not so much L/H.

If the engine you choose can turn a bigger pitch prop and has the gearing to suit they can be very ecomical in real world terms all the while not spectacular when comparing just L/H.

Will that engine need somthing like a 10 or 11p prop, 3 up, thats not a lot of twisted travel per rpm.

20-05-2008, 03:44 PM
true Snelly, but remember that the Motor he is replacing is only 5KG heavier, but 50% more HP, so I guess he needs to be careful to not buy a Motor that may be cheap to run but is next to useless, because it is under powered.

Jungle Jim
20-05-2008, 04:30 PM
i have a 60 hp 4st yammie, pushing a stacer 469 nomad side console (which i think weighs around 1000kg) - with 18 hours on it.
To date the yammie has performed faultlessly, pushes 28knots, uses no juice and they seem to have a pretty good reputation (which is important to me should i trade up one day).

The dealer informs me that the servicing shedule has been cut back. i couldn't say for sure what they are but there are a couple of servicing that yamaha now say arn't necessary. if you get it serviced by an authorized yamaha crowd they increase the warranty to 3 years too.

as for the price -when i bought mine 6 months ago the list price for one was around $9k although i bought mine as BMT package.

hope this helps

JIM

Dan5
20-05-2008, 04:31 PM
My self a have a yammie 60f/s on a 4.5 open boat hull weight is 375kg from factory so when it's full of fuel and fishing gear and 2 adult's with esky etc it would be around 650kg the little yammie pushes it well even 3 up,

Maybe if you look into the yammie 60 high thrust version? apparently it's geared different to the standard like mine and is more equiped to push bigger/heavier load's.

I don't think that there would be any really significant difference in the yammie v's merc engine either one would have very similar performance,

Dan.

BARRA73
20-05-2008, 04:42 PM
Mate I decided to try out a 60hp e-tec and have so far found it to be an excellent performer. Same as murks it uses very little oil and has great economy. I convinced all outboards are pretty much of a muchness though, it's just that everyone likes to bag each others brand. Human nature i suppose. The main thing I go for is reliability because getting home is the most important thing to me.

snelly1971
20-05-2008, 04:44 PM
true Snelly, but remember that the Motor he is replacing is only 5KG heavier, but 50% more HP, so I guess he needs to be careful to not buy a Motor that may be cheap to run but is next to useless, because it is under powered.

True Noel...But i am pushing over 3.5 ton with 2 115 Yammie Fours , so as long as the 60 is propped right there shouldnt be any problems

pilchardjones
20-05-2008, 05:40 PM
thanks for all these comments so far guys.
sorry time it tight on here for me with 2 littlies needing dinner but will jump on a bit later.
please keep the comments coming. its all good info.
steve

20-05-2008, 06:03 PM
I currently have a 60 4str yammie behind a 4.85 Quintrex runabout, its a great engine, pretty much bullet proof and I've never had a problem in the 4 years I've had it. Very quiet, on a windy day, I'm flat out hearing the engine over the wind and water hitting the boat, and excellent on fuel either on the troll , cruise or WOT, for reference, I've done 35 miles on one outing and used about 18L of fuel (no oil, unlike those etecs and other 2strokes), and that was trolling, and bashing through some pretty heavy chop.

TheSaint
20-05-2008, 08:07 PM
The yammie 60 4 stroke is the choice as it comes in at 110kg, but can the transom of the boat take the weight of Etec 75/90hp (both motors/same weight) 145kg?

Rob128
20-05-2008, 08:09 PM
Hey Steve,

We chose our boat (Quintrex Freedom Sport) and then torn between the Merc 60 and Yamaha 60 4 stroke engines. Whilst they are very similar and both great engines, we settled on the Yamaha and have certainly not regretted the decision.

As has been said above the engine has been for us; reliable, very quiet at cruise, vibration free, light, powerful, extremely lean on fuel and with the EFI, starts first time every time even without priming. Weve just had it through its annual service after 50 hours and now even seems to be running smoother, the service cost is not bad as well.

