View Full Version : what engine do you prefer to have on your boat?

business class
14-05-2008, 02:28 PM
This is not here for an arguement just want to see what everyones thoughts are for what engine they prefer on the back of there boat. and put the brand also if you want to see how many like different brands. and lets try and keep the sh*t stirring out of this one;D

P.S Forget the price tag of the engine
Cheers matty

business class
14-05-2008, 02:54 PM
Suzuki 140 4 stroke

Roughasguts
14-05-2008, 03:01 PM
British Seagull, can't get it to push real hard though.

14-05-2008, 03:15 PM
sort of depends on how you interpret the question, what you have, what you need, what you can afford and what you want or all slightly different things, I want a "don't care" option.

business class
14-05-2008, 03:17 PM
sort of depends on how you interpret the question, what you have, what you need, what you can afford and what you want or all slightly different things, I want a "don't care" option.

Sorry noelm i missed that one i will edit the question for you.;D

death_ship
14-05-2008, 03:53 PM
i love my yammy 4banger

Wahoo
14-05-2008, 03:53 PM
British Seagull, can't get it to push real hard though.

i was going to put 4 of them on my tinny, and change the boat name to " a flock of seagulls " ;D;D;D;D;D

what engine would i prefer to have on my boat............. either a 300 or a 350 Verado8-)

MTAQ/BTAQ
14-05-2008, 03:58 PM
Will we need popcorn for this one?

14-05-2008, 04:08 PM
have had:
suzuki 140 2 stroke - absolute piece of junk
johnson 15hp 2 stroke - always reliable
yamaha 115hp 2 stroke - never had any problems
yamaha 40hp 2 stroke - never had any problems
volvo penta V6 stern drives x 2 - awesome power
mercury 150hp 2 stroke - only had it a few months but so far so good.

Jackinthebox
14-05-2008, 05:01 PM
Matty,

I reckon you should edit the poll, there should be three options, Standard Two stroke, DI Two stroke or Four stroke.

Currently got 50hp 4stroke Merc tiller steer, lovin' it!

bluefin59
14-05-2008, 05:07 PM
Presently i have a 2st 60 mariner but i would have a suzuki or merc 4 stroke in a blink of an eye ,if i could afford it ..matt

BrenMac
14-05-2008, 05:23 PM
Just got a Merc Verado 200 L4- awesome so far!:P

BMac

Scott Ashe
14-05-2008, 05:24 PM
I have a Yamaha 25hp 4 stroke, 2007 model, it's a much better engine than any of my previous 2 stokes, however my old 2 stoke johnson 15 will probably go forever.

akman1
14-05-2008, 05:26 PM
one thats gets me there and back as quick as I want with reliability,little to no maintance and uses bugger all fuel would do nicely thankyou!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

kingtin
14-05-2008, 05:29 PM
Just been to the dealers and had a look at my new 90hp 4 stroke merc on the back of my Stacer Nomad.................It looks bloody huuuuuuuuuuuuge! :o compared to the 2 strokes I've had before. Can't wait for delivery :D

ozbee
14-05-2008, 05:54 PM
they got to be huge to match the four stroke service bill.

kingtin
14-05-2008, 06:21 PM
they got to be huge to match the four stroke service bill.

With my luck I won't put enough hours on it for a service :-/ ::) ;D

kitty_cat
14-05-2008, 06:28 PM
suzuki 4 stroke but have hondas still great as long as its a 4 stroke
as for service seems fine to me and i have 2 donks ozbee i think you better do some shopping around

nowornever
14-05-2008, 06:42 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/poll.php?do=showresults&pollid=200
;D

sid_fishes
14-05-2008, 06:54 PM
gotta love that

14-05-2008, 07:00 PM
statisics damn lies and statistics.

32 polled..............doesnt say much IMHO only that 32 people prefer 4 strokes

14-05-2008, 07:00 PM
not sure i would get too excited about that.
32 people said they prefer 4 strokes.
There are 25143 registered members.
Your 32 people equate to 0.13% of the total..hardly a staggering majority.
(ain't it great how you can work figures to get the result you want)

14-05-2008, 07:01 PM
People argue that Fords or Holdens are better, they're both right. Both have 4 stroke engines!;D;D;D

And they didn't build the mighty GTHO Phase 3 (Ford) with a lawnmower engine, did they?

And all the best piston engined aircraft? 4 strokes. (Actually some had radials, but we're not after the truth here are we???)

Hey, there's an idea! Maybe someone should develop a radial engined outboard. Could put in a V-dub donk as an auxiliary.

