View Full Version : Repowering 6.2m Kevlacat

Luke44
14-05-2008, 09:38 AM
Iam in the process of re powering my 6.2m kevlacat and I am concidering 115 Suzuki 4 strokes. Has anyone out there repowered a 6.2 with 4 strokes or do they have this boat motor combination and if so how dose the extra weight affect the boat .

14-05-2008, 09:52 AM
the 6.2 does not take too kindly to weight in the back, I did a mate of mines, he went from 90HP Yamaha's, which were almost the standard Motor, even though they go kind of OK, they are under powered on a 6.2, he went to 115HP 2 stroke Evinrudes, the weight difference is really noticable, but the Boat is a completey different thing now, goes twice as good, uses the same amount of fuel and was well worth the repower, I reckon 115HP a side is the minimum for a 6.2, how heavy are the 115 Suzuki's??

Luke44
14-05-2008, 01:02 PM
The suzuki's are approx 195Kg I currenly have the 90 yami 2 strokes and feel like it's underpowered. The boat you did for your mate were they evinrude E-tec;)

14-05-2008, 01:45 PM
a Yamaha 90 only weighs in at about 123KG, so there is a bit of difference, and, no, he found a pair of new 115 Carby models at the right price and went that way, so the weight difference would still be a bit, but nothing like 195KG, I think the Etec 115 is about 169KG, but that is only from memory, if it is not close, then someone will certainly have a whinge about it, the difference in the Boat was astounding though, I reckon that another 20 or so HP would be perfect, if you did not increase the weight again of course, but 115 a side is great compared to the old Yammies.

Luke44
14-05-2008, 02:51 PM
Thanks for that, from memory you are pretty close with your estimate on etec weight close enough for me. I am confident the extra hp will be fantastic however still alittle concerned about the extra weight it would be great to hear from anyone out there who has a 6.2 with 4 strokes of simmilar weight to the suzi's. Regards Luke44

14-05-2008, 03:05 PM
they must have sold heaps of them with the 90HP Yamaha setup huh! another Mate of mine got one with 70's on it, you could practically run it flat out all day, even though the 70 is sort of a 90, the differences in the two Boats was very noticable, a far better Motor was the OMC 90, even though it was still 90HP the V4 made it a far better power plant than the tiny 3 cyl Yammie.

boatboy50
14-05-2008, 04:31 PM
Hey,

There used to be one based on the Gold Coast with twin Suzy 115 four strokes.

It seemed to have little difference how it floated them as opposed to the old Yams.

Havn't seen it around for quite some time, so I have no idea where it went to.

You couldn't choose a better motor than the Zuk 115. I own a 2006 with almost 500 hours now, and it runs like a dream. Never missed a beat, just 100 hour services and all is sweet.

Mine runs at about 12l/h on a 5.3m Polycraft at 4000rpm and 22 knots. Has plenty of power, runs smooth and quiet, and is reliable.

Darrenm

Finnatical
14-05-2008, 07:26 PM
I think the 140hp Suzuki is the same weight as the 115hp. Not sure what your max horsepower rating is but if you are going to put the extra weight on the back then you may as well get the max horsepower for that weight.

Might be worth a call to the KC factory or Springwood Marine as they are also a Suzuki and KC dealer so might be able to shed some more light on it for you.

Jason

Outsider1
14-05-2008, 07:42 PM
The (dry) weights of the respective motors mentioned (long shaft) are;

Suzuki 115hp 4S - 189kgs

E-Tec 115 2DI - 167kgs

Yamaha 90 2S carby - 122.5kg

Yamaha 115 2S carby - 167kgs

Suzuki 140hp 4S - 186kgs

Others in this power/weight range;

Mercury 115 Opti 2DI- 170kgs

Tohatsu 115 2DI - 173kgs

Yamaha 115 4S - 188kgs

Yamaha 130 2S carby - 167kgs

Tohatsu 140hp 2S carby - 164kgs

Honda 90 4S EFI - 163kgs

Yamaha 100 4S EFI - 172kgs

Hope that helps.

15-05-2008, 08:15 AM
those old 90HP Yamahas are certainly lightweight huh! they just go and go, not real quiet or smooth or anything else, but they are just so reliable, but as you said, the 140 Suzuki seems like a good pick, for 4 strokes as long as the price difference is not a heap of cash, the 115's will be fine, but if you could stretch to the 140 for the same weight, it would certainly be tempting!

15-05-2008, 08:17 AM
hey, is the 140 Johnson/Suzuki 4 stroke still around?? have not heard much about them for a while, perhaps they have ditched them from the range these days.