I did change the prop on it as it was revving a bit hard, we went from an 11 up to a 12 pitch where she cruises at 22 knots and at WOT will reach 29 knots. I think the basic boat weighs 480 Kg.

It is a hard decision between the two, good luck.

madman1
20-05-2008, 08:22 PM
Sorry Pillie,:-*

I didn't have time to go through the "Guff" about all the other rengines!!! Here we Go!

I am on my second Etec now (60hp) powering a 5.2 metre Quinnie. Tiller steer with all the gear. Cant be happier. My Maiden voyage saw us doing 150km in good conditions for a measly 50 litres of juice. Tops out under full load at 50km / hr but 30km / hr suits me fine.

Pay the little extra and you will be thanking me and all other Etec owners in the long run.::)

Maybe not as quiet as the Hondas but definitely quieter than the Yammies (from personal experience).

Good luck in making your decision.:D

(My hands are now covering my ears)!!!!!

pilchardjones
20-05-2008, 08:53 PM
lots of good opinions in there so thanks guys.
i just haven't heard a bad thing about the 60 yam so am leaning that way (high thrust model), although the 60 etec seems to have a lot going for it also.
FYI saint i really do not want to put any more weight on the transom, which is why i am keen on a 115kg or so motor.

i am very interested in seeing what the weight of these new suzi's are. everyone talks about them but no one can seem to get a firm answer on the weights. if anyone hears from sanctuary cove i would love to hear. i have a 140 suzi on my reef boat and it would be great to just have 1 brand outboard and dealer.

i have the added luxury of having a mate who has just converted a 445 into a barra boat like mine, and he has just fitted a tiller steer 60 yam 4s so i will get to have a run and see how it goes. he hasn't even had a run in it yet after 1 week. o to have some time.

darren - yes the 445 is going great. i had it up in weipa for a couple of months last year while i was there for work. it was a perfect boat for up there. such a great ride when those gulf waters chop up.

thanks for the help.
steve

boatboy50
20-05-2008, 09:02 PM
Good to hear Steve,

I've done plenty of searching for the new 60 Suzuki (spoken to Haines and US dealers), and i'm sure you will find the new 60hp Suzy will weigh around 160kg. Not good for the 60, but great for the 90hp which will also weigh the same.

I doubt you will find any advantage from a high thrust model Yammie. With a reasonably light boat like yours, i thought the normal engine would be better suited. Do you have a need to spin the bigger prop?

Check out www.seamedia.com.au, and look at the Profish 485 we had. I took it to Fraser, and it had a 60hp 4 stroke standard Yammie on it, for a pretty heavy boat. It was no speed demon, but handled it quite well. Find the actual figures on the site. Fuel consumption was incredible. Unbelievable!

There's quite a few 20" model's around second hand at the moment (I know I find them all, but need a 25"!) The prices are quite reasonable, and about 3-4k cheaper than new.

Some more options for you.

Bowser
20-05-2008, 09:24 PM
Mate,

I haven't a loyalty factor for either motor as I haven't owned either. The reports on both a great and you shouldn't have any worries with either. But for what it is worth I am running a 40hp 4 stroke yammie on a 445 alum centre console which I would expect is a lot lighter then your glass boat. The problem I have with the yammie is that it doesn't have the grunt down low to quickly get out of the hole and also to hold power in a bar situation. The problem you are going to have is knowing if any 60 is going to do the job as you can't test drive them and finding out the motor isn't quite right on the first run is an expensive mistake. Remember you are dropping 1/3 in power from the 90HP, so bear that in mind when choosing a new motor.

I am going to a slightly larger tinnie soon and am seriously considering the Etec because it is 2 stroke and has that grunt. While I think the yammie is a great motor, if it was me, and I don't know your boat as you do, I would be looking at the Etec for that grunt. The economy reportedly is still there as is the quietness so you shouldn't loose anything.