Yup. Verbal popcorn.

paul cooper
14-05-2008, 07:45 PM
over the years ive had 2 strokesand they have been great with the new advances in 2 stroke technology they are a lot more fuel efficient
currently ive got a 2003 quintrex set up with a 40 hp johnson 4 stroke ive been waiting and waiting for something to go wrong with it but it still sounds as good as the day i got it and cheap to run if i do a good days fishing off coffs i might use 15 liters if i go down off macauleys ill only use 5 liters for the day in this day and age of rip off fuel prices its still affordable coop

14-05-2008, 07:54 PM
There's good and bad in everything. I like the punch that 2-strokes have but I love the quiet and clean running of the 4 stroke. At the end of the day it is what the budget allows and I ended up with a 40 Merc on my boat and think it is a great motor.

stuartym
14-05-2008, 08:09 PM
30hp Mercury 4 Stroke on a Stacer 429 Nomad Elite
love that Mercury 4 stroke

Stuart

XtremeBoony
14-05-2008, 08:15 PM
well i own a 90hp evinrude etec and you can stick you heavy, no torque, 4 strokes up your ass :)

Wahoo
14-05-2008, 08:25 PM
just had a good look at who voted,

13% of the 4s votes were E-Tec owners http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/roflol.gif

Mark-P
14-05-2008, 08:54 PM
Last boat 115 merc 4st
New boat ( not yet ready ) 115 etec
But who really care ?????? Just me !!!!!!

stevedemon
14-05-2008, 09:09 PM
Hi all have had

25hp mercury 79 back in 82 nothing but problems on 14ft tinny

85hp evinrude 80 I had it fully rebuild in 95 and never had a problem or miss a beat on a 16ft Seafarer

115hp yammy 89 bought this in 2003 and it has never missed a beat on the back of a 18.5ft 1973 Stebercraft all have 2 strokes

ROBENDOG
14-05-2008, 09:12 PM
I have a 2 stroke 200hp Yammy. Is 10 years old (lots of hours), recently pulled down for service.....mechanic commented on excellent condition.

Has tonnes of grunt but a bit thrirsty!!

1st boat so nothing to compare with.

bustastu
14-05-2008, 09:16 PM
Having recently been in this position I chose the 150 e-tec's.

However my 2nd choice would be the 140 Suzuki's.

BS

sharkymark2
14-05-2008, 09:20 PM
hahaha thats a good one wahoo :

pog mo hoin
14-05-2008, 09:27 PM
My 115hp Suzuki Four Stroke is quiet, efficient, no unpleasant exaust fumes and is rather sexy to look at, all black and shiny. It hauls my 5.3mt Signature about at 38knots all day and uses no more than 50 - 60 lt on a big day out.

mod5
14-05-2008, 09:48 PM

............................. ;)

nowornever
14-05-2008, 09:58 PM
well i own a 90hp evinrude etec and you can stick you heavy, no torque, 4 strokes up your ass :)Were you one of those people who got sucked by that bogus marketing methods .... ha ha. Etecs are knothing but a siting hand grenade.

Do you ever see a pro running an etec ha ha.

nowornever
14-05-2008, 09:59 PM
just had a good look at who voted,

13% of the 4s votes were E-Tec owners http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/roflol.gifNow that is a crack up.

tin can marlin
14-05-2008, 10:40 PM
I like the yamaha 4 strokes have had one for 6 months and would never go back to smeely 2 stroke.

polky
15-05-2008, 01:30 AM
suzie 4st, had mine for 12mths and no probs Polky,

Mtx
15-05-2008, 09:55 AM
I am a fence sitter.

had a Johno 2st hand grenade 35hp (POS!)
then had a Mariner 4 banger 50hp - Fantastic
now have a HPDI 200hp 2st - fantastic ( but only had 2 runs in it so far).

the HPDI is very quiet when in the water - was extremely surprised. I thought being a 2st it would be loud and smelly - not the case at all.

The 4 banger would probably be a little better on fuel but got to love the hole shot of the DI2St.

I would buy a motor for what the motor is, and the purpose, not specifically the quantity of cylinders.

DR
15-05-2008, 10:27 AM
basically i don't really care which one so long as it is reliable..

i have a 40hp 2 stroke merc & can't fault it over the last 6 1/2 years, when i got it i weighed up all the scare marketing about 2 strokes being phased out, 4 strokes were so much more efficient fuelwise etc. etc.

decided extra( read huge) price difference, cost of servicing, excessive weight etc etc. i decided on the 2 stroke & feel i am still a long way in front. When i do buy another i reckon 2 strokes will be as efficient as the 4s anyway. As for the 4s being so quiet i dont really care, as it is only noticeable when travelling, it does not make a scrap of difference when drifting or at anchor, i can live with with that..

Jackinthebox
15-05-2008, 01:19 PM
well i own a 90hp evinrude etec and you can stick you heavy, no torque, 4 strokes up your ass :)

Boony,

In case you didn't read the first post, we are trying to keep this thread civil!!!!!