Luke44
15-05-2008, 09:00 AM
Darrenm you mentioned a 6.2 on the Goldy with 115 suzi's and you think that the boat still sat well in the water with the extra weight if so that gives me abit of confidence in adding the 115's to my boat. I spoke with kevlacat and springwood marine a few weeks back and they could not help me too much however they did say the boat wasn't rated for 140's so insurance would be a problem so I have ruled them out even though the extra power is tempting the boat must be insured. Thanks for the help It would be great to hear from any one who has or used to have a repowered 6.2KC. Looks like iam leaning towards the 115 suzi's

15-05-2008, 09:10 AM
lets look at it another way then anyone remeber the weight of a V4 carby Evinrude? I can attest to the fact that these Motors are not too heavy for a 6.2KC so unless there is a dramatic difference in the 115 4 stoke and a V4 carby 2 stroke, you will have no problems, but still for your own peace of mind, to actualy see one, and go for a ride in it would be fantastic. I will look for the weight of the old Carby Motor for you.

15-05-2008, 09:35 AM
Ask the factory if the 6.2 wasn't rated as 140hp due to weight of 140hp in general when produced or was it to do with strenght and construction of transom on that year. Knowing you are only putting the susuki 140hp on it they may be willing to help with an engineer who will rerate it if 140hp are in your budget.

The original 140 are a good motor now tried and tested with lots of hours and midrange on that boat would be very ecconomical. I think I've seen one with 140s on it but it was a bit of a blur!!!!!! If you aren't carrying lot's of weight the 115 will be enough.

From memory didn't Suzuki change the box ratio and introduce the offset shaft in the 140hp a few years back.

boatboy50
15-05-2008, 09:45 AM
Hey Luke,

Yeah, i've got no idea where that boat lives these days. I think it sold and went north.

The 6.2 was only rated to 115hp, with no weight rating in those days. That's why that guy went with the 115's. You won't get insurance (or they won't pay) if you've got 140's on there.

Noel is also right, I would think the weight would be similar to the OMC 115 V4's. There is plenty of them around with those motors, so if you could find their weight you should be sweet.

The 90/115/140 Suzuki is still around, but no longer as a Johnson. Awesome motor.

BlacknBlue
15-05-2008, 10:03 AM
how about taking before and after photos with mates/ lead weight/ water drums on the back with the equivelent weight increase, and posting them here for a comparison ( if you cant get the test weight down the back far enough, get, say 4 mates sitting on the floor atthe back of the boat and go for a run)

15-05-2008, 10:08 AM
sorry Boatboy, it was being available as a Johnson I was thinking about, I knew they still made them as Suzukis, but have not seen the Johnson for a while, they must have cut their ties or something.

Pinguu
15-05-2008, 12:47 PM
Hi there , I am looking at purchasing a Kevlacat 6.2m Pro Sport that is around 10yrs old with twin Yami 115's v4 on the back done 36 hrs.

I am in need of the specifications for this vessell which I cannot get from Kevlacat for some reason. Can anyone help me as I need to look at getting a trailer built or this vessel as it is currently dry rack stored at the marina.

Also any thoughts on value would be of interest , boat and motors only of course.

mirage
15-05-2008, 12:50 PM
As Boatboy says Johnson have stopped rebadging Suzukis last year but when I was repowering my KC2400 late last year you could still pick up some counter rotating 140hp Johnsons from some of the dealers. They were going pretty cheap too.
I still went for the Suzuki's though because the Johnson motors never chaged to the new gear ratio (2.59:1) like the Suzuki's. I believe it allows you to swing a bigger prop more efficiently.
Don't know why Johnson never changed ratios, maybe Suzuki would only give them their old stock to paint white!
Scotty.

mirage
15-05-2008, 01:00 PM
Hi there , I am looking at purchasing a Kevlacat 6.2m Pro Sport that is around 10yrs old with twin Yami 115's v4 on the back done 36 hrs.

I am in need of the specifications for this vessell which I cannot get from Kevlacat for some reason. Can anyone help me as I need to look at getting a trailer built or this vessel as it is currently dry rack stored at the marina.

Also any thoughts on value would be of interest , boat and motors only of course.

Pingu, I think Sealink make the current trailers for KC. They would probably be able to sort you out or point you in the right direction.
Scotty.

Outsider1
15-05-2008, 01:48 PM
"The dry weight of a 1995 Evinrude 115hp is between 293 and 306lbs. depending on the model."

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_much_does_a_1995_evinrude_115_weight

That's 133kgs to 139kgs.

15-05-2008, 01:52 PM
hhmm at 139KG compared to the 4 stroke it sould not be too bad one would think, only about the difference of some bits and pieces really, just move something up the front perhaps and it is a non event (almost)

Luke44
15-05-2008, 03:49 PM
Pinguu contact Allan at seatrek in Caloundra on the Sunshine Coast he worked for kevlacat back in the 90's and was involved with building most of the trailers for the 6.2 cats he currently builds his own cats and great trailers and should be able to help you out he repaired my trailler for me and was recomended to me by a mate who has a 5.2 KC and he also built his trailer