Another advantage for me is that the Etec at that horsepower has available an of the shelf plug to conect to a NMEA2000 network such as the Lowrance system. With this you can get all the info you need about your engine such as revs, fuel flow, trim, etc etc, digitally onto either a specialised gauge or your Lowrance sounder/GPS. from my investigations, Yammie may or may not be able to do this and the factory is not in the least bit helpful in finding out info on this. So for me it would be the Etec

madman1
20-05-2008, 09:45 PM
Bowser,

What model Lowrance systems run the Etec system?

I am keen to know as the tiller steer 60hp Etec has nothing to determine what revs, fuel flow etc it is running at?

Thanks in advance..

Bowser
20-05-2008, 10:01 PM
Madman,

The best info on this is at Lowrance. Try this page:
http://www.lowrance.com/en/Products/Marine/LowranceNET-Marine-Networking-System/Product-Guide/Head-Units-Displays/

It lists all th eunits that plug in to the NMEA system. The current models have a red plug and previous models used the blue plugs.

There is a scarcity of info on NMEA2000 both on th enet and especially through the dealer networks. They don't want to have anything to do with anything that isn't bog standard. I picked up my info after lots of reserch and searches on the net. The details on the Etec conection can be located on the BRP site if i recall.

Outsider1
20-05-2008, 10:31 PM
Good to hear Steve,

I've done plenty of searching for the new 60 Suzuki (spoken to Haines and US dealers), and i'm sure you will find the new 60hp Suzy will weigh around 160kg. Not good for the 60, but great for the 90hp which will also weigh the same.

I doubt you will find any advantage from a high thrust model Yammie. With a reasonably light boat like yours, i thought the normal engine would be better suited. Do you have a need to spin the bigger prop?

Check out www.seamedia.com.au (http://www.seamedia.com.au), and look at the Profish 485 we had. I took it to Fraser, and it had a 60hp 4 stroke standard Yammie on it, for a pretty heavy boat. It was no speed demon, but handled it quite well. Find the actual figures on the site. Fuel consumption was incredible. Unbelievable!

There's quite a few 20" model's around second hand at the moment (I know I find them all, but need a 25"!) The prices are quite reasonable, and about 3-4k cheaper than new.

Some more options for you.

I think you mean the 70hp 4stroke, don't you Darren? As I understand it the new motors are a 70, an 80 and a 90hp based on the same displacement motor. All I have been able to find out is that the 90hp will be the lightest 4 stroke in the 90hp class, so your 160kgs sounds about right (the Honda 90 is 163kgs).

The new 100hp is a different displacement and weighs 189kgs.

We should find out in the next few days at the boat show.

boatboy50
21-05-2008, 08:00 AM
Hey Dave,

Good pickup, I did mean the 70hp.

I still doubt they will have the weights at Sanctuary Cove, as it hasn't been confirmed from the states yet either.

The motor at Sanctuary Cove will be a display motor, not a production model.

The 100 engine is simply a current model 90 up specked. Same weights, displacements ect.

21-05-2008, 08:14 AM
Hey Steve,

We chose our boat (Quintrex Freedom Sport) and then torn between the Merc 60 and Yamaha 60 4 stroke engines. Whilst they are very similar and both great engines, we settled on the Yamaha and have certainly not regretted the decision.

As has been said above the engine has been for us; reliable, very quiet at cruise, vibration free, light, powerful, extremely lean on fuel and with the EFI, starts first time every time even without priming. Weve just had it through its annual service after 50 hours and now even seems to be running smoother, the service cost is not bad as well.

I did change the prop on it as it was revving a bit hard, we went from an 11 up to a 12 pitch where she cruises at 22 knots and at WOT will reach 29 knots. I think the basic boat weighs 480 Kg.

It is a hard decision between the two, good luck.

Here you go PJ some real info for ya, think you may need to keep your fingers crossed to see these figures on your boat?