Jackinthebox
15-05-2008, 01:24 PM
Hang on, what's goin' on? Looks like two threads have been merged here with Boony replying to the evangelical 4 stroke thread!

BTW,

Have had - 2 stroke yammy 4hp

- 2 stroke merc 15hp

- 4 stroke suzuki 15hp

- 4 stroke merc 50hp

Happy with all of them, just can't take inhaling the acrid smoke from two strokes any more.

business class
15-05-2008, 01:37 PM
Boony were you droped at birth:-/ or do you just not understand english::) . this thread is just to see what engine boaties have, with out stupid comments.;D So if you cant say something constructive don't say anything at all. (Quote) I own 90hp E-tec and you can stick your heavy, no torque, 4 strokes up your arse (quote). comments like that, maybe it might be safer for you to just :-X .

Matty:P

15-05-2008, 02:34 PM
I voted 2 stroke. In a way I was conflicted because a good 4 stroke would be nice (at a price...) but in the end I have to hand it to the simplicity and reliability of my 115 94 model Yammy. The other day I had a problem with it not reving out...obviously not using her enough because the timing advance unit had gummed up...cleaned and back together it goes like a new one...I would be very very skeptical of anyone claiming that a 14 year old HPDI/ETEC/OPTIMAX will still be giving such reliability; but of course people look for different things and no smoke at all, quiet running, fuel effeciency are some peoples priorities - if I used my boat more than I do, I would be sorely tempted to a modern outboard and perhaps a 4 stroke, but it would be a hard choice - I thinnk weight would ultimately determine that I got a new fanged 2 banger.

stuartym
15-05-2008, 09:27 PM
Mercury Have just contacted me saying they will extend the warranty from 3 years to 5 years. How good is that! Just had its first anniversary!
Now en e-tec warranty was that 5 years or was that it's first service?

Stuart

kitty_cat
16-05-2008, 05:28 PM
i pitty the service guy who has to service a etec for the first time after no servicing for 3 years(get the oxy out for the bolts) and i dont know about yous but i would never buy a 2nd hand etec knowing it hasnt been serviced for 3 years of its life
not for any more than what scap metal is worth(opps did i say that out loud)
besides terrible resale they seem to go allright for a 2 stroke

wayne

sheridan
16-05-2008, 09:24 PM
I have a 1994 johnson 70 hp in excelent condition good maintance keeps it that way, very reliable on a 1974 haines 163 also in excelent original condition these 10 ,20 thousand dollar E TEC and 4 stroke motors hopefully will still be going strong after 14 years of service without too much expence

Outsider1
16-05-2008, 09:38 PM
i pitty the service guy who has to service a etec for the first time after no servicing for 3 years(get the oxy out for the bolts) and i dont know about yous but i would never buy a 2nd hand etec knowing it hasnt been serviced for 3 years of its life
not for any more than what scap metal is worth(opps did i say that out loud)
besides terrible resale they seem to go allright for a 2 stroke

wayne

What a load of crap! Plenty of owners have now had their 300 hour/3year services with little drama and little cost. My question is when will the fat assed four stroke manufacturers start to provide similar service intervals to the customers. It has been available for ages in the better cars. How long will you 4 stroke owners allow them to rip you off!!!

stuartym
16-05-2008, 10:26 PM
ah go Kitty cat.......\

Stuart

17-05-2008, 05:22 AM
An ex-Mate from Mercury Racing (he said he was, anyway. Now I have trouble believing anything he ever said, long story) used to say;

"If it ain't big and black, don't put it on the back"

And my Mauri staff say;

"Once you've had black, you'll never go back!"

Love my Verado, with it's 4.73 million moving parts.;D

nitroburner
17-05-2008, 06:27 AM
An engine that goes..

kitty_cat
17-05-2008, 02:14 PM
gess that was easy sorry outsider just sh*t stirring i have been reading the same posts for years now
not that theres anything wrong with that thats what the net is for
still think i have some valid points imo
wayne

Goldfinch
18-05-2008, 05:58 PM
Last boat I had a Mercury Optimax 200hp 2 stroke.
Current boat has a Yammy 200hp 4 stroke.

The Yammy is far superior IMO

whiting-wizard
18-05-2008, 06:04 PM
I perfer 2 strokes the best;)

sharkymark2
18-05-2008, 06:24 PM
yes they do look huge compared to a 2 stroke. I had to take my bait board off as they yammie 4 stroke was higher in the head and when in transport position would touch. The previous 50 Evinrude was a low brow job;).

19-05-2008, 11:44 AM
Hi Goldfinch - I am a big Yammy fan (of 2 strokes at least but assume that the same build quality and in particular the electrical side of things is as well sorted in the 4 strokes), but I also have the option of re-powering with a 175hp Optimax - 2007 - at a VERY reasonable price. How old was your opti and in what ways is the Yammy superior? How was the Opti reliability?

