PDA

View Full Version : oil beeper on mercs

Kleyny
11-05-2008, 02:48 PM
Is there any way of testing my oil beeper on my o4 60hp merc?

just want to make sure it works.

neil

Hydrotherapy
11-05-2008, 07:15 PM
2 0r 4 stroke?

Kleyny
11-05-2008, 07:22 PM
sorry mate i should have mentioned that in the original post.

2stroke

thanks

neil

BM
11-05-2008, 07:51 PM
You have 2 warnings on your engine. Overheat and low oil. There is no oil pump warning for your engine.

To test the low oil warning, locate the 2 wires coming from the bottom of the oil bottle, disconnect them and with the ignition on short the 2 wires that are in the loom (not the 2 short wires going to the bottle).

Cheers

Kleyny
11-05-2008, 08:14 PM
Thanks BM
Now i have another question for ya.
The motor has just come out of waranty and I'm thinking of makeing it a premixed motor.
All my dealings with oil mixers although limited have not been real flash.
so my question is.
What are the merc oil pumps like?
I'm a mechanic by trade so i understand that things break and have dramas.
But i dont want to have an unreliable 50 dollar stuffing my 6000 dollar motor.
Am i being a worry wart????;D
thanks

neil

BM
11-05-2008, 08:23 PM
Well..... If you want an iron clad guarantee then the only answer is to remove the oil pump.

However, with the Merc system no longer having an oil pump warning device says something of the reliability of the system. Yes there may still be some isolated failures but not enough to warrant Merc fitting a warning device.

Same same for Yammies. They don't run an oil pump failure device.

Both run a crank driven oil pump and the old days of shredded crankshaft fibre gears (only happened on the V6's) is gone.

Of course anything mechanical can fail. Not just the oil injection but the whole powerhead and you cannot insulate yourself against that.

I would leave it well alone mate. Its a reliable system.

Cheers

Kleyny
11-05-2008, 08:44 PM