STUIE63
21-05-2008, 08:25 AM
Pilchard don't buy the high thrust you won't need it just get the standard one

pilchardjones
21-05-2008, 09:58 AM
thanks once again for the useful comments.
my 445 was rebuilt with glass over ply so she does have a bit of weight. not sure but i guess similar to the original weight. i thought the high thrust may be a nice to have given it is a bit of a heavy boat.
Darren - yes i spoke to peter W the other day and he reckons the 60 on the 485 easily handled the weight (in the std thrust model too) which says a lot to me. my 445 wouldn't be that heavy i don't think.
2nd hand is definately a consideration as i am struggling to justify to myself putting a $9k motor on a 2nd boat i only use infrequently. with young kids and limited time to get on the water i like to spend my time at the reef in the goldstar when the weather comes good. if you have any leads on the 2nd hand market please PM me.

thanks,
steve

Crocodile
21-05-2008, 11:04 AM
If you don't use it very often no need for the high-tech, high capital cost motors.
You will never recover the extra purchase price, even when petrol is two dollars a litre.
If the old 90 suited your purposes, go for a new low-tech two stroke, save some money and enjoy the extra performance.
I have a '91 60hp 2s Yamaha, quiet, powerful, smooth and will troll without fouling.
Two strokes have a lot to offer.

sharkymark2
21-05-2008, 11:52 AM
My Yammie 60 4 stroke is on the back of a 4.6 Nautiglass half cabin. Fair bit of weight there and she goes well. I used to have a 50 hp evinrude on it and the few times I took it out it went just as well. Maybe a bit more top end on the 60 but when you max the revs out it sounds much the same as the 2 stroke. I normally cruise around at 3500 revs and she sounds almost invisible, if you know what I mean ;). The 60 big foot has more drag through the bigger box and was designed apparently for houseboat ,pontoon boats. It certainly is convenient not to muck around with oil and just one flick of the switch and brmmmm. Never have to prime the bulb ever. Happy with what I got and fitted was around $8350. I sell Yamaha home theater systems as well as tv's and yamaha is very reliable. Guess their culture goes through everything they make. Best of luck.

Hebb
21-05-2008, 06:49 PM
I Have a 475 v-sea with a 60hp yamaha high thrust on it. I reckon weight wise it would probably be similar to your rig. Has heaps of get up and go and will cruise comfortably on 25 knots, pushing 30 knots at wot. I would not have put a standard 60hp on it as i like the lower gearing of the high thrust for grunt when travelling in rough conditions as opposed to higher top end speeds. Performs slightly better than the 70hp 2 stroke johno that was on it and very frugal on fuel.

black runner
21-05-2008, 08:36 PM
I have a 60 hp efi 4st yammie on a 460 sunmaster. Having moved up from a smaller boat with a 2 stroke, it would take a lot of convincing for me to move away from the Yammie 4 strokers. In this particular case the 60 is around the same weight as the etec at 110kg.

Hull weight 376kg, fuel 70kg, Motor 110kg, family of 4 and gear, 350 kg + bimini and clears creating a fair bit of drag - total 900 - 1000kg.

I use 13 and 12 p props and get araound 20knots at 4000-4300 rpm and around 28 - 30knots WOT depending on load.

I cannot recommend this motor highly enough and because of this I doubt that you will find too many second hand units for sale with reasonable hours on them.

Red60
22-05-2008, 08:30 AM
Looks like this thread is a little too Yamaha biased! Got a Merc 60 EFI pushing a Tabs 435 Territory. Goes really well, had it for two and a half years no issues at all with the engine. Starts first time everytime, uses bugger all fuel, and it's black!

No different to the Yamaha I would say. A mate has got the Yammy 60 EFI and he loves it. They are both reliable, economical and powerful so either way you can't go wrong.

Black looks better but!

boatboy50
22-05-2008, 07:12 PM
Steve,

Just back from the show.

The new 70/80/90hp Four Stroke Suzuki weighs 155kg.

They will be readily available around September.

They use a heavy duty box, taken from the bigger motors and made even better!

Pricing will be slightly higher than current equivalent models.

There is a 70 and 90 on display at the show.