Murks
19-05-2008, 03:41 PM
i had a 40hp mariner...not bad but noisy:-/....
now i have the much talked about much read about most discussed, most reviewed, most subjected to ridicule, most subjected to splendor, most objective opinions (usually jealousy;D) and also the least serviced, least fuel economy, least oil usage, least emission's output, least trouble and in my opinion the BEST an E-TEC:D:D:D

And no I am not eating popcorn either nor do I want to...the question was asked and I am presenting MY opinion::)

Jackinthebox
22-05-2008, 10:43 AM
I was a bit concerned about putting a big tiller steer 50 four stroke on the back of my tinnie because of the weight.

Then i looked at the E-tec specs in the 40 , 50 , 60 hp range ...................................

Wait for it .................................................. ..................

E-tec's weigh the same as four strokes ????????????

Merc 4 stroke 50hp........... 112kg

E-tec 50 hp ........................109 - 113kg So much for being lighter across the whole range.

Vindicator
22-05-2008, 05:08 PM
One that goes EVERY time!

dreemon
23-05-2008, 07:27 AM
Had an old 74 johnno, reliable, (prob still going) now a 91 yamaha built mariner 40 , runs perfect, for my next engine i think I'll go with a mazda 13 b rotary , sort of a 3 stroke

23-05-2008, 01:42 PM
I'm sure some whacko stuck a Rolls Royce Merlin in a boat. Anyone know? Have pics? They have to be the sexiest engine ever. A four stroke, by the way ;)

Donny Boy
23-05-2008, 07:55 PM
Johnson 140 OMC V4. ......Supposedly bulletproof..............still alive

Fatenhappy
24-05-2008, 01:47 PM
One that can go like stink if I want it too ...
Gets a million kilometres to the litre ... that hopefully someone else is paying for ....
Is as quite as a church mouse .....
Can troll all day ...
Be reliable as all hell ..
Cheap to service ...
Costs next to nothing for the initial purchase ...
That lasts forever and does all of the above with extreme safety !

Hmmm ... that "almost" sounds like a 260 HP Yanmar Turbo Diesel!

Yep ... there had to be one D*ck Head didn't there ... might as well be me this time !!! ;D ;D ;D ... well I did say "almost"

CHAPPY
26-05-2008, 06:01 AM
15hp. Jono. on a 12 ft. tinny,

Not because its 2 or 4 stroke but because of years of history in the estuary fishing scene. Moderatly light, moderatly cheap to run and moderatly cheap to service. How many of the old low profile Jono's and Evenrudes do you still see on the Burram, the northern rivers, and others. Cant kill them with a stick.

But i'm not right as such. But it is right for my requirements. Same with you guys, you selected a motor to suit your requirements not sombody elses.

Horses for courses.
Chappy:)

scrubba01
29-05-2008, 01:36 PM
Johnson 140 OMC V4. ......Supposedly bulletproof..............still alive
A good mate of mine just blew his up and both he and I are having our boats repowered with Suzi 225's today. I am taking off a 225 Yammy 2 stroke 2000 model with 472 hrs has been a great motor but thirsty. I have also had a 2003 Merc 115 was ok but didn't have the easy of start the EFI yammy , merc carbies continually needed adjustment.

Can't wait to see how the Suzi 4 stroke performs compared to the 2 stroke. Might lose a bit of hole shot but should lose a lot of the fuel bill.:D

Might be a topic for another thread but I would be interested to hear peoples thoughts on the different brands of four stroke and the experience they have had with them, good and bad.

AnthonyL
14-08-2008, 07:05 PM
I have a Optimax 90 hp and have been happy with it so far... but I can't compare it to anything else as it is my first boat.

cod muncher
15-08-2008, 10:00 AM
an etec , cause i can>:(

Waraba Mick
15-08-2008, 11:45 AM
Suck, sqeeze, bang, blow. Four stroke is the way i go.;D

Mick.

strongy
16-08-2008, 12:29 AM
Just an ordinary 4 stroke yamaha

Ram-rod
16-08-2008, 09:02 AM
never had a 4s only 2s and my latest is a 115 yammie salwater and its a corker. idles great heaps of grunt. Fuel not sure really because all of my runs are generally short.. I would stick to yammie if I had to get another one. But my last one was an Evinrude and it nevr played up at all either..

Jabba_
16-08-2008, 10:37 AM
For me it's a

EVINRUDE E-TEC 250hp

tin can marlin
16-08-2008, 10:52 PM
4 stroke yamaha for me. Glad wayne and the boys at stones steered me that way a few years ago

dreemon
17-08-2008, 05:53 PM
I for one, prefer a 2 smoke for its power to get though a hairy bar crossing ! \

for the crazy bars you need a 2 stroke to get you safely through it all quick,

I'd like a 4 st, for bay, estury, long off shore,,..... I've got 4st quad bike, diesel ute, 2st w/snippers 4st lawn mower, I dont mind the wot noise of 2st at all,

but dont want to be bogged goin out in any way, " my Preferance"

fishopete
30-11-2008, 12:54 PM
I've got a 15hp Evinrude on my tinny. I'd rather be known for having a little Evinrude than having a little Johnson!!!:o :D

Ocean_Spirit
30-11-2008, 01:30 PM
Evinrude E-TEC

mackerelmauler
30-11-2008, 10:29 PM
As long the engine meets three requirements I don't care whether it is a DI 2 stroke or Four stroke;

1. Good Performance
2. Quiet enough so you can talk while traveliling at a good clip.
3. Good fuel economy

mackerelmauler

reel scream
01-12-2008, 12:11 AM
My 150 saltwater is a trooper.

A ltr a nm +.

Lotto win = prob a 4 st + new glassie.

Cheers Scott

Grumpah
01-12-2008, 03:44 PM
My 3.10 metre Mantacraft is called Jonathan Livingstone cos it has a British Seagull on the back.

My new Makocraft estuary tracker tournament will have a 30hp 2 stroke Tohatsu cos that's all I can afford. The seagull would push it but it needs a long shaft.

cheers!:o

Jabba_
01-12-2008, 04:19 PM
Grumpah.. With a head like that, I would of thought you would be getting around in a flying-saucer

blueboy
01-12-2008, 08:27 PM
EVINRUDE E-TEC .......Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet.......;)

Cheers Greg

1lastcast
02-12-2008, 07:51 AM
140 Suzuki 4stroke _________ Happy Days

Why Is It Some Of The E-tec Owners Are A Little Grumpy ?_____hhhhmmmmm Is There A Reason For That ??????????

Jabba_
02-12-2008, 07:14 PM
140 Suzuki 4stroke _________ Happy Days

Why Is It Some Of The E-tec Owners Are A Little Grumpy ?_____hhhhmmmmm Is There A Reason For That ??????????
Now why would we be grumpy,, when we have the better motor... maybe we just like to stir the pot a little with you 4st owners..LOL:P

By the way,did I tell you th E-tec's are the bestest motor in the whole universe and I have aranged a tug off war with Grumpah's flying saucer..;D

02-12-2008, 07:22 PM
Now why would we be grumpy,, when we have the better motor... maybe we just like to stir the pot a little with you 4st owners..LOL:P

By the way,did I tell you th E-tec's are the bestest motor in the whole universe and I have aranged a tug off war with Grumpah's flying saucer..;D

Jabba, I can't see how you can claim to have "THE BEST" engine concidering the issues you have had in only 40 hrs of runing::) Maybe you beter explain to us all why your engine qualifies for this title:o

1lastcast
02-12-2008, 07:47 PM
hey jabba 4 strokes are better because my mates uncles brother in laws sisters freinds dads drinking partners mothers brothers son said so ! :P

Jabba_
02-12-2008, 08:12 PM
Jabba, I can't see how you can claim to have "THE BEST" engine concidering the issues you have had in only 40 hrs of runing::) Maybe you beter explain to us all why your engine qualifies for this title:o
Because the E-tec DVD said there the best.....;D

And the issue ocured at 20hrs, and the last 65hr has been perfect...

Jabba_
02-12-2008, 08:16 PM
hey jabba 4 strokes are better because my mates uncles brother in laws sisters freinds dads drinking partners mothers brothers son said so ! :P

Well then if your mates uncles brother in laws sisters friends dads drinking partners mothers brothers son said so,,,,, then it's got to be true... Go the 4 banger.;D

02-12-2008, 08:23 PM
And the issue ocured at 20hrs, and the last 65hr has been perfect...

So what rating do you give all the other peoples who have never had an issue with their engine::)

I suppose they are 1 step behind you seeing you have yours back to be inspected;)

honda900
02-12-2008, 09:06 PM
After scolling through this post,

I think I finally understand why most etecs are white, to hide the fact that alot of the owners are at the transom feeding the chooks ... ;D ;)

HOnda..

Jabba_
02-12-2008, 09:36 PM
So what rating do you give all the other peoples who have never had an issue with their engine::)

I suppose they are 1 step behind you seeing you have yours back to be inspected;)

So Gary, are you telling me you have never had a Honda back for any warranty or repairs......

02-12-2008, 09:50 PM
No Jabba, I would never say that! As everyone knows that would not be the case.