BigE
22-05-2008, 11:34 PM
Another yammie man here as well , mine is on an early 70s halfcab 15footer, with a 2007 60 four stroker all up she weighs in at 700kg with fuel ice & two big boys on board. i carry 3 tote tanks = 75lts a 25 lt tote will give me a range of 70 - 75kms in any conditions, i cruise at 38kph @ 4600rpm when its smooth and 25kph @ 3500 when its rough flat out is 50kph @5500 but i've only took her there once & pulled back. I think you need to look at which dealer treats you the best as i think you will find the Yammie & Merk much the same. my dealer cut me a good deal & we took it for a prop test for about an hr just to make sure i was happy with the prop & the install.

good luck

BigE

KGW3
23-05-2008, 07:35 AM
Merc has been making OB's for many decades. The 60 is still made in USA and they are really trying hard to get their economy up and going again, I think you can't go wrong with a Merc.

pilchardjones
23-05-2008, 09:46 AM
thanks again blokes.
darren the suzis sound pretty good. i love my 140.
i have a big cranking battery under the rear cast platform on the 445 that i am planning on refitting under the bow platform, so that is probably 20kg, added to my 120kg yam 90 means i probably had about 140kg on the stern already, so 15kg extra for the new suzi 70 is not that much i guess.

but still think the yam will win out.
steve

dicko1980
24-05-2008, 06:20 PM
Hi Steve

I have a December 2007 Merc Bigfoot Four Stroke fitted to my 5m Hooker and have experimented with props and heights and am happy with where the motor is now and am getting 30 knots as WOT. The motor has only done 13 hours so far but when it loosens up around the 100 hour mark I should hopefully be able to gain a few extra knots. The difference between the 75 Merc two stroke and the 60 Four is noticeable but not to the point where the performance is lacking. I find that shedding an excess of nearly 30kg's off the transom with the new lighter 60 makes the boat handle better. As for fuel figures its only early days yet but the Navman Fuel Gauge is indicating a fuel burn of between 10.5-11L/ph as 4500 rpm doing about 19-21 knots. This results in me carrying less fuel now and saving on weight there. These figures were returned when testing with 100L of fuel and my 160L esky full of water. Both the Yammies and Merc's are excellent motors but the Merc's now have a 5 year warranty. If you go the Merc way I recommend J&B Marine in Ingham. I've bought the last two motors off Jonno and he's excellent to deal with and more than happy to adjust motors and props till your happy with the performance, tell I sent you his way and to look after you. Nearly forgot to say that the Hooker weighs in over 400Kg standard with out the rest of the mods that I have done, so the boat is definately not light. Just for interest with the older 2006 Merc Two Stroke when cruising at 4500rpm I was getting obtaining around 22-24 knots and using between 23-26L/ph.

Rob Dickson

http://hookerboats.com/images/owner/PC230500.JPG

hooknose
24-05-2008, 07:07 PM
A nother vote for the Yammie mate, cant go past the best !!!

pilchardjones
25-05-2008, 07:48 AM
Hi Steve

I have a December 2007 Merc Bigfoot Four Stroke fitted to my 5m Hooker and have experimented with props and heights and am happy with where the motor is now and am getting 30 knots as WOT. The motor has only done 13 hours so far but when it loosens up around the 100 hour mark I should hopefully be able to gain a few extra knots. The difference between the 75 Merc two stroke and the 60 Four is noticeable but not to the point where the performance is lacking. I find that shedding an excess of nearly 30kg's off the transom with the new lighter 60 makes the boat handle better. As for fuel figures its only early days yet but the Navman Fuel Gauge is indicating a fuel burn of between 10.5-11L/ph as 4500 rpm doing about 19-21 knots. This results in me carrying less fuel now and saving on weight there. These figures were returned when testing with 100L of fuel and my 160L esky full of water. Both the Yammies and Merc's are excellent motors but the Merc's now have a 5 year warranty. If you go the Merc way I recommend J&B Marine in Ingham. I've bought the last two motors off Jonno and he's excellent to deal with and more than happy to adjust motors and props till your happy with the performance, tell I sent you his way and to look after you. Nearly forgot to say that the Hooker weighs in over 400Kg standard with out the rest of the mods that I have done, so the boat is definately not light. Just for interest with the older 2006 Merc Two Stroke when cruising at 4500rpm I was getting obtaining around 22-24 knots and using between 23-26L/ph.