I will say however that I would never go around beating my chest over an outboard that may one day bite me on the A$$

Jabba_
03-12-2008, 05:45 AM
I wan't beating my chest, I was taking the piss out off E-tec in the above posts.... Come surely the the tug off war with a flying saucer was a give away.

03-12-2008, 07:27 AM
I wan't beating my chest, I was taking the piss out off E-tec in the above posts.... Come surely the the tug off war with a flying saucer was a give away.

yep it was a give away.. one way or another:D

business class
03-12-2008, 10:20 AM
I have a question for the E-TEC owners........... is there warranty 3 years and 300 hours????? and if so, what happens if 300hrs comes first:-/ before the 3 years does that mean they are out of warranty??????:o :o

Matty

Rod_Bender
03-12-2008, 12:45 PM
Brought my brand new EFI 150 Merc for 10K and 900 for fitting. (off a bloke who didn't want it anymore) Does a 120 Miles for 190 Litres of fuel on a platey. Heaps of power and i'm miles in front in term of $$$$ spent

Grumpah
03-12-2008, 08:42 PM
hey Jabba,

Like an outboard - It's not the size or look of the head that counts - it's what you do with it!!!

Cheers.;D ;D

seahound
08-12-2008, 03:30 PM
4 strokes emit just as many dba's when at cruise speed than any decent DI-2 st.
not so at idle I'll admit

Right hull /engine combo is the key - engine displacement has a lot to do with performance. Hard to beat cc's.

My tub
115 opti DI 2-s on a 5.5 seafarer ventura w/ 4000rpm = 1.4nm/ltr at 24 knots...

work boat 1
175 suzi 4-s on a 6m fisher maxi 4500rpm = 0.9 nm / ltr at 24 knots.

both these hulls weight about the same & have similar same top speeds

work boat 2
x2 250 etecs on a 9.8m cougar cat 4000 rpm = 0.5 nm/ltr at 24 knots EACH - yep thats 40 ltr/hr each. WOT = 80 ltr / hr EACH

FYI - most 'ships' (inc tugs) are powered by 2 stroke diesels....more bangs = more power

siegfried
08-12-2008, 04:16 PM
volvo 200 hp turbo diesel..... HORN

White Pointer
10-12-2008, 09:42 PM

The cheapest thing my ego can live with - as long as it is quiet, reliable, economical with low emissions and easy to maintain. Sounds like a good 4-stroke.

White Pointer

Hornet Rider
13-12-2008, 09:51 AM
I'm sure some whacko stuck a Rolls Royce Merlin in a boat. Anyone know? Have pics? They have to be the sexiest engine ever. A four stroke, by the way ;)

TimiBoy,

Not sure they'd be generally referred to as whackos, but a couple of keen boaties by the name of Sir Henry Seagrave with "Miss England II & III" in 1930-32 & Donald & Malcolm Campbell with their "Bluebird" series K3-K7 (1937-67) had a bit of fun setting water speed records using Rolls-Royce V12s. http://www.racingcampbells.com/content/campbell.archives/rolls.royce.r.engines.asp
http://www.racingcampbells.com/content/boats.asp

Of course boat rego & fuel costs were much cheeper in those days::)

whatscracken
13-12-2008, 09:51 AM
I've got a Yamaha 2 stroke. Six years old and has been faultless. If I was going to upgrade I'd go for either a Yamaha or Suzuki 4 stroke

Jabba_
13-12-2008, 01:16 PM
I'm sure some whacko stuck a Rolls Royce Merlin in a boat. Anyone know? Have pics? They have to be the sexiest engine ever. A four stroke, by the way

TimiBoy,

Not sure they'd be generally referred to as whackos, but a couple of keen boaties by the name of Sir Henry Seagrave with "Miss England II & III" in 1930-32 & Donald & Malcolm Campbell with their "Bluebird" series K3-K7 (1937-67) had a bit of fun setting water speed records using Rolls-Royce V12s. http://www.racingcampbells.com/content/campbell.archives/rolls.royce.r.engines.asp (http://www.racingcampbells.com/content/campbell.archives/rolls.royce.r.engines.asp)
http://www.racingcampbells.com/content/boats.asp (http://www.racingcampbells.com/content/boats.asp)

Of course boat rego & fuel costs were much cheaper in those days

Timi I know a wacko who put a Merlin into a hydro... His name is Stan Jones and was very successful racer here in Australia... He was invited to tour the race scene in US, but was plagued with engine problems.. So his US tour was not very successfull..... I've known Stan since I was 12yo (1985), I lived around the corner from the Jones and was going out with his daughter, and 24 years on Melissa is still a close family friend...
Stan brought back a new Hydro from the US and I was lucky enough to go for a ride in the thing,,, and at the age off 13, I thought I was going to die.... Have you ever been so terrified that you can’t even scream...
Stan Jones at Yarrawonga championship
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/1.jpg

walruss
13-12-2008, 04:12 PM
Business Class,

From the BRP website, its says they have a three year non declining limited warranty. I believe the 300 hrs relates to servicing.

Russ

14-12-2008, 08:38 AM
I haven't seen that P-51 Mustang up close (a P51-H, I think, but I only saw it from a distance) at Caboolture. Is it Merlin (or Packard copy I guess) powered? Is it a restoration or is it a replica?

Heard a Merlin powered Mustang at a couple of airshows. Best sound ever, bar NONE!

I don't envy you that ride, Jabba, but I now see where your "need for speed" came from!

roydsy
15-12-2008, 03:17 PM
2005 MERC 115 EFI 4 stroke purchased in 06.... have only done 120hrs.... but so far no engine problems. this engine is supposed to have a yammie block and other components.

My engine of choice... new yammie 4 stroke, or suzi 4 stroke, followed by 150 etec.

However, it sits behind a full boar 5.5m and is a bit sluggish out of hole when fully loaded. I am thinking of repowering... any suggestions ??? max transom engine weight is 200KG...... so maybe a 150 etec .....which seems to have best weight to cc ratio? oh and a little off topic, does anyone know whether a boat is rated by engine weight or HP..... as the full boar says 90HP or 200KG max.... seems underpowered as we only get up to 33 knots now with 115HP......

Luke G
15-12-2008, 07:55 PM
Try a 150 Suzuki mate. Lots of torque, 16" dia prop and great on fuel.

roydsy
16-12-2008, 09:12 AM
the Suzi 140 comes in only 191KG and 103kW..... the 150 is 220KG and 110kW. :(

Then there is etec:

150 etec v6 196KG
130 etec v4 184KG

16-12-2008, 04:50 PM
It is rated by both, so 91hp is overpowering it and 201kg is overweight...all by definition, the real world can be something entirely different.

so how come it has a 115 already?

roydsy
17-12-2008, 08:06 AM
When we bought the boat from Mr T Tinnies, and they advised a 115HP would be suitable for the boat..... just wish i grabbed a 115 2 stroke with more out of hole performance than a Merc 4 stroke..... so is the current motor even legal..... I have no idea.....

But with 1 or 2 people in the boat a 115Hp is sufficient.... but add a few more people, not even capacity of 5... and she struggles to get on the plane when fully loaded.

It is rated by both, so 91hp is overpowering it and 201kg is overweight...all by definition, the real world can be something entirely different.

so how come it has a 115 already?

17-12-2008, 08:54 AM
When we bought the boat from Mr T Tinnies, and they advised a 115HP would be suitable for the boat..... just wish i grabbed a 115 2 stroke with more out of hole performance than a Merc 4 stroke..... so is the current motor even legal..... I have no idea.....

But with 1 or 2 people in the boat a 115Hp is sufficient.... but add a few more people, not even capacity of 5... and she struggles to get on the plane when fully loaded.

roydsy

maybe the setup of your engine is the issue and not the engine itself.

What prop are you runing and what maximum rpm do you acheive with normal cruising weight in the boat??

17-12-2008, 09:04 AM

Based on the rating you gave it is illegal, actually a grey area I understand, the extra few HP would need to be the absolute and causal reason for any catastrophe for it come back on you, still from a purely business perspective insurance companys do not need cause or illegality to deny a claim if they accepted your money without knowing it is strictly overpowered then you may need to consider it was a donation.

roydsy
17-12-2008, 03:59 PM
Yeah I did wonder whether it might need lifting/adjusting.... or even trim tabs??

Its a 4 stroke Merc 115HP with a 3 blade 20P stanless prop, se400 hydrofoil and with 2 people and gear it gets up slow but okay, and WOT is about 5100 ish.... never got close 5500 or 6000rpm even before the new larger console was installed.

So HP rating overrides transom weight rating??? FNQ?

roydsy

maybe the setup of your engine is the issue and not the engine itself.

What prop are you runing and what maximum rpm do you acheive with normal cruising weight in the boat??

Jabba_
17-12-2008, 05:05 PM
Yeah I did wonder whether it might need lifting/adjusting.... or even trim tabs??

Its a 4 stroke Merc 115HP with a 3 blade 20P stanless prop, se400 hydrofoil and with 2 people and gear it gets up slow but okay, and WOT is about 5100 ish.... never got close 5500 or 6000rpm even before the new larger console was installed.

So HP rating overrides transom weight rating??? FNQ?
You are way over propped Roydsy, and that will shorten the life span off your motor...

1" is equell to 150rpm, and you need to at least pick up another 400rpm... I would drop your picth by 3" (Down to 17" prop). It will trrans form your boat, hole shot will improve heaps, and you should increase your WOT top speed, and increase you fuel economy......