Rob Dickson

http://hookerboats.com/images/owner/PC230500.JPG
hey thanks rob,
great figures you are getting and the boat looks great. yes i have dealt with johno a bit and found him great. i got a 140 suzi there last year. i will definately give him a call.
steve

dicko1980
25-05-2008, 10:14 AM
Hi Steve

Go for a High Thrust or Bigfoot leg on your choice of motor as this will allow for a larger selection of props to choose from. I would offer you a water test in my boat to give you an idea on performance but unfortunately I have both the boat and fourby packed up in the drive way to head to Karratha in the next couple of days. Good luck with you choice but I'd swing the black way because of backup service from the local dealer.

Rob Dicko

pilchardjones
05-06-2008, 10:14 AM
I am starting to swing around to the black option. The new 60 merc efi 4 strokes are supposedly a very good thing. the big unknown i guess is their long term reliability. i know the 60 yam has been around for years now with raving reports but the merc is new.
price wise, the merc looks to be about $8700 - $9k fitted, and the yam will be about the same, maybe a few hundred $ more.
Does this price seem reasonable, and does anyone have anything bad to say about the new merc 60?

the big thing for me is the dealer. i like the merc man.

thanks for your help.
steve

boatboy50
05-06-2008, 12:08 PM
Hey Steve,

I too am told the new Merc is an all new engine.

But check the specs, cc, weight, displacement, alternator, they are all the same as the old engine and as the Yammie. Only new benefit for Merc over the Yam is the new 5 year warranty.

I am sure it just has a new cowl and stickers.

Having said that, i've just bought a set of 2006 60 Merc EFI 4 Bangers. Yet to have them fitted, but i'm certain I will be happy.

dicko1980
05-06-2008, 12:30 PM
Swing to the darkside, at least the Merc's cowl will be the same colour as the Suzuki. Plus I reckon the new Merc's look pretty good, but I might be biased:D

dicko1980

Flex
05-06-2008, 04:21 PM
I am starting to swing around to the black option. The new 60 merc efi 4 strokes are supposedly a very good thing. the big unknown i guess is their long term reliability. i know the 60 yam has been around for years now with raving reports but the merc is new.
price wise, the merc looks to be about $8700 - $9k fitted, and the yam will be about the same, maybe a few hundred $ more.
Does this price seem reasonable, and does anyone have anything bad to say about the new merc 60?

the big thing for me is the dealer. i like the merc man.

thanks for your help.
steve

I got a quote for a 50hp Yamaha(same engine as the 60) for $7400 fitted. Yamaha is having a $400 cash back deal atm.

I'd imagine the 60hp wouldn't be that much more. under $8k is a damn good deal IMO

bushbeachboy
05-06-2008, 07:33 PM
If you go to the Merc man in Ingham, he used to sell Suzuki's too. Might give you some direct comparisons if he still does.
BBB

pilchardjones
23-06-2008, 10:25 AM
Thanks to everyone who helped out with advice.
I ended up getting a new Mercury 60 4 stroke bigfoot. I am very happy with it. I picked it up on the weekend and did a quick seatrial and its getting 5900 / 36MPH flat out, with a very smooth easy cruise of 4000 / 22MPH. It snaps up effortlessly onto the plane with a SS 14" vengence prop, and is very smooth and quiet as expected.

Mindi
23-06-2008, 12:55 PM
Suzuki Is releasing their new 100hp 4 stroke at the Sanctuary Cove Boat show, along with their 70hp, 80hp and 90hp versions (all 4 strokes)

http://www.sanctuarycoveboatshow.com.au/newproducts/view.php?id=212

Not sure what they weigh though?, have not been able to find that out yet, only that they are described as light weight!.

The new Suzuki 70/80/90 weighs 145kg or 341lb dry weight