Wahoo
17-12-2008, 05:14 PM
as Jabba said above, the rev range should be 5800-6400rpm, you are way way way below that, i would be aiming to get 6000 and over, you are going to kill that motor, who set the boat/motor up????? can you get the #number of you prop??
get the height of the motor sorted and the right prop and the it will be a whole different boat

Wahoo
17-12-2008, 05:29 PM
ohh and another thing Roydsy, if you can, take a straight edge, run it under the hull and out past the cav plate, trim the motor so the cav plate is parralle (sp) to the straight edge, dont trim it right in, if you can take a pic of this side on and post it up, this will be a good start on motor set up, i would be looking for a 16p prop

17-12-2008, 05:36 PM
Roydsy, it's either/or, so just one or the other is over the engine will be illegal (or whatever would be the correct term).

So any engine over 90hp is overpowering it and any engine even a 90hp that weighs over 200kg is overweight.

roydsy
19-12-2008, 06:53 PM
cheers fellas will take photos tomorrow and get 16-17p prop prices.

roydsy
19-12-2008, 07:14 PM
Mr T Tinnies set it up.... its a 20P prop. I will put up some photos up soon.

Sorry to take the thread a little off topic.

I am undecided as to what motor I would replace the MErc 115HP with now. :)

ohh and another thing Roydsy, if you can, take a straight edge, run it under the hull and out past the cav plate, trim the motor so the cav plate is parralle (sp) to the straight edge, dont trim it right in, if you can take a pic of this side on and post it up, this will be a good start on motor set up, i would be looking for a 16p prop

Jabba_
20-12-2008, 05:12 AM
Mr T Tinnies set it up.... its a 20P prop. I will put up some photos up soon.

Sorry to take the thread a little off topic.

I am undecided as to what motor I would replace the MErc 115HP with now. :)
Roydsy, if you get your motor propped right, I think your going to be shocked at the increased performance.. I am sure you'll be happy with your 115 Merc, and there won't be a need to switch to a 130 E-tec

roydsy
20-12-2008, 07:22 PM
Yeah lets hope so mate, I really dont want to shell out for a new motor when this one has only done about 130hrs. Here are some pics... yeah I need to wash the motor tomorrow... :) . Prop is 48-16990 20P

Jabba_
21-12-2008, 03:52 AM
Your motor need to go up a hole... By the look off it, it is all ready on the 3rd hole, try it on the bottom hole with a 16-17" prop and see how she goes.. It is very obvious that your motor is set up all wrong....
Check out this link on how to bet set your motor up and how to prop the motor. It is very comprehensive. www.veradoclub.com/smf/index.php?topic=137.0 (http://www.veradoclub.com/smf/index.php?topic=137.0)

to work out the prop pitch www.rbbi.com/folders/prop/propcalc.htm (http://www.rbbi.com/folders/prop/propcalc.htm)

Wahoo
21-12-2008, 05:07 AM
Yeah lets hope so mate, I really dont want to shell out for a new motor when this one has only done about 130hrs. Here are some pics... yeah I need to wash the motor tomorrow... :) . Prop is 48-16990 20P

Roy, yes lift the motor one hole to start with, you will find also the trim on the motor will work a bit better, the prop you have on ATM is a Laser ll 13. 1/4 x 20 way to big for my liking, go to your local merc dealer, tell them whats going on and that you would like to trade your prop in, tell them all they need to know about your boat, rpm and how much gear you carry, they will help you out.............good luck with it

PS: whats your WOT speed? 40+ MPH?

Wahoo
21-12-2008, 05:11 AM
Roydsy, if you get your motor propped right, I think your going to be shocked at the increased performance.. I am sure you'll be happy with your 115 Merc, and there won't be a need to switch to a 130 E-tec

yeh but the 130 E-Tec would be sweet on that boat

Jabba_
21-12-2008, 10:16 AM
To true...

roydsy
21-12-2008, 01:53 PM
Spot on, WOT is about 64Km/hr under normal load....

PS: whats your WOT speed? 40+ MPH?

I am going to lift it one hole and ask about a new prop/trade in... cheers

Roydsy

Jabba_
21-12-2008, 07:31 PM
Spot on, WOT is about 64Km/hr under normal load....

I am going to lift it one hole and ask about a new prop/trade in... cheers

Roydsy
Thats a good start..
When asking about a prop from your Merc Dealer, see if the Trophy Plus or the Tempest will fit your motor. Apparently those two prop in the Merc range are choice props for fishing boats that want good hole shot, great mid range and top speed....

I'll be trying those two props on my rig next year....

The Merc props are without doubt the best in the world, and if you can wait a little while the new Merc Fury it should be a good prop to try also.. Check it out.
http://www.mercuryfury.com/ Try to look past the marketing hype